Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Japanese Patent Application No. 2022-060531, filed on March 31, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/19/2024 & 03/23/2023 are compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“an acquisition part configured to acquire…”
“an evaluation part configured to evaluate an accuracy of prediction…” in claim 1.
“an acquisition step of acquiring updated second auxiliary filter information…”
“an evaluation step of evaluating an accuracy of prediction…” in claim 9.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 limitation “an acquisition part configured to acquire…” and “an evaluation part configured to evaluate an accuracy of prediction…” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. At most the specification merely cites examples of acquisition and communication parts on pg. 42 as, “both the communication part 12 and the input part 13 are examples of the acquisition part. In addition, the controller 11 is an example of the evaluation part. Further, the processing according to the first regulation is an example of the first processing”. As such, the claims and the specification are devoid of any structure that explicitly performs the functions in the claims. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-7, & 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication NO. 20230020146 “Mizoguchi” and further in light of U.S. Patent Application Publication NO. 20160116392 “Carpenter”.
Claim 1:
Mizoguchi teaches a model evaluation device comprising: an acquisition part configured to acquire updated second auxiliary (i.e. para. [0016], “FIG. 5 is a flowchart illustrating a procedure of processing when the controller performs the adjustment discharge on the battery, performs the refresh charge, and performs the correction of the SOC, estimation of a degradation level, and adjustment of a load”, wherein it is noted that the BRI for learning encompasses observing and a system becoming aware of such data. Wherein the BRI for updated secondary filter information encompasses a correction to an estimation for the part. The BRI for first auxiliary part information encompasses a first predicted information for a part and wherein the BRI for second auxiliary part information encompasses further information about a same part, such as estimated state of charge that is updated),
the first auxiliary (i.e. para. [0172], “The learning model DB 145 stores a learning model 146 generated for each of the plurality of reached SOCs (estimated SOCs)”, wherein the first auxiliary part information is a prediction for a degraded state of charge (SOC) based on battery data),
the second auxiliary filter information indicating a regulation for estimating a reliability of a prediction result by the mathematical model while using the first auxiliary (i.e. para. [0206], “The controller 11 can cause the learning model 146 to be relearned such that reliability of the estimation of the degree of degradation is improved based on the degree of degradation estimated using the learning model 146 and the degree of degradation obtained by actual measurement in a predetermined row of the use history”, wherein the BRI for a regulation encompasses how the reliability of the prediction result by the learning model may be improved while using the first prediction results); and an evaluation part configured to evaluate an accuracy of prediction by the mathematical model while using the second (i.e. para. [0031], “The estimated SOC is corrected by the SOC (hereinafter, referred to as actually measured SOC) based on the residual capacity derived from the above history. For example, the estimated SOC is replaced with the actually measured SOC. Thereafter, the SOC is estimated based on, for example, the current integration method with the replaced actually measured SOC as a reference. The average value of the estimated SOC and the actually measured SOC may be used as the updated SOC”, wherein the BRI for case input-scheduled data encompasses actual data that is scheduled to be input into the model in order to obtain an updated estimated SOC).
While Mizoguchi teaches a generating and updated a model for degradation of a target part, where the target part is a battery, Mizoguchi may not explicit teach using
Auxiliary filter information
However, Carpenter teaches,
Auxiliary filter information (i.e. para. [0035], “an exemplary solution to the problems in conventional systems and methods is to provide a better technique based on a more accurate model of the contamination of the filter 118 and/or the filter 189 and using the data obtained from one or more of the plurality of sensors 103 (e.g., the pressure sensor 128) in the model to better predict and improve an estimate of the remaining useful life of the filter 118 and/or the filter 189 in real-time as the filter 118 and/or the filter 189 is being used by the machine 100 during operation of the machine 100”, wherein it is noted that at least a first information prediction of a filter degradation and a second information that is filter data used to update an estimation prediction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add auxiliary filter information, to the recursive machine learning estimation methods of Mizoguchi, with how specifically first and second filter information is used as part of a machine learning degradation estimation method, as taught by Carpenter. One would have been motivated to combine specific data selection of Carpenter with the machine learning of Mizoguchi as the combination improves the functioning of a system by solving the complex problem of accurately predicting when the filter and/or the filter in the machine needs to be changed or replaced, and how much remaining useful life of the filter and/or the filter remains.
Claim 2:
Mizoguchi and Carpenter teach the model evaluation device according to claim 1.
Mizoguchi further teaches
wherein the data for generation is multi-dimensional time series data showing a change over time in each of a plurality types of variables that are expressing a state related to the degradation of the analysis target (i.e. para. [0084], “using the usable period as a reference, the ratio of the usable period remaining at the time of evaluation may be determined as the SOH. Using the voltage during the normal temperature high rate discharge as a reference, the voltage during the normal temperature high rate discharge at the time of evaluation may be used for the evaluation of SOH”, wherein it is noted that the data for generating an estimation of degradation is multi-dimensional as it encompasses both temperature and time data over a period of time related to the target part).
Claim 6:
Mizoguchi and Carpenter teach the model evaluation device according to claim 1.
Mizoguchi further teaches
wherein, in the learning, the first auxiliary filter information and the second auxiliary filter information are updated such that reliability of an estimation result by the mathematical model with respect to data obtained by actual measurement improves a data inclusion rate that is a probability which is a predetermined reliability or more (i.e. para. [2026], “the degree of degradation obtained by actual measurement in a predetermined row of the use history DB 35, the actually measured degradation level is obtained, and when the estimated degree of degradation is matched with the degree of degradation based on the actually measured degradation level, the probability of the degree of degradation can be increased by inputting and relearning a large number of teacher data in which the degree of degradation is associated with the internal resistance of this row. When the estimated degree of degradation is not matched with the actually measured degree of degradation, the teacher data in which the actually measured degree of degradation is associated with the internal resistance is input and the relearning is performed”, wherein the BRI for improving a data inclusion rate that is a probability which is a predetermined reliability or more encompasses how including actual data degradation data improves the data inclusion rate by including more data. The BRI for a predetermined reliability or more encompasses a measured actual degree of degradation, thus real historical degradation data in included to update a model when the probability for a degree of degradation is not more or matched with an actual degree of degradation).
Claim 7:
Mizoguchi and Carpenter teach the model evaluation device according to claim 1.
Mizoguchi further teaches wherein, in the learning, the first auxiliary filter information and the second auxiliary filter information are updated such that a difference between the estimation result by the mathematical model and physical or chemical characteristics included in the degradation of the analysis target is reduced (i.e. para. [0061], “the estimation unit may input the internal resistance or the conductance of a target lead-acid battery or lead-acid battery module to a learning model that outputs a degree of degradation to estimate the degree of degradation of the lead-acid battery or lead-acid battery module when the internal resistance or the conductance is input using the internal resistance or the conductance and a label data indicating the degree of degradation as teacher data”, wherein the BRI for physical and chemical chart eristics encompasses the internal resistance and conductance of a lead-acid battery is used to update and get a more accurate estimated degree of degradation).
Claim 9:
Claim 9 is the device claim reciting similar limitations to Claim 1 and is rejected for similar reasons.
Claim 10:
Claim 9 is the medium claim reciting similar limitations to Claim 1 and is rejected for similar reasons.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication NO. 20230020146 “Mizoguchi” and further in light of U.S. Patent Application Publication NO. 20160116392 “Carpenter”, as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication NO. 20120290879 “Shibuya”.
Claim 3:
Mizoguchi and Carpenter teach the model evaluation device according to claim 2.
Mizoguchi and Carpenter may not explicit teach
wherein the first processing is data conversion processing of converting the multi-dimensional time series data into 1- dimensional data.
However Shibuya teaches wherein the data for generation is
wherein the first processing is data conversion processing of converting the multi-dimensional time series data into 1- dimensional data.
(i.e. para. [0093-0095], “the dimension of the feature space may be further higher and the dimension of the affine partial space may also be any dimension as long as the dimension of the affine partial space is smaller than the feature space and smaller than the number of the learning data. …the local sub-space classifier is a method of creating a k-1-dimensional affine partial space by using k-approximate data of evaluation data q”, wherein in a case where K=2, then the classifier would convert the multi-dimensional data down to a 1 dimensional data features)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add wherein the first processing is data conversion processing of converting the multi-dimensional time series data into 1- dimensional data, to the recursive machine learning estimation methods of Mizoguchi, with how data may be converted with a conversion processing of converting the multi-dimensional time series data into 1- dimensional data, as taught by Shibuya. One would have been motivated to add the dimensionality reducing algorithms of Shibuya with the machine learning of Mizoguchi-Carpenter as the combination improves the precision of a model that is inputting whole sensor signals with minimal effort.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Application Publication NO. 20130282626 “White” teaches in para. [0161], that “a test/validation approach may be used to allow empirical determination of the accuracy of the model generation process. In this approach the observed data is split into two sets; a training set and a validation set. A predictive model is then generated using by the statistical model engine using the training set. A set of predictions is then made by the model using the validation set. The predictions for the validation set are compared against the observed results for the validation set, and appropriate confidence statistics are then produced to assess the accuracy of the model”.
/D.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2145
/CHAU T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2145