Priority date of 05/07/2015 based on 14/706019 is acknowledged.
Double Patenting:
This instant application
US Patent 10791808
Claim 21.
A compact wallet, comprising: a first rigid plate and a second rigid plate, and
a retention elastic band extending along an exterior surface of the rigid first plate, the second rigid plate, or both,
wherein
wherein the first rigid plate and the second rigid plate are positioned in parallel planes while holding card-like contents and are biased toward each other using a biasing means separate from the retention elastic band,
such that the compact wallet is configured to carry the card-like contents with minimal silhouette on or with a person while allowing expandable capacity and ready access to individual contents from between the first rigid plate and the second rigid plate.
Claim 1.
A compact wallet, comprising: at least two rigid plates interposed to sandwich card-like contents there between, each rigid plate having a longitudinal extent;
(claim 10) The compact wallet of claim 1, further comprising a second elastic strap positioned over an outside surface of one of the at least two rigid plates to hold additional contents on the outside surface.
at least one encircling elastic band interposed with the at least two rigid plates along longitudinal extents thereof to bias them inwardly and securely hold the card-like contents while providing elastic volume there between for adding or removing contents;
a channeling means configured to minimize the profile of the wallet and hold position of the at least one encircling elastic band with respect to each rigid plate while allowing freedom for the dynamic extension and contraction of the band over the entire running length thereof;
and an auxiliary feature removably attached to at least one of the at least two rigid plates, the auxiliary feature having a tang insertable into a recess formed inside the at least two rigid plates, the tang having a hook, the hook extending at an angle to the tang, the hook engaging an undercut of the recess to prevent inadvertent dislodgement of the auxiliary feature from the recess, whereby, card-like contents may be carried with minimal silhouette on or with a person while allowing expandable capacity and ready access to individual contents from between the at least two rigid plates.
This instant application
US Patent 11596212
Claim 21.
A compact wallet, comprising: a first rigid plate and a second rigid plate, and
a retention elastic band extending along an exterior surface of the rigid first plate, the second rigid plate, or both,
wherein the first rigid plate and the second rigid plate are positioned in parallel planes while holding card-like contents and are biased toward each other using a biasing means separate from the retention elastic band, such that
the compact wallet is configured to carry the card-like contents with minimal silhouette on or with a person while allowing expandable capacity and ready access to individual contents from between the first rigid plate and the second rigid plate.
Claim 1.
A compact wallet, comprising: a first grooved part and a first backing part, attached together to form a first plate member;
a second grooved part and a second backing part, attached together to form a second plate member;
(claim 1) a retention elastic band extending along an exterior surface of the first plate member from one end of the first plate member, in between the first grooved part and the first backing part, to an opposite end of the first plate member, in between the first grooved part and the first backing part.
at least one encircling elastic band (1) extending on a first outer side of the compact wallet from a first interior area within the first plate member, defined between the first grooved part and the first backing part, to second interior area of the second plate member on the first outer side, between the second grooved part and the second backing part, and (2) extending on a second, opposite outer side of the compact wallet from the first interior area within the first plate member, in between the first grooved part and the first backing part, to the second interior area of the second plate member on the opposite side of the second plate member, in between the second grooved part and the second backing part, the at least one encircling elastic band providing a resiliently expandable space between the first plate member and the second plate member; and
Claims 21-34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No.10,791,808 or US Patent No. 11,596,212 in view of the Ridge Wallet 2.0. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
For claim 1 of the instant application, the claims of ‘808 teaches two plates being the two rigid plates in claim 1 with the two laminates (claim 3), and the retention band extending along an exterior surface (claim 10) and the functionality of the wallet is configured to carry the card-like contents with minimal silhouette on or with a person while allowing expandable capacity and ready access to individual contents from between the first rigid plate and the second rigid plate is met by the one encircling elastic band (claim 1).
The claims of ‘212 patent also teaches two plates being the two rigid plates in claim 1 with the two laminates and the retention band extending along an exterior surface (claim 1) and the functionality of the wallet is configured to carry the card-like contents with minimal silhouette on or with a person while allowing expandable capacity and ready access to individual contents from between the first rigid plate and the second rigid plate is met by the one encircling elastic band (claim 1).
Regarding the biasing means, note the limitation “a retention elastic band extending along an exterior surface of the first plate member from one end of the first plate member, in between the first grooved part and the first backing part, to an opposite end of the first plate member, in between the first grooved part and the first backing part.”
The structures of the claims in this instant application are merely reworded from the claims of U.S. Patent No.10791808 and U.S. Patent No. 11596212. The added functionalities and added specificities, e.g., the plate being rigid plates are either inherent or obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art.
With respect to the limitation that “the retention elastic band not extending along the exterior surface of both the first rigid plate and the second rigid plate”, note that limitation is encompassed by the limitation “a retention elastic band extending along an exterior surface of the first plate member from one end of the first plate member, in between the first grooved part and the first backing part, to an opposite end of the first plate member, in between the first grooved part and the first backing part” since the structures in this limitation comprises structures allowing the elastic band only to be installed to extending one of the exterior surface via the first grooved part and the first backing part and not extending both the first rigid plate and the second rigid plate.
Regarding the limitation that the two “first rigid plate and the second rigid plate are positioned in parallel planes”, the Ridge Wallet 2.0 teaches that it is known in the art to provide first rigid plate and the second rigid plate are positioned in parallel planes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the first rigid plate and the second rigid plate are positioned in parallel planes as taught by the Ridge Wallet 2.0 to allow compact holding of the inside contents.
Claims 21-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter.
In claim 21, claim limitation “biasing means” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to provide antecedent basis and disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Furthermore, this added limitation confuses whether biasing means is the same as the encircling elastic band in claim 22. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Also, applicant’s assertion that the biasing means is missing from Ridge Wallet 2.0 is also confusing. The difference between the Ridge Wallet 2.0 comprises only the elastic band on the exterior. In view of this, applicant is required to point out what structure comprises the biasing means, the retention elastic band in claim 1 and the encircling elastic band in claim 22.
SET I:
Claims 21-24, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schneider (8893881) in view of Straus (2087786) and further in view of KR’171.
`
(37) The foldable organizer case 10 may be used with an insert 60 to store credit cards, driver's licenses, and similarly sized objects.
The rear exterior section 18 includes a backing 22 and a flexible shell 24 covering substantially the entire rear exterior section of the folding case 10.
The backing 22 is preferably rigid
The back sheet 66 includes an elastic fabric band 70 wraps around the front end of the case 10 to hold the insert 60 in place.
Schneider teaches a first rigid plate (18) and a second rigid plate (42), and a retention elastic band (70) extending along an exterior surface of the first rigid plate or the second rigid plate, the retention elastic band not extending along the exterior surface of both the first rigid plate and the second rigid plate. With respect to the limitation wherein the compact wallet is configured to carry the card-like contents with minimal silhouette on or with a person while allowing expandable capacity and ready access to individual contents from between the first rigid plate and the second rigid plate. Note the teaching of holding cards showing the two parallel plane. Also note that in the wallet of Schneider can accommodate certain amount of card or flexible to place the two plates in parallel planes as claimed.
Schneider meets all claimed limitations except for the biasing means or the encircling elastic band in claims 22-23. Straus teaches that it is known in the art to provide an biasing means being encircling elastic band at 22. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide an encircling band as taught by Straus to secure the two halves. KR ‘171 teaches a wallet that have the one biasing means holding the two plates at 40 and another elastic band at 30 on the exterior. Therefore to provide the another biasing means being an encircling elastic band of Schneider would have been obvious.
Regarding claim 24, note the flexible shell and backing comprises the laminas.
Regarding claim 30, note the same contents cited above.
Claims 24, and 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schneider in view of Goto (4647714). Graham meets all claimed limitations except for the material being metal lamina. Goto teaches that it is known in the art to provide a foldable device with a metal lamina at 54. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a metal lamina in Schneider to provide added protection.
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schneider in view of Ward (20040103500). Graham meets all claimed limitations except for the elastic band made from woven elastic band. Ward, at para. 21, teaches that it is known in the art to provide woven elastic band. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide elastic band of Johnson being woven elastic band to provide the desired band material.
SET II:
Claims 21-24, and 27-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Ridge Wallet 2.0 in view of Ward (20040103500), and further in view of Glickfield (20100139049) or Lum (3723814).
The Ridge Wallet 2.0 teaches a compact wallet with two rigid plate and each plate with longitudinal grove and threaded hole (note page 6 shows each rigid plate comprises of two subplates each subplate has longitudinal groove for the placement of the elastic band and these two subplates are attached together using screws. The Ridge Wallet also teaches the holding of bill on the outside of the wallet (note the clip holding on folded money in the photographs in pages 4 and page 5 and some not having the clips on pages 3 and 5), and the biasing means being include a T-shaped band shown above. The Ridge Wallet meets all claimed limitations except for the limitation “retention elastic band extending along an exterior surface of the firs rigid first plate or the second rigid plate, the retention elastic band not extending along the exterior surface of both the first rigid plate and the second rigid plate”. Ward teaches that it is known in the art to provide an elastic band for securing and loose contents including money bill and credit card. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the elastic band of Ward outside of the Ridge Wallet 2.0 to provide added security and/or for securing added or loose contents within one’s pocket.
Glickfiled teaches that it is known in the art to provide an elastic band 10 attachable to a holding device 50 to the clip 60 in figs. 15, and fig. 14 shows that the elastic band only attach to the bag on one side of the clip along one side of the exterior. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the elastic band of Ward and connected to via the clip of Ward such that the retention elastic band not extending along the exterior surface of both the first rigid plate and the second rigid plate as taught by Glickfiled to access the contents inside Ridge while securing contents on the elastic of Ward.
In the alternative, Lim teaches that it is known in the art to attach an elastic band attachable to various places including only to a rigid side cover. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the elastic band of Ward and connected only to one rigid cover of Ward such that the retention elastic band not extending along the exterior surface of both the first rigid plate and the second rigid plate as taught by Glickfiled to access the contents inside Ridge while securing contents on the elastic band of Ward.
Claims 21-24, and 27-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Ridge Wallet 2.0 in view of Glickfield. The Ridge Wallet 2.0 teaches a compact wallet with two rigid plate and each plate with longitudinal grove and threaded hole (note page 6 shows each rigid plate comprises of two subplates each subplate has longitudinal groove for the placement of the elastic band and these two subplates are attached together using screws. The Ridge Wallet also teaches the holding of bill on the outside of the wallet (note the clip holding on folded money in the photographs in pages 4 and page 5), and the biasing means being include a T-shaped band shown above. The Ridge Wallet meets all claimed limitations except for the limitation “retention elastic band extending along an exterior surface of the firs rigid first plate or the second rigid plate, the retention elastic band not extending along the exterior surface of both the first rigid plate and the second rigid plate”. Glickfield teaches that it is known in the art to provide an elastic band for securing and loose contents including money bill and credit card and the band is also attach to a clip of a holder in fig. 13 and 14. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the elastic band of Glickfield and connected only to one rigid cover of Ward such that the retention elastic band not extending along the exterior surface of both the first rigid plate and the second rigid plate as taught by Glickfiled to access the contents inside Ridge while securing additional contents on the elastic of Glickfiled.
Claims 21-24, and 27-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Ridge Wallet 2.0 in view of Podwika (5944080), and further in view of KR200476722. The Ridge Wallet 2.0 teaches a compact wallet with two rigid plate and each plate with longitudinal grove and threaded hole (note page 6 shows each rigid plate comprises of two subplates each subplate has longitudinal groove for the placement of the elastic band and these two subplates are attached together using screws. The Ridge Wallet also teaches the holding of bill on the outside of the wallet (note the clip holding on folded money in the photographs in pages 4 and page 5), the biasing means being include a T-shaped band shown above. The Ridge Wallet meets all claimed limitations except for the limitation “retention elastic band extending along an exterior surface of the firs rigid first plate or the second rigid plate, the retention elastic band not extending along the exterior surface of both the first rigid plate and the second rigid plate”. Podwika teaches that it is known in the art to provide recess on a the metallic rigid to provide an exterior elastic band. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide an elastic band using the recess on one of the rigid plate of Ridge to enable one to hole contents while accessing the contents between the two rigid plates. KR200476722 teaches that it is known in the art to provide an elastic band extending along an exterior surface of the firs rigid first plate or the second rigid plate, the retention elastic band not extending along the exterior surface of both the first rigid plate and the second rigid plate while enable the access the contents between the two rigid plates.
Regarding claim 35, note the T-shaped elastic band shown above.
Claims 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Ridge Wallet 2.0 in view of Ward ‘500, and further in view of Glickfield or Lum, as set forth above in paragraph 9, and further in view of Singer (20150059937). The Ridge Wallet does not teach the flat head screws and countersunk holes. Singer teaches that it is known in the art to provide flat head screws and countersunk holes at 606/607/608. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide flat head screws and countersunk holes as taught by Singer to provide a smooth texture for the hand/finger.
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant generally argues the new limitation regarding the biasing means. In view of 112 issues, the “biasing means” is taught by Schneider (8893881) in view of Straus (2087786) and further in view of KR’171, as set forth above. The “biasing means” is taught by the Ridge Wallet 2.0.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
TRI M. MAI
Examiner
Art Unit 3733
/TRI M MAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733