Previously presented double patenting rejection is overcome by the approved terminal disclaimers.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tachibana US 20230128162 = US 12559474= US Application 17790358; Unoh, bioRxiv (2022), 1-52 and Sun Int J Nanomedicine 2012 Nov 12;7:5733–5744, Zhao, Rev Bras Farmacogn 24(2014): 584-590; Wang, Pharmaceutics 2022, 14, 1901.
The references of Tachibana and Unoh predates the instant priority date as explained below:
The priority date for 17790358 is
Unoh date of
The priority date for instant case is
Tachibana teach at published application 20230128162 page 362 column B
At sheet 3 of 15 Tachibana crystal shows the diffraction pattern
At sheet 3 of 4 of instant claim crystal shows the diffraction pattern
Unoh also teach fumaric crystal of the compound at page 16 just below the Figures.
Given the error rate and peak positions, the crystal of Tachibana is the same as the instant crystal. s
The properties of the compound of Tachibana and Unoh (co-author Tachibana) and its disclosed property and use is the same as the instantly pictured compound and its intended use are the same.
The difference is the limitation with respect to particle size of the compound and method of making it (by pulverizing the crystal).
The teachings of Sun, Zhao and Wang are invoked to cure the deficiency of Tachibana and Unoh. Sun teaches the effect of particle size on solubility, dissolution rate, and oral bioavailability.
Zhao, teaches the effect of superfine pulverization on physicochemical and medicinal properties of Qili Powder;
Wang Review (state of the art) teaches Particle Engineering Methods of pulverizing APIs.
Taken together, Sun, Zhao and Wang teach that in the pharmaceutical industry, controlling the D90 particle size—the size below which 90% of the crystal population exists—is critical for ensuring consistent bioavailability, dissolution rates, and manufacturability, particularly for poorly soluble drugs. Size reduction, or pulverization (comminution), is used to achieve target API (Active Pharmaceutical Ingredient) particle sizes, with techniques often resulting in D90 values in the low micrometer or even nanometer range.
Position taken is that pulverizing to desired size claims 1-16, dosing claims 17 and use of known excipients claims 18-20 are routinely used methods known to one of skill in the art of pharmaceutical art. For example, not in the rejection statement references (to avoid clutter) Marriott, Pharmaceutical Compound and Dispensing, Second Edition, 2010, 1-288 and Ansel, Pharmaceutical Dosage Forms and Drug Delivery Systems, 1999 and . it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. The differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
The limitations of the crystal with respect to crystallinity and the intended method of its are known in the teachings of Tachibana and Unoh; optimization of paratactical properties such as bioavailability by arriving at desired particle sizes by pulverization are known in the art.
As such nothing unobvious is seen in the claims.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NIZAL S CHANDRAKUMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1625