DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 11-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/11/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "a kneading bowl" in line 3. Claim 1 also recites "a kneading bowl " at its line 3. The examiner cannot determine whether double inclusion is intended. Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turner (3,280,681) in view of Boert (WO 2020/094802 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Turner discloses the invention substantially as claimed including a size controller 19 to control a size of food masses discharged one by one; wherein the size controller includes: a space-fixed portion including parallel or substantially parallel separating strips 28 with longitudinal axes extending in a first direction; and a punch 24 movable between an upper position and a lower position and towards the separating strips, and including a base plate 21 to press pieces of the food masses on the separating strips against the separating strips and to comminute the food masses. Turner doesn’t show a kneading bowl, a lifting tipper, which includes at least two cutting tools each including at least two cutting edges. However, Boert teaches the use of a kneading bowl 3, a lifting tipper 2, which includes at least two cutting tools 13 each including at least two cutting edges 20 for the purpose of kneading properly the food mixture and cutting the food mixture. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the device of Turner by providing the above limitations as taught by Boert in order to obtain a device that kneading properly the food mixture and cutting the food mixture.
Also, Turner teaches:
Claim 2; knives are fixed to an underside of the base plate such that longitudinal axes of the knives extend along a second direction at an angle between about 800 and about 1100 relative to the first direction (see Fig. 1-2).
Claim 3; wherein the knives are arranged one behind the other and spaced apart from each other along on a common axis (see Fig. 1-2).
Claim 5; wherein the punch is vertically movable towards the separating strips in order to comminute pieces of the food masses on the separating strips, and the knives are arranged such that in a lowermost position of the punch, one of the knives projects between two of the separating strips (see Fig. 9).
Claim 7; wherein a shortest distance between the separating strips defines a maximum permissible size of the food masses. (see Fig. 6).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turner (3,280,681) in view of Boert (WO 2020/094802 A1) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Sanchez et al. (5,635,235).
The modified device of Turner discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for an inclined plane/feeder. However, Sanchez et al. teaches the use of an inclined plane/feeder 42 for the purpose of facilitating the feeding of the product from one station to another. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the device of Turner by providing the above limitation as taught by Sanchez et al. in order to obtain a device that facilitates the feeding of the product from one station to another.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turner (3,280,681) in view of Boert (WO 2020/094802 A1) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Anderson et al. (2011/0203463).
The modified device of Turner discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for a sensor to detect pieces of the food masses on the separating strips. However, Anderson et al. teaches the use of a sensor 212 for the purpose of detecting pieces (see para. 0100) of the food masses has not transferred. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the device of Turner by providing the above limitation as taught by Anderson et al. in order to obtain a device that detect pieces of the food masses has not transferred.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/OMAR FLORES SANCHEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724