DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
This office action considers claims 1-20, in Claims -07/23/2026”, pending for further examination.
Applicant's arguments “Remarks - 07/23/2026 - Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment” with the “Amendment/Request for Reconsideration-After Non-Final Rejection - 07/23/2026, have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive, because of the following:
Firstly, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies " build-up layer above and below a glass body such as through build-up structure 450 and build-up structure 460 of Figure 4F " (remarks on page 8 paragraph 1) these limitationare not recited in any one of the rejected claim 1. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Secondly, Examiner disagrees Applicant assertion that, Ma does not disclose “a package substrate including a core, wherein the core comprises glass, an insert in the core, a first layer over the core, a second layer under the core, and a notch through the first layer, the core, and the second layer, where the notch passes through the insert in the core, as is required by Applicant's claims”, on the contrary, the rejection properly cited, inter alia, a notch through the first layer, the core, and the second layer, where the notch passes through the insert in the core” with sufficient specificity, for example as partially copied from the rejection, as
“a notch (1160; Fig 11A-11B, 4,1E [0084]; labelled as 160 in Figs 1B-1E [0035] within core; as 440 in Fig 4; [0070]), through the first layer (450/130), the core (410/150), and the second layer (460/140), wherein the notch (1160) passes through the insert (430; depicted in Fig 1E, 11B, 4E) in the core (410).
Ma’055 Figure 11A 11B (depicting Notches and layout”
It is examiner opinion that above citation meets the sufficient specificity of the criteria 102 anticipation. Furthermore, a new search effort, in attached “STIC 20260921-18126134TXT”, found Ma discloses all the requirement of claim 1.
As, applicant's other arguments, for other independent claims 11,18 are based on the patentability of the independent claim 1, no further response is put forward for those.
As claims 1-20 have not been amended, and Applicant's arguments are not persuasive, this Office Action maintains the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) and/or 103 (see section I-III infra) for reasons of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Notes: when present, semicolon separated fields within the parenthesis (; ;) represent, for example, as (100; Fig 1A; [0022] or C 18, L 18-37)= (element 100; Figure No. 1; Paragraph No. [0022]) or Column No 18, Line Nos. 18-17. For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” or “Column No, Line Nos" shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. These conventions are used throughout this document.
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 10-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being unpatentable by Ma; Qing et al. (US 20110147055 A1, of record) hereinafter Ma’055.
Regarding Claim 1. Ma’055 teaches a package substrate (100; Figs 1A-1B; [0033]), comprising (See the entire document Figs 1E, 4F, 11A-11B along with other figures and relevant disclosures, specifically; as cited below):
Ma’055 Figure 4F Figure 1E
a core (410; Fig 4F; [0070]; first cited as 150; Fig 1B,1E [0035]), wherein the core comprises glass ([0059, 0033]: 410 or 150 comprised of glass];
an insert (430; wetting layer; Fig 4F; [0068]: wetting material 430 remains only on the walls 425 of vias 420, as shown in FIG. 4D) in the core (410/150), wherein the insert is a different material (metal) than the core (glass);
a first layer (450/130) over the core (410/150);
a second layer (460/140) under the core; and
a notch (1160; Fig 11A-11B, 4,1E [0084]; labelled as 160 in Figs 1B-1E [0035] within core; as 440 in Fig 4; [0070]), through the first layer (450/130), the core (410/150), and the second layer (460/140), wherein the notch (1160) passes through the insert (430; depicted in Fig 1E, 11B, 4E) in the core (410).
Ma’055 Figure 11A 11B (depicting Notches and layout
Regarding Claim 2. Ma’055 as applied to the package substrate of claim 1, further teaches, wherein the notch (1160; Fig 11A-11B, 4,1E [0084]; labelled as 160 in Figs 1B-1E [0035] within core; as 440 in Fig 4; [0070]) has substantially vertical (165/425; depicted in Fig 1E, 4A-4F,11B) sidewalls (165/425).
Regarding Claim 3. Ma’055 as applied to the package substrate of claim 1, further teaches, wherein the insert (430; wetting layer; Fig 4F; [0068]: wetting material 430 remains only on the walls 425 of vias 420, as shown in FIG. 4D) has substantially vertical (165/425; depicted in Fig 1E, 4A-4F,11B) sidewalls (165/425)
Regarding Claim 4. Ma’055 as applied to the package substrate of claim 1, further teaches, wherein the insert (430; wetting layer; Fig 4F; [0068]: wetting material 430 remains only on the walls 425 of vias 420, as shown in FIG. 4D) has tapered(depicted by 167; Fig 1E [0050]) sidewalls (165/425).
Regarding Claim 6. Ma’055 as applied to the package substrate of claim 1, further teaches, wherein the insert comprises a polymer ([0037]).
Regarding Claim 7. Ma’055 as applied to the package substrate of claim 6, further teaches, wherein the polymer has a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) that is within ten percent (construed from [0085] : a CTE approximately the same as the glass material) of a CTE of the core (410/150).
Regarding Claim 8. Ma’055 as applied to the package substrate of claim 1, further teaches, wherein the notch (1160) is at an edge (depicted in Fig 11B; [0084]) of the package substrate (100).
Regarding Claim 10. Ma’055 as applied to the package substrate of claim 1, further teaches, wherein the first layer (450/130 labeled as first build-up structure in [0040]) and the second layer (460/140 labeled as second build-up structure in [0040]) comprise organic buildup films ([0037]), and wherein conductive routing ([0042] metal layers 136a-c may each be patterned to form any suitable number and configuration of traces, power planes, ground planes, and other conductors to facilitate the routing of power and I/O signals) (depicted in Fig 1E; [0042]) is provided in the first layer and the second layer.
Regarding Claim 11. Ma’055 teaches a package substrate (100; Figs 1A-1B; [0033]), comprising (See the entire document Figs 1E, 4F, 11A-B along with other figures and relevant disclosures, specifically; as cited below):
a glass ([0059, 0033]: 410 or 150 comprised of glass) core (410 in Fig 4F;[0070]; first cited as 150; Fig 1B,1E,4F [0035]);
buildup layers (450/130 labeled as first build-up structure in [0040]) over and under (460/140 labeled as second build-up structure in [0040]) the glass core (410/150); and
a notch (1160; Fig 11A-11B, 4,1E [0084]; labelled as 160 in Figs 1B-1E [0035] within core; as 440 in Fig 4; [0070]) that passes through the buildup layers (450/130;460/140) and the glass core (410/150), wherein the portion of the notch that passes through the glass core is lined by a polymer ([0037]).
Regarding Claim 12. Ma’055 as applied to the package substrate of claim 11, further teaches, wherein the notch (1160; Fig 11A-11B, 4,1E [0084]; labelled as 160 in Figs 1B-1E [0035] within core; as 440 in Fig 4; [0070]) has vertical sidewalls (165/425; depicted in Fig 1E, 4A-4F,11B)
Regarding Claim 13. Ma’055 as applied to the package substrate of claim 11, further teaches, wherein the polymer ([0037]) has tapered (depicted by 167; Fig 1E [0050]) sidewalls (165/425).
Regarding Claim 14. Ma’055 as applied to the package substrate of claim 11, further teaches, wherein the polymer has a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) that is within ten percent(construed from [0085] : a CTE approximately the same as the glass material) of a CTE of the core (410/150)
Regarding Claim 16. Ma’055 as applied to the package substrate of claim 11, further teaches, wherein the notch is at an edge of the package substrate.
Regarding Claim 17. Ma’055 as applied to the package substrate of claim 11, further teaches, wherein the notch is a partial circle ([0089] semi-circular notch), a rectangle, or a triangle.
Regarding Claim 18. Ma’055 teaches an electronic system, comprising (See the entire document Figs 2, 1E, 4F, 11A-B along with other figures and relevant disclosures, specifically; as cited below)::
Ma’055 Figure 2
a board (200; Fig 2; [0052]);
a package substrate (100; Figs 2; 1A-1B,; [0033]) coupled to the board (200), wherein a notch (1160; Fig 11A-11B, 4,1E [0084]; labelled as 160 in Figs 1B-1E [0035] within core; as 440 in Fig 4; [0070]) passes through the package substrate (100), and wherein a portion of the notch passing through a glass core (410/150; Figs 4F, 1E) of the package substrate (100) is lined by a polymer ([0037]); and
a die (210) coupled to the package substrate (100).
Regarding Claim 19. Ma’055 as applied to the electronic system of claim 18, further comprising:
an attachment device (139a-139c; Fig 1E; [0049]) passing through the notch and coupled to the board.
Regarding Claim 20. Ma’055 as applied to the electronic system of claim 18, wherein (00057) the electronic system is part of a personal computer, a server, a mobile device, a tablet, or an automobile.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma; Qing et al. (US 20110147055 A1, of record) hereinafter Ma’055 in view of Jeon; Jaeseok et al. (US 20210391228 A1, of record); hereinafter Jeon).
Regarding Claim 5. Ma’055 as applied to the package substrate of claim 4, while further teaches, wherein the tapered sidewalls (165/465), but does not expressly disclose “form an hourglass shaped insert”.
However, in the analogous art, Jeon teaches through-glass via (TGV) formed in a glass substrate may comprise a metal plating layer formed in the TGV (abstract), wherein (Fig 1B; [0031]) illustrates an example hourglass-shaped TGV lined with an adhesion layer 120, a metal seed layer 122, and a metal plating layer 124. This example TGV is shown in FIG. 3 with one or more metal films deposited on the top and/or bottom surfaces of the glass substrate, using, for example, a physical vapor deposition (PVD) technique. Appropriate surface passivation for metal-filled TGVs may reduce or prevent metal diffusion and interaction with O.sub.2 and hence prevent unwanted metal-oxide particle formation.
Jeon Figure 1B
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention, to adapt Jeon’s TGVs have hourglass shaped cross-sections for Ma’055’s tapered sidewalls (165/465) form an hourglass shaped insert in the device of the combination of (Ma’055’s and Stamper), since such modification would have TGVs reduce or prevent metal diffusion and interaction with glass and hence prevent unwanted metal-oxide particle formation (Jeon [0031])
Claims 9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma; Qing et al. (US 20110147055 A1, of record) hereinafter Ma’055 in view of Chiba, Teiichirou et al. (US 20030015806 A1, of record); hereinafter Chiba).
Regarding Claim 9,15. Ma’055 as applied to the package substrate of claim 1 and/or claim 11, does not expressly disclose, wherein the notch (1160; Fig 11A-11B, 4,1E [0084]; labelled as 160 in Figs 1B-1E [0035] within core; as 440 in Fig 4; [0070]) has a diameter that is up to approximately 5 mm..
However, in the analogous art, Chiba teaches a semiconductor wafer having dot marks ((0002]), wherein (figs 1-2; [0018] [0018] a notch is opened to an outer side from a peripheral side face of a wafer comprises a circular arc having a radius of curvature equal to or larger than 0.9 mm and a depth from the wafer peripheral side face is set to 1+0.25 mm.
Chiba Figure 1
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention, to adapt Chiba’s notch diameter for Ma’055’s notch (1160), thereby the combination of (Ma’055’s and Chiba) comprises wherein the notch (1160; Fig 11A-11B, 4,1E [0084]; labelled as 160 in Figs 1B-1E [0035] within core; as 440 in Fig 4; [0070]) has a diameter that is up to approximately 5 mm., since such modification, at least, would , even when the slenderest pin is inserted thereinto, the pin does not interfere with the circular arc face constituting the inner wall face of the bottom portion of the notch.(Chiba [0018])
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOAZZAM HOSSAIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898
September 26, 2026