DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2019-0020140, filed on 02/20/2019.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“work unit” in Claim 1
The generic placeholder is “work unit” and the functional language attributed the “work unit” includes: “configured to move the carrier tape”.
“position recognition unit” in Claim 1
The generic placeholder is “position recognition unit” and the functional language attributed the “position recognition unit” includes: “configured to detect a position and a moving speed”.
“control unit” in Claim 1
The generic placeholder is “control unit” and the functional language attributed the “control unit” includes: “configured to adjust a position of the laser beam”.
“variable focus unit” in Claim 2
The generic placeholder is “variable focus unit” and the functional language attributed the “variable focus unit” includes: “configured to vary a focal length”.
“optical axis moving unit” in Claim 2
The generic placeholder is “optical axis moving unit” and the functional language attributed the “optical axis moving unit” includes: “configured to emit the laser beam”.
“optical axis driving unit” in Claim 2
The generic placeholder is “optical axis driving unit” and the functional language attributed the “optical axis driving unit” includes: “configured to rotate the optical axis moving unit”.
Reference is made to the Specification filed on 03/24/2023.
Regarding the work unit, Page 7, “The work unit 120 includes a guide rail 121 that moves together with the carrier tape 110 while the carrier tape 110 is placed thereon, and a winder 122 that moves the guide rail 121.”, where the work unit is construed to include a rail and rotator
Regarding the position recognition unit, Page 9, “the position recognition unit 130 may be formed of various types of sensors as long as the position and the moving speed of the carrier tape 110 can be detected.”, where the position recognition unit is construed to be a sensor that includes the position and speed detection
Regarding the control unit, Page 8, “control unit 140 may receive a signal of the moving speed of the carrier tape 110 transmitted from the position recognition unit 130.”, where the control unit is construed to be able to receive and transmit signals
Regarding the variable focus unit, Page 9, “variable focus unit 210 may include a concave lens and a convex lens disposed side by side in an optical path direction of the laser beam and a moving module configured to move a position of the concave lens or the convex lens.”, where the focus unit is assumed to interact with lens and change their distances
Regarding the optical axis moving unit, Page 10, “The optical axis moving unit 220 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure may include a first wedge window 221 and a second wedge window 222.”, where the optical axis moving unit is assumed to include structures that change the optical path
Regarding the optical axis driving unit, Page 2, “an optical axis driving unit configured to rotate the optical axis moving unit”, where the optical axis driving unit is assumed to allow for rotation to occur
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 105728957 A) in view of Kataho et al. (JP 2002134565 A, hereinafter Kataho) and Michael et al. (JP 2019186546 A, hereinafter Michael).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a carrier tape hole processing device (Abstract, “micro electronic components carrier tape pocket hole”) using laser drilling configured to process a hole of a carrier tape (Page 2, Para. 3 from end, “A processing device of miniature electronic components carrier tape pocket hole, comprising a machine frame table and precise locating device is set on it, a laser punching device”),
the carrier tape hole processing device comprising: a work unit configured to move the carrier tape while supporting the carrier tape (Page 3, Para. 2, “The index drive device comprises index chain wheel and driving device. index holes precisely matched tooth with the carrier tape of the chain is processed, the driving device can be a servo motor, or may be a cutter driven by a motor. the device not only drives the tape forward continuous processing production also is the precise location of the next period for primary predetermined function.”, where the driving device supports the carrier tape shown in Fig. 2, driving device having a chain wheel 62 that supports the carrier tape);
a laser drilling module disposed above the work unit and configured to irradiate a laser beam to the carrier tape placed on the work unit (Page 3, Para. 3 from end, “5. laser punching device, 51. a vacuum dust removing device, 52. Laser”, where the laser 52 in Fig. 2 is located above the work unit or driving device 61, where the laser irradiates the carrier tape, Page 3, Para. 1, “corresponding laser punching position, acts on the carrier tape so that the laser generated dust and debris to be discharged.”);
a position recognition unit configured to detect a position of the carrier tape placed on the work unit (Page 3, Para. 4, “precise locating device, the carrier tape (i.e., index hole and pocket the processed tape) of track has been primarily for precisely locating, conical locating needle together with the pressing plate under the drive of the drive device, moves downwards, the carrier belt position is accurately adjusted to the target position”); and
a control unit configured to adjust a position of the laser beam irradiated by the laser drilling module (Page 3, last Para., “precise locating device (4) to the carrier (3) of the precise locating and pressing work is finished, the carrier tape is fixed in the rail (2). the suction nozzle (51) then the control system for the laser punching device (5) of the laser (52) sends out instruction to start the carrier tape (3) for laser punching operation during processing laser beam generated by high temperature acting on the carrier (3) of the dust… after punching is finished, the control system sends instruction, the motor drive device (6) index (61) drives the index wheel (62) rotate a certain angle to drive the carrier belt (3) feeding forward the certain length of time.”, where the laser beam position on a carrier tape is adjusted through controlling amount of carrier tape between holes done by the laser beam, where the control system is able to control how much of the carrier must drive forward before the next laser made hole is done).
Zhang does not disclose:
a position recognition unit configured to detect a moving speed of the carrier tape;
wherein the control unit adjusts an irradiation position of the laser beam such that the laser beam follows the carrier tape according to the moving speed of the carrier tape detected by the position recognition unit.
However, Kataho discloses, in the similar field of carrier tapes (Abstract, “a carrier tape”), where the position recognition unit can include detection of a moving speed of the carrier tape (Para. 0008, “A sensor for detecting a mounting portion of the IC chip…And a tape feed amount control means including the tape, and the connecting tape is run at high speed until the sensor detects the position of the seam, and at the time when the sensor detects the end of the carrier tape, The traveling speed of the carrier tape is reduced to the punching operation speed”, where the carrier tape speed is determined through the time it takes for the carrier tape to travel between two points, and where that information is detected by the sensor). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the position recognition unit in Zhang to include the carrier tape speed detection as taught by Kataho.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to separate parts of the carrier tape so that an area unwanted for laser ablation can be skipped quickly and where an area wanted for laser ablation can then be driven normally, as stated by Kataho, Page 6, Para. 7-9, from end, “The drive motor 16 is operated at a high speed until the joint tape between the leader tape 2 and the TAB tape 1 is detected, so that the connecting tape runs at a high speed. The leader tape 2 is sufficiently longer than the traveling path from the supply reel 10 to the take-up reel 11, so that the TAB tape 1 can quickly travel to the punching position by traveling at high speed during this time. When the sensor 14A detects a joint between the leader tape 2 and the TAB tape 1, the signal is sent to the control unit 21. Is controlled by a command from the control unit 21 so that the feed speed of the feed sprocket 13 by the drive motor 16 is reduced to the normal speed.”.
Further, Michael discloses, in the similar field of carrier tapes (Page 8, Para. 2, “wafer 102 diced into a plurality of diced chips 102C by a structuring process may be attached to a (glass) carrier 110 during structuring. It may also be laminated to the chip carrier tape 330 after structuring.”), where the irradiation position of the laser beam is adjusted so that it follows the carrier tape moving speed (Page 13, last Para., “In example 46, the motion control unit is configured to synchronize the movement of the movable substrate support with the movement of the energy supply device and / or to coordinate the movement of the movable substrate support with the movement of the removal device.”, where the substrate support moves the substrate, Claim 29, “A movable substrate support structure configured to move the substrate”, and where the energy supply device can be a laser, Page 9, Para. 2, “In FIG. 4, the energy supply apparatus includes at least one laser 438, such as a stationary or scanning multi-beam laser array, which is configured to irradiate the substrate 102 with one or more laser beams 104.”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the substrate of the carrier tape in modified Zhang being moved in sync with the laser beam as taught by Michael.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of moving the substrate and laser so that a desired scanning or ablation pattern can be achieved, as stated by Michael, Page 5, Para. 7 from end, “substrate 102 may be controlled by an operation control unit in various embodiments, which may include moving the substrate 102, moving at least one laser, or the like Both may be included. When moving both the substrate 102 and the at least one laser, the motion control unit may be configured to coordinate the movement of the substrate 102 and the movement of the laser to obtain the desired scanning and / or stepping pattern.”.
Claims 2-5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 105728957 A) in view of Kataho et al. (JP 2002134565 A, hereinafter Kataho) and Michael et al. (JP 2019186546 A, hereinafter Michael) in further view of Yoo (KR 101527482 B1).
Regarding claim 2, modified Zhang teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above.
Modified Zhang does not disclose:
wherein the laser drilling module includes: a variable focus unit configured to vary a focal length of the laser beam;
an optical axis moving unit configured to emit the laser beam by being moved by a predetermined distance with respect to a reference optical axis, wherein the reference optical axis is an optical axis at a time point at which the laser beam passing through the variable focus unit is incident; and
an optical axis driving unit configured to rotate the optical axis moving unit, wherein a hole is formed by drilling a surface of the carrier tape while rotating the optical axis moving unit by the optical axis driving unit.
However, Yoo discloses, in the similar field of laser ablating a hole on a substrate (Abstract, “laser forms a hole by irradiating the laser on a surface of target processing object”), where the laser drilling module includes a variable focus unit that varies a focal length of the laser beam (Page 2, Para. 2 from end, “The focal length adjusting unit 200 adjusts the focal length of the laser L irradiated from the laser irradiating unit 100.”), where an optical axis moving unit emits the laser beam by moving it a predetermined distance with respect to the reference optical axis being incident with the variable focus unit (Page 3, Para. 2, “laser L whose focal length has been adjusted by the focal length adjusting unit 200 in order to be parallel to the optical axis angle adjusting unit 400”, and where Fig. 2 shows that the laser beam out of the variable focus unit 200 comes out incident), where an optical axis driving unit rotates the optical axis moving unit to form a hole on the substrate surface (Claim 1, “optical axis angle adjuster 400 independently rotate about respective rotation axes so that the phases and angular velocities at respective initial positions are variable, A hole 11 formed by a laser L irradiated to the surface of the object 10 in accordance with a phase difference and an angular velocity at an initial position of the optical axis parallel movement unit 300 and the optical axis angle adjustment unit 400”, where part of the optical axis angle adjuster 400 is a rotation device that drives the wedges 410 and 420 to rotate). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the laser beam in modified Zhang to include the focal and optical adjustment devices from Yoo.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to solve the problem of laser beams only creating circular holes, where the optical devices allow a user to create various hole shapes, as stated by Yoo, Page 2, Para. 4-5, “However, in the case of such a conventional machining apparatus, the following problems arise. In general, since the holes 11 are formed by the laser beam L, the holes 11 can not be formed in various shapes. That is, it is only possible to form the hole 11 having a cylindrical longitudinal section, but it is impossible to form the hole 11 in the longitudinal section of various three-dimensional shapes.”.
Regarding claim 3, modified Zhang teaches the apparatus according to claim 2, as set forth above.
Modified Zhang does not disclose:
wherein the optical axis moving unit includes: a first wedge window configured to refract an incident laser beam; and a second wedge window disposed upside down with respect to the first wedge window to be spaced apart from the first wedge window.
However, Yoo discloses where the optical axis moving unit includes a first wedge prism for adjusting the angle of the optical axis and a second wedge prism upside down with respect to the first wedge prism and spaced apart (Page 4, Para. 2, “optical axis angle adjusting unit 400 includes first and second wedge prisms 410 and 420. The first and second wedge prisms 410 and 420 adjust the angle of the optical axis of the laser L moved in parallel by the optical axis parallel movement unit 300 and transmit the adjusted angle to the reflection unit 500.”, and Fig. 2, where the first wedge prism is 410 and the second wedge prism is 420, where 410 and 420 are spaced apart and 420 is an upside down wedge compared to 410). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the laser adjustment devices in modified Zhang to include the two wedge prisms as taught by Yoo.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to solve the problem of laser beams only creating circular holes, where the optical devices allow a user to create various hole shapes, as stated by Yoo, Page 2, Para. 4-5, “However, in the case of such a conventional machining apparatus, the following problems arise. In general, since the holes 11 are formed by the laser beam L, the holes 11 can not be formed in various shapes. That is, it is only possible to form the hole 11 having a cylindrical longitudinal section, but it is impossible to form the hole 11 in the longitudinal section of various three-dimensional shapes.”.
Regarding claim 4, modified Zhang teaches the apparatus according to claim 3, as set forth above.
Modified Zhang does not disclose:
wherein a size of the hole formed on the surface of the carrier tape is changed by adjusting a distance by which the laser beam is spaced apart from the reference optical axis while adjusting a separation distance between the first wedge window and the second wedge window.
However, Yoo discloses where the distance that the laser beam is spaced apart from the reference or incident optical axis and the separation distance between the two wedge windows creates the size of the hole formed on the substrate (Claim 3, “The first and second wedge prisms 410 and 420 are formed by laser processing using a laser using a laser that independently rotates about respective rotation axes so that the phase difference and the angular velocity at each initial position are variable.”, where the wedges 410 and 420 are independently rotated, which would cause the distance between the wedges to change, where the laser then moves from an incident axis position; where this alters the hole shape, Page 5, Para. 2, “axis of the laser L on the XY plane and the YZ plane is adjusted in accordance with the adjustment of the angle of the optical axis of the laser L by the rotation of the first and second wedge prisms 410 and 420 So that it is possible to process various shapes in a three-dimensional manner by the laser L irradiated to the surface of the object 10”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the laser adjustment apparatus in modified Zhang to include the features as taught by Yoo.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to create various hole shapes, as stated by Yoo, Page 5, Para. 2, “axis of the laser L on the XY plane and the YZ plane is adjusted in accordance with the adjustment of the angle of the optical axis of the laser L by the rotation of the first and second wedge prisms 410 and 420 So that it is possible to process various shapes in a three-dimensional manner by the laser L irradiated to the surface of the object 10”.
Regarding claim 5, modified Zhang teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above.
Modified Zhang does not disclose:
further comprising a scanner unit including a mirror for reflecting the laser beam, wherein the control unit adjusts the irradiation position of the laser beam such that the laser beam follows the carrier tape, by adjusting a position of the mirror according to the moving speed of the carrier tape detected by the position recognition unit.
However, Michael discloses where the irradiation position of the laser beam is adjusted so that it follows the carrier tape moving speed (Page 13, last Para., “In example 46, the motion control unit is configured to synchronize the movement of the movable substrate support with the movement of the energy supply device and / or to coordinate the movement of the movable substrate support with the movement of the removal device.”, where the substrate support moves the substrate, Claim 29, “A movable substrate support structure configured to move the substrate”, and where the energy supply device can be a laser, Page 9, Para. 2, “In FIG. 4, the energy supply apparatus includes at least one laser 438, such as a stationary or scanning multi-beam laser array, which is configured to irradiate the substrate 102 with one or more laser beams 104.”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the substrate of the carrier tape in modified Zhang being moved in sync with the laser beam as taught by Michael.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of moving the substrate and laser so that a desired scanning or ablation pattern can be achieved, as stated by Michael, Page 5, Para. 7 from end, “substrate 102 may be controlled by an operation control unit in various embodiments, which may include moving the substrate 102, moving at least one laser, or the like Both may be included. When moving both the substrate 102 and the at least one laser, the motion control unit may be configured to coordinate the movement of the substrate 102 and the movement of the laser to obtain the desired scanning and / or stepping pattern.”.
Further, Yoo discloses where a mirror can reflect the laser beam (Claim 1, “A reflector 500 for reflecting the laser L whose angle of the optical axis is adjusted by the optical axis angle adjuster 400”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the laser beam irradiation following the carrier tape feature in modified Zhang to include the mirror for reflecting the laser beam as taught by Yoo, where the mirror would then be moved as the laser beam moves to follow the carrier tape.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able contain all the laser shape adjustments in a horizonal axis while the reflector can direct the laser to a substrate, where this configuration can save space if there is not enough vertical shape, as stated by Yoo, Page 4, Para. 3 from end, “The condenser lens 600 condenses the laser L reflected by the reflector 500 onto the surface of the object 10 to be processed.”, and Fig. 2, where the horizontal configuration of all the adjustment devices is shown to save vertical space.
Regarding claim 7, modified Zhang teaches the apparatus according to claim 2, as set forth above.
Modified Zhang does not disclose:
further comprising a focusing lens configured to focus the laser beam passing through the optical axis moving unit.
However, Yoo discloses where a focusing lens focuses the laser beam passing through the optical axis moving unit (Page 4, Para. 3 from end, “The condenser lens 600 condenses the laser L”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the laser adjustment system in modified Zhang to include the condenser lens at the end as taught by Yoo.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to deliver the laser light onto the object in a condensed form, which can produce a sharper laser beam, as stated by Yoo, Page 2, Para. 2 from end, “The condenser lens 600 condenses the laser light L reflected by the reflection unit 500 onto the object 10 to be processed.”.
Claims 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 105728957 A) in view of Kataho et al. (JP 2002134565 A, hereinafter Kataho) and Michael et al. (JP 2019186546 A, hereinafter Michael) in further view of Yoo (KR 101527482 B1) and Iso (JP 2001071167 A).
Regarding claim 6, modified Zhang teaches the apparatus according to claim 5, as set forth above.
Modified Zhang does not disclose:
wherein the scanner unit includes a first mirror configured to reflect the laser beam, a first motor configured to rotate the first mirror, a second mirror configured to reflect the laser beam, and a second motor configured to rotate the second mirror, wherein the control unit controls positions of the first mirror and the second mirror by rotating the first motor and the second motor according to the moving speed of the carrier tape detected by the position recognition unit.
However, Iso discloses, in the similar field of laser beam ablation on a substrate (Para. 0001, “a laser processing method and apparatus for irradiating a pulsed laser beam to perform marking or drilling”), where the mirror or reflector unit includes a first mirror with a first motor and a second mirror with a second motor, where the motors rotate the mirrors (Para. 0004, “The first galvano scanner 40 has a scan mirror 42 attached to a drive shaft of a galvano drive system 41, and the second galvano scanner 50 has a scan mirror 52 attached to a drive shaft of a galvano drive system 51. The laser light that is oblique by being swung in the X-axis direction and the Y-axis direction by the first and second galvanometer scanners 40 and 50”), where the laser beam position changes depending on the motors that rotate the mirrors (Para. 0004, “The laser light that is oblique by being swung in the X-axis direction and the Y-axis direction by the first and second galvanometer scanners 40 and 50 is vertically irradiated on the processing area 71 of the work 70 by the fθ lens 60.”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the mirror in modified Zhang to include two mirrors with rotating motors as taught by Iso; where the synchronization of the laser beam with a moving speed of the carrier tape is taught by teaching from Michael and where the control unit from Zhang can then control the mirror rotation in order to synchronize the laser beam location with the moving speed of the carrier tape in the combined invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to use the rotating mirrors to alter the positioning of the laser beam without needing to physically move the laser beam output itself, as stated by Iso, Para. 0004, “The laser light that is oblique by being swung in the X-axis direction and the Y-axis direction by the first and second galvanometer scanners 40 and 50 is vertically irradiated on the processing area 71 of the work 70 by the fθ lens 60.”.
Claims 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 105728957 A) in view of Kataho et al. (JP 2002134565 A, hereinafter Kataho) and Michael et al. (JP 2019186546 A, hereinafter Michael) in further view of Yoo (KR 101527482 B1) and Hirano et al. (WO 2020166420 A1, hereinafter Hirano).
Regarding claim 8, modified Zhang teaches the apparatus according to claim 2, as set forth above.
Modified Zhang does not disclose:
wherein the control unit changes the irradiation position of the laser beam according to the change in a focal length of the laser beam by the variable focus unit.
However, Hirano discloses, in the similar field of laser ablation of substrates (Page 2, Para. 2 from end, “The laser processing machine 100 according to the present embodiment irradiates the processing object 8 with a plurality of ultra-short pulse laser beams, and performs drilling, grooving, dividing processing, etc. on the processing object 8.”), where the control unit changes the irradiation position of the laser beam according to the change in focal length of the laser beam by the variable focus unit (Page 5, Para. 1, “The focal length of each pulsed laser light differs depending on the thickness of the portion where the pulsed laser light passes through the transparent member 7, and the focal position of the workpiece 8 to which each pulsed laser light is irradiated differs. In this way, the transparent member 7 having a different thickness for each part forms a plurality of pulse laser lights having different focal lengths.”, where a focal length corresponds to a specific focal position). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the focal length in modified Zhang to be corresponding to a specific focal position as taught by Hirano; where the control unit in modified Zhang can then change the laser focal position based on the relationship from Hirano, where the laser focal position would match the corresponding laser focal position for a specific focal length.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to process the substrate at multiple focal positions, where this can result in more efficient machining, as stated by Hirano, Page 12, Para. 3 from end, “by using the laser processing machine 100 provided with the wavelength conversion layer 6 and the tapered transparent member 7, the pulse laser beams of different wavelengths are collectively applied to the processing target 8 at different focal positions. Can be irradiated. As a result, efficient machining can be performed, and high-quality machining can be performed at high speed.”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Choi (KR 102154285 B1) discloses a similar two mirror rotating system.
/KEVIN GUANHUA WEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
01/16/2026