DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carpenter et al. (US 2019/0028903), herein after Carpenter, and Zhang (CN211501288), with publication date: 09/15/2020, (attached is the human translation).
Regarding claim 1, Carpenter discloses a landing pad (fig. 4C), comprising:
a first body comprising: a pad portion (415, fig. 4C; sub-platform 415 might comprise a recharger system, which might include, but is not limited to, an inductive charging system, paragraph [0106]) configured for landing of a drone (420, fig. 4C); and a first coupling portion with a mounting portion (495, fig. 4C) configured for mounting to a position to be mounted connected to the pad portion (415 each comprise a base portion that clamps, affixes, or otherwise attaches to a portion of one of the poles, paragraph [0112]);
Carpenter discloses a landing pad (415, fig. 2)mount on the lamp pole to charge any drone (420, fig. 2). However, Carpenter is silent about the mounting bracket.
Zhang discloses a connecting device to support any external device (abstract).
a second coupling portion connected to the mounting portion, the second coupling portion configured for coupling with the first coupling portion (the coupling devices 8 and 9 are configured to connect with each other, fig. 1,) ;
an elastic component (spring device 7, fig. 1) disposed between the first coupling portion and the second coupling portion (7 is connected between 8, 9, fig. 1); and
a fastening (11, fig. 1) component configured for combination of the first coupling portion, the second coupling portion, and the elastic component (When the fastener 11, 10 is tightened, the spring device 7 is compressed under the pressure of the nut being tightened or the cam rotating to its highest point of contact with the fastener 3. This causes the fixing part 1 and the fastener 3 to move closer together, and the sawtooth devices 8 and 9 to mesh with each other, thus engaging the fixing part 1 and the fastener 3, paragraph [0012]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Carpenter to include a mounting bracket as taught by Zhang, in order to have a firm and reliable connection and also provide the benefit of precisely positioning the land pad (abstract).
Regarding claim 2, Carpenter in view of Zhang discloses the landing pad of the claim 1. Zhang further discloses wherein the first coupling portion and the second coupling portion comprise gears (the saw tooth devices 8 and 9 are flat gears welded, paragraph [0012]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Carpenter to include a mounting bracket as taught by Zhang, in order to have a firm and reliable connection and also provide the benefit of precisely positioning the land pad (abstract).
Regarding claim 3, Carpenter in view of Zhang discloses the landing pad of the claim 1. Zhang further discloses wherein the elastic component is a spring (the spring device 7, paragraph [0012]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Carpenter to include a mounting bracket as taught by Zhang, in order to have a firm and reliable connection and also provide the benefit of precisely positioning the land pad (abstract).
Regarding claim 4, Carpenter in view of Zhang discloses the landing pad of the claim 1. Zhang further discloses wherein the fastening component comprises a screw and a nut (paragraph [0012], fig. 1) .
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Carpenter to include a mounting bracket as taught by Zhang, in order to have a firm and reliable connection and also provide the benefit of precisely positioning the land pad (abstract).
Regarding claim 6, Carpenter in view of Zhang discloses the landing pad of the claim 1. Carpenter further discloses wherein the first body further comprising: a wireless charging device disposed in or under the pad portion (Attached to or integrated with the base portion might be a sub-platform 415, which might comprise a recharger system, which might include, but is not limited to, an inductive charging system (wireless), paragraph [0112]).
Regarding claim 7, Carpenter in view of Zhang discloses the landing pad of the claim 1. Carpenter further discloses wherein the first body further comprising: a securing component disposed on the pad portion, the securing component configured for fastening the drone on the pad portion (one or more clamps to secure the at least one fifth vehicle to the at least one second platform, paragraph [0059]).
Regarding claim 8, Carpenter in view of Zhang discloses the landing pad of the claim 1. Zhang further discloses wherein the second body further comprising: an auxiliary plate disposed between the mounting portion and the second coupling portion (3, fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Carpenter to include a mounting bracket as taught by Zhang, in order to have a firm and reliable connection and also provide the benefit of precisely positioning the land pad (abstract).
Regarding claim 9, Carpenter discloses a street light: comprising: a pole portion; a lamp portion connected to the pole portion (490 connected to the pole, fig. 4C); and the landing pad according to claim 1 mounted on the lamp portion through the mounting portion (see the rejection of claim).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Carpenter to include a mounting bracket as taught by Zhang, in order to have a firm and reliable connection and also provide the benefit of precisely positioning the land pad (abstract).
Regarding claim 10, Carpenter in view of Zhang discloses the street light of the claim 8, Carpenter further discloses the street light further comprising: a storage space below the lamp portion, the storage space provided for the drone (the space under the lamp and adjacent to the pole, fig. 4C).
Regarding claim 11, Carpenter in view of Zhang discloses a landing pad using method, comprising: mounting the landing pad according to claim 1 on a lamp portion of a street light (the one or more platforms 495 might comprise a street-light (or lamp post) based platform, paragraph [0112]). However, Carpenter is silent about the mounting bracket.
Zhang discloses leveling the pad portion at an angle rotatable state of the landing pad (paragraph [0007]-[0009]); and fastening the fastening component such that the landing pad is at a fixed state (the spring device is compressed, the fixing member and the fastener come together, the serrated device engages with each other, paragraph [0004]; the fixed position of the mounting bracket).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Carpenter to include a mounting bracket as taught by Zhang, in order to have a firm and reliable connection and also provide the benefit of precisely positioning the land pad (abstract).
Regarding claim 12, Carpenter in view of Zhang discloses the landing pad of claim 10, Carpenter further discloses the landing pad further comprising landing the drone on the leveled pad portion (the leveled surface 415, fig. 4C).
Regrading claim 13, Carpenter in view of Zhang discloses the landing pad of claim 10, Carpenter further discloses charging the drone with the landing pad (Attached to or integrated with the base portion might be a sub-platform 415, which might comprise a recharger system, which might include, but is not limited to, an inductive charging system, a contact charging system, paragraph [0112]).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carpenter (US 2019/0028903), and Zhang (CN211501288) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hanmin et al. (CN106786866A), herein after Hanmin.
Regarding claim 5, Carpenter in view of Zhang discloses the landing pad of claim 1. However, they are silent about wherein the pad portion is functioned as a solar panel.
Hanmin discloses wherein the pad portion is functioned as a solar panel (The solar streetlamp is used for charging the unmanned aerial vehicle, and the charging system, Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Carpenter in view of Zhang to include solar power supply system as taught by Hanmin, in order to have the a sustainable, decentralized, and cost-effective infrastructure for autonomous drone charging.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carpenter (US 2019/0028903), and Zhang (CN211501288) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Filipovic et al. (US 11,492,114), herein after.
Regarding claim 14, Carpenter in view of Zhang discloses the landing pad of claim 10. However, they are silent about charging the street light with the landing pad.
Filipovic discloses street pole with the charging station to charge the drone and lamp connected to the charging station (Col. 1, lines 58-61, fig. 16).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Carpenter in view of Zhang to include a charging station to charge the street lamp through landing pad as taught by Filipovic, in order to conveniently charge the lamp with drone, improved safety, and the ability to leverage existing infrastructure for broader smart city applications.
Conclusion
SADIA . KOUSAR
Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859