DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action has been issued in response to amendment filed 12/09/2025. Applicant's arguments have been carefully and fully considered but they are not persuasive. Accordingly, this action has been made FINAL.
Claim Status
Claims 1 and 19 have been amended. Claims 2, 4, 6, 16-18, and 20 were canceled. Claims 1, 3, 5, 7-15, and 19 remain pending and are ready for examination.
Rejections not based on Prior Art
In view of Applicant’s amendments, the previous Claim Objections has been withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: an indoor control device configured to output, the indoor communication device is configured to: receive, an outdoor control device configured to output, the outdoor communication device is configured to: receive, a temperature control device configured to output, the temperature control communication device is configured to: receive in claim 1; the indoor filtering device is configured to: receive in claim 2; a linear transformer configured to modulate in claim 3; he outdoor filtering device is configured to receive in claim 4, the temperature control filtering device is configured to receive in claim 8, the display device is configured to display in claim 10, the at least one communication chip is configured to receive in claim 15, the temperature control communication device is configured to: receive in claim 16, the temperature control filtering device is configured to: receive in claim 17, the display device is configured to display in claim 18.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Rejections based on Prior Art
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Hideki (JP 4336142 B2 -hereinafter Hideki -Note: As the translation attached).
Regarding Claim 19, Hideki teaches a method for controlling communication of an air conditioner, comprising: receiving transmitter parameters output from a control device (see [0019]; Hideki: “In FIG. 1, 1 is an indoor unit, 6 is an AC-DC converter for generating a voltage required to operate a control system such as a microcomputer of the indoor unit 1 from a commercial power source, 7 is a microcomputer, and 8 is an indoor fan.” See [0022]: “In the indoor unit 1, when a user's operation start operation by a remote controller or the like is received, the indoor temperature information from the temperature detection circuit 18 is extracted from the outdoor unit extracted via the high-frequency transformer 14, the coupling capacitor 11, and the demodulation circuit 9.”), wherein the transmitter parameters include at least one of indoor unit parameters, outdoor unit parameters, or temperature protector setting parameters; generating a high-frequency signal carrying the transmitter parameters based on the transmitter parameters; and loading the high-frequency signal carrying the transmitter parameters onto a power communication line to output the transmitter parameters. (see [0022]-[0023]; Hideki: “the microcomputer 7 comprehensively determines the operation mode, sends the transmission signal carried on the high-frequency carrier signal to the secondary side of the high-frequency transformer 14 via the driver 12 and the limiting resistor 13 It is given to the winding and propagated to the primary side through the core. This propagated signal is shaped into a high frequency signal close to a sine wave by a parallel resonance circuit composed of a capacitor 15 connected in parallel with the inductance of the primary winding of the high frequency transformer 14 and superimposed on the serial communication cable. And transferred to the outdoor unit 2.”)
receiving a communication signal on the power communication line, wherein the communication signal include the high-frequency signal carrying the transmitter parameters and a power signal; filtering out the power signal of the communication signal to obtain the high-frequency signal carrying the transmitter parameters; (see [0024]; Hideki: “On the other hand, the outdoor unit 2 transmits a serial communication signal transmitted from the indoor unit 1 superimposed on the serial communication cable 5 on the basis of one of the connection cables 3 and 4 of the indoor / outdoor unit as a primary winding of the high frequency transformer 25. And output to the secondary winding through the core.”) extracting the transmitter parameters from the high-frequency signal carrying the transmitter parameters; and feeding the transmitter parameters back to the control device. (see [0024]; Hideki: “Next, the signal is input to the demodulation circuit 22 through the coupling capacitor 23, demodulated after removing the high frequency carrier, and input to the microcomputer 31 of the outdoor unit 2. The outdoor unit microcomputer 31 receives a command by a serial communication signal from the indoor unit 1 and determines operating conditions of the refrigerant compression compressor 36 and the outdoor blower 35. Similarly, transmission of information from the outdoor unit 2 is performed to the indoor unit 1 and the transmission of these information is sequentially repeated.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, and 8-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hideki (JP 4336142 B2 -hereinafter Hideki -Note: As the translation attached) in view of Jo et al. (US20120033745A1 -hereinafter Jo).
Regarding Claim 1, Hideki teaches an air conditioner, comprising:
an indoor unit including: (see Abstract; Hideki: “an indoor unit 1”)
an indoor control device configured to output indoor unit parameters; and (see [0022]; Hideki: “In the indoor unit 1, when a user's operation start operation by a remote controller or the like is received, the indoor temperature information from the temperature detection circuit 18 is extracted from the outdoor unit extracted via the high-frequency transformer 14, the coupling capacitor 11, and the demodulation circuit 9.”)
an indoor communication device coupled to the indoor control device, wherein the indoor communication device is configured to: (see [0031]; Hideki: “the microcomputer 7”) receive the indoor unit parameters, generate a first high-frequency signal carrying the indoor unit parameters based on the received indoor unit parameters, and load the first high-frequency signal onto a power communication line, so as to output the indoor unit parameters; and (see [0022]-[0023]; Hideki: “the microcomputer 7 comprehensively determines the operation mode, sends the transmission signal carried on the high-frequency carrier signal to the secondary side of the high-frequency transformer 14 via the driver 12 and the limiting resistor 13 It is given to the winding and propagated to the primary side through the core. This propagated signal is shaped into a high frequency signal close to a sine wave by a parallel resonance circuit composed of a capacitor 15 connected in parallel with the inductance of the primary winding of the high frequency transformer 14 and superimposed on the serial communication cable. And transferred to the outdoor unit 2.”)
an indoor filtering device coupled to the indoor communication device, wherein the indoor filtering device is configured to receive a communication signal on the power communication line, and filter out a power signal of the communication signal to obtain a second high-frequency signal carrying transmitter parameters; (see [0027]; Hideki: “The modulation driver 12 shown in FIG. 2 is driven by the microcomputer transmission output (point A voltage), and a high frequency current is caused to flow through the secondary winding of the high frequency transformer 14. The high-frequency transformer 14 outputs to the primary winding through the core, but forms a filter that selectively transmits the carrier frequency by a parallel resonance circuit with the capacitor 15 connected in parallel to the inductance of the primary winding. Therefore, it is formed into a smooth AC signal close to a sine wave like the voltage at point C in FIG. 3 and transmitted to the outdoor unit 2 via the serial communication cable 5 shown in FIG.”) and the indoor filtering device is further configured to extract the transmitter parameters based on the second high-frequency signal and feed the transmitter parameters back to the indoor control device; (see [0037]; Hideki: “By adopting such a configuration, the serial communication means of the indoor / outdoor unit of the separate type air conditioner can superimpose (transmit) the signal on the serial communication cable and extract (receive) the signal from the serial signal cable.” See [0027]: “Next, a method for receiving a serial communication signal from the outdoor unit 2 will be described. A serial communication signal transmitted from the outdoor unit 2 in the same manner as described above is received via the serial communication cable 5 in FIG. 2 in a waveform such as the voltage at point C at the time of reception in FIG. The signal at point C is input to the primary winding of the high frequency transformer 14 in FIG. 2, is output to the secondary winding through the core of the high-frequency transformer 14, and is transmitted to the secondary winding via the coupling capacitor 11 shown in FIG. Like the D point voltage at the time of reception, the signal is superimposed on a predetermined bias voltage and input to the demodulation circuit 9.”)
an outdoor unit coupled to the indoor unit through the power communication line, including: (see Abstract; Hideki: “communication unit connected to two connection cables 3 and 4 for supplying AC power between the indoor unit and the outdoor unit.”)
an outdoor control device configured to output outdoor unit parameters; and (see [0024]; Hideki: “And output to the secondary winding through the core. Next, the signal is input to the demodulation circuit 22 through the coupling capacitor 23, demodulated after removing the high frequency carrier, and input to the microcomputer 31 of the outdoor unit 2. The outdoor unit microcomputer 31 receives a command by a serial communication signal from the indoor unit 1 and determines operating conditions of the refrigerant compression compressor 36 and the outdoor blower 35.”)
an outdoor communication device coupled to the outdoor control device, wherein the outdoor communication device is configured to: (see [0024]; Hideki: “the microcomputer 31”) receive the outdoor unit parameters, generate a third high-frequency signal carrying the outdoor unit parameters based on the received outdoor unit parameters, and load the third high-frequency signal onto the power communication line, so as to output the outdoor unit parameters; (see [0016]; Hideki: “The outdoor unit transmits outdoor unit information including operation information of the outdoor unit, information from the temperature detection means of the outdoor unit, and failure information of the outdoor unit,”. See [0024]: “The outdoor unit microcomputer 31 receives a command by a serial communication signal from the indoor unit 1 and determines operating conditions of the refrigerant compression compressor 36 and the outdoor blower 35. Similarly, transmission of information from the outdoor unit 2 is performed to the indoor unit 1 and the transmission of these information is sequentially repeated.”)
an outdoor filtering device coupled to the outdoor communication device, wherein the outdoor filtering device is configured to receive a communication signal on the power communication line, and filter out a power signal of the communication signal to obtain a fourth high-frequency signal carrying transmitter parameters; (see [0024]; Hideki: “On the other hand, the outdoor unit 2 transmits a serial communication signal transmitted from the indoor unit 1 superimposed on the serial communication cable 5 on the basis of one of the connection cables 3 and 4 of the indoor / outdoor unit as a primary winding of the high frequency transformer 25. And output to the secondary winding through the core.”) and the outdoor filtering device is further configured to extract the transmitter parameters based on the fourth high-frequency signal and feed the transmitter parameters back to the outdoor control device, (see [0024]; Hideki: “Next, the signal is input to the demodulation circuit 22 through the coupling capacitor 23, demodulated after removing the high frequency carrier, and input to the microcomputer 31 of the outdoor unit 2. The outdoor unit microcomputer 31 receives a command by a serial communication signal from the indoor unit 1 and determines operating conditions of the refrigerant compression compressor 36 and the outdoor blower 35. Similarly, transmission of information from the outdoor unit 2 is performed to the indoor unit 1 and the transmission of these information is sequentially repeated.”) wherein the power signal includes alternating current power signals; (see [0014]; Hideki: “Provided between the indoor unit and the outdoor unit are two connection cables for supplying the AC power and one communication cable for communication”,)
a signal detection circuit configured to convert alternating current power signals transmitted in the power communication line into a first-level signal and a second-level signal; (see [0024]; Hideki: “The outdoor unit microcomputer 31 receives a command by a serial communication signal from the indoor unit 1 and determines operating conditions of the refrigerant compression compressor 36 and the outdoor blower 35. Similarly, transmission of information from the outdoor unit 2 is performed to the indoor unit 1 and the transmission of these information is sequentially repeated. The failure information of the outdoor unit 2 is transmitted to the indoor unit 1 in the same manner.”)
However, Hideki does not explicitly teach:
and a temperature protector coupled to the indoor unit and the outdoor unit through the power communication line, including:
a temperature control device configured to output temperature control setting parameters; and
a temperature control communication device coupled to the temperature control device, wherein the temperature control communication device is configured to: receive the temperature control setting parameters, generate a fifth high-frequency signal carrying the temperature control setting parameters based on the received temperature control setting parameters, and load the fifth high-frequency signal onto the power communication line, so as to output the temperature control setting parameters.
Jo from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches:
and a temperature protector coupled to the indoor unit and the outdoor unit through the power communication line, including: (see [0067]; Jo: “Specifically, in the air conditioner shown in FIG. 1B, a wired controller 200 is provided between an indoor unit 100 and an outdoor unit 300.”)
a temperature control device configured to output temperature control setting parameters; and (see [0059]; Jo: “The wired controller 200 includes a manipulation unit (not shown) that is manipulated to set operation mode information, target temperature information, or the like of the indoor unit 100 and a display unit (not shown) to display operation status information, indoor temperature information, indoor humidity information, and the like of the indoor unit 100.”)
a temperature control communication device coupled to the temperature control device, wherein the temperature control communication device is configured to: receive the temperature control setting parameters, generate a fifth high-frequency signal carrying the temperature control setting parameters based on the received temperature control setting parameters, and load the fifth high-frequency signal onto the power communication line, so as to output the temperature control setting parameters. (see [0119]; Jo: “That is, even when the polarities of the two lines connected between the indoor unit 100 and the wired controller 200 are reversed, high-frequency communication signals may be correctly transmitted and received between the indoor unit 100 and the wired controller 200 since the high-frequency communication signals are transmitted and received between the indoor unit 100 and the wired controller 200 through the rectifier (260).” See [0135]: “The second controller 230 of the wired controller 200 analyzes a communication signal transmitted from the indoor unit 100 and controls overall operations and operation status display of the indoor unit 100 according to the analyzed result and controls output of a communication signal corresponding to manipulation of a manipulation unit (not shown) associated with target temperature setting, wind direction setting, operation mode setting, and the like.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Hideki to include Jo’s features of and a temperature protector coupled to the indoor unit and the outdoor unit through the power communication line, including: a temperature control device configured to output temperature control setting parameters; and a temperature control communication device coupled to the temperature control device, wherein the temperature control communication device is configured to: receive the temperature control setting parameters, generate a fifth high-frequency signal carrying the temperature control setting parameters based on the received temperature control setting parameters, and load the fifth high-frequency signal onto the power communication line, so as to output the temperature control setting parameters. Doing so would reduce the likelihood of malfunction in communication circuits and avoid repair costs when a communication circuit malfunctions. (Jo, [0011])
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Hideki and Jo teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above, Hideki further teaches wherein the indoor unit further includes: a linear transformer configured to modulate a voltage of an alternating current transmitted in the power communication line into a power signal voltage. 9see [0021]; Hideki: “25 is a high-frequency transformer for transmitting and receiving communication signals, 26 is a resistor for limiting the drive current of the high-frequency transformer, and 27 is a parallel resonance circuit with the inductance of the primary winding of the high-frequency transformer.”)
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Hideki and Jo teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above, Hideki further teaches wherein the outdoor filtering device includes at least one capacitor (see Fig. 1 and [0024]; Hideki: “the coupling capacitor 23”), and the at least one capacitor is configured to filter out the power signal of the communication signal. (see [0024]; Hideki: “Next, the signal is input to the demodulation circuit 22 through the coupling capacitor 23, demodulated after removing the high frequency carrier, and input to the microcomputer 31 of the outdoor unit 2.”)
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Hideki and Jo teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above, Hideki further teaches wherein the temperature protector further includes: a temperature control filtering device coupled to the temperature control communication device (see [0059]; Hideki: “the wired controller 200 transmits a communication signal corresponding to at least one manipulation (or operation) of the manipulation unit associated with an operation mode, a target temperature, and the like of the indoor unit 100 to the indoor unit 100 and displays operation status information and the like of the indoor unit 100 corresponding to a communication signal transmitted from the indoor unit 100 on the display unit.”), wherein the temperature control filtering device is configured to receive a communication signal on the power communication line, filter out a power signal of the communication signal, and obtain a sixth high-frequency signal carrying transmitter parameters. (see Abstract; Hideki: “Each of the indoor unit and the wired controller includes a communication unit that modulates a low-frequency communication signal into a high-frequency communication signal and transmits the high-frequency signal and demodulates a received high-frequency signal into a low-frequency signal.”)
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Hideki and Jo teaches all the limitations of claim 8 above, Jo further teaches wherein the temperature control filtering device is further configured to: extract the transmitter parameters according to the sixth high-frequency signal and feed the transmitter parameters back to the temperature control device. (see [0124]; Jo: “The second controller 230 of the wired controller 200 analyzes a communication signal transmitted from the indoor unit 100 and controls overall operations and operation status display of the indoor unit 100 according to the analyzed result and controls output of a communication signal corresponding to manipulation of a manipulation unit (not shown) associated with target temperature setting, wind direction setting, operation mode setting, and the like.”. See [0135]: “The second controller 230 of the wired controller 200 analyzes a communication signal transmitted from the indoor unit 100 and controls overall operations and operation status display of the indoor unit 100 according to the analyzed result and controls output of a communication signal corresponding to manipulation of a manipulation unit (not shown) associated with target temperature setting, wind direction setting, operation mode setting, and the like.”)
The same motivation to combine Hideki and Jo a set forth for Claim 1 equally applies to Claim 9.
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Hideki and Jo teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above, Hideki further teaches wherein the temperature protector further includes: a display device coupled to the temperature control device, wherein the display device is configured to display transmitter parameters. (see [0061]; Hideki: “The wired controller 200 also displays information such as indoor temperature and humidity transmitted from various sensors (not shown) on the display unit.”)
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Hideki and Jo teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above, Hideki further teaches wherein the indoor unit parameters include an ambient temperature and an indoor coil temperature. (see [0016]; Hideki: “detection means of the outdoor unit, and failure information of the outdoor unit, The indoor unit is configured to receive the outdoor unit information from the outdoor unit and determine an operation state using user operation information and information from a temperature detection unit of the indoor unit.”)
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Hideki and Jo teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above, Hideki further teaches wherein the outdoor unit parameters include a compressor frequency and an outdoor coil temperature. (see [0024]; Hideki: “The outdoor unit microcomputer 31 receives a command by a serial communication signal from the indoor unit 1 and determines operating conditions of the refrigerant compression compressor 36 and the outdoor blower 35.” See [0016]: “The outdoor unit transmits outdoor unit information including operation information of the outdoor unit, information from the temperature detection means of the outdoor unit, and failure information of the outdoor unit,”)
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Hideki and Jo teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above, Hideki further teaches wherein the power communication line is an alternating current power communication line. (see [0014]; Hideki: “Provided between the indoor unit and the outdoor unit are two connection cables for supplying the AC power and one communication cable for communication”,)
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Hideki and Jo teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above, Hideki further teaches wherein the indoor control device is a microcontroller unit. (see [0019]; Hideki: “In FIG. 1, 1 is an indoor unit, 6 is an AC-DC converter for generating a voltage required to operate a control system such as a microcomputer of the indoor unit 1 from a commercial power source, 7 is a microcomputer,”)
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Hideki and Jo teaches all the limitations of claim 14 above, Hideki further teaches wherein the indoor communication device includes at least one communication chip, the at least one communication chip is coupled to the microcontroller unit, and the at least one communication chip is configured to receive the indoor unit parameters and generate the first high frequency signal, and load the first high frequency signal onto the power communication line. (see [0022]; Hideki: “In consideration of the above information, the microcomputer 7 comprehensively determines the operation mode, sends the transmission signal carried on the high-frequency carrier signal to the secondary side of the high-frequency transformer 14 via the driver 12 and the limiting resistor 13 It is given to the winding and propagated to the primary side through the core.”)
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hideki (JP 4336142 B2 -hereinafter Hideki -Note: As the translation attached) in view of Jo et al. (US20120033745A1 -hereinafter Jo) in view of Nishio et al. (JPH08271016A -hereinafter Nishio).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Hideki and Jo teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above, Hideki further teaches wherein the first-level signal and the second-level signal include signals for starting or stopping a compressor, opening a four-way valve, and a defrosting signal output from the outdoor unit to the indoor unit. (see [0024]; Hideki: “The outdoor unit microcomputer 31 receives a command by a serial communication signal from the indoor unit 1 and determines operating conditions of the refrigerant compression compressor 36 and the outdoor blower 35.”)
However, it does not explicitly teach: wherein the first-level signal and the second-level signal include signals for …opening a four-way valve, and a defrosting signal output from the outdoor unit to the indoor unit.
Nishio from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the first-level signal and the second-level signal include signals for …opening a four-way valve (see page 5, paragraph 8; Nishio: “A heating operation signal is output from 3b and 13c to the outdoor control means 12 (STEP 1), and the outdoor control means 12 normally operates the variable capacity compressor 2 (for example, frequency 60 Hz operation), turns on the four-way valve 3, and electrically expands the outdoor side. The valve 4 is opened normally (for example, 300 pulse opening operation), the outdoor fan 6 is turned on, the indoor control means 13a, 13b, 13c turn on the indoor electric expansion valves 8a, 8b, 8c at the normal opening (for example, 600 pulse opening operation) and turn on the indoor fans 10a, 10b, 10c (STEP 2)”), and a defrosting signal output from the outdoor unit to the indoor unit. (see page 8, second paragraph; Nishio: “Branch to the Y side and send a signal to the defrosting operation control means 14. With this signal, the defrosting operation control means 14 determines the start of the defrosting operation and outputs a defrosting operation start signal to the outdoor control means 12 and the indoor control means 13a, 13b, 13c”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of the combination of Hideki and Jo to include Nishio’s features of wherein the first-level signal and the second-level signal include signals for opening a four-way valve, and a defrosting signal output from the outdoor unit to the indoor unit. Doing so would perform the defrosting operation without impairing the comfort of the indoor environment, and improve the comfort of the indoor environment. (Nishio, page 2, paragraph 6).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to applicant’s argument located on page 9 of the Amendment:
“It can be seen that the specific arrangement of the cables carrying different types of communication signals in Hideki is different from the specific arrangement of the power communication line carrying different types of communication signals of amended claim 1.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner interprets ‘the serial communication cable 5 on the basis of one of the connection cables 3 and 4’ reads on ‘the power communication line’. Therefore, Hideki still reads on the limitation.
With respect to applicant’s argument located on page 10 of the Amendment:
“It can be seen that the specific arrangement of the filter in Hideki is different from the specific arrangement of the indoor filtering device 104 of amended claim 1.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiners interprets ‘forming into a smooth AC signal’ reads on ‘filter out the power signal.’ Therefore, Hideki still reads on the limitation.
With respect to applicant’s argument located on page 11 of the Amendment:
“It can be seen that the specific arrangement of the demodulator circuit 22 in Hideki is different from those of specific arrangement of the outdoor filtering device 204 of amended claim 1.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner respectfully would like to remind applicant that the rejections are based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim limitations. Examiners interprets ‘removing the high frequency carrier’ reads on ‘filter out the power signal.’ The claims as presently presented do not preclude this interpretation. Therefore, Hideki still reads on the limitation.
With respect to applicant’s argument located on page 12 of the Amendment:
“It can be seen that the specific arrangement of the microcomputer 31 for receiving the serial communication signal in Hideki is different from the specific arrangement of the signal detection circuit 205 for converting the alternating current power signals of amended claim 1. Therefore, the microcomputer 31 cannot be equivalent to the signal detection circuit 205 of amended claim 1. On this basis, Hideki does not disclose the signal detection circuit 205 and its arrangement of amended claim 1.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiners interprets ‘receives a command by a serial communication signal from the indoor unit 1 and determines operating conditions of the refrigerant compression compressor 36 and the outdoor blower’ reads on ‘convert the alternating current power signals into a first-level signal and a second-level signal’. Therefore, Hideki still reads on the limitation. Moreover, the limitation directs to “convert the alternating current power signals transmitted in the power communication line into a first-level signal and a second-level signal”. If Applicant intents to claim how to convert it, then it should be expressly recited in the claims.
With respect to applicant’s argument located on page 13 of the Amendment:
“As described above, Jo also does not disclose or suggest the above distinguishable features of amended claim 1.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Hideki teaches filter out a power signal of the communication signal while Jo teaches receiving and output the temperature control setting parameters. The advantage of incorporating Hideki into the teachings of Jo is outlined in the above rejection. Therefore, the combination of Hideki and Jo still read the claimed method.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Park (US6290141B1) discloses a transmitter/receiver circuit is also included in each of the indoor units and outdoor unit, and is connected to the power line to convert information to be transmitted into a pulse form, which carries the converted result in an alternating current voltage to transmit the information through the power line and receive information from the power line.
Lee (US9448008B2) discloses the air conditioner enables a supply of electric power with a sufficiently high voltage to a remote controller by supplying electric power to the remote controller by one indoor unit exhibiting a highest voltage value of electric power to be supplied to the remote controller, as compared to other indoor units.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/V.N.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/ROBERT E FENNEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117