DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-14 and, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hu et al. (20230266451).
Regarding claim 1, Hu teaches:
A fault-detection system (#105 of Fig. 1, autonomous driving module) for detecting fault in a light detection and ranging (LiDAR) system (#180 of Fig. 1, LIDAR sensors) mounted on a vehicle (#102 of Fig. 1, vehicle), the LiDAR system being configured to provide point cloud data of an external environment of the vehicle in accordance with a LiDAR coordinate system (#504 of Fig. 5A, point cloud), the fault- detection system comprising:
one or more processors (#104 of Fig. 1, alignment module, [73] states that modules can include processors),
a memory device (#192 of Fig. 1, memory), and
processor-executable instructions stored in the memory device, the processor-executable instructions (#104 of Fig. 1, alignment module, [73] states that modules can include memory stores code executed by the processor) comprising instructions for:
obtaining a vehicle speed [55];
obtaining conversion parameters used for converting from the LiDAR coordinate system to a vehicle coordinate system (#224 of Fig. 2, transformation matrix buffer);
determining whether the vehicle speed exceeds a vehicle speed threshold [55];
in accordance with a determination that the vehicle speed exceeds the vehicle speed threshold, obtaining a representation of a road surface plane expressed in the vehicle coordinate system [52];
obtaining a representation of a native horizontal plane provided by the vehicle [64]; and
determining whether a fault in the LiDAR system has occurred based on the representation of the road surface plane and the representation of the native horizontal plane [45].
Regarding claim 2, Hu also teaches: the fault-detection system of claim 1, wherein the vehicle is configured to provide map data of the external environment of the vehicle in accordance with the vehicle coordinate system [64], the map data comprising the representation of the native horizontal plane of the external environment [64].
Regarding claim 3, Hu also teaches:
The fault-detection system of claim 1, wherein obtaining the conversion parameters used for converting from the LiDAR coordinate system to the vehicle coordinate system comprises:
obtaining a reference rotation vector and a rotation angle from the vehicle [65]; and
converting the reference rotation vector to a rotation matrix [65].
Regarding claim 4, Hu also teaches:
The fault-detection system of claim 1, wherein obtaining the representation of the road surface plane expressed in the vehicle coordinate system comprises:
obtaining the point cloud data provided by the LiDAR system [58];
deriving the road surface plane based on the point cloud data [63];
obtaining the representation of the road surface plane [63]; and
converting the representation of the road surface plane from the LiDAR coordinate system to the vehicle coordinate system using the conversion parameters [64].
Regarding claim 5, Hu also teaches:
The fault-detection system of claim 4, wherein deriving the road surface plane from the point cloud data comprises:
selecting a plurality of reference points on a road surface from the point cloud data [63]; and
deriving the road surface plane based on the plurality of reference points on the road surface [63].
Regarding claim 8, Hu also teaches:
The fault-detection system of claim 1, wherein determining whether the fault in the LiDAR system has occurred comprises:
calculating a deviation angle between the representation of the road surface plane and the representation of the native horizontal plane [45]; and
determining whether the deviation angle exceeds a deviation angle threshold [45].
Regarding claim 9, Hu also teaches:
The fault-detection system of claim 1, wherein the processor-executable instructions comprise further instructions for:
based on the determination that the fault in the LiDAR system has occurred, sending information of the fault to the vehicle [47 and 65].
Hu states in [47] that the autonomous driving module (which includes the alignment module) can send error messages, and states in [65] that the alignment module updates the transformation matrix.
Claim 10 is identical in scope to claim 1 and is rejected for the reasons stated above.
Claim 11 is identical in scope to claim 2 and is rejected for the reasons stated above.
Claim 12 is identical in scope to claim 3 and is rejected for the reasons stated above.
Claim 13 is identical in scope to claim 4 and is rejected for the reasons stated above.
Claim 14 is identical in scope to claim 5 and is rejected for the reasons stated above.
Claim 17 is identical in scope to claim 8 and is rejected for the reasons stated above.
Claim 18 is identical in scope to claim 9 and is rejected for the reasons stated above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu in view of Oliveira Almeida et al. (US 20200074370).
Regarding claim 6, Hu teaches: The fault-detection system of claim 5
Hu does not teach, but Oliveira does teach:
processor-executable instructions comprising instructions for: determining whether a total number of the plurality of reference points satisfies a condition for determining a road surface plane [78, does not run analysis if there are not enough points in the dataset]
Hu also teaches:
Using the RANSAC algorithm to identify a plane [63]
Wikipedia (Random sample consensus
[online]. Wikipedia, 2016 [retrieved on 2016-10-18]. Retrieved from the Internet: <URL: https://web.archive.org/web/20161018124411/https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Random_sample_consensus>) teaches:
The RANSAC algorithm requires at least a certain number of points [Section titled “Algorithm”].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the LIDAR alignment system of Hu to use a dataset checking method similar to Oliveira with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of allowing the RANSAC algorithm to function properly, as the RANSAC algorithm requires a certain number of points.
Claim 15 is identical in scope to claim 6 and is rejected for the reasons stated above.
Claim(s) 7 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu in view of Dins et al. (US 20220121836).
Regarding claim 7,Hu teaches: The fault-detection system of claim 5.
Hu does not teach, but Dins does teach:
wherein the processor-executable instructions comprise further instructions for: calculating a variance between the derived road surface plane and the road surface; and determining whether the variance exceeds a variance threshold [30, checks for flatness using a variance threshold].
Hu also teaches:
Not running the correction system when the road surface is not flat [55]
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the LIDAR alignment system of Hu to use variance to check flatness similar to Dins with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of preventing the system from aligning itself using inaccurate data.
Claim 16 is identical in scope to claim 7 and is rejected for the reasons stated above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Matsui (US 11243308) teaches a similar method for detecting misalignment of a LIDAR system but does not use vehicle speed to make reliability determinations. Kato (US 20230010175) teaches a similar method for detecting pitch and roll but uses it to align the entire vehicle and not as a fault detection method.
/A.D.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ISAM A ALSOMIRI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645