Priority date of 05/07/2015 based on 14/706019 is acknowledged.
Double Patenting:
This instant application
US Patent 10791808
Claim 21.
A compact wallet, comprising: a first rigid plate and a second rigid plate, and
a retention elastic band extending along an exterior surface of the first rigid plate or the second rigid plate, the retention elastic band not extending along the exterior surface of both the first rigid plate and the second rigid plate,
wherein the first rigid plate and the second rigid plate are positioned in parallel planes while holding card-like contents and are biased toward each other using
a biasing means interposed between the first rigid plate and the second rigid plate that is separate from the retention elastic band,
such that the compact wallet is configured to carry the card-like contents with minimal silhouette on or with a person while allowing expandable capacity and ready access to individual contents from between the first rigid plate and the second rigid plate.
Claim 1.
A compact wallet, comprising:
at least two rigid plates interposed to sandwich card-like contents there between, each rigid plate having a longitudinal extent;
(claim 10) The compact wallet of claim 1, further comprising
a second elastic strap positioned over an outside surface of one of the at least two rigid plates to hold additional contents on the outside surface.
at least one encircling elastic band interposed with the at least two rigid plates along longitudinal extents thereof to bias them inwardly and securely hold the card-like contents while providing elastic volume there between for adding or removing contents;
a channeling means configured to minimize the profile of the wallet and hold position of the at least one encircling elastic band with respect to each rigid plate while allowing freedom for the dynamic extension and contraction of the band over the entire running length thereof;
and an auxiliary feature removably attached to at least one of the at least two rigid plates, the auxiliary feature having a tang insertable into a recess formed inside the at least two rigid plates, the tang having a hook, the hook extending at an angle to the tang, the hook engaging an undercut of the recess to prevent inadvertent dislodgement of the auxiliary feature from the recess, whereby, card-like contents may be carried with minimal silhouette on or with a person while allowing expandable capacity and ready access to individual contents from between the at least two rigid plates.
This instant application
US Patent 11596212
Claim 21.
A compact wallet, comprising: a first rigid plate and a second rigid plate, and
a retention elastic band extending along an exterior surface of the first rigid plate or the second rigid plate, the retention elastic band not extending along the exterior surface of both the first rigid plate and the second rigid plate,
wherein the first rigid plate and the second rigid plate are positioned in parallel planes while holding card-like contents and are biased toward each other using a biasing means interposed between the first rigid plate and the second rigid plate that is separate from the retention elastic band, such that
the compact wallet is configured to carry the card-like contents with minimal silhouette on or with a person while allowing expandable capacity and ready access to individual contents from between the first rigid plate and the second rigid plate.
Claim 1.
A compact wallet, comprising: a first grooved part and a first backing part, attached together to form a first plate member;
a second grooved part and a second backing part, attached together to form a second plate member;
(claim 1) a retention elastic band extending along an exterior surface of the first plate member from one end of the first plate member, in between the first grooved part and the first backing part, to an opposite end of the first plate member,in between the first grooved part and the first backing part.
at least one encircling elastic band (1) extending on a first outer side of the compact wallet from a first interior area within the first plate member, defined between the first grooved part and the first backing part, to second interior area of the second plate member on the first outer side, between the second grooved part and the second backing part, and (2) extending on a second, opposite outer side of the compact wallet from the first interior area within the first plate member, in between the first grooved part and the first backing part, to the second interior area of the second plate member on the opposite side of the second plate member, in between the second grooved part and the second backing part, the at least one encircling elastic band providing a resiliently expandable space between the first plate member and the second plate member; and
Claims 21, 24-33, and 35-37 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No.10,791,808 or US Patent No. 11,596,212 in view of the Ridge Wallet 2.0. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
For claim 1 of the instant application, the claims of ‘808 teaches two plates being the two rigid plates in claim 1 with the two laminates (claim 3), and the retention band extending along an exterior surface (claim 10) and the functionality of the wallet is configured to carry the card-like contents with minimal silhouette on or with a person while allowing expandable capacity and ready access to individual contents from between the first rigid plate and the second rigid plate is met by the one encircling elastic band (claim 1).
The claims of ‘212 patent also teaches two plates being the two rigid plates in claim 1 with the two laminates and the retention band extending along an exterior surface (claim 1) and the functionality of the wallet is configured to carry the card-like contents with minimal silhouette on or with a person while allowing expandable capacity and ready access to individual contents from between the first rigid plate and the second rigid plate is met by the one encircling elastic band (claim 1).
Regarding the biasing means, note the limitation “a retention elastic band extending along an exterior surface of the first plate member from one end of the first plate member, in between the first grooved part and the first backing part, to an opposite end of the first plate member, in between the first grooved part and the first backing part.”. In view of application’s assertion The Ridge Wallet 2.0 teaches this T-shaped band.
The structures of the claims in this instant application are merely reworded from the claims of U.S. Patent No.10791808 and U.S. Patent No. 11596212. The added functionalities and added specificities, e.g., the plate being rigid plates are either inherent or obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art.
With respect to the limitation that “the retention elastic band not extending along the exterior surface of both the first rigid plate and the second rigid plate”, note that limitation is encompassed by the limitation “a retention elastic band extending along an exterior surface of the first plate member from one end of the first plate member, in between the first grooved part and the first backing part, to an opposite end of the first plate member, in between the first grooved part and the first backing part” since the structures in this limitation comprises structures allowing the elastic band only to be installed to extending one of the exterior surface via the first grooved part and the first backing part and not extending both the first rigid plate and the second rigid plate.
Regarding the limitation that the two “first rigid plate and the second rigid plate are positioned in parallel planes”, the Ridge Wallet 2.0 teaches that it is known in the art to provide first rigid plate and the second rigid plate are positioned in parallel planes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the first rigid plate and the second rigid plate are positioned in parallel planes as taught by the Ridge Wallet 2.0 to allow compact holding of the inside contents.
Claims 21, 24-33, and 35-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The recitation “biasing means” recited in claim 1 introduced by the amendment dated 09/11/2025 comprises new matter.
In claim 21, and 36-37, in the response dated 05/15/2026, applicant asserts that “biasing means” can comprises other structures by citing paragraphs 11 and 13 and asserts “a biasing means, can be a T-shaped elastic band”. However, the original disclosure does not disclose any other equivalent structure to the T-shaped elastic band. Thus, the term “biasing means” introduce specificities or new matter to the case.
Also, the original disclosure does not teach the limitation: “the retention elastic band not extending along the exterior surface of both the first rigid plate and the second rigid plate that is separate from the retention elastic band”. Note the fig. 9 shows the T-shaped biasing means formed by portion 4 and 5, and portion 6, recited as the retention elastic band extending on the outside (fig. 10). “a second elastic strap 6…the second elastic strap 6 is attached to the encircling elastic band 4 by sewing, or bonding, by access through the longitudinal groove 21”. The specification fails to show how one or ordinary skill in the art to provide the second elastic strap being separate from the retention elastic band. This is also a new matter rejection.
In claim 21, the original disclosure does not teaches the biasing means “interposed between the first rigid plate and the second rigid plate”. The claimed biasing means being at least portion 4 is connected to the two rigid plates via the groove between the laminas, but no part of the elastic portion 4 being “between the two rigid plates”. This is a new matter rejection.
Claims 21, 24-33, and 35-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter.
In claim 21, claim limitation “biasing means” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to provide antecedent basis and disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Furthermore, this added limitation confuses whether biasing means is the same as the encircling elastic band in claim 22. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Also, applicant assertion that the biasing means comprises the “T-shaped” elastic band 5 is noted. In the response dated 05/15/2006, applicant asserts that “claim 21 requires a biasing means separate from the retention band, a biasing means separate from a retention band is not present in the Ridge Wallet 2.0.". The Ridge Wallet 2.0 comprises the same “T-shaped” elastic band 5 as applicant’s. It is unclear how is the structure of the biasing means is not present in the Ridge Wallet 2.0. Please explain.
“interposed between the first rigid plate and the second rigid plate”, is confusing. Please explain what part of the biasing means between the first rigid plate and the second rigid plate.
Ridge Wallet 2.0:
This instant application:
Thus, the recitation “biasing means” comprises a different structure from the elastic band 5 disclosed by the Ridge Wallet 2.0.
SET I:
Claims 21, 24 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maynard (0043696) (with Streem (20110308972) Morris (1260699) as evidence).
(7) The ease or cover within which I secure the photograph-cards is very similar to an ordinary book-cover, being composed simple of two stiff leaves, A and B, connected with each other at one edge by the flexible back C. This ease may be covered with morocco velvet, or other suitable material .. but it is to the manner of securing the cards within this case that my invention particularly relates, and to this end the leaves A and B are perforated each with two eyelet holes, as indicated at a b and c d, and to the outside of one of the leaves, as A, is secured a loop, D, of elastic tape... In tying together, the ends of the cord e care should be taken to draw the cord so tight as to extend in a proper degree the elastic loop D. The effect of the constant tension of the elastic loop upon the cord the cord e is such as that the cover adapts itself to the retention in a compact body of whatever number of cards there may be placed therein, its capacity being only limited by the extensibility of the flexible back C. The elastic band E, attached to one of the leaves, as A, forms a suitable self-adjustable clasp for the cover.
Regarding claim 21, Maynard teaches 21 a device, comprising: a first rigid plate A and
a second rigid plate B, and a retention elastic band D extending along an exterior surface of the first rigid plate or the second rigid plate, the retention elastic band not extending along the exterior surface of both the first rigid plate and the second rigid plate, wherein the first rigid plate and the second rigid plate are positioned in parallel planes (note the flexibility of the hinge allow the two rigid portions A and B to be in parallel to one another. while holding card-like contents and are biased toward each other using a biasing means (E) such that the compact wallet is configured to carry the card-like contents with minimal silhouette on or with a person while allowing expandable capacity and ready access to individual contents from between the first rigid plate and the second rigid plate. Regarding the limitation “the biasing means interposed between the first rigid plate and the second rigid plate that is separate from the retention elastic band” Note that the band E is capable of being positioned between the first rigid plate and the second rigid plate (see Morris showing elastic band 10 and Strem showing elastic band 20 can be position both inside and outside).
In the alternative, Qheuhl teaches that it is known in the art to provide a biasing means to be interposed between the first rigid plate and the second rigid plate
Qheuhl fig. 2a and fig. 1b, teaches that it is known in the art to provide a biasing means that is interposed between the two first rigid plate and the second rigid plate in fig. 1B or structurally at 3a/2b or in fig. 2A. it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide biasing means between the two rigid plates as taught by Qheuhl to provide an alternative attachment means and/or to provide added security.
Regarding claim 24, Qheuhl teaches that it is known in the art to provide a first lamina (9A) and a second lamina (2).
Regarding claim 30, Maynard teaches the claimed contents.
Claims 24, 27, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maynard in view of Herman (3938831).
Regarding claims 24, 27, and 29 Herman teaches that it is known in the art to provide at least first and second lamina (layers 20, 28, 22) fig. 1 of metal (claims . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide first and second lamina to provide added protection and/or for decoration.
Claims 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maynard in view of Rosengarten (5054816). Rosengarten teaches that it is known in the art to provide elastic band of woven elastic fabric. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the elastic band of woven elastic fabric to provide the desired material for the elastic band.
SET II
Claims 21, 24-25, and 27-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Ridge Wallet 2.0 in view of Glickfield (20100139049).
Regarding claim 21, the Ridge Wallet 2.0 teaches a compact wallet with two rigid plates and each plate with longitudinal groove and threaded hole (note page 6 shows each rigid plate comprises of two subplates each subplate has longitudinal groove for the placement of the elastic band and these two subplates are attached together using screws. The Ridge Wallet also teaches the holding of bill on the outside of the wallet (note the clip holding on folded money in the photographs in pages 4 and page 5 and some not having the clips on pages 3 and 5), and the biasing means being include a T-shaped band shown above. The Ridge Wallet meets all claimed limitations except for the limitation “retention elastic band extending along an exterior surface of the firs rigid first plate or the second rigid plate, the retention elastic band not extending along the exterior surface of both the first rigid plate and the second rigid plate”.
Glickfield teaches that it is known in the art to provide an elastic band 10 attachable to a holding device 50 to the clip 60 in figs. 15, and fig. 14 shows that the elastic band only attach to the bag on one side of the clip along one side of the exterior. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the elastic band of 10 and connected to via the clip of the Ridge Wallet to accommodate additional contents. with the elastic 10 attached on the clip of the Ridge Wallet, as taught by Glickfield the combination of the Ridge Wallet and Glickfield meet the limitation of retention elastic band, 10 of Glickfield extending along an exterior surface of the firs rigid first plate or the second rigid plate, the retention elastic band not extending along the exterior surface of both the first rigid plate and the second rigid plate.
Regarding claim 24, note the first rigid plate and the second rigid plate include a first lamina and a second lamina.
Regarding claim 25, note the first lamina includes a longitudinal grove and at least one threaded hole.
Regarding claims 27-29, note the plate are of metal as claimed.
Regarding claim 30, note the contents as claimed.
Regarding claim 31, note the aligned finger notches.
Regarding claim 32, note the edge is configured to provide a fulcrum to lever as claimed.
Regarding claim 33-34, note the retention elastic band is comprised of woven elastic fabric.
Regarding claims 35-36, wherein the biasing means includes a T-shaped elastic band as claimed.
Regarding claim 37, the T-shaped elastic band is comprised of woven elastic fabric.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Ridge Wallet rejection in claim 21, and further in view of Singer (20150059937). The Ridge Wallet does not teach flat head screws and countersunk holes. Singer teaches that it is known in the art to provide flat head screws and countersunk holes at 606/607/608. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide flat head screws and countersunk holes as taught by Singer to provide a smooth texture for the hand/finger.
Claims 33-34, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Ridge rejection, and further in view of Rosengarten (5054816). In the alternative, Rosengarten teaches that it is known in the art to provide elastic band of woven elastic fabric. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the elastic band of woven elastic fabric to provide the desired material for the elastic band.
Claims 21, 24-25, and 27-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Ridge Wallet 2.0 in view of Lum (3823814).
In the alternative, The Ridge Wallet meets all claimed limitations, as set forth above, except for the limitation “retention elastic band extending along an exterior surface of the firs rigid first plate or the second rigid plate, the retention elastic band not extending along the exterior surface of both the first rigid plate and the second rigid plate”.
Lum teaches that it is known in the art to provide retention elastic band 8 extending along an exterior surface of the first rigid first plate or the second rigid plate, the retention elastic band not extending along the exterior surface of both the first rigid plate and the second rigid plate. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide retention band as taught by attach on one of the two rigid plates of The Ridge Wallet to attach additional contents.
In the alternative, Lim teaches that it is known in the art to attach an elastic band attachable to various places including only to a rigid side cover. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the elastic band of Ward and connected only to one rigid cover of Ward such that the retention elastic band not extending along the exterior surface of both the first rigid plate and the second rigid plate as taught by Glickfiled to access the contents inside Ridge while securing contents on the elastic band of Ward.
Claims 21, 24-25, and 27-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Ridge Wallet 2.0 in view of Podwika (5944080), and further in view of KR200476722.
In the alternative, The Ridge Wallet meets all claimed limitations, as set forth above, except for the limitation “retention elastic band extending along an exterior surface of the firs rigid first plate or the second rigid plate, the retention elastic band not extending along the exterior surface of both the first rigid plate and the second rigid plate”.
The rubber band 30 supported at the middle height of the front portion 10a of the wallet body 10 can easily adjust the height of the rubber band 30 as needed as shown in FIG. 2.
KR200476722 teaches that it is known in the art to provide an elastic band extending along an exterior surface of the cover and note not both.
Podwika teaches that it is known in the art to provide a recess (26) on a metallic rigid plate to provide an exterior elastic band. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide an elastic band using the recess on one of the rigid plate of Ridge wallet to enable one to hole contents while accessing the contents between the two rigid plates.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide exterior band of the Ridge Wallet as taught by Podwika and KR722 to allow one to store additional readily accessible contents.
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding the 112(a) and 112(b) matter. As set forth above, “biasing means” inserted into the application after the application’s filing date, and “T-shaped elastic band” also inserted specificities into the application which comprises new matter. Also, “a biasing means .. separate from the retention elastic band” also comprises new matter since both the retention elastic band 6 is attached to the biasing means”.
Regarding the Ridge Wallet 2.0 in view of Glickfield, applicant generally assert that biasing means separate from the retention band. Note that Ridge Wallet 2.0 comprises the same exact biasing means as the Ridge Wallet 2.0 and this present application are of the same inventors, the difference is the retention elastic band. This elastic is broadly recited is met the elastic band 10 of Glickfield being attached to the clip portion of the Ridge Wallet 2.0. This is clearly suggested by fig. 13 and 14.
Similarly, regarding Ridge Wallet 2.0 in view of Glickfield, Glickfield teaches that it is known in the art to provide an elastic band attached outside of a cover portion. Using this concept of providing and elastic band attached outside of a cover portion Ridge Wallet 2.0 would have been obvious and requires ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding Ridge Wallet 2.0 in view of Podwika (5944080), and further in view of KR200476722. KR’722 suggests to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a band extending only one side outside of the wallet, using this suggestion from K’722, one of ordinary skill in the art can provide a band outside of Ridge Wallet 2.0 using the groove and elastic band as taught by Podwika. All references are all squarely in the same analogous art using suggestion and method from the two references of Podwika and KR’722 would have been obvious.
TRI M. MAI
Examiner
Art Unit 3733
/TRI M MAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733