Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments/amendments filed 5/11/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant has added limitations mostly present in original Claims 15, 17, and 19. However, applicant has not addressed the substance of their rejections, esp. with respect to Dyke. Therefore, the applicant’s arguments are respectfully refuted. The abstract objection is withdrawn due to the amendments.
The drawing objections are maintained. The drawings should be clearly understood from one of ordinary skill in the art without excessive referral to the specification.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the elements in the claims are presented lacking clear symbols/legend/text to identify them without extensive referrals to the specification. Add them. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korcz et al (USPGPN 20120111597; hereinafter Kor) in view of Dyke et al (USPGPN 20120266914)
Independent Claim 1, Kor teaches a charging system for an automatic swimming pool cleaner (APC)
[Applicant’s arguments rely on language solely recited in preamble recitations in the claims. When reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, the recitation “for an automatic swimming cleaner” is not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations. Thus, the preamble of the claim(s) is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.]
[In response to applicant's argument that “for an automatic swimming pool cleaner (APC), a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.]
(Figs. 1-15, esp. 5) comprises
an electrical contact (14, 12, see ¶’s [36, 38]) and a protection system configured to selectively prevent or allow contact with the electrical contact (20, cover),
the protection system comprises a protective cover configured to translate between a covered position and an uncovered position relative to the electrical contact (closed vs open).
Kor is silent to the protective cover is configured to clean the electrical contact as the protective cover translates.
Dyke teaches the protective cover is configured to clean the electrical contact as the protective cover translates (abstract, Figs. [1-10, esp. 2-4], ¶’s [18, 25, 28-35, 37-39, 41, 42, 44, 45, 52, 53], esp. 28-35]; cleaned at least upon removal of the electric vehicle referring to when the contact is put back on the charging station). Dyke teaches this service serves to help improved life, efficiency, & costs, & reduced risk of overheating (i.e. improved safety), see ¶[33]
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kor with Dyke to provide improved costs, efficiency, life, and safety.
Dependent Claims 5, Kor teaches the protective cover is biased towards the covered position (¶’s [49-51]).
Dependent Claim 6, Kor teaches the protection system is actuated (spring is an actuator, see ¶’s [49-51]).
Dependent Claim 9, Kor teaches the protection system is on a charging station of the charging system (if the device being charged has a plug to just plug into the outlet, then the outlet is the charging station)
Claims 1, 3, 6, 10, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biber et al (USPGPN 20170127608) in view of Han (USPN 5646494) and Dyke et al (USPGPN 20120266914)
Independent Claim 1, Biber teaches a charging system (Figs. 1-4) for an automatic swimming pool cleaner (APC, 10, ¶’s [03, 35]) comprises an electrical contact (54, ¶’s [43, 46])
Biber is silent to a protection system configured to selectively prevent or allow contact with the electrical contact; wherein the protection system comprises a protective cover configured to translate between a covered position and an uncovered position relative to the electrical contact, and wherein the protective cover is configured to clean the electrical contact as the protective cover translates.
Han teaches a protection system configured to selectively prevent or allow contact with the electrical contact (115 [esp. in Figs. 5 & 6] for contact 113 for analogous robot cleaner 1, see Figs. [3-7, 9, & 10], [Col 5 L18 to Col 6 L12 & Col 11 L50 to Col 21, esp. Col 5 L23-42]). Han teaches this cover serves to prevent the connecting terminal/contact 113 from being seen from the outside, which e.g. can provide improved aesthetics as one of ordinary skill in the art understands, but also nominally provide protection of the contact from external surfaces/pollutants [e.g. water, dust, sun, etc.].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Biber with Han to provide improved aesthetics & safety
Biber is silent to the protection system comprises a protective cover configured to translate between a covered position and an uncovered position relative to the electrical contact, the protective cover is configured to clean the electrical contact as the protective cover translates.
Dyke teaches the protection system comprises a protective cover configured to translate between a covered position and an uncovered position relative to the electrical contact, the protective cover is configured to clean the electrical contact as the protective cover translates (abstract, Figs. [1-10, esp. 2-4], ¶’s [18, 25, 28-35, 37-39, 41, 42, 44, 45, 52, 53], esp. 28-35]; cleaned at least upon removal of the electric vehicle referring to when the contact is put back on the charging station). Noted that the applicant did not claim the protective cover automatically is removed, only that it is able to be translated between the positions of being covered and uncovered. Dyke teaches this service serves to help improved life, efficiency, and costs, and reduced risk of overheating (i.e. improved safety), see ¶[33]
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Biber in view of Han with Dyke to provide improved costs, efficiency, life, and safety.
Dependent Claim 3, the combination of Biber, Dyke, and Han teaches the protective cover comprises a projection portion with a surface configured to engage the APC (115 compare Figs. 5 & 6 shows it projecting in Fig. 6, Col 3 L63 to Col 4 L3 of Han).
Dependent Claim 6, the combination of Biber, Dyke, and Han teaches the protection system is actuated (as cited above for Han, it is actuated).
Dependent Claim 10, the combination of Biber, Dyke, and Han teaches the protection system is on the APC (corresponding APC contact of Biber is on AC of Han).
Dependent Claim 15, the combination of Biber, Dyke, and Han teaches the protective cover is configured to translate based on a position of the APC (Han: 115 [esp. in Figs. 5 & 6] for contact 113 for analogous robot cleaner 1, see Figs. [3-7, 9, & 10], [Col 5 L18 to Col 6 L12 & Col 11 L50 to Col 21, esp. Col 5 L23-42], where being in an attached position to the charger/base station/power source supplier 110 is the position in which it is exposed, and when not attached, it is not exposed).
Han teaches this cover serves to prevent the connecting terminal/contact 113 from being seen from the outside, which e.g. can provide improved aesthetics as one of ordinary skill in the art understands, but also nominally provide protection of the contact from external surfaces/pollutants [e.g. water, dust, sun, etc.].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Biber in view of Dyke with Han to provide improved aesthetics and safety.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOHN T TRISCHLER whose telephone number is (571)270-0651. The examiner can normally be reached 9:30A-3:30P (often working later), M-F, ET, Flexible. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Drew Dunn can be reached at 5712722312. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOHN T TRISCHLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859