DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 6/25/24 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claimed subject matter of claim 6 in combination with the limitations of claims 2 and 5 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites “the one or more divisions include vertical divisions and horizontal divisions”. The wording from claims 2 and 5 clearly disclose two separate divisions, one spanning from the outer edge and another spanning from the inner edge to the contact surface. The “vertical divisions” of Figs. 7a,b cannot read on claim 6 because it does not meet the requirements of claims 2 and 5. The “vertical divisions” of Figs. 8a,b cannot read on claim 6 because the divisions do not span from the inner and outer edges. The “horizontal divisions” of Figs. 9a/b cannot read on claim 6 because the divisions do not span to the contact surface. The claim must be amended to be consistent with the current disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rotem (US Patent No. 11,413,727) in view of Beldam (US Patent No. 1,655,589).
Regarding claim 1, the Rotem reference discloses a vacuum gripper sealing element (145) comprising:
a mounting surface (145f) of the sealing element mountable to a receiving surface of a vacuum gripper base element (140a);
a contact surface (145c) of the sealing element opposite to the mounting surface and joined to the mounting surface through an outer edge and an inner edge (Fig. 5).
However, the Rotem reference fails to explicitly disclose a segmentation pattern dividing the vacuum gripper sealing element into a plurality of compressible segments which individually conform to one or more irregularities of an object surface when the contact surface is pressed thereagainst.
The Beldam reference, a seal, discloses a segmentation pattern (21,31,44,30,50,45,43) dividing the vacuum gripper sealing element into a plurality of compressible segments which individually conform to one or more irregularities of an object surface when the contact surface is pressed thereagainst.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a segmentation pattern to the Rotem reference in view of the teachings of the Beldam reference in order to allow further contraction of the seal (Beldam, Lines 36-49).
Regarding claim 2, the Rotem reference, as modified in claim 1, discloses the segmentation pattern involves one or more divisions spanning from the outer edge to the contact surface (Beldam, Figs. 1-17).
Regarding claim 3, the Rotem reference, as modified in claim 1, discloses the segmentation pattern involves one or more divisions spanning from the outer edge to the inner edge (Beldam, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, the Rotem reference, as modified in claim 1, discloses the segmentation pattern involves one or more divisions spanning partially along a cross-section of the vacuum gripper sealing element (Beldam, Figs. 3-17).
Regarding claim 5, the Rotem reference, as modified in claim 2, discloses the segmentation pattern additionally involves one or more divisions spanning from the inner edge to the contact surface symmetrically to the one or more divisions spanning from the outer edge to the contact surface (Beldam, Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 6, the Rotem reference, as modified in claim 5 and as best understood, discloses the one or more divisions include vertical divisions and horizontal divisions with respect to the contact surface (Beldam, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7, the Rotem reference, as modified in claim 2, discloses the segmentation pattern involves one or more divisions spanning from the outer edge to the contact surface; and wherein the segmentation pattern also involves one or more divisions spanning from the inner edge to the contact surface (Beldam, Figs. 8,10).
Conclusion
/GILBERT Y LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675