DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made to the claim amendments received 15 May 2026. Claims 1, 2, 5, 8-10, 15-20, 24 and 25 are currently pending of which claims 1, 2, 5, 8, 15 and 16 are currently amended and claims 24 and 25 are new. Claims 3, 4, 6, 7, 11-14 and 21-23 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Acknowledgment is made to the claim amendments received 15 May 2026. The rejections to the claims presented under 35 USC 102 in the Office Action of 18 February 2026 have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 8, 9, 10, 15, 16, 17, 19, 20, 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 2 803 654 B1 to Schweitzer et al. (Schweitzer) in view of CA 2 587 434 to Moller et al. (Moller) and further in view of US 2022/0389150 A1 to Bulan et al. (Bulan).
As to claims 1, 10, 19 and 20, Schweitzer teaches a method of making a reaction product, (methanol), using carbon dioxide produced at a bioprocessing facility (1), the method comprising fermenting (2) a fermentable composition (6) (sugars derived from corn starch) at the bioprocessing facility (1), to generate a target biochemical (4) (ethanol) and carbon dioxide (8), reacting (3) a reactant (10) (hydrogen) and the carbon dioxide (8) from the fermenting to form a reaction product (5) (methane/methanol) via an exothermic reaction, the hydrogen (10) produced by a chemical production system, a water electrolysis cell (18) that is co-located with the bioprocessing facility (1) and produces oxygen (13), using the thermal energy from the exothermic reaction in the bioprocessing facility, generating additional thermal energy for the bioprocessing facility via the combustion of a carbon compound (16) and the oxygen (13) from the electrolysis (18), thus producing a flue gas comprising carbon dioxide (Paragraphs 0002, 0020, 0031, 0052 and 0061-0063; Figure 3).
However, Schweitzer fails to further teach that a carbon dioxide byproduct of the combustion is utilized in the reaction of hydrogen and carbon dioxide to methane/methanol. However, Moller also discusses an integrated process for producing ethanol from biomass with byproduct carbon dioxide that is reacted with hydrogen produced via electrolysis to form methanol wherein steam is generated from a combustion reaction. Moller teaches in addition to sending carbon dioxide byproduct from the ethanol production process, carbon dioxide byproduct from the combustion should also be sent to the methanol production process (Page 10, Line 20 to Page 14; Figure 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to send the carbon dioxide from the flue gas of combustion to the methane/methanol production process in order to provide another source of reactant as taught by Moller.
However, Schweitzer fails to further teach the specific concentration of carbon dioxide produced by the combustion reaction.
However, Bulan also discusses the combustion of carbon compounds utilizing electrolytic produced oxygen in order to generate thermal and electrical energy for the process as well as carbon dioxide for downstream usage and teaches that by ensuring purity of the oxygen the carbon dioxide produced can be highly concentrated, close to 100% dry concentration, for downstream usage free of interfering secondary constituents (Paragraphs 0066-0072). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to control the combustion process, including the oxygen purity, in order to produce highly concentrated carbon dioxide, close to 100% dry concentration, for downstream usage free of interfering secondary constituents as taught by Bulan, “close to 100%” considered to read on “at least 90%”.
As to claim 2, the combination of Schweitzer, Moller and Bulan teaches the method of claim 1. “Close to 100%” is considered to be substantially equivalent to 99%. Furthermore, Bulan teaches that 100% is the ideal and it would have been obvious to modify reaction conditions to achieve this 100% ideal.
As to claim 5, the combination of Schweitzer, Moller and Bulan teaches the method of claim 1. Schweitzer teaches that the thermal energy is utilized to generate steam for thermal transfer to the process (Paragraph 0046) and teaches that the electrolysis cell requires an electric power supply (Paragraph 0032), but fails to contemplate using the thermal energy to generate electricity for the process. However, Moller also discusses an integrated process for producing ethanol from biomass with byproduct carbon dioxide that is reacted with hydrogen produced via electrolysis to form methanol wherein steam is generated from a combustion reaction. Moller teaches that this steam should be sent to a turbine to generate electrical energy for use in the process including the electrolysis cell (Page 10, Line 20 to Page 14; Figure 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the method of Schweitzer to utilize as least some of the generated steam from the thermal energy to produce electric power to provide electrical energy for use in the process including in the electrolysis cell, as taught by Moller.
As to claims 8 and 9, the combination of Schweitzer, Moller and Bulan teaches the method of claim 1. Schweitzer teaches that the electrolysis cell requires an electric power supply (Paragraph 0032), but is silent as to the specific supply. However, Moller also discusses an integrated process for producing ethanol from biomass with byproduct carbon dioxide that is reacted with hydrogen produced via electrolysis. Moller teaches that the electrolysis cell should be powered via renewable energy such as wind, solar and hydroelectric power (Page 12 to Page 14; Figure 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to power, at least in part, the electrolysis cell via renewable energy such as wind, solar and hydroelectric power with the expectation of effectively providing the power to the cell in a renewable fashion as taught by Moller.
As to claim 15, the combination of Schweitzer, Moller and Bulan teaches the method of claim 1. Schweitzer further teaches that the thermal energy is used in, for example, an evaporator system (Paragraph 0061).
As to claim 16, the combination of Schweitzer, Moller and Bulan teaches the method of claim 1. Schweitzer further teaches that the electrolysis cell is, for example, a PEM electrolysis cell with a water feed, thus a cell that would produce, at an anode side, simply water and oxygen, thus on a dry basis, substantially pure oxygen (Paragraph 0032).
As to claim 17, the combination of Schweitzer, Moller and Bulan teaches the method of claim 1. Schweitzer further teaches that the methane can be used as a reactant to form a derivative thereof (Paragraph 0045).
As to claim 24, the combination of Schweitzer, Moller and Bulan teaches the method of claim 1. However, Schweitzer is silent as to the specific formation of the carbon source for combustion with the oxygen from the water electrolysis. However, Moller also discusses an integrated process for producing ethanol from biomass with byproduct carbon dioxide that is reacted with hydrogen produced via electrolysis to form methanol wherein steam is generated from a combustion reaction. Moller teaches that an effective carbon source for the combustion reaction is, at least in part oil or gas, liquid fuels (Page 10, Line 20 to Page 14; Figure 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide the fuel for the combustion reaction in the form of liquid fuels with the reasonable expectation of effectively combusting as taught by Moller.
As to claim 25, the combination of Schweitzer, Moller and Bulan teaches the method of claim 1. “Close to 100%” is considered to be substantially equivalent to 99.9%. Furthermore, Bulan teaches that 100% is the ideal and it would have been obvious to modify reaction conditions to achieve this 100% ideal.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Schweitzer, Moller and Bulan as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of US 2009/0239279 to Hall et al. (Hall).
As to claim 18, the combination of Schweitzer, Moller and Bulan teaches the method of claim 17. Schweitzer teaches that methane is a starting point for many other organic compounds; however, fails to specifically contemplate a sustainable aviation fuel. However, Hall also discusses the production of methane and teaches that a known product from the produced methane comprises aviation fuels (Paragraph 0044). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the methane of Schweitzer to produce an aviation fuel, thus a sustainable aviation fuel in the sustainable methane production method of Schweitzer, as a valuable usage of methane as taught by Hall.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The new limitations have been newly addressed by Bulan, as above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CIEL P CONTRERAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794