Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/06/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the instant application on 03/27/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-5 in the reply filed on 01/29/2026
is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hidaka (US 2022/077535).
Regarding claim 1, Hidaka teaches a battery module (10, Fig. 2, [0034]) comprising:
a plurality of stacked solid battery cells (100, Fig. 2, [0034]));
a first end plate and a second end plate (400, Fig. 2, [0042])) disposed at one end and other end of the plurality of solid battery cells in a stacking direction, respectively, so as to face each other (400, Fig. 2);
a constraint part (700, Fig. 2, See annotated figure below, [0043]) configured to press against the plurality of solid battery cells from both ends via the first end plate and the second end plate and configured to constrain the plurality of solid battery cells (100, Fig. 2, [0043]);
a separator (300, Fig. 2, [0039]) disposed at a location between the solid battery cells and the first end plate (400, Fig. 2, [0039]); and
a strut member (700, Fig. 2, See annotated figure below, [0044]) installed between the first end plate and the second end plate,
wherein a thermal expansion coefficient of the separator (300, “end spacer”, Fig. 2, 300 are formed of an insulating resin material such as polyethylene terephthalate (PET), [0037]) is greater than a thermal expansion coefficient of the solid battery cells (100, “energy storage device”, Fig. 3; 100 includes 110, [0048]; 110 includes 111 and 112 made of stainless steel, [0049]).
By inherency, it is known in the art that the thermal expansion of PET is greater than the thermal expansion of stainless steel.
Regarding claim 3, Hidaka teaches in the separator, a thermal expansion coefficient of a side of one end is greater than a thermal expansion coefficient on opposite side.
Hidaka teaches the separator (300, “end spacer”, Fig. 4, [0056]) includes a spacer body portion (310, Fig. 4, [0056]) and terminal block (320, Fig. 4, [0056]) provided at an end of the end spacer ([0061]). The separator (300, “end spacer”) is formed of PET ([0037]). The terminal member (900, Fig. 4, [0061]) is formed integrally with the terminal block (320, Fig. 4, [0061]) and is made of stainless steel ([0061]). Therefore, the thermal expansion coefficient of the PET end of the separator (300, “end spacer”) is greater than the thermal expansion coefficient of the terminal member made of stainless steel and formed integrally with the terminal block provided at another end of the separator (300, “end spacer”, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 4, Hidaka teaches the strut member has an expansion mechanism that expands and contracts at a predetermined ratio in the stacking direction.
Hidaka teaches the strut member (700, “side member”, Fig. 2, See claim 1 rejection and annotated figure above, [0044]) may be formed of a material similar to the material of the first end plate (400, “end member”, Fig. 2, [0042], [0044]), where the first end plate (400, “end member”) is made of stainless steel ([0042]), and similarly, the strut member (700, “side member”) could also be stainless steel. Stainless steel has the thermal expansion as the expansion mechanism that expands and contracts at a predetermined ratio, with the predetermined ratio being the thermal expansion coefficient of the stainless steel, in the stacking direction.
Regarding claim 5, Hidaka teaches in a direction perpendicular to the stacking direction, a plurality of strut members (700, “side member”) are installed so as to face each other while having the solid battery cells (100, “energy storage device”) sandwiched therebetween (700, Fig. 2, See claim 1 rejection and annotated figure above, [0041], [0043]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hidaka (US 2022/077535) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Watanabe (US 2017/010627) and University of Chicago (Thermal Coefficients).
Regarding claim 2, Hidaka does not teach the thermal expansion coefficient of the separator is 10 times or more and 100 times or less the thermal expansion coefficient of the solid battery cells.
However, Watanabe teaches a secondary battery (1, Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0034]) having an electrode body (2, Fig. 2, [0036]) constituting of a solid electrolyte (13, Fig. 2, [0036]) and having an exterior body (3, Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0064], shown as rectangular parallelepiped shaped). The electrode body and the exterior body are constituted of materials all having a thermal expansion coefficient of 10 x 10−6/°C or lower ([0063]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy storage apparatus of Hidaka (Hidaka: 10, Fig. 2, [0034]) to use the secondary battery of Watanabe (Watanabe: 1, Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0034]) as the energy storage device of Hidaka (Hidaka: 100, Fig. 2, [0034]) as the secondary battery has excellent sealing properties or conduction properties and has a long service life and high reliability (Watanabe: [0089). This substitution is appropriate because Hidaka teaches the energy storage device may be a battery using a solid electrolyte (Hidaka: 100, [0036]) and the energy storage device is a secondary battery cell having a flat rectangular parallelepiped shape (Hidaka: 100, Fig. 2, [0035]).
Modified Hidaka does not specifically teach the thermal expansion coefficient of the separator is 10 times or more and 100 times or less the thermal expansion coefficient of the solid battery cells.
However, University of Chicago teaches polyethylene terephthalate (PET) has a thermal expansion coefficient of 59.4 x 10-6 m/m K, or 59.4 x 10-6/K. By inherency, the separator (Hidaka: 300, “end spacer”), which are formed of PET (300, Fig. 2, [0037]), also has a thermal expansion coefficient of 59.4 x 10-6/K, which is equivalent to 59.4 x 10-6/°C. Watanabe teaches the electrode body and the exterior body of the solid battery cells (Watanabe: 1, “secondary battery”) are constituted of materials all having a thermal expansion coefficient of 10 x 10−6/°C or lower (Watanabe: 2, 3, [0063]).
Therefore, the thermal expansion coefficient of the separator is 5.94 times or more the thermal expansion coefficient of the solid battery cells. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05).
Conclusion
/A.B.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/LEN TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763