DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, readable on claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 11/3/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “A shaft for an Albarran, at the distal end of which an Albarran lever can be arranged and at the proximal end of which a main body with a drive body can be arranged, the Albarran lever being movable via at least one pull wire by a toggle on the drive body and the at least one pull wire being mounted in at least one pull wire guide and an optical unit being mounted inside the tubular shaft, wherein the shaft and the at least one pull wire guide are formed in one piece” in Lines 1-7. However, the claim lacks a traditional transitional phrase, such as “comprising”, “consisting of” or “consisting essentially of” and therefore the meets and bounds of the claim are unclear. The examiner suggests Applicant amend the claim to recite –A shaft for an Albarran, the shaft comprising:-- Appropriate correction is unclear.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “at the distal end of which an Albarran lever can be arranged and at the proximal end of which a main body with a drive body can be arranged” in Lines 1-3, wherein due to the wording of the claim it’s unclear if the following limitations are meant to be aspects of the shaft or aspects of the Albarran. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the distal end" in Lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the proximal end" in Line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the tubular shaft" in Line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitations “at the distal end of which an Albarran lever can be arranged” in Lines 1-2, wherein the recitation of “can be” renders the claim indefinite since it’s not clear if the Albarran lever is a required feature, an intended use feature or merely an optional feature of the invention. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 recites the limitations “a main body with a drive body can be arranged” in Lines 2-3, wherein the recitation of “can be” renders the claim indefinite since it’s not clear if a main body with a drive body is a required feature, an intended use feature or merely an optional feature of the invention. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 2, the phrase "in this case" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 7 recites the limitation “wherein the tube segment is configured concentrically” in Line 2, wherein the claim fails to define what the tube segment is concentric with respect to. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the same radius of curvature" in Line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “the tube segment can be welded to the profiled tube” in Line 2, wherein due to the wording of the claim it’s unclear if the following limitations are meant to be aspects of the shaft or aspects of the Albarran. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the at least one tube segment” in Line 2-3, wherein it’s unclear if this is the same or different tube segment than was previously defined in Claim 6 since the tube segment was previously defined as “a tube segment” and not as “at least one tube segment”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the at least one tube segment comprises an at least substantially concentric tongue” in Lines 2-3, wherein the tongue is being defined as a concentric tongue however there’s no frame of reference as to what the tongue is concentric about or with respect to. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the diameter of which" in Line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the diameter of the profiled tube" in Line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Qi (US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0120395).
In regard to claim 1, Qi discloses a shaft (2) for an Albarran (endoscope sheath of Fig. 1), at the distal end of which an Albarran lever (12) can be arranged and at the proximal end of which a main body (5) with a drive body (4) can be arranged, the Albarran lever being movable via at least one pull wire by a toggle (42) on the drive body and the at least one pull wire (43) being mounted in at least one pull wire guide (25) and an optical unit being mounted inside the tubular shaft (via endoscope being mounted in the endoscope cavity (21)), wherein the shaft and the at least one pull wire guide are formed in one piece (Fig. 7 illustrates a cross-section of the shaft which shows the pull wire guide (25) integrally formed as part of the shaft).
In regard to claim 2, Qi teaches wherein the shaft is configured as a profiled tube (2, the tube is profiled to have a plurality of channels (21, 23, 25)), the at least one pull wire guide being a protrusion (via inwardly projecting protrusions defining channels (25), Fig. 7) parallel to a longitudinal axis of the profiled tube, and the protrusion in this case constituting a cross-sectional widening of the profiled tube (the inwardly projecting protrusions define a width of the cross-sectional shape of the profiled tube).
In regard to claim 3, Qi teaches wherein the profiled tube comprises two pull wire guides (25, 25) configured as protrusions, which are oriented parallel to one another and to the longitudinal axis of the profiled tube, for receiving two pull wires (Fig. 7).
In regard to claim 4, Qi teaches wherein a size, or a radius of curvature, or a shape of the at least one protrusion corresponds to a size, or a radius of curvature, or a shape of the at least one pull wire (the size of the protrusions corresponds to a size of the pull wire as illustrated in Fig. 7).
In regard to claim 5, Qi teaches wherein the at least one protrusion encloses the pull wire partially (Fig. 7 shows the protrusion defines channel (25) which encloses the pull wire).
In regard to claim 6, Qi teaches wherein a tube segment (1) is respectively arranged at a distal end and/or at a proximal end of the profiled tube ((2), Fig. 1).
In regard to claim 7, Qi teaches wherein the tube segment is configured concentrically and has the same radius of curvature as the profiled tube (Figs. 1, 2, 9).
In regard to claim 8, Qi teaches wherein the tube segment can be welded to the profiled tube (the tube segment (1) is capable of being welded to the profiled tube (2), Fig. 7).
In regard to claim 9, Qi teaches wherein the proximal and/or the distal end of the profiled tube or of the at least one tube segment comprises an at least substantially concentric tongue (11), the diameter of which is less than the diameter of the profiled tube and of the tube segment (the arc-shaped window (11) has a diameter less than both profiled tube and tube segment, Figs. 1-2).
Conclusion
/RYAN N HENDERSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795 December 13, 2025