DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mikalsen (US 2022/0396338) in view of Tanaka (US 6,172,435).
As to claim 1, Mikalsen discloses in figures 1-5, an offshore electrical charging system, comprising:
a marine vessel [see figure 2, element 200; see ¶0017] including at least one propulsion system and electrical equipment for controlling operation of the marine vessel [noted that the vessel contains propulsion and electrical elements; thrusters (206a-206n) contains propulsion and electrical equipment (210a-210n) ; see also Abstract, ¶0017];
a plurality of flywheels [flywheels (201); see ¶0005-006, 3 ¶0017] stored on the marine vessel;
an electrical power network [power plans, or electrical generators are disclosed; see ¶0017], ¶0032] on the marine vessel, and electrically connected to flywheels, the electrical power network including electrical conductors and electrical switches arranged as an onboard electrical grid of the marine vessel in electrical communication with the at least one propulsion system and electrical equipment [see ¶0017, ¶0019-0020];
an electrical connector in electrical communication with the at least one of the electrical switches and electrical conductors of the electrical power network to enable electrical power from the flywheels to flow via the electrical connector to supply power [see ¶0017-0019, ¶0027 and figure 5].
at least one power switch disposed on the electrical power network, and configured to enable electricity to flow between the electrical connector and flywheels by selectively connecting and disconnecting one or more flywheels from the onboard electrical grid to supply electrical power to the at least one propulsion system and electrical equipment [the controller control the power switches in order to allow current flows from the flywheels to the electrical equipment ; see also ¶0020, 0023]; and
a controller configured to control the at least one power switch to enable and disable electrical power to flow between the flywheels and the electrical connector via the electrical power network [controller is disclosed to control the network and the power flow of the flywheels; see ¶0018-0019] .
Mikalsen does not disclose explicitly, supply power from the marine vessel to an exonal load.
Tanaka discloses in figure 1, using power from the flywheels to the different electrical system and power plants [the vessel flywheels provide power to the external load; see Col. 4, lines 44-46].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to use flywheels of Mikalsen’s to power external loas as taught by Tanaka’s in order to provide to outside loads when outside power is not available.
As to claim 2, Mikalsen in combination with Tanaka discloses, a charging buoy configured to be moored and to supply electrical power via one or more first electrical conductors engaged therewith; and at least one second electrical conductor electrically connected to the one or more first electrical conductors, and each of the at least one second electrical conductors configured to be connected to the electrical connector, such that when electrical power flows via the one or more first electrical conductors to the at least one second electrical conductor, electricity is able to be supplied by the electrical power network to an electrical system external from the marine vessel.
As to claim 5, Mikalsen discloses in figures 1-5, discloses a ligating power station including at least one of a wind turbine and solar panel [wind turbine (104); see also ¶0014-0015]] electrically connected to an electrical conductor that connects to the electrical power network for recharging the flywheels [power line provided to the marine vessels from the wind turbine].
As to claim 10, Mikalsen discloses in figures 1-10. the electrical connector is an inductive electrical connector [see ¶114].
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mikalsen in view of Tanaka, and in view of Mikalsen (US 2020/0406765 A1) ,hereinafter 765’.
Regarding claim 3, Mikalsen discloses all of the claim limitations except, one or more electrical power meters configured to measure electrical power distributed to B second marine vessel electrically connected to the one or more first electrical conductors: and a processor configured to receive data from the one and more electrical power meters to determine an amount of power delivered to the second marine vessel to determine amount to invoice an owner or operator of the second marine vessel for recharging services.
765’ discloses in figures 1-13, a marine vessel charging system with one or more electrical power meters configured to measure electrical power distributed to B second marine vessel electrically connected to the one or more first electrical conductors [charging station 504 comprises electronic devices that record the amount of power transfer, see ¶036]: and a processor configured to receive data from the one and more electrical power meters to determine an amount of power delivered to the second marine vessel to determine amount to invoice an owner or operator of the second marine vessel for recharging services [charging station 504 comprises processors to process data regarding the amount of power consumed to generate invoices, ¶00 36].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the system of Mikalsen by using one or more electrical power meters configured to measure electrical power distributed to a second marine vessel electrically connected to the one or more first electrical conductors; and a processor configured to receive data from the one and more electrical power meters to determine an amount of power delivered to the second marine vessel to determine amount to invoice an owner or operator of the second marine vessel for recharging services as disclosed by 675’ in order to perform proper billing.
As to claim 4, Mikalsen discloses all of the claim limitations except, at least one timer configured to measure an amount of time that a second marine vessel is electrically connected to the one or more first electrical conductors: and a processor configured to receive date from at least one timer to determine an amount of time that the second marine vessel is electrically connected to the electrical power network, and to determine amount to invoice and owner or operator of the second marine vessel for recharging services.
675’ discloses in figures 1-13, a marine vessel charging system with at least one timer configured to measure an amount of time that a second marine vessel is electrically connected to the one or more first electrical conductors [charging station 504 comprises electronic devices that record the time a vessel is connected to the charging station, e.g. 6 hours, ¶036); and a processor configured to receive data from at least one timer to determine an amount of time that the second marine vessel is electrically connected to the electrical power network, and to determine amount to invoice an owner or operator of the second marine vessel for recharging services [charging station 504 comprises processors to process data regarding the amount of power consumed to generate invoices, ¶0036].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Mikalsen by using at least one timer configured to measure an amount of time that a second marine vessel is electrically connected to the one or more first electrical conductors; and a processor configured to receive data from at least one timer to determine an amount of time that the second marine vessel is electrically connected to the electrical power network, and to determine amount to Invoice and owner or operator of the second marine vessel for recharging services as disclosed by 675’ in order to perform proper billing.
Claims 6-8, 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mikalsen in view of Tanaka, and in view of Colello et al. (US 2011/0282807), hereinafter Colello.
As to claim 6, Colello discloses in figures 1-18, second marine vessel including the same electrical power components as the marine vessel [two energy stores 104(3) and 104(4), each transported by a marine vessel are used to continually supply to consumer 106, Fig. 2, see also ¶0 95].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to use plurality of vessel in Mikalsesen’s apparatus as taught by Colello in order to have more vessels as means of transportations.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to use plurality of vessels in order to have plural means of transportation, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
As to claim 7, Colello discloses in figures 1-18, a computing system configured to: remotely monitor available charge of the flywheels on the marine vessel and second marine vessel [controller/EMC 310 communicates with energy stores to monitor their charge, ¶0094]; and determine when to dispatch the second marine vessel with charged flywheels to replace the marine vessel with charge-depleted flywheels [controller/EMC 310 determines the timing of replacing energy stores to ensure uninterrupted supply of energy, ¶0095].
As to claim 8, Colello discloses in figures 1-18, the marine vessel and second marine vessel are autonomous marine vessels or moved by autonomous marine vessels [transport ship 900 is automated and transports energy under computer control, ¶122].
As to claim 11, Colello discloses in figures 1-18, the marine vessel is a barge [energy store 104 can be transported by watercraft such as a ship or barge, see ¶085].
As to claim 13, Mikalsen discloses in figures 1-5, a second electrical connector configured to enable electricity to flow from the electrical connector and second electrical connector [see ¶0018 ].
Claims 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mikalsen in view of Tanaka, and in view of Colello, and in view of Lorang (US 2012/0060741).
As to claim 9, neither Mikalsen nor Tanaka discloses, an electrical power network located offshore to enable one of more marine vessels to electrically connect thereto to receive electrical power therefrom; a plurality of first electrical conductors electrically connected to the electrical power network; a controller configured to (II) cause electrical power to flow from the flywheels of the marine vessel to the electrical power network without disrupting available electrical power being supplied by the electrical power network.
Colello discloses in figures 1-18, an electrical power network located offshore to enable one of more marine vessels to electrically connect thereto to receive electrical power therefrom [energy transport ship 900 may receive power from an offshore wind farm which allows the ship to connect thereto in order to receive electrical energy. Fig. 18, ¶146]; a plurality of first electrical conductors electrically connected to the electrical power network [power connector 1808 of the offshore wind platform may allow for connection of more than one ship 900 at B time, Fig. 18, ¶146]; a controller configured to (II) cause electrical power to flow from the flywheels of the marine vessel to the electrical power network without disrupting available electrical power being supplied by the electrical power network [controller/EMC 302 ensures an appropriate number of energy stores 104 in order to maintain, i.e. avoid disruption of, the power network, ¶0091].
Mikalsen, Tanaka , and Colello do not disclose explicitly, a controller configured to (i) enable the marine vessel and second marine vessel to connect.
Lorang discloses a system in which a marine vessel comprises a controller configured to (i) enable a marine vessel and a second marine vessel to connect [secondary ship 2 is autonomously controlled and electrically connected to primary ship 1 to provide electrical power to primary ship 1, see ¶0027-0029].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the system of Mikalsen and Colello by including a controller configured to (I) enable a marine vessel and a second marine vessel to connect as disclosed by Lorang in order to simplify maintenance and reloading operations for the charging system.
As to claim 12, Colello discloses in figures 1-18, a charging buoy positioned offshores [power connector 2508 is a buoy and is tethered offshore, Fig 25, ¶159].
Mikalsen, Tanaka and Colello do not disclose explicitly, towboats configured to move the barges.
Lorang discloses a system in which a marine vessel comprising towboats configured to move the barge [secondary ship 2 moves by means of one or more towboats, ¶029].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the system of Mikalsen and Colello by using towboats configured to move the barge as disclosed by Lorang in order to simplify maintenance and reloading operations for the charging system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMUEL BERHANU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859