DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 15 of claim 1, it is believed “a left side” should be changed to --the left side--.
In line 17 of claim 1, it is believed “a right side” should be changed to --the right side--.
In line 17 of claim 1, it is believed “a front-rear direction” should be changed to --the vehicle fore-and-aft direction-- to match previously recited claim language.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US Pat 11,285,796) in view of Leanza et al. (US Pat 9,259,998).
Regarding claim 1, Choi discloses a lower body structure of a vehicle the lower body structure comprising: a left and right pair of left seat rails 31, 32 and a left and right pair of right seat rails 33, 34 configured to make left and right seats of the seat 30 independently slidable (see Figures 1-2, 4 and 6; Col. 6, lines 44-51); a first cross structure 71 including securing portions to which the left seat rails 31, 32 and the right seat rails 33, 34 are secured (see Figures 1-2 and 4; Col. 6, lines 44-51); a second cross structure 72 disposed apart from the first cross structure in a vehicle fore-and-aft direction (see Figures 1 and 4-5; Col. 5, lines 26-38); and a first coupling structure 73b that couples the first cross structure 71 and the second cross structure 72 to each other in the vehicle fore-and-aft direction, wherein the first coupling structure 73b is located between the securing portion located on a left side of the right seat rails 33, 34 and the securing portion located on a right side of the left seat rails 31, 32 in a vehicle width direction (see Figure 4; Col. 5, line 48-Col. 6, line 6), and wherein the first coupling structure 73b is located in a position opposite a securing portion of the securing portions that is located on a left side of the right seat rails 33, 34 and the position is also opposite another securing portion of the securing portions that is located on a right side of the left seat rails 31, 32 in a front-rear direction of the vehicle body (see Figure 4 and annotated Figure 4 below). The first coupling structure is positioned between two securing portions. Merriam-Webster defines opposite as: “set over against something that is at the other end or side of an intervening line or space” or “situated in pairs on an axis with each member being separated from the other by half the circumference of the axis” or “located across from something”. The securing portions, as shown in annotated Figure 4 below, would meet the provided definitions of “opposite” if the axis or line were defined by a line extending in a transverse direction of the vehicle between a longitudinal end of the respective securing portion and a longitudinal end of the first coupling structure.
Choi fails to disclose a first-row seat and a second-row seat from a front of the vehicle.
Leanza et al. disclose a vehicle frame structure 102 of a vehicle having a first row seat 122 and a second row seat 138 (see Figure 2; Col. 2, lines 60-64; Col. 3, lines 19-29).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the seat of Choi as a second row seat, with a reasonable expectation of success, as taught by Leanza et al., to provide two rows of seating in the vehicle for passengers while also allowing for a significant amount of cargo space.
Claims 1, 3-5, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US PG Pub 2022/0105991) in view of Leanza et al. and Choi.
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a lower body structure of a vehicle, the lower body structure comprising: a first cross structure 13 including securing portions (see Figures 4-6 and annotated Figure 4 below; Paragraph 31); a second cross structure 14 disposed apart from the first cross structure 13 in a vehicle fore-and-aft direction (see Figures 4-6; Paragraph 31); and a first coupling structure 15a that couples the first cross structure 13 and the second cross structure 14 to each other in the vehicle fore-and-aft direction, wherein the first coupling structure 15a is located between a securing portion located on a left side of the of a vehicle width direction and the securing portion located on a right side of the vehicle width direction (see Figures 4-6; Paragraphs 31 and 35-36).
Kim fails to disclose a first-row seat and a second-row seat from a front of the vehicle, a left and right pair of left seat rails and a left and right pair of right seat rails configured to make left and right seats of the second-row seat independently slidable; the left seat rails and the right seat rails are secured to the securing portions; and the first coupling structure is located between the securing portion located on a left side of the right seat rails and the securing portion located on a right side of the left seat rails in a vehicle width direction, and the first coupling structure is located in a position opposite a securing portion of the securing portions that is located on a left side of the right seat rails and the position is also opposite another securing portion of the securing portions that is located on a right side of the left seat rails in a front-rear direction of the vehicle body.
Leanza et al. disclose a vehicle frame structure 102 of a vehicle having a first row seat 122 and a second row seat 138 (see Figure 2; Col. 2, lines 60-64; Col. 3, lines 19-29).
Choi discloses a lower body structure of a vehicle the lower body structure comprising: a left and right pair of left seat rails 31, 32 and a left and right pair of right seat rails 33, 34 configured to make left and right seats of the seat 30 independently slidable (see Figures 1-2, 4 and 6; Col. 6, lines 44-51); a first cross structure 71 including securing portions to which the left seat rails 31, 32 and the right seat rails 33, 34 are secured (see Figures 1-2 and 4; Col. 6, lines 44-51); a second cross structure 72 disposed apart from the first cross structure in a vehicle fore-and-aft direction (see Figures 1 and 4-5; Col. 5, lines 26-38); and a first coupling structure 73b that couples the first cross structure 71 and the second cross structure 72 to each other in the vehicle fore-and-aft direction, wherein the first coupling structure 73b is located between the securing portion located on a left side of the right seat rails 33, 34 and the securing portion located on a right side of the left seat rails 31, 32 in a vehicle width direction (see Figure 4; Col. 5, line 48-Col. 6, line 6), and wherein the first coupling structure 73b is located in a position opposite a securing portion of the securing portions that is located on a left side of the right seat rails 33, 34 and the position is also opposite another securing portion of the securing portions that is located on a right side of the left seat rails 31, 32 in a front-rear direction of the vehicle body (see Figure 4 and annotated Figure 4 above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the vehicle of Kim having a first row seat and a second row seat, with a reasonable expectation of success, as taught by Leanza et al., to provide two rows of seating in the vehicle for passengers while also allowing for a significant amount of cargo space.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the second row seat of Kim, as modified by Leanza et al. to have a left and right pair of left seat rails and a left and right pair of right seat rails configured to make left and right seats of the second-row seat independently slidable, with a reasonable expectation of success, as taught by Choi, to allow passengers to adjust the seats to their comfort based on various leg lengths of the passengers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to secure the left seat rails and right seat rails of Kim, as modified by Leanza et al. and Choi, to the securing portions such that the first coupling structure is located between the securing portion located on a left side of the right seat rails and the securing portion located on a right side of the left seat rails in a vehicle width direction, with a reasonable expectation of success, as taught by Choi, to ensure the seat rails are well supported by both the cross structures and the side sills of the vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to position the first coupling positioned opposite the securing portion located on the left side of the right seat rails and another securing portion located on the right side of the left seat rails in a front-rear direction of the vehicle, with a reasonable expectation of success, as taught by Choi, to ensure that the securing portions and the first coupling structure are not secured along a same axis that extends transversely along the vehicle that would apply additional and unnecessary stress to the lower body structure at that axis.
Regarding claim 3, Kim, as modified by Leanza et al. and Choi thrice, discloses the lower body structure of the vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the first coupling structure 15a couples lower surfaces of the first cross structure 13 and the second cross structure 14 to each other in the vehicle fore-and-aft direction (see Figures 4-6; Paragraph 35).
Regarding claim 4, Kim, as modified by Leanza et al. and Choi thrice, discloses the lower body structure of the vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the first coupling structure 15a includes a tank attachment portion 24a for a fuel tank 50 (see Figures 4-6; Paragraphs 47 and 58).
Regarding claim 5, Kim, as modified by Leanza et al. and Choi thrice, discloses the lower body structure of the vehicle according to claim 4, wherein the fuel tank 50 is attached to the tank attachment portion 24a with a tank band 52a (see Figures 5-6; Paragraph 62), wherein a tank band securing portion located on an end of the tank band 52a includes a protruding piece that is bent from the tank band securing portion and extends upward (see annotated Figure 5 below), and wherein the first coupling structure 15a includes, in a vicinity of the tank attachment portion 24a, an inclined portion 25a that is inclined more inward toward a rear so as to restrict rotation of the protruding piece relative to the first coupling structure 15a (see Paragraphs 47, 59, and 62).
Regarding claim 15, Kim, as modified by Leanza et al. and Choi thrice, discloses the lower body structure of the vehicle according to claim 3, wherein the first coupling structure 15a includes a tank attachment portion 24a for a fuel tank 50 (see Figures 4-6; Paragraphs 47 and 58).
Regarding claim 16, Kim, as modified by Leanza et al. and Choi thrice, discloses the lower body structure of the vehicle according to claim 15, wherein the fuel tank 50 is attached to the tank attachment portion 24a with a tank band 52a (see Figures 5-6; Paragraph 62), wherein a tank band securing portion located on an end of the tank band 52a includes a protruding piece that is bent from the tank band securing portion and extends upward (see annotated Figure 5 above), and wherein the first coupling structure 15a includes, in a vicinity of the tank attachment portion 24a, an inclined portion 25a that is inclined more inward toward a rear so as to restrict rotation of the protruding piece relative to the first coupling structure 15a (see Paragraphs 47, 59, and 62).
Regarding claim 17, Kim, as modified by Leanza et al. and Choi thrice, discloses the lower body structure of the vehicle according to claim 3, wherein the first coupling structure 15a is coupled to lower surfaces of the first cross structure 13 (see Figures 4-6; Paragraph 35).
Kim, as modified by Leanza et al. and Choi thrice, fails to disclose that the first coupling structure is coupled to the lower surfaces of the first cross structure directly below the securing portion that is located on the left side of the right seat rails and the other securing portion located on the right side of the left seat rails in the vertical direction of the vehicle body.
Kim discloses the first coupling structure 15a is coupled to lower surfaces of the first cross member 13 directly below a coupling frame 120a and functions to increase longitudinal bending stiffness and collision stiffness of the vehicle body structure (see Figure 4; Paragraphs 48 and 50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to couple the first coupling structure to lower surfaces of the first cross structure directly below the securing portion that is located on the left side of the right seat rails and the other securing portion located on the right side of the left seat rails in the vertical direction of the vehicle body, with a reasonable expectation of success, to increase bending and collision stiffness of the vehicle body, as taught by Kim.
Claims 2, 8-10, 13-14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, as modified by Leanza et al. and Choi thrice, in view of Maruyama (US Pat 8,985,666).
Regarding claim 2, Kim, as modified by Leanza et al. and Choi thrice, discloses the lower body structure of the vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the first coupling structure 15a is located on an outer side of a vehicle-width-direction center in the vehicle width direction, and wherein a second coupling structure 15b is disposed at a position laterally symmetrical with the first coupling structure 15a across the vehicle-width-direction center (see Figures 4-5; Paragraphs 35-36 and 47).
Kim, as modified by Leanza et al. and Choi thrice, fail to disclose the second-row seat is a divided seat divided into the left and right seats at asymmetrical left and right positions.
Maruyama discloses a structure for a vehicle seat that is divided having a left seat 1 and a right seat 2. The left seat 1 has a pair of left seat rails 11, 12 and the right seat 2 has a pair of right seat rails 13, 14. The left seat 1 is larger than the right seat 2, making the seat arrangement asymmetrical in a left and right position (see Figure 1; Col. 2, lines 27-44).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the second row seat of Kim, as modified by Leanza et al. and Choi thrice, as a divided seat into left and right seats at asymmetrical left and right positions, with a reasonable expectation of success, as taught by Maruyama, to maximize passenger space while allowing for independent adjustment of the seats.
Regarding claim 8, Kim, as modified by Leanza et al., Choi thrice, and Maruyama, discloses the lower body structure of the vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the first coupling structure 15a couples lower surfaces of the first cross structure 13 and the second cross structure 14 to each other in the vehicle fore-and-aft direction (see Figures 4-6; Paragraph 35).
Regarding claim 9, Kim, as modified by Leanza et al., Choi thrice, and Maruyama, discloses the lower body structure of the vehicle according to claim 8, wherein the first coupling structure 15a includes a tank attachment portion 24a for a fuel tank 50 (see Figures 4-6; Paragraphs 47 and 58).
Regarding claim 10, Kim, as modified by Leanza et al., Choi thrice, and Maruyama, discloses the lower body structure of the vehicle according to claim 9, wherein the fuel tank 50 is attached to the tank attachment portion 24a with a tank band 52a (see Figures 5-6; Paragraph 62), wherein a tank band securing portion located on an end of the tank band 52a includes a protruding piece that is bent from the tank band securing portion and extends upward (see annotated Figure 5 below), and wherein the first coupling structure 15a includes, in a vicinity of the tank attachment portion 24a, an inclined portion 25a that is inclined more inward toward a rear so as to restrict rotation of the protruding piece relative to the first coupling structure 15a (see Paragraphs 47, 59, and 62).
Regarding claim 13, Kim, as modified by Leanza et al., Choi thrice, and Maruyama, discloses the lower body structure of the vehicle according to claim 2, wherein the first coupling structure 15a includes a tank attachment portion 24a for a fuel tank 50 (see Figures 4-6; Paragraphs 47 and 58).
Regarding claim 14, Kim, as modified by Leanza et al., Choi thrice, and Maruyama, discloses the lower body structure of the vehicle according to claim 13, wherein the fuel tank 50 is attached to the tank attachment portion 24a with a tank band 52a (see Figures 5-6; Paragraph 62), wherein a tank band securing portion located on an end of the tank band 52a includes a protruding piece that is bent from the tank band securing portion and extends upward (see annotated Figure 5 below), and wherein the first coupling structure 15a includes, in a vicinity of the tank attachment portion 24a, an inclined portion 25a that is inclined more inward toward a rear so as to restrict rotation of the protruding piece relative to the first coupling structure 15a (see Paragraphs 47, 59, and 62).
Regarding claim 18, Kim, as modified by Leanza et al., Choi thrice and Maruyama, discloses the lower body structure of the vehicle according to claim 8, wherein the first coupling structure 15a is coupled to lower surfaces of the first cross structure 13 (see Figures 4-6; Paragraph 35).
Kim, as modified by Leanza et al., Choi thrice and Maruyama, fails to disclose that the first coupling structure is coupled to the lower surfaces of the first cross structure directly below the securing portion that is located on the left side of the right seat rails and the other securing portion located on the right side of the left seat rails in the vertical direction of the vehicle body.
Kim discloses the first coupling structure 15a is coupled to lower surfaces of the first cross member 13 directly below a coupling frame 120a and functions to increase longitudinal bending stiffness and collision stiffness of the vehicle body structure (see Figure 4; Paragraphs 48 and 50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to couple the first coupling structure to lower surfaces of the first cross structure directly below the securing portion that is located on the left side of the right seat rails and the other securing portion located on the right side of the left seat rails in the vertical direction of the vehicle body, with a reasonable expectation of success, to increase bending and collision stiffness of the vehicle body, as taught by Kim.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, as modified by Leanza et al. and Choi thrice, in view of Ebisumoto et al. (US PG Pub 2021/0061370).
Regarding claim 6, Kim, as modified by Leanza et al. and Choi thrice, discloses the lower body structure of the vehicle according to claim 3, wherein the first coupling structure 15a includes a first portion and a second portion 25a extending from a rear end of the first portion more upward toward a rear (see Figures 4, 7, and annotated Figure 4 below; Paragraphs 43 and 47).
Kim, as modified by Leanza et al. and Choi thrice, fails to disclose the first portion is flush with the lower surface of the first cross structure.
Ebisumoto et al. disclose a lower vehicle body structure having a cross member 20 and a longitudinal member 68 (see Figures 1 and 6; Paragraphs 71-72). The cross member 20 is positioned so that a portion 69 of the longitudinal member 68 is flush with a cross member surface 21 (see Figures 1 and 6; Paragraphs 71-72).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the first portion of the first coupling structure of Kim, as modified by Leanza et al. and Choi thrice, flush with the lower surface of the first cross structure, with a reasonable expectation of success, as taught by Ebisumoto et al., to improve rigidity of the connection between the first coupling structure and first cross structure while also improving the aesthetic of the lower body structure.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, as modified by Leanza et al., Choi thrice, and Ebisumoto et al., in view of Suzuki et al. (US Pat 7,270,365).
Regarding claim 7, Kim, as modified by Leanza et al., Choi thrice, and Ebisumoto et al., discloses The lower body structure of the vehicle according to claim 6.
Kim, as modified by Leanza et al., Choi thrice, and Ebisumoto et al., fails to disclose the first coupling structure includes a bead protruding downward and extending in the vehicle fore-and- aft direction in the first portion.
Suzuki et al. disclose a vehicle body lower structure having a coupling structure 10 extending from a cross member 6 in a rear portion 1 of the vehicle (see Figure 1; Col. 3, lines 22-35). A portion of the coupling structure 10 has beads 13 extending in a vehicle longitudinal direction and improve the rigidity of the coupling member 10, allowing a reduction in the thickness of the coupling member 10, saving weight without compromising strength (see Figures 1, 3-6; Col. 3, line 64-Col. 4, line 4; Col. 5, lines 15-20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the first portion of the first coupling structure of Kim, as modified by Leanza et al., Choi thrice, and Ebisumoto et al., with a bead protruding downward and extending in the vehicle fore-and-aft direction, with a reasonable expectation of success, to improve rigidity of the first coupling structure without requiring the use of a thicker material, as taught by Suzuki et al..
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, as modified by Leanza et al., Choi thrice and Maruyama, in view of Ebisumoto et al. (US PG Pub 2021/0061370).
Regarding claim 11, Kim, as modified by Leanza et al. and Choi thrice, discloses the lower body structure of the vehicle according to claim 8, wherein the first coupling structure 15a includes a first portion and a second portion 25a extending from a rear end of the first portion more upward toward a rear (see Figures 4, 7, and annotated Figure 4 below; Paragraphs 43 and 47).
Kim, as modified by Leanza et al., Choi thrice and Maruyama, fails to disclose the first portion is flush with the lower surface of the first cross structure.
Ebisumoto et al. disclose a lower vehicle body structure having a cross member 20 and a longitudinal member 68 (see Figures 1 and 6; Paragraphs 71-72). The cross member 20 is positioned so that a portion 69 of the longitudinal member 68 is flush with a cross member surface 21 (see Figures 1 and 6; Paragraphs 71-72).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the first portion of the first coupling structure of Kim, as modified by Leanza et al., Choi thrice, and Maruyama, flush with the lower surface of the first cross structure, with a reasonable expectation of success, as taught by Ebisumoto et al., to improve rigidity of the connection between the first coupling structure and first cross structure while also improving the aesthetic of the lower body structure.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, as modified by Leanza et al., Choi thrice, Maruyama, and Ebisumoto et al., in view of Suzuki et al. (US Pat 7,270,365).
Regarding claim 12, Kim, as modified by Leanza et al., Choi thrice, Maruyama and Ebisumoto et al., discloses The lower body structure of the vehicle according to claim 11.
Kim, as modified by Leanza et al., Choi thrice, Maruyama and Ebisumoto et al., fails to disclose the first coupling structure includes a bead protruding downward and extending in the vehicle fore-and- aft direction in the first portion.
Suzuki et al. disclose a vehicle body lower structure having a coupling structure 10 extending from a cross member 6 in a rear portion 1 of the vehicle (see Figure 1; Col. 3, lines 22-35). A portion of the coupling structure 10 has beads 13 extending in a vehicle longitudinal direction and improve the rigidity of the coupling member 10, allowing a reduction in the thickness of the coupling member 10, saving weight without compromising strength (see Figures 1, 3-6; Col. 3, line 64-Col. 4, line 4; Col. 5, lines 15-20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the first portion of the first coupling structure of Kim, as modified by Leanza et al., Choi thrice, Maruyama and Ebisumoto et al., with a bead protruding downward and extending in the vehicle fore-and-aft direction, with a reasonable expectation of success, to improve rigidity of the first coupling structure without requiring the use of a thicker material, as taught by Suzuki et al..
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 18, 2025 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive. On pages 10-11 of Remarks, Applicant asserts that “Choi fails to teach or suggest that ‘the first coupling structure is located in a position opposite a securing portion of the securing portions that is located on a left side of the right seat rails and the position is also opposite another securing portion of the securing portions that is located on a right side of the left seat rails in a front-rear direction of the vehicle body’, as recited in Applicant’s claim 1.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. As outlined above, the first coupling structure is positioned between two securing portions. Merriam-Webster defines opposite as: “set over against something that is at the other end or side of an intervening line or space” or “situated in pairs on an axis with each member being separated from the other by half the circumference of the axis” or “located across from something”. The securing portions, as shown in annotated Figure 4 below, would meet the provided definitions of “opposite” if the axis or line were defined by a line extending in a transverse direction of the vehicle between a longitudinal end of the respective securing portion and a longitudinal end of the first coupling structure. Because Choi meets the claim language, the rejections of claims 1-16 are maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VERONICA M CONDO/Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/AMY R WEISBERG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612