DETAILED ACTION
Formal Matters
Claims 3-4 are cancelled. Claims 6-11 are new. Claims 1, 2, and 5-11 are pending. Claims 6-11 are withdrawn by original presentation. Claims 1-2, and 5 are pending and under examination.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
This application is a Continuation of PCT/JP2021/043026 filed on 11/24/2021, which claims priority to Japanese application JP2020-210120 filed on 12/18/2020.
Rejections Withdrawn
The rejection under USC 103 over Kusukame and Chitrattha is withdrawn per applicant’s amendments and arguments.
The rejection under non-statutory patenting over ‘461 and Chitrattha is withdrawn per applicant’s amendments and arguments.
As these rejections are withdrawn, applicant’s arguments toward the rejections are now moot. However, note that a new reference now replaces Chitrattha in the rejections under USC 103 and double patenting. Applicant will have to address these rejections that were added due to the amendment (see after final that was entered by RCE).
New Rejections to Address Applicant’s Amendments After Final (Entered by RCE)
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kusukame US 20150265030 and Nair US 20150004391.
Kusukame provides for “an adhesive sheet for skin includes attaching a water-absorptive support to a water-permeable biocompatible film to prepare a stack including the biocompatible film and the support” (abstract and figures 1 and 2 and paragraphs 25-26). Kusukame teaches adhesive sheet for skin with water permeable biocompatible film attached to a support (abstract). Kusukame teaches cosmetic methods (paragraph 2) in its teachings. Kusukame teaches the support has a water capacity of no less than 1 mg/mm2 (claim 6 of Kusukame and paragraph 18). Also, Kusukame teaches not less than 4 mg/lmm2 for water absorption of the support (paragraph 34). Kusukame teaches water absorbing capacities of support materials (paragraph 35). Kusukame provides for 4.79 mg/mm2 for the filter paper (table 1). Kusukame also provides for polylactic acid sheets with film thickness (paragraph 49). Filter paper is used in example 2 with a polylactic acid sheet film (also see example 1). Kusukame teaches thicknesses of 10 nm to 800 nm for the film (paragraphs 21 and 33).
Kusukame does not teach pore sizes and pore content of the thin film as in applicant’ claims. Kusukame does provide for a polylactic acid thin film laminated on a high water capacity support that can hold water.
Nair teaches porous organic films with multiple discrete cavities (noted as pores in Nair) (abstract and paragraph 31). Nair provides thickness of the film will be based on the desired use (paragraph 76). Nair allows for pores of 2 nm to 50 nm and greater than 50 nm (paragraph 32). Nair allows for at least 200 nm and up to 5 microns as average diameters of the cavities (paragraph 33). Nair teaches various uses for the porous organic polymeric films including as supports and structural materials (paragraphs 34 and 71, paragraph 71 provides for support with the organic polymeric film). Nair teaches cosmetics among other uses (paragraph 35). Nair teaches total volume of discrete cavities of at least 5% up to 80% (paragraph 78 and paragraph 122). Nair allows for polymers including polylactic acid for the material (paragraph 44). Nair also provides for permeability of the film (paragraphs 83 and 146). Nair notes that using multiple discrete cavities (pores) can alter the opacity, hydrophobicity or other desirable properties compared to nonporous forms (abstract of Nair). Thus, one would adjust pores in the porous thin film to achieve such desired properties.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing would have considered modifying the cosmetic product taught by Kusukame which has a thin film layer attached (laminated) to a substrate capable of retaining water (water capacity) with teachings of Kusukame that motivates a substrate layer with high water capacity for products that can be used cosmetically and teachings of Nair that provides for porous polymeric thin film layers (also has use for cosmetic products in Nair) have pore size within that of applicant’s claims and provides for an overlapping range down to 5% pore volume which would be reflective of smaller pore sizes and/or a lower amount of pores throughout the film. Thus, pore size, porosity and water capacity are seen by the prior art as suitable variables to modify in products that may be used in cosmetics which have porous thin films of polymer as well as substrates desiring higher water capacity. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying these characteristics found in layered/laminated thin film/high water capacity substrate products of Kusukame to provide for useful cosmetic products with desirable material properties.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 and 5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 6, 8, 10, 13, and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 9585461 in view of Nair US 20150004391.
The claims of ‘461 provides for a water permeable film of overlapping thicknesses attached (laminated) onto a water absorbing support that can have high water contents. Polylactic acid (a film material of ‘461 claims) is hydrophilic.
‘461 claims do not have the pore size of the film.
Nair teaches porous organic films with multiple discrete cavities (noted as pores in Nair) (abstract and paragraph 31). Nair provides thickness of the film will be based on the desired use (paragraph 76). Nair allows for pores of 2 nm to 50 nm and greater than 50 nm (paragraph 32). Nair allows for at least 200 nm and up to 5 microns as average diameters of the cavities (paragraph 33). Nair teaches various uses for the porous organic polymeric films including as supports and structural materials (paragraphs 34 and 71, paragraph 71 provides for support with the organic polymeric film). Nair teaches cosmetics among other uses (paragraph 35). Nair teaches total volume of discrete cavities of at least 5% up to 80% (paragraph 78 and paragraph 122). Nair allows for polymers including polylactic acid for the material (paragraph 44). Nair also provides for permeability of the film (paragraphs 83 and 146). Nair notes that using multiple discrete cavities (pores) can alter the opacity, hydrophobicity or other desirable properties compared to nonporous forms (abstract of Nair). Thus, one would adjust pores in the porous thin film to achieve such desired properties.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing would have considered modifying the cosmetic product taught by ‘461 which has a thin film layer attached (laminated) to a substrate capable of retaining water (water capacity) with claims of ‘461 that motivates a substrate layer with high water capacity for products that can be used cosmetically and teachings of Nair that provides for porous polymeric thin film layers (also has use for cosmetic products in Nair) have pore size within that of applicant’s claims and provides for an overlapping range down to 5% pore volume which would be reflective of smaller pore sizes and/or a lower amount of pores throughout the film. Thus, pore size, porosity and water capacity are seen by the prior art as suitable variables to modify in products that may be used in cosmetics which have porous thin films of polymer as well as substrates desiring higher water capacity. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying these characteristics found in layered/laminated thin film/high water capacity substrate products of ‘461 to provide for useful cosmetic products with desirable material properties.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/MARK V STEVENS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613