DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s)1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Shen (CN 106970251A), with the publication date: 07/21/2017; attached is the human translation.
Regarding claim 1, Shen discloses a jig (figs. 1 and 2) for charging and discharging a battery cell (paragraph [0001]), the jig comprising:
a fixing unit to fix a battery cell (the limiting plates 41 and 42 used to fix the battery 10, fig. 1; paragraph [0035]);
first and second terminal portions which are electrically connectable to first and second electrode leads of the fixed battery cell, respectively (the positive and negative terminals of the battery to be tested 10 are respectively connected to threaded posts 8, paragraph [0033] where 8 is the part of the jig); and a socket fastening unit (threaded posts 8 with the connecting piece 7, fig. 1; Note: a socket fastening unit is a type of threaded fastener, and various components within that category, such as socket head cap screws and set screws, are also considered threaded posts or studs.) having a first end fastened to the first terminal portion or the second terminal portion, and a second end having two or more connection sockets to be electrically connected to an external side (The threaded posts 8 provided in the present invention are all conductive, so the positive and negative terminals of the battery 10 to be tested are essentially extended, paragraph [0034] Note: the threaded posts also provide the connection to outside).
Regarding claim 2, Shen discloses the jig of claim 1. Shen further discloses wherein at least one of the two or more connection sockets is a socket for serial connection and at least one other of the two or more connection sockets is a socket for parallel connection (the connecting piece 7 is used to realize the series and parallel connection of the battery modules, because the connecting piece 7 can effectively connect two threaded posts 8 together, thereby realizing the conductive effect between them, paragraph [0034]).
Regarding claim 3, Shen discloses the jig of claim 2. Shen further discloses wherein the at least one of the two or more connection sockets for serial connection is electrically connectable to another battery cell in series or is electrically connected to a power supply unit, and wherein the at least one other of the two or more connection sockets for parallel connection is electrically connectable to another battery cell in parallel (the connecting piece 7 is used to realize the series and parallel connection of the battery modules, because the connecting piece 7 can effectively connect two threaded posts 8 together, thereby realizing the conductive effect between them, paragraph [0034] the connecting piece 7 is capable of making the serial and parallel connection between the two adjacent battery cells as needed).
Regarding claim 4, Shen discloses the jig of claim 2. Shen further discloses wherein the socket fastening unit includes a number of p sockets for serial connection and a number of q sockets for parallel connection as the two or more connection sockets, wherein p is a positive integer between 1 and 20, and wherein q is a positive integer between 1 and 20 (plurality of threaded posts 8 and 7 in fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Shen discloses the jig of claim 1. Shen further discloses wherein the first end of the socket fastening unit is fastenable to the first terminal portion of the battery cell fixed at the fixing unit, and wherein the two or more connection sockets at the second end of the socket fastening unit include one or more sockets for serial connection and one or more sockets for parallel connection (paragraph [0034] where the threaded posts 8 is connected to the positive and negative terminal of the battery and the connecting piece 7 provide the serial and parallel connection between the battery modules), which satisfy at least one of: a condition that at least one of the sockets for serial connection is electrically connected to a power supply unit; a condition that at least one of the sockets for serial connection is electrically connected to a second terminal portion of another battery cell adjacent to the battery cell; and a condition that at least one of the sockets for parallel connection is electrically connected to a first terminal portion of another battery cell adjacent to the battery cell (paragraph [0034] the serial and parallel connection is realized with the help of connecting piece 7 and as desired for the situation).
Regarding claim 6, Shen discloses the jig of claim 1. Shen further discloses wherein at least one electrical connection pin is provided at the first end of the socket fastening unit, and wherein at least one groove for accommodating the electrical connection pin is provided at the second end of the socket fastening unit (threaded posts 8 has the hole to make a connection outside, fig. 1Note: many common threaded electrical posts feature a hole to accommodate a connecting pin or bare wire. This central hole is typically designed to accept a standard 4mm banana plug, a common type of connecting pin used in audio equipment, test leads, and power supplies).
Regarding claim 7, Shen discloses the jig of claim 1. Shen further discloses wherein the fixing unit is configured to press two surfaces of the battery cell through a pressing plate (The second limiting plate 41 can move in a direction perpendicular to the first limiting plate 42. In use, the battery 10 to be tested is placed between the first limiting plate 42 and the second limiting plate 41, abutting against the first limiting plate 42. Then the position of the second limiting plate 41 is adjusted so that the second limiting plate 41 also abuts against the battery 10 to be tested, thereby effectively clamping and fixing the battery 10 to be tested, paragraph [0035]), and wherein the first and second terminal portions are electrically connectable to the first and second electrode leads, respectively, in a state that the first and second electrode leads of the battery cell are fixed (The positive and negative terminals of the battery 10 to be tested are respectively connected to threaded posts 8. The threaded posts 8 pass through the first through hole 14 on the threaded posts 8, paragraph [0034]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen (CN 106970251A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2023/0073815), herein after Kim.
Regarding claim 8, Shen discloses the jig of claim 1. Shen further discloses wherein the fixing unit is configured to press two surfaces of the battery cell through a pressing plate (plates 41 and 42, fig. 1). However, Shen is silent about the jig further includes at least one of: a pressure sensor to measure pressure of the battery cell; or a temperature sensor to measure a temperature of the battery cell.
Kim discloses a temperature sensor connected with the battery module to measure the temperature of the battery (paragraph [0020], [0066]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Shen to include a temperature sensor on the battery module as taught by Kim, in order to ensure safety (preventing fires/damage from overheating/overcooling), enhance performance & efficiency (optimizing charge/discharge rates), and extend lifespan (reducing stress from extreme temps).
Claim(s)9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen (CN 106970251A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Huff et al. (US 2019/0140459), herein after Huff and Sekino (JP2009231138A), with publication date: 10/08/2009; attached is the machine translation.
Regarding claim 9, Shen discloses a system for charging and discharging of a battery cell where the system comprising a jig for charging and discharging of the cell according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1). However, Shen is silent about a power supply unit and plurality of Jig connecting the battery modules together.
Huff discloses an external power sources to charge the battery module (110, fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Shen to include a power supply unit as taught by Huff, in order to have precise control over voltage/current, enhanced safety (preventing overcharge/damage), flexibility (adapting to different battery types), and often better long-term value than basic chargers.
Sekino discloses a plurality Jig is used to connect the plurality of battery modules together (more than 2 jigs 50 are used to connect the battery module together, fig. 17).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Shen in view of Huff to include a plurality of Jigs with the battery packs as taught Sekino, in order to efficiently testing/charging of high-voltage, high-capacity systems, combining higher voltage (series) with increased runtime/current (parallel), while the jigs provide individual control, safer handling, and better fault isolation, crucial for complex battery management and quality assurance in electric vehicles (EVs) or large power systems.
Regrading claim 10, Shen in view of Huff and Sekino discloses the system of claim 9, Sekino further discloses wherein the number of n jigs are arranged in series or in parallel in a state that has accommodated battery cells (the plurality of the battery jigs are arranged in series, fig. 9; paragraph [0069]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Shen in view of Huff to include a plurality of Jigs with the battery packs as taught Sekino, in order to efficiently testing/charging of high-voltage, high-capacity systems, combining higher voltage (series) with increased runtime/current (parallel), while the jigs provide individual control, safer handling, and better fault isolation, crucial for complex battery management and quality assurance in electric vehicles (EVs) or large power systems.
Regarding claim 11, Shen discloses the system of claim 9 in view of Huff and Sekino. Shen further the connecting piece 7 to enable serial and the parallel connection between the battery modules (paragraph [0038]). However, Shen is silent about a single power source and the plurality of jigs.
Huff discloses an external power sources to charge the battery module (110, fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Shen to include a power supply unit as taught by Huff, in order to have precise control over voltage/current, enhanced safety (preventing overcharge/damage), flexibility (adapting to different battery types), and often better long-term value than basic chargers.
Sekino discloses a plurality Jig is used to connect the plurality of battery modules together (more than 2 jigs 50 are used to connect the battery module together, fig. 17).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Shen in view of Huff to include a plurality of Jigs with the battery packs as taught Sekino, in order to efficiently testing/charging of high-voltage, high-capacity systems, combining higher voltage (series) with increased runtime/current (parallel), while the jigs provide individual control, safer handling, and better fault isolation, crucial for complex battery management and quality assurance in electric vehicles (EVs) or large power systems.
Regarding claim 12, Shen discloses the system of claim 11 in view of Huff and Sekino. Sekino discloses wherein a power connection line, which is fastened to one of the one or more connection sockets of the socket fastening unit of each jig, is switched to satisfy a rated voltage condition of the battery cell (paragraph [0040]-[0041] where the plurality of sockets 52 is switched to apply the optimal voltage during battery operation).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Shen in view of Huff to include a plurality of Jigs with the battery packs as taught Sekino, in order to efficiently testing/charging of high-voltage, high-capacity systems, combining higher voltage (series) with increased runtime/current (parallel), while the jigs provide individual control, safer handling, and better fault isolation, crucial for complex battery management and quality assurance in electric vehicles (EVs) or large power systems.
Conclusion
SADIA . KOUSAR
Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859