DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
This office action is responsive to the amendments filed on April 22, 2026. As directed by the amendments: claims 1, 7, 8, 9, and 20 have been amended. Thus, claims 1-20 are presently pending in this application.
Claims 1-19 were previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite due to the use of the phrase “other.” In the present amendment, Applicant has revised claims 1 and 7 to recite “other electronic components of the medical fluid system,” thereby clarifying the scope of the claims. Applicant has also amended claims 8 and 9 to maintain antecedent basis. In view of these amendments, the rejection of claims 1-19 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed April 22, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive as to the new §103 rejection set forth below. The §102 rejection of claim 1 (and dependent claims) is withdrawn for the reasons explained below.
Applicant has amended independent claim 1 to:
Clarify that the “other components” of the medical fluid system are “other electronic components” and
Specify that the medical fluid pump or other electronic components are “supported by the mounting plate on a side of the mounting plate opposite the thermoelectric heater.” These amendments have been fully considered.
The §102 rejection of claim 1 is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 12-15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatamian (US Publication No. 2006/0173396), in view of Hou (US Patent No. 5,983,997), hereinafter, Hou.
Regarding claim 1, Hatamian discloses:
A medical fluid system (system 10 in Fig 1) comprising:
a medical fluid pump (pump 60 in Fig 1) configured to pump a medical fluid;
a thermoelectric heater (Peltier module 164 in Fig 13) positioned and arranged to heat medical fluid pumped by the medical fluid pump (60), the thermoelectric heater (164) including a heated side (164 in thermal contact with top and bottom coil plates 342 & 344 of heat exchanger 320 as shown is Figs 18-21 and described in Paras [0074-0077]) and a cooled side (164 in thermal contact with cold plate 132 as described in Para [0070] Lines 3-7);
a heat exchanger (fluid assembly housing 320 as seen in Figs 18-21) through which medical fluid pumped by the medical fluid pump (60) is heated, the heat exchanger (320) positioned and arranged so as to be in thermal communication with the heated side (164 in thermal contact with coil plates 342 & 344 of heat exchanger 320) of the thermoelectric heater (164). (Para [0078] Lines 6-9); and
a mounting plate (cold plate 132 together with and mounted inside of bracket 138), the medical fluid pump (60) or other electronic components of the medical fluid system (10) supported by the mounting plate (132, 138),
Hatamian fails, however, to disclose that the medical fluid pump or other electrical components of the medical fluid system are supported by the mounting plate on a side of the mounting plate opposite the thermoelectric heater, the mounting plate positioned and arranged so as to be in thermal communication with the cooled side of the thermoelectric heater.
Hou teaches a cold plate (plate 10 / base plate 11 in fig. 2) having electrical components (heat-generating electronic components 100 in fig. 2) on a side of the mounting plate opposite the thermoelectric heater, the mounting plate positioned and arrange so as to be in thermal communication with the cooled side of the thermoelectric heater (electronic components 100 are directly mounted on bosses 24a-24g on one face of the plate while the cooling medium (fluid channels 20 and fins structures 26) is in thermal communication with the opposite face of the same plate in figs. 2-4; col. 4, lines 9-26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify the mounting plate / cold plate of Hatamian by mounting the medical fluid pump or other electronic components on the side of the mounting plate opposite the thermoelectric heater, as taught by Hou, in order to achieve direct thermal coupling, improve heat transfer from the electronics / pump to the cooled side of the thermoelectric heater, and obtain a substantially isothermal surface benefit that yields the predictable result of better component cooling while recovering waste heat for fluid heating.
Regarding claim 2, modified Hatamian discloses the medical fluid system (10) of Claim 1, wherein the heat exchanger (320) being in thermal communication with the heated side (164 in thermal contact with coil plates 342 & 344 of heat exchanger 320) of the thermoelectric heater (164) includes directly contacting the heated side (164 in thermal contact with coil plates 342 & 344 of heat exchanger 320). (Para [0078]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Hatamian discloses the medical fluid system (10) of Claim 1, wherein the heat exchanger (320) includes a conductive heat exchanger block (top and bottom coil plates 342 & 344 as seen in Figs 18-21) and a conductive serpentine pathway (coil channels 350 & 351 in coil housing chamber 328 as seen in Figs 18-21) supported by the conductive heat exchanger block (342 & 344).
Regarding claim 6, modified Hatamian discloses the medical fluid system (10) of Claim 1, wherein the mounting plate (cold plate 132 together with and mounted inside of bracket 138), being in thermal communication with the cooled side (164 in thermal contact with cold plate 132) of the thermoelectric heater (164) includes being in direct contact with the cooled side. (Para [0070] Lines 3-5).
Regarding claim 7, modified Hatamian discloses a medical fluid pump (60) or other electronic components (Hou: heat-generating components 100) of the medical fluid system (10) being supported by the mounting plate (cold plate 132 together with and mounted inside of bracket 138) which includes the medical fluid pump (60) or other electronic components of the medical fluid system (10) being mounted to the mounting plate (132 with 138).
Regarding claim 8, modified Hatamian discloses the medical fluid system of Claim 1, wherein the other electronic components include at least one of (i) at least one valve, (ii) at least one temperature sensor, (iii) at least one pressure sensor, or (iv) a flow sensor or flow switch (Hatamian discloses adjusting flow rate and volume, as well as temperature using temperature leads 422; para [0092]), and electronics associated with the other electronic components (Hou: heat-generating components 100).
Regarding claim 10, modified Hatamian discloses a mounting plate (132 with 138), but fails to teach that it is attached to or is formed to have at least one heat fin for convectively transferring heat from at least one component of the medical fluid system (10) to the mounting plate (132 with 138), the at least one component located adjacent to the at least one heat fin.
Hou teaches providing fins (fin structures 26 in Fig 3) on thermally conductive plates or cold plates (10) associated with thermoelectric devices, and positioning components adjacent to these fins (26) so that air flow across the fins convectively transfer heat from nearby components to the cold plate (10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify the mounting plate of Hatamian to have a fin attached to or be formed to have a least one heat fin as taught by Hou in order to enhance convective heat transfer from those components into the mounting plate and thereby improve their cooling.
Regarding claim 12, modified Hatamian discloses the medical fluid system (10) of Claim 1, wherein the thermoelectric heater (164 within thermoelectric system 210 in Fig 16) includes a plurality of semiconductors (P-type semiconductors 232 and N-type semiconductors 234 in Fig 16) extending between the heated side (210 in thermal contact with coil plates 342 & 344 of heat exchanger 320) and a cooled side (164 in thermal contact with cold plate 132).
Regarding claim 13, modified Hatamian discloses the medical fluid system (10) of Claim 12, which includes a plurality of conductive leads (electrical conductors 226a-c in Fig 16) located between the plurality of semiconductors (232, 234) and the heated and cooled sides (164 in thermal contact with coil plates 342 & 344 of heat exchanger 320 and cold plate 132).
Regarding claim 14, modified Hatamian discloses the medical fluid system (10) of Claim 13, wherein the plurality of conductive leads (226a-c) are positioned and arranged such that the plurality of semiconductors (232, 234) operate electrically in series (Fig 16 shows the conductive leads arranged in series with direct current source 238).
Regarding claim 15, modified Hatamian discloses the medical fluid system (10) of Claim 12, wherein the plurality of semiconductors (232, 234) operate thermally in parallel. (Fig 16 indicates parallel direction of thermal conductivity via arrows inside of semiconductors).
Regarding claim 18, modified Hatamian discloses the medical fluid system (10) of Claim 1, which includes a control unit (Para [0057] Lines 9-17), the control unit configured to cause the polarity of power to the thermoelectric heater (164) to be reversed (Para [0057] Lines 9-17) such that the heated side (164 in thermal contact with coil plates 342 & 344 of heat exchanger 320) becomes a cooled side (164 in thermal contact with coil plates 342 & 344 of heat exchanger 320 and cold plate 132) of the thermoelectric heater (164), wherein the heat exchanger (320) is then positioned and arranged so as to be in thermal communication with the cooled side (164 in thermal contact with cold plate 132).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatamian in view of Hou, as applied to claims 1 and 3 above, and further in view of Cleland (US Patent No 5564602), hereinafter, Cleland.
Regarding claim 4, modifies Hatamian discloses a conductive heat exchanger block (top and bottom coil plates 342 & 344) and a serpentine pathway (coil channels 350 & 351), but Hatamian fails to disclose that the block is made of aluminum or copper and that the conductive serpentine pathway is made of stainless steel.
Cleland teaches a heat exchanger (primary heat exchanger means N in Fig 6) made of cast aluminum in heat-conducting contact with serpentine-formed stainless-steel fluid conducting coils (Col 10, Lines 21-28).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heat exchanger block of Hatamian to be made of cast aluminum and to modify the serpentine pathway to be made out of stainless steel as taught by Cleland in order to achieve predictable benefits in thermal performance, corrosion resistance, and cleanability.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatamian in view of Hou, as applied to claims 1 and 3 above, and further in view of Fehlau (EP No 0003822), hereinafter, Fehlau.
Regarding claim 5, modified Hatamian discloses a temperature sensor (temperature leads 422) to measure the temperature of fluid flowing to and from the subject for purposes of controlling temperature of the medical fluid, but Hatamian fails to disclose the specific location of the temperature sensor as being on or inside the conductive heat exchanger block (top and bottom coil plates 342 & 344).
Fehlau teaches a temperature sensor (temperature sensor 8 in Fig 2) arranged inside the heat exchanger block (main exchanger 4 in Fig 2) as close as possible to the outflowing fluid line.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the temperature sensor arrangement of Hatamian by placing the temperature sensor inside the heat exchanger block as taught by Fehlau in order to measure fluid temperature directly at the point of heat transfer and thereby provide more accurate and responsive temperature control.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatamian in view of Hou, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lipp (US Patent Application Publication No 20090159241), hereinafter Lipp.
Regarding claim 9, modified Hatamian discloses that the medical fluid system (10) includes at least one heat pipe extending from the medical fluid pump (60) or at least one of the other electronic components of the medical fluid system (10) to the mounting plate (132 with 138) for conducting heat to the mounting plate (132 with 138).
Lipp (para [0046] and Claim 14) teaches thermal management structures for electronic devices in which discrete heat pipes (first manifold pipe 106 and second manifold pipe 108) extend from heat-generating components to a cold plate (cold plate shelves 101) so that heat is efficiently conducted from the components into the cold plate (cold plate shelves 101).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mounting plate of Hatamian to include a heat pipe extending from the medical fluid pump or other heat-generating components to be in thermal communication with the cold plate, as taught by Lipp, in order to enhance conduction of heat from those components into the mounting plate that is in thermal communication with the cold plate.
Claims 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatamian in view of Hou, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Peters (US Patent Application Publication No 20130136431), hereinafter Peters.
Regarding claim 11, modified Hatamian discloses a medical fluid system (10) in which the cooled side (164 in thermal contact with cold plate 132) of a thermoelectric heater (164) is thermally coupled to a mounting plate (132 with 138) that supports heat-generating components, and it is contemplated to provide heat fins on the mounting plate (132 with 138) to convectively cool components that cannot be directly mounted, with air circulating between the fins and the adjacent components to transfer heat. However, Hatamian does not explicitly disclose a fan arranged to blow air between the fins and those convectively cooled components.
Peters discloses a fan (fan 17 in Fig 1) used for directing heated fluid to a cold section (para [0175]). In another embodiment, Peters illustrates the heating of a cold section of a heating device as being achieved by means of an air flow fan (fan 400 in Fig 6) and, in particular, one that is conducted in a targeted manner (para [0189]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the finned mounting plate of Hatamian to incorporate a fan directed to blow air between the fins, as taught by Peters, in order to enhance convective heat transfer from nearby electronic components to the cold plate.
Regarding claim 20, modified Hatamian discloses method for heating a medical fluid comprising a supplying electrical energy to a thermoelectric heater (164) so as to create a heated side (164 in thermal contact with coil plates 342 & 344 of heat exchanger 320) and a cooled side (164 in thermal contact with cold plate 132) of the thermoelectric heater, the thermoelectric heater (164) provided as part of a medical fluid machine (apparatus provided by heat exchanger 320).
Hatamian does not disclose locating a heat exchanger (320) so that medical fluid flowing within the heat exchanger (320) receives heat from the heated side (164 in thermal contact with coil plates 342 & 344 of heat exchanger 320) of the thermoelectric heater (164); and
locating at least one electronic component of the medical fluid machine (apparatus provided by heat exchanger 320) in direct contact with a mounting plate that is in direct contact with the cooled side of the thermoelectric heater on a side of the mounting plate opposite the at least one electronic component so that heat given off by the at least one electronic component is received by the cooled side (164 in thermal contact with cold plate 132) of the thermoelectric heater (164), the heat received by the cooled side (164 in thermal contact with cold plate 132) of the thermoelectric heater (164) adding to available heat at the heated side (164 in thermal contact with coil plates 342 & 344 of heat exchanger 320) of the thermoelectric heater (164) generated via the supply of electrical energy.
Peters (para [0090-0095]) contemplates using waste heat to warm the cold section of a thermoelectric heater (heating device 1 in Fig 4A) and explains that the heat flow at the hot side may be improved via waste heat.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arrangement of the heat exchanger, thermoelectric heater, attached or formed fins, and fans of Hatamian to utilize waste heat produced by heat-generating components, at taught by Peters, for the improved hot side heating of blood or dialysate which avoids the higher energy demands of the dialysis machine.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatamian in view of Hou, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Moqrich (US Patent Application Publication No 20160113996), hereinafter Moqrich.
Regarding claim 16, Hatamian discloses recites that the medical fluid system (10) of Claim 1, but fails to disclose a resistive inline heater located fluidically in series with the thermoelectric heater (164).
Moqrich (Para [0154], Lines 16-18) discloses fluid temperature control arrangements in which a resistive inline heater is provided in series with another heating device, in this case a Peltier device, to both coo and heat fluid to achieve and maintain a precise setpoint temperature under varying operating conditions.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hatamian’s thermoelectric heater by adding a resistive inline heater fluidically in series with the thermoelectric heater, so that the resistive heater can assist when the thermoelectric heater alone cannot rapidly achieve the desired treatment temperature.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatamian in view of Hou and in view of Moqrich, as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, and further in view of Crocco (US Patent Application Publication No 20170211854), hereinafter Crocco.
Regarding claim 17, in the modified device of Hatamian, Hatamian discloses a medical fluid system (10), which includes a control unit (Para [0057] Lines 9-17), the thermoelectric heater (164) and the resistive inline heater under control of the control unit; However, Hatamian does not disclose the control unit configured to power the resistive inline heater as needed to aid the thermoelectric heater (164) in heating the medical fluid to a desired temperature.
Crocco discloses a controller (231 in Fig 5) for medical fluid heating systems having multiple heaters or heating stages, where a controller (231) operates the heaters in a coordinated fashion based on sensed fluid temperature (para [0042]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thermoelectric heater and resistive inline heater of Hatamian with the controller of Crocco in order to be able to increase the rate of heating the fluid to a desired temperature or to increase a temperature to which the load can be heated.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatamian in view of Hou, as applied to claims 1 and 18 above, and further in view of Feddersen (US Patent Application Publication No 20180160568), hereinafter Feddersen.
Regarding claim 19, Hatamian discloses a medical fluid system (10), but fails to disclose a system which includes a humidity sensor positioned and arranged to measure humidity adjacent to the mounting plate (132 with 138), the control unit further configured to use an output from the humidity sensor to determine when to cause the polarity of power to the thermoelectric heater (164) to be reversed so as to prevent the mounting plate (132 with 138) from reaching a dew point temperature.
Feddersen discloses a control unit (control circuit 19) and humidity sensor (sensor 31) connected to a temperature sensor (temperature sensor 32). This is an “apparatus for removing moisture condensed on the condensation element from the interior into the surroundings of the switch cabinet, wherein the control apparatus is designed to temporarily reverse the polarity of the current supply of the Peltier element” (Abstract, para [0027]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the medical fluid system of Hatamian by adding a humidity sensor positioned adjacent to the cooled side mounting plate and to program the control unit to use the humidity sensor output together with the temperature to determine when the dew point is near and reverse polarity to prevent condensation.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZACHARIAH K WHITROCK/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/MICHAEL J TSAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783