DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-11, 14-16, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2005/0229504 to Bennett et al. (“Bennett”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2024/0165924 to Clement et al. (“Clement”).
Regarding claim 1, Bennett discloses a panel 20, capable of use as a subfloor panel, comprising a lignocellulosic material (par 0029) suitable for use as a subfloor and an integrated vapor retarder 30 coextensive to at least one surface of the lignocellulosic material, wherein the lignocellulosic material comprises a first resin (par 0024) and the vapor retarder 30 comprises a second resin (par 0037) with the vapor retarder maintains its vapor retardance properties, but does not disclose that the vapor retarder is integrated onto the at least one surface of the lignocellulosic material via a chemical reaction between the first resin and the second resin.
Clement discloses a panel wherein a layer is integrated onto the at least one surface of the lignocellulosic material via a chemical reaction between the first resin and the second resin (Clement par 068, 085-086 and par 0146 discloses a fiberboard substrate and resin impregnated layer are bonded together with crosslinking (i.e. chemical reaction) of resins from heat and pressure instead of adhesion) for a strong bond that resists delamination (Clement par 0083).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the panel of Bennett to have the vapor retarder is integrated onto the at least one surface of the lignocellulosic material via a chemical reaction between the first resin and the second resin as taught in Clement with a reasonable expectation of success because it would predictably provide an improved bond that resists delamination.
Regarding claim 2, Bennett in view of Clement discloses that the subfloor panel has a permeance of from about 0.1 to about 1.0 perms, as measured per ASTM E96-22 water method (Method B) (par 0039 discloses 0.1-12 perms and has values within the claimed range).
Regarding claim 3, Bennett in view of Clement discloses that the subfloor panel has a permeance of from about 0.1 to about 1.0 perms, as measured per ASTM E96-22 desiccant method (Method A) (par 0039 discloses 0.7-7 perms and has values within the claimed range).
Regarding claim 4, Bennett in view of Clement discloses that the subfloor panel has a permeance of from about 0.1 to about 1.0 perms, as measured per ASTM E96-22 desiccant method (Method A) (par 0039 discloses 0.7-7 perms) and/or ASTM E96-22 water method (Method B) (par 0039 discloses 0.1-12 perms and has values within the claimed range).
Regarding claim 5, Bennett in view of Clement discloses that the lignocellulosic material comprises oriented strand board (OSB) (par 0029-par 0030).
Regarding claim 9, Bennett in view of Clement discloses that the vapor retarder 30 is integrated to a top surface of the lignocellulosic material, a bottom surface of the lignocellulosic material, or both the top and bottom surfaces of the lignocellulosic material.
Regarding claim 10, Bennett in view of Clement discloses that the top surface of the lignocellulosic material or the bottom surface of the lignocellulosic material is sanded (par 0056).
Regarding claim 11, Bennett in view of Clement discloses that the vapor retarder comprises paper 32 (par 0037).
Regarding claim 14, Bennett in view of Clement discloses that the vapor retarder comprises a screen imprint (par 0062).
Regarding claim 15, Bennett in view of Clement discloses that the paper 32 has a paper basis weight of from about 50 to about 150 pounds per 100 square feet (sq. ft.) (par 0037 discloses 48-255lbs/msf and has values within the claimed range).
Regarding claim 16, Bennett in view of Clement discloses that the subfloor panel has a density of from about 38 to about 50 pounds per feet cubed (lbs./ft3) (par 0096 discloses density of 41.5lbs/cubic feet and has values within the claimed range).
Regarding claim 18, Bennett in view of Clement discloses that the subfloor panel has a wet coefficient of friction of from about 0.6 to about 1.3 (claim 40 discloses a wet coefficient of friction of 0.8-1.1 and has values within the claimed range).
Regarding claim 19, Bennett in view of Clement discloses that the subfloor panel has a dry coefficient of friction of about 0.9 or higher (claim 40 discloses a dry coefficient of friction of at least 0.8 which includes values over 0.8 including 0.9).
Regarding claim 20, Bennett in view of Clement discloses that the subfloor panel has a thickness of from about 0.650 to about 1.175 inches (par 0073 discloses a thickness of 0.25-1.25 inches and has values within the claimed range).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bennett in view of Clement as applied in claim 1 above and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2022/0371219 to Yadama et al. (“Yadama”).
Regarding claim 6, Bennett in view of Clement does not disclose that the first resin comprises phenyl formaldehyde (PF).
Yadama discloses a resin comprising phenyl formaldehyde is commonly used to bind lignocellulosic material in oriented strand boards or panels made of wood strands (par 0059).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use phenyl formaldehyde, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). This would predictably allow use of a readily available resin.
Claim(s) 7, 8, 13, and 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bennett in view of Clement as applied in claim 1 above and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2018/0179754 to Karnicki et al. (“Karnicki”).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Bennett in view of Clement does not disclose that the first resin comprises isocyanate comprising polymeric methylene diphenyl diisocyanate (pMDI).
Karnicki comprises an OSB panel wherein a first resin comprises isocyanate comprising polymeric methylene diphenyl diisocyanate (pMDI) (Karnicki, par 0106 and claim 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use an isocyanate comprising polymeric methylene diphenyl diisocyanate, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). This would predictably allow use of a readily available resin.
Regarding claim 13, Bennett in view of Clement discloses that the second resin is a phenol-formaldehyde resin (par 0037), but does not expressly disclose that the first resin and second resin comprise different resins.
Karnicki comprises an OSB panel wherein a first resin comprises isocyanate comprising polymeric methylene diphenyl diisocyanate (pMDI) (Karnicki, par 0106 and claim 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use an isocyanate comprising polymeric methylene diphenyl diisocyanate, which is different from the second resin, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). This would predictably allow use of a readily available resin.
Regarding claim 21, Bennett in view of Clement discloses that the vapor retarder 30 comprises paper 32 and a first resin (par 0032), further wherein the lignocellulosic material comprises oriented strand board (pars 0024-0025, 0029), which further comprises a second resin (par 0024), further wherein the subfloor panel has a permeance of from about 0.1 to about 1.0 perms, as measured per ASTM E96-22 water method (Method B) (par 0039 discloses 0.1-12 perms and has values within the claimed range), but does not disclose that the second resin comprises pMDI.
Karnicki comprises an OSB panel wherein a resin comprises isocyanate comprising polymeric methylene diphenyl diisocyanate (pMDI) (Karnicki, par 0106 and claim 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use an isocyanate comprising polymeric methylene diphenyl diisocyanate, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). This would predictably allow use of a readily available resin.
Regarding claim 22, Bennett in view of Clement discloses that the vapor retarder 30 comprises paper 32 and a first resin (par 0032), further wherein the lignocellulosic material comprises oriented strand board (pars 0024-0025, 0029), which further comprises a second resin (par 0024), further wherein the subfloor panel has a permeance of from about 0.1 to about 1.0 perms, as measured per ASTM E96-22 desiccant method (Method A) (par 0039 discloses 0.7-7 perms and has values within the claimed range), but does not disclose that the second resin comprises pMDI.
Karnicki comprises an OSB panel wherein a resin comprises isocyanate comprising polymeric methylene diphenyl diisocyanate (pMDI) (Karnicki, par 0106 and claim 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use an isocyanate comprising polymeric methylene diphenyl diisocyanate, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). This would predictably allow use of a readily available resin.
Regarding claim 23, Bennett in view of Clement discloses that the vapor retarder 30 comprises paper 32 and a first resin (par 0032), further wherein the lignocellulosic material comprises oriented strand board (pars 0024-0025, 0029), which further comprises a second resin (par 0024), further wherein the subfloor panel has a permeance of from about 0.1 to about 1.0 perms, as measured per ASTM E96-22 desiccant method (Method A) (par 0039 discloses 0.7-7 perms and has values within the claimed range) and/or ASTM E96-22 water method (Method B) (par 0039 discloses 0.1-12 perms and has values within the claimed range).
Karnicki comprises an OSB panel wherein a resin comprises isocyanate comprising polymeric methylene diphenyl diisocyanate (pMDI) (Karnicki, par 0106 and claim 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use an isocyanate comprising polymeric methylene diphenyl diisocyanate, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). This would predictably allow use of a readily available resin.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bennett in view of Clement as applied in claim 1 above and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2016/0271923 to Marques Da Silva Macedo et al. (“Marques”).
Regarding claim 12, Bennett in view of Clement does not disclose that the vapor retarder further comprises an ultraviolet (UV) stabilizer.
Marques discloses a composite panel wherein a vapor retarder further comprises an ultraviolet (UV) stabilizer (par 002).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the panel of Bennett to have the vapor retarder further comprises an ultraviolet (UV) stabilizer taught in Marques with a reasonable expectation of success because it would predictably inhibit degradation of the panel from UV radiation.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bennett in view of Clement as applied in claim 1 above and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2008/028632 to Sleeman (“Sleeman”).
Regarding claim 17, Bennett in view of Clement does not disclose that the subfloor panel has a modulus of elasticity of from about 0.4×106 to about 1.2×106 pounds per square inch (psi).
Sleeman discloses an OSB composite panel with a modulus of elasticity of from about 0.5×106 to about 0.7×106 pounds per square inch (psi) (Sleeman par 0011) which is within the range of 0.4×106 to about 1.2×106 pounds per square inch (psi).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use a material with a modulus of elasticity of from about 0.4×106 to about 1.2×106 pounds per square inch (psi), since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). This would predictably allow use of a readily available resin.
Claim(s) 24-27 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bennett in view of Clement as applied in claim 1 above and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2010/0154333 to Peek et al. (“Peek”).
Regarding claim 24, Bennet in view of Clement discloses the subfloor panels of claim 1, but does not disclose a finish flooring material.
Peek discloses placing finished flooring on a subfloor (Peek par 0002, 0033) to create a finished floor of a structure.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the panel of Bennett to have a finishing flooring material as taught in Peek with a reasonable expectation of success because it would predictably create a finished floor structure.
Regarding claim 25, Bennet in view of Clement and Peek discloses that the finish flooring material is a hardwood flooring material, engineered flooring material, natural stone tile, porcelain tile, or linoleum (Peek par 0002, 0033).
Regarding claim 26, Bennet in view of Clement and Peek does not disclose multiple subfloor panels are present and are joined together with a tongue and groove joint.
Peek further discloses that subfloor panels (Peek 105) can be joined together with a tongue and groove to allow individual panels to transfer loads to adjacent panels between the span of the joists (Peek, par 0031).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the panel of Bennett to have multiple subfloor panels present and are joined together with a tongue and groove joint as taught in Peek with a reasonable expectation of success because it would predictably allow individual panels to transfer loads to adjacent panels between the span of the joists.
Regarding claim 27, Bennet in view of Clement and Peek does not disclose multiple subfloor panels are present and are sealed between the panels with a seam sealant.
Peek further discloses that subfloor panels (Peek 105) can be joined together and are sealed between the panels with a seam sealant to add strength and stiffness to the floor structure (Peek, par 0033).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the panel of Bennett to have multiple subfloor panels present and are sealed between the panels with a seam sealant as taught in Peek with a reasonable expectation of success because it would predictably add strength and stiffness to the floor structure.
Regarding claim 29, Bennet in view of Clement and Peek does not disclose at least one subfloor fastener positioned to fasten the floor assembly to an underlying framing.
Peek further discloses at least one subfloor fastener positioned to fasten the floor assembly to an underlying framing (Peek, par 0007).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the panel of Bennett to have at least one subfloor fastener positioned to fasten the floor assembly to an underlying framing as taught in Peek with a reasonable expectation of success because it would predictably secure the panels in place.
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bennet in view of Clement and Peek as applied to claim 23 above, and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2018/0010328 to Tauferner (“Tauferner”).
Regarding claim 28, Bennet in view of Clement and Peek does not disclose that the seam sealant is a tape.
Tauferner discloses a building assembly wherein a seam between two panels is sealed with a tape (Tauferner 154) to facilitate sealing any gap between two panels and improve water resistance along the seam (Tauferner par 0077).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the panel of Bennett to have the seam sealant be a tape as taught in Tauferner with a reasonable expectation of success because it would predictably facilitate sealing any gap between two panels and improve water resistance along the seam.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 04/30/26, with respect to the objections to the drawings have been fully considered and are persuasive. The drawing objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 04/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On page 8 of the Remarks, the applicant argues that Bennett does not disclose a subfloor panel, but instead discloses panels for use in exterior roofs and walls.
In response to applicant's argument that Bennett does disclose a subfloor panel, but instead discloses panels for use in exterior roofs and walls, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention (panel used as a subfloor) must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-29 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Newly applied prior art to Clement et al. teaches the newly added limitations of the vapor retarder being integrated onto the at least one surface of the lignocellulosic material via a chemical reaction between the first resin and the second resin. See rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINE T CAJILIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3633