DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made to applicant’s amendment of claims 1 and 2. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the 112(b) rejections previously set in the Non-final Office Action mailed 11/10/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/10/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that Sasakawa requires an insulating sheet between electrode groups, it is noted that claim 1 does not preclude an insulation sheet between the electrodes. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In response to applicant’s argument that the prior art does not teach a series connection at inside the exterior film, Sasakawa discusses a series connection of the electrode groups 21 and 21 via a lead 23 (¶ 0056 and fig.). As shown in labeled fig. 2 below, this lead (23) is located within the perimeter of the exterior film which reason the series connection at inside the exterior film.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
On page 11, line 20, “…active material each other…” should read “…active materials to each other…”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akutsu (US 20210296739 A1) in view of Miki et al. (US 20160141613 A1), Sasakawa et al. (US 20180277904 A1) and Ryu et al. (US 20060159990 A1).
With regards to claim 1, Akutsu teaches a solid-state battery cell (Abstract)
comprising a stacked electrode body and an exterior film (104) configured to accommodate the stacked electrode body (Fig. 9). Akutsu teaches that the stacked electrode body comprises at least a first stacked electrode body (10) and a second stacked electrode body (20) that are formed by a stacked plurality of electrode plates (101, 102) that read on the single layer sheet electrodes (Fig. 9). Akutsu teaches that each single layer sheet electrode among the plurality of single layer sheet electrodes comprises a positive electrode (102), a negative electrode (101), and a solid electrolyte layer (103) disposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode and comprising a solid electrolyte (Fig. 9). Akutsu goes on to teach the positive electrode comprising a positive electrode current collector layer stacked with a positive electrode active material layer comprising at least a solid electrolyte (¶ 0048). Akutsu also teaches the negative electrode comprising a negative electrode current collector layer stacked with a negative electrode active material layer comprising at least a solid electrolyte (¶ 0048 ).
Akutsu teaches that in the first stacked electrode body (10), one outermost surface in the stacking direction of the plurality of the single layer sheet electrodes thereof and another outermost surface in the stacking direction of the plurality of the single layer sheet electrodes thereof are both formed by the negative electrode plates (Fig. 9). Akutsu teaches that in the second stacked electrode body, one outermost surface in the stacking direction of the plurality of the single layer sheet electrodes and another outermost surface in the stacking direction of the plurality of the single layer sheet electrodes are both formed by the positive electrode plates (Fig. 9). In Fig. 9, Akutsu shows that the negative electrode current collector layers of the plurality of single layer sheet electrodes forming the first stacked electrode body are bundled to form a first negative electrode bundled body at one end portion of the stacked electrode body in a width direction. Akutsu also teaches that the positive electrode current collector layers of the plurality of single layer sheet electrodes forming the second stacked electrode body are bundled to form a first positive electrode bundled body at other end portion of the stacked electrode body in the width direction (Fig. 9). Akutsu teaches that the first negative electrode bundled body of a negative electrode current collector layer of the first stacked electrode body and the first positive electrode bundled body of a positive electrode current collector layer of the second stacked electrode body may be connected in series at inside of the exterior film (fig. 9, ¶ 0006, 0083-0087). Akutsu teaches that the exterior film (104) can be a multilayer film material comprising a metal layer and an outer resin layer and may further include a polyamide such as nylon which is a resin (¶ 0054). The inclusion of this nylon reads on the inner resin layer of the claimed invention.
While Akutsu teaches that the electrode plates include the current collectors (¶ 0048), Akutsu does not specifically teach that the negative and positive current collectors form the outermost surface of the first and second stacked electrode bodies respectively. In Fig. 9, Akutsu shows the electrode plates include an active material on both sides of the current collector.
In a similar field of endeavor, Miki discloses a secondary battery comprising a power generating element comprising a positive electrode, an electrolyte layer, and a negative electrode that are adjacent to each other to form one single battery layer (¶ 0049 - ¶ 0050). In ¶ 0045, Miki teaches that the electrolyte may be a solid electrolyte. Miki also teaches a three-layer laminate film battery casing for covering the power generating element (¶ 0180). Miki teaches that this laminate film may be formed with propylene, aluminum and nylon. Miki goes on to teach that an active material is disposed only on a single surface of the outermost positive electrode current collector that forms the outermost layer of the power generating element (¶ 0050 and Fig. 1). However, Miki also discloses a current collector having an active material layer on both surfaces can be directly used as a current collector for the outermost layer (¶ 0050).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed to directly use the current collector having an active material on both surfaces as taught by Akutsu as a current collector for the outermost layer of the electrode stacked body as there would be no unpredictable results as discussed by Miki.
Akutsu in view of Miki does not teach an internal connecting portion configured to electrically connect the first negative electrode bundled body and the first positive electrode bundled body to the metal layer is provided at the one end portion of the stacked electrode body in the width direction to which the first negative electrode bundled body and the first positive electrode bundled body are connected in series.
In the same field of endeavor, Sasakawa teaches a stacked battery comprising: a stacked electrode body, and an exterior film configured to accommodate the stacked electrode body (Fig 2, ¶ 0026 the electrode group stack reads on the stacked electrode body and the container member which houses the electrode group stack reads on the exterior film configured to accommodate the stacked electrode body). Sasakawa teaches the stacked electrode body at least has a first stacked electrode body stacked such that both stacked end outermost surfaces
become a negative electrode current collector layer (Fig 2, 31c, ¶ 0031) one electrode group reads on at least a first stacked electrode body), and a second stacked electrode body stacked such that both stacked end outermost surfaces become a positive electrode current collector layer (Fig 2, 32c, ¶ 0040), one top electrode group reads on a second stacked electrode body). Sasakawa teaches a negative electrode bundled body of a negative electrode current collector layer of the first stacked electrode body and a positive electrode bundled body of a positive electrode current collector layer of the second stacked electrode body are connected in series (¶ 0056). Sasakawa also teaches the exterior film has an inner resin layer, a metal layer, and an outer resin layer (¶ 0064, Fig. 4 12a and 12b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to utilize a similar terminal at the cladding connecting the negative and positive bundled bodies in series in modified Akutsu as taught by Sasakawa as both relate to stacked battery configurations in which the negative and positive bundled bodies are connected in series within an outer multi-layer enclosure presenting a reasonable expectation of success, and doing so allows for an additional terminal presenting a simple application of a known technique to a similar device to improve the device in the same way.
While Sasakawa teaches an internal electrode group connector to electrically connect the electrode groups in series (¶ 0027 and Figs. 1-3), Sasakawa does not teach an internal connecting portion configured to electrically connect the negative electrode bundled body and the positive electrode bundled body to the metal layer is provided at one end portion of the stacked electrode body in the width direction to which the negative electrode bundled body
and the positive electrode bundled body are connected in series.
In a similar field of endeavor of a solid-state battery, Ryu teaches that similar to Akutsu, Miki and Sasakawa there is a stacked electrode body, and an exterior film configured to accommodate the stacked electrode body (ABSTRACT, Fig. 3). Similar to Akutsu and Sasakawa, Ryu also teaches that the exterior film has an inner resin layer, a metal layer, and an outer resin layer (ABSTRACT, Fig. 3). Ryu teaches an internal connecting portion configured to electrically connect the negative electrode bundled body and the positive electrode bundled body to the metal layer is provided at one end portion of the stacked electrode body in the width direction to which the negative electrode bundled body and the positive electrode bundled body are connected in series (¶ 0015, Fig. 4, 7). Ryu recognized that a local short circuit that occurs in the positive and negative electrodes of a battery due to nail penetration, pressing, impact, exposure to high temperature, etc. can be resolved by attempting to disperse the short circuit current toward either the aluminum layer inside a battery package or a metal foil placed outside the battery package, thereby securing the safety of the battery. Ryu does not explicitly teach that the connection is in series, however, an electrical connection comprises a series connection and therefore reads on it. A labeled Fig. 4 is shown below:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the
invention was effectively filed to include the internal connecting portion Ryu teaches in modified Akutsu as both relate to a solid-state battery comprising a stacked electrode body, and a three-layer laminate (outer resin layer, metal layer, inner resin layer) exterior film configured to accommodate the stacked electrode body. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that applying Ryu’s improvement of the solid-state state battery to modified Akutsu’s solid-state battery would present a reasonable expectation of success as it yields a safer solid-state battery where short circuits are prevented via an internal connecting portion that allows for dispersion of the short circuit current toward either the aluminum layer inside a battery package.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akutsu (US 20210296739 A) in view of Miki et al. (US 20160141613 A1), Sasakawa et al. (US 20180277904 A1) and Ryu et al. (US 20060159990 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tam et al. (US 20120299555 A1).
With regards to claim 2, modified Akutsu teaches a second positive electrode bundled body of the positive electrode current collector layer of the first stacked electrode body and a second negative electrode bundled body of the negative electrode current collector layer of the second stacked electrode body are each bonded to tab leads at the other end portion of the stacked electrode body in the width direction (Fig. 9 of Akutsu).
Although modified Akutsu teaches connecting a terminal to the metal layer of the exterior film, modified Akutsu does not teach that the exterior film has an exposed portion from which the metal layer is exposed and which is electrically connected to electrical equipment outside the solid-state battery at the other end portion of the stacked electrode body in the width direction.
In a similar field of endeavor of a solid-state battery, Tam teaches that the positive electrode current collector layer of the first stacked electrode body and the negative electrode bundled body of the negative electrode current collector layer of the second stacked electrode body are each bonded to tab leads at other end portion of the stacked electrode body in the width direction (¶ 0006, the two power terminals read on the tab leads). Tam teaches the exterior film has an exposed portion from which the metal layer is exposed and which is electrically connected to electrical equipment outside the solid-state battery at the other end portion of the stacked electrode body in the width direction (¶ 0024 - ¶0025).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the
invention was effectively filed to include an exposed metal layer from the exterior film in Tam to electrically connect the battery to equipment outside the battery since both Akutsu in view of Sasakawa and Ryu as well as Tam relates to a solid-state battery with an exterior film including a metal layer and having electrodes bonded to tab leads. Akutsu and Sasakawa do not mention a specific method of connecting the battery to an external equipment however, it is known that the battery would be connected to an external equipment in some way. One with ordinary skill in the art would recognize that combining the connection method of Tam and Akutsu in view of Ryu and Sasakawa’s lead such as the metal foil which is charged due to connection with a terminal would have been predictably yielded a successful method of connecting the battery to an external equipment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUNSUYADOR MUGEESATU YUSIF/Examiner, Art Unit 1743 /GALEN H HAUTH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1743