DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Applicant’s amendment of 08/14/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 1, 6, 12, and 15 are amended, and claim 2 is cancelled. Claims 1 and 3-16 are currently pending and are examined on the merits herein.
Priority
The instant application claims foreign priority to TW111150775 filed on 12/30/2022 as reflected in the filing receipt dated on 04/14/2023. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Withdrawn Objections and Rejections
Applicant’s amendments to the specification have overcome the previous objections to the disclosure. Thus, the objections are hereby withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the previous objection to the claims. Thus, the objection is hereby withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome/rendered moot the previous 112(b) rejections. Thus, the rejections are hereby withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims are sufficient to overcome the previous 103 rejections. Thus, the rejections are hereby withdrawn. In light of Applicant’s amendments to the claims, new grounds of rejection are presented below.
The following grounds of objection/rejection are new as necessitated by Applicant’s amendment to the claims.
Claim Objections
Claims 6 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Applicant’s argument that the limitation “pure water” recited in claim 6 is a well-known term of the art was found to be persuasive. The claim is objected to, however, because Applicant amended the claim to recite “purely water”. The claim should recite “pure water” since that is the art-recognized term.
In view of Applicant’s bona fide attempt to clearly define the relationship between the features recited in claim 12 and the features recited in claim 1, but to make clear that claim 12 is a more limited recitation of the “further stirring…” step recited in claim 1 rather than a separate additional stirring step, claim 12 should recite “…according to claim 1, wherein further stirring the third solution under 20 to 30 degrees Celsius and the pressure of -685 to -730 mmHg comprises: performing…”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (Ind. Eng. Chem. Res., vol. 46, p. 4839-4845; published: 06/12/2007) in view of Daley-Yates (Br. J. Clin. Pharmacol., vol. 80, p. 372-380; published: 03/24/2015), Lekhal et al. (Powder Technology, vol. 132, p. 119-130; published: 04/02/2003), and Ellab (Ellab White Paper, p. 1-16; published 08/2018) as evidenced by American Chemical Society (webpage, <https://organicchemistrydata.org/solvents/>; archived 09/07/2020).
Wang, throughout the reference, teaches a method wherein a therapeutic glucocorticosteroid is precipitated using solvent-antisolvent mixture at a certain temperature to produce micronized particles for treatment of asthma (Page 4840).
Regarding claim 1: Wang teaches an embodiment wherein the glucocorticosteroid is beclomethasone dipropionate (BDP), the solvent-antisolvent mixture is a methanol-deionized water system, and the method is performed at 20°C (Page 4840). Wang specifically teaches that BDP is dissolved in methanol to obtain a BDP solution (Page 4840), which reads on the instantly claimed step of dissolving an active pharmaceutical ingredient in a dissolved agent to form a first solution.
Wang further teaches that the BDP solution is then filtered through a membrane to obtain a BDP solution free of particulate impurities and (Page 4840), which reads on the step of filtering the first solution through a filter membrane at 20 to 30 degrees Celsius to obtain a second solution, because as noted above the method is performed at 20°C, which lies within and thus renders obvious the instantly claimed temperature range, and Wang teaches that the temperature is kept constant throughout the precipitation process (Page 4840).
Wang further teaches that the filtered BDP solution, which reads on the instantly claimed second solution, is poured into deionized water, which reads on the instantly claimed precipitating agent, under vigorous stirring, which becomes immediately turbid and indicates the onset of precipitation (Page 4840). Wang notes that precipitation includes the main steps of nucleation and crystal growth (Page 4842). While the method of Wang teaches that the second solution is added into the precipitating agent—rather than adding the precipitating agent into the second solution as claimed—to obtain a third solution, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the method in either order because both would result in the same outcome of obtaining a third solution and continuously stirring the third solution to precipitate crystals, as instantly claimed. It is noted that selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results. Note MPEP 2144.04(C): In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946); see also In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930) (selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious).
Wang further teaches that after precipitation, the BDP suspension is filtered and vacuum-dried at 105°C to obtain a drug powder, which reads on the instantly claimed requirement of removing the dissolved agent and the precipitating agent from the third solution. Regarding the limitation wherein the dissolved agent and the precipitating agent are “sequentially” removed, because methanol has a lower boiling point than water as evidenced by American Chemical Society, which states that the boiling points of methanol and water are 64.6°C and 100°C, respectively, an ordinarily skilled artisan would understand that the methanol component would necessarily evaporate before the water component. Thus, the vacuum drying step of Wang meets the claim limitation.
Regarding claim 3: Wang teaches that the membrane has a pore size of 0.45 µm, which lies within and thus renders obvious the instantly claimed range.
Regarding claims 4 and 5: The methanol of Wang, which is a C1 alcohol, reads on the instantly claimed dissolved agent.
Regarding claim 6: The distilled water of Wang reads on the instantly claimed precipitating agent comprising “purely water”.
Wang does not explicitly teach that the active pharmaceutical ingredient is triamcinolone acetonide, that removal of the dissolved and precipitating agents from the third solution is achieved by stirring under 20 to 30 degrees Celcius at a pressure of -685 to -730 mmHg, the step of performing a lyophilization process on the crystals as recited in claim 1, the volume ratio of claim 7, or the weight-to-volume ratios of claims 8-11.
Daley-Yates, throughout the reference, teaches that glucocorticoid receptor binding potency of structurally-related inhaled glucocorticosteroids is correlated with improved therapeutic index (Abstract and Pages 377-378).
Lekhal, throughout the reference, teaches the quantified impact of drying conditions (temperature, agitation speed, and vacuum) on crystal properties (size and shape distribution) (Abstract).
Ellab, throughout the references, teaches basic freeze drying theory and process steps (Page 2).
Regarding the active pharmaceutical ingredient of claim 1: Daley-Yates teaches triamcinolone acetonide as having a similar therapeutic index to beclomethasone dipropionate but exhibiting longer lung retention time (Pages 373-374 and 377). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention modify the method of Wang by substituting the beclomethasone dipropionate with triamcinolone acetonide, which is taught by Daley-Yates as another suitable inhalable glucocorticosteroid, in order to yield the predictable result of a micronized glucocorticosteroid with a longer duration of action in the lungs (Pages 373-374).
Regarding the stirring limitation recited in the step of “further stirring the third solution…” of claim 1: Lekhal teaches that agitation improves heat and mass transfer rates, leading to higher drying rates and shorter drying times, and also influences particle size (Pages 125-126). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the vacuum-drying step taught by the combination of Wang and Daley-Yates by incorporating agitation, which Lekhal teaches stirs the solid (Page 120), in order to achieve a desired drying rate, drying time, and/or particle size.
Regarding the temperature range recited in the step of “further stirring the third solution…” of claim 1: Lekhal teaches that a lower drying temperature, e.g. 30°C, results in smaller final average diameters due to the inverse relationship between temperature and drying time, which leaves the crystals exposed to more shear for a longer period and reduces agglomeration (Page 125). The formation of large agglomerates may affect the bioavailability of a drug and the reproducibility of drug crystal size and shape distributions (Page 128). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to manipulate the drying temperature of the vacuum-drying step taught by the combination of Wang and Daley-Yates by using 30°C as a starting point for routine optimization, which lies within and thus renders obvious the claimed range, because Lekhal teaches that reducing drying temperature reduces particle agglomeration.
Regarding the pressure range recited in the step of “further stirring the third solution…” of claim 1: Lekhal teaches that reducing the absolute pressure of the drying system from atmospheric pressure to a very low pressure, e.g. 80 Torr (same as mmHg), reduces drying time without significantly affecting particle size (Pages 127-128). Because 80 mmHg is reported as an absolute pressure relative to atmospheric pressure, which an ordinarily skilled artisan would understand to be 760 mmHg, the pressure as reported on a negative gauge would be equal to -680 mmHg (absolute pressure minus atmospheric pressure, calculated by Examiner). While the combination of Wang and Daley-Yates is silent as to the pressure of the vacuum-drying step, which necessarily is less than atmospheric pressure, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to manipulate the vacuum pressure using -680 mmHg, which closely approaches the instantly claimed range, as a starting point for routine optimization in order to achieve a desired drying time. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts “do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close” such that “one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties”. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Note: MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding the step of performing a lyophilization process on the crystals as recited in claim 1: Ellab teaches that freeze drying, or lyophilization, is a technique widely used in the pharmaceutical industry to produce a stabilized product while minimizing the effects of oxidation or other degradation processes (Page 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by the combination of Wang, Daley-Yates, and Lekhal by further including a lyophilization process in order to stabilize the final crystallized product for long term storage. A skilled artisan would reasonably add a lyophilization process directly after a vacuum drying concentration step because Ellab teaches that concentrating the product is a routine pretreatment step in order to improve lyophilization cycle time or product quality (Page 6).
Regarding claim 7: Wang teaches particle sizes obtained at various volume ratios of antisolvent to drug-methanol solution, wherein larger particle sizes are achieved at lower volume ratios (Pages 4841-4842 and Figure 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by the combination of Wang, Daley-Yates, Lekhal, and Ellab by adjusting the volume ratio of antisolvent to drug-methanol solution, which respectively correspond to the instantly claimed precipitating agent and second solution as discussed above, through routine experimentation in order to achieve a desired particle size.
Regarding claims 8 and 9: Wang teaches particle sizes obtained at various concentrations of the drug-methanol solution ranging from 10 mg/ml to 35 mg/ml, wherein high solution concentration results in smaller particle sizes (Page 4842 and Figure 7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by the combination of Wang, Daley-Yates, Lekhal, and Ellab by adjusting the concentration of drug in methanol using 10 mg/ml to 35 mg/ml as a starting point for routine optimization, which overlaps and thus renders obvious the claimed ranges of 10 mg: 0.5 to 0.8 ml (also written as 20 mg/ml to 12.5 mg/ml) as recited in claim 8 and 10 mg: 0.65 ml (also written as 15.4 mg/ml) as recited in claim 9, in order to achieve a desired particle size. Note: MPEP 2144.05. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Given that Applicant did not point out the criticality of the active pharmaceutical ingredient concentration of the invention, it is concluded that the normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known would provide the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of ranges is the optimum concentration.
Regarding claims 10 and 11: As discussed above, Wang teaches that a variety of drug-methanol concentrations may be implemented. While the combination of Wang, Daley-Yates, Lekhal, and Ellab is silent as to the concentration of drug relative to the volume of antisolvent, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the volume ratio of antisolvent to drug-methanol solution, which is taught by Wang as an adjustable parameter and necessarily impacts the concentration of drug to antisolvent, through routine experimentation to achieve a desired particle size.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the prior art method as proposed because all parameters are known in the art to be routinely modified in order to obtain crystallized drug powders with desired properties.
Claims 1 and 3-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (Ind. Eng. Chem. Res., vol. 46, p. 4839-4845; published: 06/12/2007) in view of Daley-Yates (Br. J. Clin. Pharmacol., vol. 80, p. 372-380; published: 03/24/2015), Lekhal et al. (Powder Technology, vol. 132, p. 119-130; published: 04/02/2003), and Ellab (Ellab White Paper, p. 1-16; published 08/2018), as applied to claims 1 and 3-11 above, and further in view of Labconco (p. 1-7; published: 10/11/2021) as evidenced by American Chemical Society (webpage, <https://organicchemistrydata.org/solvents/>; archived 09/07/2020).
The combination of Wang, Daley-Yates, Lekhal, and Ellab teaches the invention(s) of claims 1 and 3-11 as discussed in detail above and further incorporated herein.
The combined references do not explicitly teach that the step wherein the third solution is stirred under 20 to 30 degrees Celsius and the pressure of -685 to -730 mmHg comprises two concentration steps as recited in claim 12, or the operating times recited in claims 13 and 14.
Labconco, throughout the reference, teaches protocols for efficient removal of solvents by vacuum concentration (Page 1).
Regarding claim 12: Both Lekhal and Labconco teach that the reduced pressure in a vacuum lowers boiling point of the solvents and allows them to vaporize (Lekhal, Page 126; Labconco, Page 1 and 4). Labconco emphasizes the importance of selecting an appropriate vacuum level, warning that high efficiency vacuum may speed sample concentration but may cause solvent to freeze and slow the process (Page 7). Because the solvent-antisolvent system taught by the combination of Wang, Daley-Yates, Lekhal, and Ellab comprises methanol and water, wherein methanol has a lower boiling point than water and vaporizes more readily (Labconco, Pages 3-4 and Figure 3), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prior art vacuum drying step by first removing methanol from the sample at vacuum pressure sufficient to vaporize the solvent but not so low that the solvent would freeze, and then subsequently removing any remaining water from the sample at an appropriately lower pressure in order to efficiently concentrate the sample. Regarding the claimed pressure ranges, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to manipulate the vacuum pressure using -680 mmHg, which closely approaches the instantly claimed ranges, as a starting point for routine optimization in order to achieve a desired drying time without causing the solvent system to freeze.
Regarding claims 13 and 14: While the combination of Wang, Daley-Yates, Lekhal, Ellab, and Labconco is silent as to the operating time of the first and second vacuum concentration steps, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the operating time of each concentration step by manipulating parameters such as temperature, agitation speed, and vacuum pressure through routine experimentation in order to achieve a desired crystal size and shape distribution, as taught by Lekhal (Page 128).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the prior art method as proposed because all parameters are known in the art to be routinely modified in order to obtain crystallized drug powders with desired properties.
Claims 1 and 3-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (Ind. Eng. Chem. Res., vol. 46, p. 4839-4845; published: 06/12/2007) in view of Daley-Yates (Br. J. Clin. Pharmacol., vol. 80, p. 372-380; published: 03/24/2015), Lekhal et al. (Powder Technology, vol. 132, p. 119-130; published: 04/02/2003), Ellab (Ellab White Paper, p. 1-16; published 08/2018), and Labconco (p. 1-7; published: 10/11/2021), as applied to claims 1 and 3-14 above, and further in view of Wu et al. (J. of Supercritical Fluids, vol. 168, p. 1-10) as evidenced by American Chemical Society (webpage, <https://organicchemistrydata.org/solvents/>; archived 09/07/2020).
The combination of Wang, Daley-Yates, Lekhal, and Ellab teaches the invention(s) of claims 1 and 3-14 as discussed in detail above and further incorporated herein.
The combined references do not explicitly teach the particle size distribution of 90% of the triamcinolone acetonide crystals (D90) recited in claim 15.
Wu teaches that different drug administration routes require different particle sizes; for example, oral delivery routes require particle sizes of approximately 0.1 to 100 µm (Pages 1-2).
Regarding claim 15: Wang further teaches that glucocorticosteroids are not limited to delivery by inhalation but may also be administered orally (Page 4839). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the particle size distribution of the crystals—for example, within the range of 0.1 to 100 µm, which overlaps and thus renders obvious the claimed range—by optimizing parameters such as solvent system volume ratios, drug concentration, temperature, vacuum pressure, etc. through routine experimentation in order to achieve a D90 suitable for the desired administration route, such as oral delivery.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the prior art method as proposed because all parameters are known in the art to be routinely modified to achieve a desired particle size distribution.
Claims 1, 3-14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (Ind. Eng. Chem. Res., vol. 46, p. 4839-4845; published: 06/12/2007) in view of Daley-Yates (Br. J. Clin. Pharmacol., vol. 80, p. 372-380; published: 03/24/2015), Lekhal et al. (Powder Technology, vol. 132, p. 119-130; published: 04/02/2003), Ellab (Ellab White Paper, p. 1-16; published 08/2018), and Labconco (p. 1-7; published: 10/11/2021), as applied to claims 1 and 3-14 above, and further in view of Schmidt (WO2021167458A1; 08/26/2021; PTO-892 of 06/02/2025) as evidenced by American Chemical Society (webpage, <https://organicchemistrydata.org/solvents/>; archived 09/07/2020).
The combination of Wang, Daley-Yates, and Lekhal teaches the invention(s) of claims 1 and 3-14 as discussed in detail above and further incorporated herein.
The combination of Wang, Daley-Yates, and Lekhal does not explicitly teach that the active pharmaceutical ingredient comprises YC-1 compound, and 90% of the crystals have a particle size distribution (D90) of 60 to 80 micrometers as recited in claim 16.
Schmidt teaches pharmaceutical compositions for treatment of diseases/disorders associated with 3' ,5'-guanosine monophosphate deficiency comprising a stimulator of soluble guanylate cyclase (sGCs), including YC-1 (lificguat) (Page 3, Table 1). Compositions may be adapted for nasal administration as finely dispersed solid to be inhaled, such that the solid is a powder having a particle size in the range of 20 – 500 μM (Page 14); however, Schmidt does not teach a method of preparing the medication.
Regarding claim 16: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the method for preparing an inhalable medication taught by the combination of Wang, Daley-Yates, and Lekhal by substituting the glucocorticosteroid with an sGCs taught by Schmidt, such as YC-1, to produce an inhalable powder for the treatment of cGMP deficiency. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the method taught by the combination of prior art because the references teach that the method is suitable for producing inhalable powders with no stability additives.
Regarding the claimed particle size distribution, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the particle size distribution of the crystals such that the D90 lies within the range of 20 – 500 μM, which overlaps and thus renders obvious the claimed range, by optimizing parameters such as solvent system volume ratios, drug concentration, temperature, vacuum pressure, etc. through routine experimentation because Schmidt teaches that any particle size within this range is suitable for inhalation.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the prior art method as proposed because all parameters are known in the art to be routinely modified to achieve a desired particle size distribution. Further, the structure of YC-1 represented by formula (II) in instant claim 1, like the triamcinolone acetonide represented by formula (I), comprises lipophilic aromatic rings that one skilled in the art would expect to be sufficiently soluble in methanol (dissolved agent) and poorly soluble in water (precipitating agent).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments submitted on 08/14/2025 with respect to rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered in so far as they apply to the new or modified rejections of the instant Office action, but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
To the extent that Applicant’s argument that Schmidt is “silent about performing a lyophilization process…and/or dissolving the pharmaceutical composition...filtering out the solution and evaporating a precipitating agent…and thus will not achieve the claimed functions and advantages of the instant application” (Page 14 of Remarks dated 08/14/2025) applies to the new grounds of rejection presented above: One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). For the reasons set forth in the prior art rejections above, the combination of Wang, Daley-Yates, Lekhal, and Schmidt teaches all limitations of the instant manufacturing method of a medication as claimed.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SARAH C WISTNER/Examiner, Art Unit 1616
/SUE X LIU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1616