DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8, 12, 14 and 17-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11-15 and 17-20 of copending Application No. 18/126,343 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
See the matched claims below:
Current Application claim(s) Reference Application claim(s)
1 and 12 11
1 and 14 11
12-15 2-5
13-15 17-19
17 6
18 7
19 8
20 20
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 10 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of copending Application No. 18/126,343 in view of Engler.
Regarding claim 10, copending application teaches the claimed invention except for the stating the first joint being a knuckle joint.
Engler teaches knuckle linkages connecting digit joints (see at least figs 9 and 10), the joints mechanically coupling a first portion of the robotic digit to a second portion of the robotic digit for the purpose of replicating a finger (digit) movement.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to combine the teachings of Engler with the copending application, since the knuckle linkages taught by Engler allows for better replication of the robotic hand movement to the robotic digit device of the copending application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show “position transducers 716a and 716b” as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In page 11, line 7, replace “166” with --116--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 8, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “the first portion”. It is unclear which “first portion” is being referred to, since there are two different “first portions” found in claims 1 and 2, “a first portion of the robotic digit” and “the first conductive trace includes a first portion”, respectively. Same applies to “the second portion”.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the meter" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 8 has been treated below as being dependent on claim 7, where a meter was introduced.
Claims 17-18 recite “the first leg”, “the first conductive trace”, “the second leg”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukaya et al., US Pat. 5,847,640 in view of Engler, Jr., US Pat. 5,447,403.
Regarding claim 1, Engler teaches a robotic digit (programmable robot and control system) comprising:
a first joint (portions joined at the potentiometer/transducer 246; see at least figs 9 and 10), the first joint mechanically coupling a first portion of the robotic digit (knuckles) and a second portion of the robotic digit. The potentiometers are used to monitor the position (the hand manipulation such as grasping and/or manipulating an object) of the robotic digit and its rotational and bending movements (see at col. 6, line 46 to col. 7, line 20 and claim 1).
Engler teaches the claimed invention except for listing a usable transducer for sensing rotational motion.
Fukaya teaches a first position transducer (rotating or rotary sensor 10), the first position transducer comprising:
a first printed circuit board (circuit board 12a; see at least figs. 1 and 2), the first PCB comprising:
a first connector pad (15a);
a second connector pad (15b and/or 15c); and
a first conductive trace (comprising of traces 16a and 16b) comprising a first leg (trace 16a) and a second leg (trace 16b), the first leg having a first end, the first end electrically communicatively coupled to the first connector pad (an end that connects to the first conductor pad 15a), and the second leg having a second end, the second end electrically communicatively coupled to the second connector pad (an end connecting to the second connector pad 15b and/or 15c); and
a first wiper (17) in sliding contact with the first PCB, the first wiper comprising a first blade and a second blade (left and right in fig. 2), the first blade electrically communicatively coupled to the first leg (16a) of the first conductive trace, and the second blade electrically communicatively coupled to the second leg (16b) of the first conductive trace, wherein, in operation, a first electrical path length of a first conductive path between the first connector pad (15a) and the second connector pad (15b and/or 15c) depends, at least in part, on a relative position of the first PCB and the first wiper (variable resistance according to the rotary position of the wiper on the circuit board).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to combine the teachings of Fukaya with Engler, since the rotational movement sensing transducers taught by Fukaya allows for detecting and monitoring the rotational movement of each individual digits of Engler robotic digit device.
Regarding claim 2, Engler teaches the claimed invention except for the claimed conductive path.
Fukaya teaches the first leg (16a) of the first conductive trace includes a first portion (an area along the first leg; see fig. 2 of Fukaya), the first portion which electrically communicatively couples the first connector pad (15a) to the first blade (17); and
the second leg (16b) of the first conductive trace includes a second portion (an area along the second leg; see fig. 2 of Fukaya), the second portion which electrically communicatively couples the second connector pad (15b and/or 15c) to the second blade (17), wherein the first connector pad (15a), the first portion of the first conductive trace, the first blade (17), the second blade (also 17), the second portion of the first conductive trace, and the second connector pad (15b and/or 15c), thus forming the first conductive path.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to combine the teachings of Fukaya with Engler, since the conductive traces and wiper structure taught by Fukaya forms a completed conductive path.
Regarding claims 3-5, Engler teaches the claimed invention except for a curved conductive path.
Fukaya teaches at least a portion of the second leg of the first conductive trace is substantially parallel with at least a portion of the first leg of the first conductive trace, wherein the first conductive trace and the second conductive trace are curved (see fig. 2 of Fukaya) for the purpose detecting an angular motion.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to combine the teachings of Fukaya with Engler, since the curved conductive traces taught by Fukaya allows for detecting angular motion of the robotic digit device of Engler.
Regarding claim 6, Fukaya teaches the use of a coil spring (21; see fig. 1) for the purpose of applying pressure to the wiper towards the circuit board (col. 2, lines 45-50).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to combine the teaching of Fukaya with Engler, since the coil spring taught Fukaya provide a better contact point to the slide device of Engler.
Regarding claim 7, Engler the robotic digit of claim 1, further comprising:
an electrical source (power for controller; see at col. 6, line 46 to col. 7, line 20 and claim 1) electrically communicatively coupled to the first and the second connector pad;
a meter (computerized controller for programming) electrically communicatively coupled to the first and the second connector pad, the meter which, in operation, determines the electrical path length of the first conductive path; and
a transmitter (controller for storing and/or real time control of Engler’s device) which, in operation, transmits the relative position of the first PCB and the first wiper to a controller.
Regarding claim 8, Engler teaches the robotic digit of claim 1, wherein the meter, in operation, determines the electrical path length of the first conductive path based at least in part on an electrical resistance of the first conductive path (sensors 246 send electrical signals to the controller…; see at col. 6, line 46 to col. 7, line 20).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Engler teaches the robotic digit of claim 1, wherein the robotic digit is a robotic finger of a robotic hand of a humanoid robot (see fig. 10 and at least see at col. 6, line 46 to col. 7, line 20), wherein the first joint is a knuckle joint.
Regarding claim 11, Engler teaches the robotic digit of claim 1, wherein the relative position of the first PCB and the first wiper includes an angle defining a pitch rotation of the second portion of the robotic digit relative to the first portion of the robotic digit (Engler teaches yaw and pitch motions (see at least fig. 6A-D and col. 5, line 55 to col. 6, line 2).
Regarding claims 12 and 14, Engler teaches the robotic digit of claim 1, further comprising a second position transducer (multiple transducers are in use; see at least fig. 10). Engler teaches the claimed invention except for listing a usable potentiometer for sensing rotational motion.
Fukaya teaches a second position transducer (rotating or rotary sensor 10), the second position transducer comprising:
a second printed circuit board (circuit board 12a; see at least figs. 1 and 2), the second PCB comprising:
a third connector pad (15a);
a fourth connector pad (15b and/or 15c); and
a second conductive trace (comprising of traces 16a and 16b) comprising a third leg (trace 16a) and a fourth leg (trace 16b), the third leg having a third end, the third end electrically communicatively coupled to the third connector pad (an end that connects to the third conductor pad 15a), and the fourth leg having a fourth end, the fourth end electrically communicatively coupled to the fourth connector pad (an end connecting to the fourth connector pad 15b and/or 15c); and
a second wiper (17) in sliding contact with the second PCB, the second wiper comprising a third blade and a fourth blade (left and right in fig. 2), the third blade electrically communicatively coupled to the third leg (16a) of the third conductive trace, and the fourth blade electrically communicatively coupled to the fourth leg (16b) of the second conductive trace, wherein, in operation, a second electrical path length of a second conductive path between the third connector pad (15a) and the fourth connector pad (15b and/or 15c) depends, at least in part, on a relative position of the second PCB and the second wiper (variable resistance according to the rotary position of the wiper on the circuit board).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to combine the teachings of Fukaya with Engler, since the rotational movement sensing transducers taught by Fukaya allows for detecting and monitoring the rotational movement of each individual digits of Engler robotic digit device.
Regarding claims 13 and 15, Engler teaches the robotic digit of claim 12, wherein the multiple sensors (potentiometers 246) are connected to the controller to read the two degrees of motion (yaw and pitch) for the robotic digit (col. 5, line 55 to col. 6, line 13).
Regarding claim 16, Engler teaches the claimed invention except for the claimed conductive path.
Fukaya teaches the third leg (16a) of the first conductive trace includes a third portion (an area along the third leg; see fig. 2 of Fukaya), the third portion which electrically communicatively couples the third connector pad (15a) to the third blade (17); and
the fourth leg (16b) of the second conductive trace includes a fourth portion (an area along the fourth leg; see fig. 2 of Fukaya), the fourth portion which electrically communicatively couples the fourth connector pad (15b and/or 15c) to the fourth blade (17), wherein the third connector pad (15a), the third portion of the second conductive trace, the third blade (17), the fourth blade (also 17), the fourth portion of the second conductive trace, and the fourth connector pad (15b and/or 15c), thus forming the second conductive path.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to combine the teachings of Fukaya with Engler, since the conductive traces and wiper structure taught by Fukaya forms a completed second conductive path.
Regarding claims 17-20, Engler teaches the claimed invention except for a curved conductive path, the conductive trace having a U-shaped conductive trace.
Fukaya teaches at least a portion of the third leg of the second conductive trace is substantially parallel with at least a portion of the third leg of the second conductive trace, wherein the conductive traces are curved (see fig. 2 of Fukaya) for the purpose detecting an angular motion. Further, the first conductive trace is a U-shaped trace (see fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to combine the teachings of Fukaya with Engler, since the curved conductive traces taught by Fukaya allows for detecting angular motion of the robotic digit device of Engler.
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
KYUNG S. LEE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2833
/KYUNG S LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833