DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of a certified copy of JP 2022-060256 filed March 31, 2022 as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Status
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Claim Amendments and Remarks filed December 11, 2025.
Claims Filing Date
December 11, 2025
Amended
1
Cancelled
2, 4
Pending
1, 3
Withdrawn
3
Under Examination
1
Claim 1 is amended to incorporate the subject matter from claim 2 with an amended Ti content of 0.5 to 2.5 mass% as supported by 4:17-18 of the present specification (Remarks p. 4 para. 2).
Response to Remarks filed December 11, 2025
Feng
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks p. 6 paras. 1-2, filed December 11, 2025, with respect to Feng have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of Feng has been withdrawn.
The applicant persuasively argues Feng Table 1 discloses 0.15 wt% Ti, which is not within the claimed Ti range of 0.5 to 2.5 mass% (Remarks p. 6 paras. 1-2).
Double Patenting
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks p. 6 para. 4 and para. spanning pp. 6-7, filed December 11, 2025, with respect to the double patenting rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The double patenting rejections over 18/123,697 and 18/123,667 have been withdrawn.
The applicant argues a terminal disclaimer for App ‘697 and App ‘667 has been submitted (Remarks p. 6 para. 4, para. spanning pp. 6-7).
A terminal disclaimer listing Application Nos. 18/123,697 and 18/123,667 was filed and approved on December 11, 2025.
New Grounds
In light of claim amendment and upon further consideration new grounds of rejection are made over Xia and over Liu.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xia (CN 106870333 machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Xia discloses a powder metal material which is an aluminum alloy ([0009], [0012], [0026], [0028]) with a composition that is within the scope of the claimed Si, Cu, Mn, Mg, Zn, Fe, and Al (Example 2) ([0041]).
Xia Example 2 includes 0.2 wt% titanium.
Xia discloses the aluminum alloy powder contains 0.01 to 0.5 wt% titanium ([0009], [0012], [0026], [0028]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in Example 2 of Xia to vary the titanium from 0.01 to 0.5 wt% in the aluminum alloy powder so that the resulting formed product has improved compressive strength, tensile strength, and yield strength (Xia [0028]), which improves reliability (Xia [0030]). The 56 to 73% absorption rate of Xia’s Ex. 2 modified with 0.01 to 0.5 wt% titanium overlaps with the claimed range of 65% or more. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
The powder metal material being “for additive manufacturing” has been considered and determined to recite the purpose or intended use of the claimed powder metal material that does not further limit the structure. The prior art renders obvious the claimed powder metal material (Xia [0009], [0012], [0026], [0028], [0041]), such that it is capable of performing the intended use as recited. MPEP 2111.02(II).
Element
Claim 1 (mass%)
Xia Ex. 2 [0041]
Modified Xia Ex. 2 [0028], [0041]
Ti
0.5 to 2.5
0.2
0.01 to 0.5
Zr
3.0 or less
-
-
Si
3.0 to 20.0
8.6 to 9.4
8.6 to 9.4
Cu
0.1 to 10.0
1.6 to 2.0
1.6 to 2.0
Mn
1.0 or less
0.1
0.1
Mg
0.1 to 3.0
0.45 to 0.6
0.45 to 0.6
Ni
3.0 or less
-
-
Cr
0.5 or less
-
-
Zn
0.05 to 3.0
0.1
0.1
Fe
0.1 to 5.0
0.2
0.2
Sc
3.0 or less
-
-
Al
Balance
Balance
Balance
Absorption Rate
65% or more
60 to 70
56 to 73
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (Liu et al. Effective thermal conductivities of metal powders for additive manufacturing. Powder Technology 401 (2022) 117323. STN Abstract and Composition.).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses a powder metal material for additive manufacturing, which is an aluminum alloy (STN Abstract, Abstract, 5. Conclusions) with an overlapping composition and absorption rate (STN Composition, p. 2 col. 2 para. 1). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Element
Claim 1 (mass%)
Liu STN Composition
Ti
0.5 to 2.5
0.1 to 0.6
Zr
3.0 or less
-
Si
3.0 to 20.0
7 to 12
Cu
0.1 to 10.0
1.9 to 3.2
Mn
1.0 or less
0.2 to 0.6
Mg
0.1 to 3.0
1.7 to 2.8
Ni
3.0 or less
-
Cr
0.5 or less
-
Zn
0.05 to 3.0
0.2 to 0.3
Fe
0.1 to 5.0
0.2 to 0.4
Sc
3.0 or less
-
Al
Balance
80 to 89
Absorption Rate
65% or more
111 to 229%
Related Art
Kaji (JP H11-158572 machine translation)
Kaji discloses a Si-Al alloy with an overlapping composition in the form of a casting (Abstract, Claims, [0012]-[0029]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/STEPHANI HILL/Examiner, Art Unit 1735