DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, drawn to the process of impedance-based tissue proximity assessment, and Species A2, B1, C1, D1, and E2, drawn to Figures 4, 8, 9, 14, and 20 respectively, in the reply filed on 9/30/25 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that a serious search and/or examination burden is not present, particularly between Group I and III. This is not found persuasive because the inventions of Groups 1 and III remain independent and distinct as different statutory classes of invention necessitating different search and examination, particularly requiring different search in view of different classification and divergent subject matter and that they raise different non-prior art issues.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 8-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention/species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 9/30/25.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Information Disclosure Statement
The accompanying information disclosure statement (IDS) submission(s) is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the positive recitation of “each electrode” should apparently read “each of the plurality of electrodes”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 positively recites “a medical device” in line 1 and line 3, rendering the claim indefinite. The scope of the claim is indeterminate with regard to if (i) the “a medical device(s)” are the same, (ii) the “a medical device(s)” are distinct, and/or (iii) the relationship amongst the “a medical device(s)”. In light of the instant Specification one of ordinary skill would not be apprised of the metes and bounds of the scope of the claimed invention given the ambiguity. Depending claims 2-7 inherit and do not remedy the indefiniteness.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more, wherein the steps of identifying, determining and plotting may be considered a mental process.
For independent claim 1, the claim(s) recite(s) a process of Identifying electrode locations in space that is subdivided into sub-regions, determining tissue proximity based on electrode impedance, and plotting electrode locations and tissue proximity status within 3D space. As broadly as claimed these steps may be reasonably considered as the judicial exception of a mental process performable within the human mind, including by observation, evaluation, judgement and opinion forming, or by a human using pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) subsection III). For example, at least, these limitations are nothing more than a medical professional capturing data , printing it out, and using the data to mentally extract, classify or learn from data features to determine and plot electrode, impedance, and tissue proximity in space.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the process steps as broadly as claimed are not tied to nor required to be performed, executed, or programmed on a special purpose computer. Further, the judicial exception is not even required to be performed on or tied to a mere generic processing device, controller, or the like.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the preliminary steps of applying drive signals to a plurality of medical electrodes, measuring electrode responses, and generating impedance values therefrom are well-known, routine and conventional medical diagnostic activities amounting to insignificant data gathering as pre-solution activity.
Depending claims 2-7 inherit and do not remedy the non-statutory deficiency noted above. Despite further clarifying steps relating to establishing, assessing, comparing, assigning and resetting baselines values; generating indications; and detecting lesion formation, the additional clarifying limitations do not integrate into a practical application nor do they amount to significantly more than the abstract idea that may be performed mentally and/or by pen and paper.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Deno et al. (US 2017/0042449 A1, hereinafter Deno).
For claim 1, Deno discloses a method for use with a medical device (860) (Figs 3, 34) configured for insertion within a patient (Figs 8, 13-17, 27, 34) ([0059, 0078-0099, 0121-0144, 0188-0189]), comprising:
identifying a location of each electrode (54) of a medical device having a plurality of electrodes (plurality of electrodes 54 on plurality of splines 57) in a three-dimensional space (Fig 3) (Figs 8, 13-17, 27, 34) ([0059, 0078-0099, 0121-0144, 0188-0189]), wherein the three-dimensional space is sub- divided into a plurality of sub-regions (cliques of step 136 in Fig 8) (Figs 8, 13-17, 27, 34) ([0059, 0078-0099, 0121-0144, 0188-0189]);
applying a drive signal ([0059-0064]) to each of the plurality of electrodes of the medical device (Figs 8, 13-17, 27, 34) ([0059, 0078-0099, 0121-0144, 0188-0189]);
measuring a response ([0059-0064]) of each electrode to the drive signal and generating an impedance value for each electrode (Figs 8, 13-17, 27, 34) ([0059, 0078-0099, 0121-0144, 0188-0189]);
determining a tissue proximity status (Fig 8) ([0090-0099]) of each electrode based on the impedance value generated for each electrode (Figs 8, 13-17, 27, 34) ([0059, 0078-0099, 0121-0144, 0188-0189]); and
plotting locations and tissue proximity status of each electrode within the three- dimensional space (Figs 8, 13-17, 27, 34) ([0078-0099, 0121-0144, 0188-0189]).
For claim 2, Deno discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: establishing a baseline impedance value for each sub-region of the three- dimensional space based on impedance values collected by one or more electrodes identified as located within the sub-region of the three-dimensional space (Figs 8, 13-17, 27, 34) ([0059, 0078-0099, 0121-0144, 0188-0189]).
For claim 3, Deno discloses the method of claim 2, wherein establishing a baseline impedance value for each sub-region includes: assigning each sub-region containing at least one electrode a baseline impedance value corresponding to the impedance value for an electrode disposed in the sub-region (Figs 8, 13-17, 27, 34) ([0059, 0078-0099, 0121-0144, 0188-0189]); and assessing a subsequent impedance value generated for an electrode based on a comparison of the subsequent impedance value for the electrode with a baseline impedance value for a sub-region in which the electrode is located (Figs 8, 13-17, 27, 34) ([0059, 0078-0099, 0121-0144, 0188-0189]).
For claim 4, Deno discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the assessing of the subsequent impedance further comprises: determining a sub-region does not have an assigned value baseline impedance value (Figs 8, 13-17, 27, 34) ([0059, 0078-0099, 0121-0144, 0188-0189]); and assigning the sub-region the subsequent impedance value as a baseline impedance value (Figs 8, 13-17, 27, 34) ([0059, 0078-0099, 0121-0144, 0188-0189]).
For claim 5, Deno discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the assessing of the subsequent impedance further comprises: determining a subsequent impedance value is greater than a baseline impedance value (Figs 8, 13-17, 27, 34) ([0059, 0078-0099, 0121-0144, 0188-0189]); and generating an indication of tissue proximity based on a difference between the subsequent impedance value and the baseline impedance value (Figs 8, 13-17, 27, 34) ([0059, 0078-0099, 0121-0144, 0188-0189]).
For claim 6, Deno discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the assessing of the subsequent impedance further comprises: determining a subsequent impedance value is less than a baseline impedance value (Figs 8, 13-17, 27, 34) ([0059, 0078-0099, 0121-0144, 0188-0189]); and resetting the baseline impedance value to the subsequent impedance value (Figs 8, 13-17, 27, 34) ([0059, 0078-0099, 0121-0144, 0188-0189]).
For claim 7, Deno discloses the method of claim 1, further including: detecting lesion formation at one of the plurality of sub-regions based on a comparison of plurality of impedance values measured over time by one or more of the plurality of electrodes (Figs 8, 13-17, 27, 34) ([0059, 0078-0099, 0121-0144, 0188-0189]).
Conclusion
The cited prior art made of record on the accompanying PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, relating to means for impedance electrode contact assessment.
Jeffrey G. Hoekstra
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/JEFFREY G. HOEKSTRA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791