Response to Arguments
The previous claim objection(s) has/have been addressed and is/are withdrawn.
Applicant s arguments with respect to claims 1-17 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new combination/interpretation of references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Subasingha US20210239806 in view of Li US20220334244.
Regarding independent claim 1, Subasingha discloses, in Figures 1-8,
A light detection and ranging (LiDAR) system (Subasingha; Fig. 1-8; LIDAR system 100), comprising: a beam steering system (Subasingha; Fig. 1; [0020] lenses/mirrors are used “to focus and direct light”; the assembly of lens 106 and 112); a light source (Subasingha; laser light emitter 102; [0030]) configured to emit outgoing light pulses that are steered by the beam steering system in accordance with a field of view of the LiDAR system; a detection system (Subasingha; the assembly of the light sensor/receiver 104, avalanche photodiode APD, transimpedance amplifier TIA, and ADC 124; [0038] refers to the APD, TIA, ADC, and supporting detection circuitry; [0030] “supporting circuitry”; [0043] “circuitry of the detector(s)”) configured to detect return pulses corresponding to the outgoing light pulses (Subasingha; Fig. 1); and a controller (Subasingha; Fig. 8; the assembly of processor 804 and memory 806; [0100]) comprising one or more processors (Subasingha; processor 804), a memory device (Subasingha; memory 806), and processor-executable instructions stored in the memory device, the processor-executable instructions comprising instructions for: obtaining an intensity of a return pulse of the detected return pulses (Subasingha; [0050] APD processes the light intensity), determining whether the intensity of the return pulse is within an intensity threshold (Subasingha; Fig. 3-4A and Fig. 7A-7C; threshold magnitude 708), based on the determination, selecting a pulse-center based method or a pulse-edge based method for measuring a time-of-flight between the return pulse and the corresponding outgoing light pulse (Subasingha; Fig. 3 shows the decision-tree flowchart; the classifier identifies an unsaturated signal which would then select a first detector that is a pulse-center based method 310A, while the classifier identifies a saturated signal which would then select a second detector that is an pulse-edge based method 310B; [0054-0055] operation 310A corresponds to “a peak in the reference signal and a peak in the received signal” while operation 310B corresponds to a “rising edge detection”), the time-of-flight being a time lapse between a timing of the return pulse and a timing of the corresponding outgoing light pulse, and measuring the time-of-flight based on the selected method (Subasingha; Fig. 3 shows the decision-tree flowchart; calculation operation 312; [0056]).
Subasingha’s Figure 1.
Subasingha is silent regarding wherein: measuring the time-of-flight using the pulse-center based method comprises determining a timing of the return pulse based on a center of the return pulse waveform calculated directly from sampled amplitude values of the return pulse, and measuring the time-of-flight using the pulse-edge based method comprises determining a timing of the return pulse based on a rising edge of the return pulse calculated from sampled edge data of the return pulse.
Li teaches wherein: measuring the time-of-flight using the pulse-edge based method comprises determining a timing of the return pulse based on a rising edge of the return pulse calculated from sampled edge data of the return pulse (Li; [0141] “to determine time of flight more precisely, the first timing point is usually selected from sampling points on the rising edge of the saturated sampling sequence”; [0150] “an appropriate timing point may be flexibly and dynamically selected on the rising edge of the saturated sampling sequence based on different degrees of saturation severity of the received saturated sampling sequence, to improve precision of determining time of flight, and further improve radar ranging precision”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the pulse-edge based method as taught by Subasingha with the pulse-edge based method based on a rising edge as taught by Li for the purpose of providing improvements in precision for time-of-flight determination (Li; [0150] “an appropriate timing point may be flexibly and dynamically selected on the rising edge of the saturated sampling sequence based on different degrees of saturation severity of the received saturated sampling sequence, to improve precision of determining time of flight, and further improve radar ranging precision”).
Regarding claim 2, Modified Subasingha teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The LiDAR system of claim 1, wherein selecting the pulse-center based method is based on the determination that the intensity of the return pulse is within the intensity threshold, and wherein selecting the pulse-edge based method is based on the determination that the intensity of the return pulse is not within the intensity threshold (Subasingha; Fig. 3 shows the decision-tree flowchart; the classifier identifies an unsaturated signal which would then select a first detector that is a pulse-center based method 310A, while the classifier identifies a saturated signal which would then select a second detector that is an pulse-edge based method 310B; [0054-0055] operation 310A corresponds to “a peak in the reference signal and a peak in the received signal” while operation 310B corresponds to a “rising edge detection”; Fig. 3-4A and Fig. 7A-7C; threshold magnitude 708).
Regarding claim 3, Modified Subasingha teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The LiDAR system of claim 1, wherein selecting the pulse-center based method is based on the determination that the intensity of the return pulse is not within the intensity threshold, and wherein selecting the pulse-edge based method is based on the determination that the intensity of the return pulse is within the intensity threshold (Subasingha; Fig. 3 shows the decision-tree flowchart; the classifier identifies an unsaturated signal which would then select a first detector that is a pulse-center based method 310A, while the classifier identifies a saturated signal which would then select a second detector that is an pulse-edge based method 310B; [0054-0055] operation 310A corresponds to “a peak in the reference signal and a peak in the received signal” while operation 310B corresponds to a “rising edge detection”; Fig. 3-4A and Fig. 7A-7C; threshold magnitude 708).
Regarding claim 4, Modified Subasingha teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The LiDAR system of claim 1, wherein the timing of the return pulse determined using the pulse-center based method is determined by finding a weighted mean of the return pulse (Subasingha; [0091] “weighted moving average”).
Regarding claim 5, Modified Subasingha teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The LiDAR system of claim 1, wherein the timing of the return pulse determined using the pulse-edge based method is determined by finding a timing of an edge of the return pulse (Subasingha; Fig. 6A; [0036] “clock signals generated by the controller 116… determine the TDOA”; [0042] “receive a clock signal from the controller 116… and/or any other indication sufficient to determine a TDOA from which the detector may calculate the distance”; [0073-0074] received signal 600).
Regarding claim 6, Modified Subasingha teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The LiDAR system of claim 1, wherein the processor-executable instructions comprise further instructions for: adjusting the measured time-of-flight using an intensity to distance correction table (Subasingha; Fig. 4B; calibrator 428 comprises a lookup table of experimental values that associates an offset distance 424 for corresponding unsaturated signals and saturated signals; [0067]).
Regarding claim 7, Modified Subasingha teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The LiDAR system of claim 6, wherein the intensity to distance correction table comprises parameters (Subasingha; Fig. 4B; offset distance 424; [0067-0068]) to be adjusted when the pulse-edge based method is selected (Subasingha; Fig. 4B; calibrator 428 comprises a lookup table of experimental values that associates an offset distance 424 for corresponding unsaturated signals and saturated signals; [0067]).
Regarding claim 9, Modified Subasingha teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The LiDAR system of claim 1, wherein the detection system comprises: at least one receiving lens (Subasingha; light sensor/receiver 104); a detector comprising an avalanche photo diode (APD) detector (Subasingha; avalanche photodiode APD; [0038] refers to the APD); and an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) (Subasingha; ADC 124; [0038] refers to the ADC).
Regarding independent claim 10, Modified Subasingha teaches the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to independent claim 1, and
A method for using a light detection and ranging (LiDAR) system (Subasingha; Fig. 1-8; LIDAR system 100), comprising: transmitting outgoing light pulses (Subasingha; laser light emitter 102; [0030]) to a beam steering system (Subasingha; Fig. 1; [0020] lenses/mirrors are used “to focus and direct light”; the assembly of lens 106 and 112) that redirects the outgoing light pulses to a field of view of the LiDAR system; detecting return pulses corresponding to the outgoing light pulses (Subasingha; the assembly of the light sensor/receiver 104, avalanche photodiode APD, transimpedance amplifier TIA, and ADC 124; [0038] refers to the APD, TIA, ADC, and supporting detection circuitry; [0030] “supporting circuitry”; [0043] “circuitry of the detector(s)”); obtaining an intensity of a return pulse of the detected return pulses (Subasingha; [0050] APD processes the light intensity); determining whether the intensity of the return pulse is within an intensity threshold (Subasingha; Fig. 3-4A and Fig. 7A-7C; threshold magnitude 708); based on the determination, selecting a pulse-center based method or a pulse-edge based method for measuring a time-of-flight between the return pulse and the corresponding outgoing light pulse (Subasingha; Fig. 3 shows the decision-tree flowchart; the classifier identifies an unsaturated signal which would then select a first detector that is a pulse-center based method 310A, while the classifier identifies a saturated signal which would then select a second detector that is an pulse-edge based method 310B; [0054-0055] operation 310A corresponds to “a peak in the reference signal and a peak in the received signal” while operation 310B corresponds to a “rising edge detection”), the time-of-flight being a time lapse between a timing of the return pulse and a timing of the corresponding outgoing light pulse; and measuring the time-of-flight based on the selected method (Subasingha; Fig. 3 shows the decision-tree flowchart; calculation operation 312; [0056]).
Subasingha is silent regarding wherein: measuring the time-of-flight using the pulse-center based method comprises determining a timing of the return pulse based on a center of the return pulse waveform calculated directly from sampled amplitude values of the return pulse, and measuring the time-of-flight using the pulse-edge based method comprises determining a timing of the return pulse based on a rising edge of the return pulse calculated from sampled edge data of the return pulse.
Li teaches wherein: measuring the time-of-flight using the pulse-edge based method comprises determining a timing of the return pulse based on a rising edge of the return pulse calculated from sampled edge data of the return pulse (Li; [0141] “to determine time of flight more precisely, the first timing point is usually selected from sampling points on the rising edge of the saturated sampling sequence”; [0150] “an appropriate timing point may be flexibly and dynamically selected on the rising edge of the saturated sampling sequence based on different degrees of saturation severity of the received saturated sampling sequence, to improve precision of determining time of flight, and further improve radar ranging precision”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the pulse-edge based method as taught by Subasingha with the pulse-edge based method based on a rising edge as taught by Li for the purpose of providing improvements in precision for time-of-flight determination (Li; [0150] “an appropriate timing point may be flexibly and dynamically selected on the rising edge of the saturated sampling sequence based on different degrees of saturation severity of the received saturated sampling sequence, to improve precision of determining time of flight, and further improve radar ranging precision”).
Regarding claim 11, Modified Subasingha teaches the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to claim 2.
Regarding claim 12, Modified Subasingha teaches the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to claim 3.
Regarding claim 13, Modified Subasingha teaches the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to claim 4.
Regarding claim 14, Modified Subasingha teaches the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to claim 5.
Regarding claim 15, Modified Subasingha teaches the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to claim 6.
Regarding claim 16, Modified Subasingha teaches the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to claim 7.
Claim(s) 8 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Subasingha US20210239806 in view of Li US20220334244 as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Zhu US20220035035.
Regarding claim 8, Modified Subasingha teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The LiDAR system of claim 1.
Modified Subasingha does not disclose wherein the intensity threshold is about 8%.
Zhu teaches wherein the intensity threshold is about 8% (Zhu; [0078] “As shown in FIG. 5A in this example the threshold intensity value 535 is set at 20% of the maximum intensity 540, however one of skill in the art with the benefit of this disclosure will appreciate that threshold intensity value 535 can be set at any percentage of maximum intensity 540.”; the value of 20% is about 8%).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to select the intensity threshold as taught by Subasingha to be about 8% as taught by Zhu for the purpose of optimizing the saturated/unsaturated decision process for identifying the saturated/unsaturated characteristic of the return light pulses.
Regarding claim 17, Subasingha teaches the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to claim 8.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN MALIKASIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645 4/30/26