DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending and examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 10 and 11 and those that depend therefrom include the phrase “determining a second QTc interview of the patient is less than 500 ms”…. However, a subject can only be known to have this response to treatment after the method steps of administration and monitoring. Thus, this step cannot be performed only on subjects that have a QTc less than 500 ms. It is therefore not clear if the claim is intended to select a subject that has a QTc of less than 500 ms or if Applicant believes they can predict those that will have a QTc under 500 ms prior to administration. Clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ivaturi et al., (US2019/0307343) (cited in IDS).
Ivaturi teaches sotalol is used to treat ventricular arrhythmia and atrial fibrillation (AF) or flutter. See par. 3. It can be used for maintenance of normal sinus rhythm as well as acute management of ventricular arrhythmias. Ivaturi teaches administering sotalol in a manner that allows for intravenous sotalol administered and conversion to oral sotalol to increase hospital flexibility, convenience, and to save money, regardless of whether they have normal or abnormal renal function. See par. 27 and par. 33. Typically a subject is required to stay at a hospital for three days prior to discharge. See par. 35. Ivaturi teaches monitoring maximum QTc prolongation and changes in prolongation relative to a baseline measurement. The provisional application also teaches that the relationship between sotalol concentration and QTc is linear and enables a reliable prediction of QTc prolongation using a baseline QTc value. In view of the teachings as a whole, when QTc changes too much from a baseline value, infusions can cease any point. See p7. Further, a specific risk is taught to be calculated based on a calculated relationship relative to a subject’s baseline. Alternatively, if there is no change (i.e., 0% from baseline), a POSA would understand that this indicates the subject is tolerating sotalol well. QTc is measured after each first and second IV dose, e.g., to confirm that it is safe and has not deviated 20% or more from a baseline measurement. See prior art claims 1-3.
If a first dose is administered and the QTc is not acceptable, the subject will be switch to oral sotalol. Thus, they will only be administered a single IV dosage. This is consistent with claim 1. The examiner also notes that there is not much practical difference between an single infusion over 1 hour and a diffusion over 1.5 or 2 hours of a similar dosage.
A patient can be treated whether they have normal or abnormal renal function. See par. 31. The instant claims require a creatinine clearance that is greater than 60 mL/min. This includes subjects that have normal kidney function of a CrCl of greater than 90 mL/min. There is no claim that requires a CrCl of less than 90 mL/min. A subject will be administered a lower dosage or a less frequent dosage if they are known to have renal impairment, such as every 24 hours with impairment rather than every 12 hours, e.g. The methods described allow for a reduction of a hospital stay to 24 hours by accelerating parameters, such as Cmax. See par. 44. Further, after surgery re-initiation of sotalol can re-stabilize Cmax. See par. 47. QTc interval is able to be kept below 500 msec throughout this process. See par. 49. In an example, oral sotalol was administered at a dosage of 80, 120, and 160 mg twice daily. See par. 5 and Figure 2. Further, embodiments include administering an intravenous dosage initially over a period of 30 minutes to 2 hours. See par. 7. Sotalol hydrochloride is a form prescribed for injection. See par. 5. Further, IV loading doses are shown in Figure 4 to be 1-3 hours and include a dose of up to 80 mg in a subject that was on a prior stable dose of 80 mg. Figure 8 provides additional examples in which a target oral maintenance dose can range from 80 mg to 160 mg. Further, dose titration includes administering an IV dose of about 80 mg over 2 hour prior to a 160 mg oral dose; 60 mg infusion over 1.5 hours prior to a 120 mg oral dose; or a 40 mg infusion over 1 hour prior to a 80 mg oral dose. These examples include sotalol naïve subjects.
Ivaturi teaches a mixed dose method wherein a single IV dose is immediately followed by an oral administration. Immediately after is considered similar to or the same as administration about 1 hour after completion of a single dose of IV sotalol. It is abundantly clear that dose titration is taught and conveys to a POSA that is should be done and appears to be required to be guided by clinical response. As such, if a subjects requires an increase in dosage, they could be administered IV sotalol under QTc monitoring and have their Cmax, ss achieved rapidly to ensure the dose is safe. At that time, they could be transitioned to oral maintenance dosing as taught by Ivaturi. This would impart the benefits taught by Ivaturi to include a shorter hospital stay and a cost savings, among others.
This is particularly the case given the predictability of pharmacokinetic parameters, including Cmax, ss, and Tmax, the known bioavailability of oral compared to IV sotalol, and the known QTc-concentration relationship, among others.
Ivaturi explains that the rapid infusion of sotalol is known to be safe. Ivaturi explains that IV infusions as rapid as 5 minutes have been without incident. In examples, Ivaturi teaches administration of an IV infusion of 40 mg, followed by an IV infusion of 20 mg, and followed by an IV infusion of 20 mg. This is an 80 mg infusion, e.g., over a period of 2 hours. Ivaturi explains a goal to accelerate dosing of Cmax, ss to as early as 1 day. In some embodiment, Cmax, ss is achieved within 4 hours of initiation of treatment (i.e., 2 hours after completion of a 2 hour IV regimen) in a method wherein one IV infusion or more are followed by oral administration. See par. 61. In some cases, an oral dose can immediately follow IV administration (i.e., a mixed dosing regimen is also contemplated). In other embodiments, at the end of a 2-hour infusion, an 80 mg dose can be administered followed by another 80 mg dose 12 hours after the initiation of infusion. Similar achievement for 120 mg and 160 mg oral doses can also be achieved through such regimen. Thus, regardless of the ultimate maintenance dosage desired, the ability administer rapid IV sotalol followed by oral sotalol is predictable. Cmax is known to be a function of length of infusion and dose-proportionate linear pharmacokinetics for sotalol. Treatment of naïve patients is also contemplated. See par.’s 44, 47, 49, and others.
Ivaturi also teaches a first infusion of 10 mg to 60 mg over 0.5 hours. See prior art claim 4. Then, a second infusion can be over 0.5 hours after the start of the first infusion. This second infusion is 10 to 40 mg. This equates to 100 mg over 1 hour and falls within the scope of the instant claims. Further, a third infusion of 10 mg to 30 mg starting 0.5 hours after the start of the second infusion is claimed. See prior art claims 12 and 13, e.g. Thus, Ivaturi claims administering 100 mg over 1 hour and 130 mg over 1.5 hours.
Ivaturi teaches in the background section that standard prescribing information for sotalol injection includes a 5 hours infusion to mimic the PK of oral therapy. As such, administration over 5 hours could be a starting point for treatment. Further, a previous standard for AF included titration of 80 mg BID to a titration of up to 360 mg/day. The bioavailability is similar for oral and IV sotalol. See par. 5.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. ‘[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.’" In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Optimizing a dosage of a known-result effective variable with predictable trends in pharmacokinetic parameters would require nothing more than routine experimentation, including in those subjects with varying degrees of renal function, as explicitly taught by Ivaturi. Thus, while examples provided by Ivaturi generally show a lower IV dose followed by a higher oral dose, these are examples that can be modified as needed. Further, instant claim 1 includes administration of an IV dosage that is 60 mg, followed by a 120 mg oral dose. This is exactly what Ivaturi teaches in an example. Ivaturi also teaches that a steady state can be achieved within 4 and 7 hours for re-stabilized subjects. See Figures 6 and 7.
Instant claims 1 and 8 provide for 60 mg to be administered over about 1 hour followed by 120 mg orally. Ivaturi teaches and claims 60 mg over 1.5 hours followed by 120 mg orally. This dosage is almost anticipated by the prior art in Figure 8 and the claims.
The notion of administering an IV dose over one hour to a few hours prior to switching to an oral dose that is equal to or less than double the dose of the single IV administered dose is shown in examples provided by Ivaturi to be acceptable. Additionally, titrating an oral dose up to 240 mg/day or 360 mg/day is obvious in view of the cited prior art. This is the case based on specific examples and the predictability of PK parameters taught by the prior art. In light thereof and without an allegation nor showing of unexpected results, it would appear that the claims are drawn to specific yet optimizable doses of sotalol designed to achieve a rapid and safe Cmax and ss while keeping a subject’s QTc monitored and below an acceptable threshold.
The limitation “admitted to a facility capable of providing cardiac resuscitation and continuous electrographic monitoring” is interpreted to include facilities such as a hospital, as described in paragraph 85 of the instant Specification. Ivaturi teaches treating a subject in a hospital. See par. 5. Standard treatment is recommended to be at a hospital and monitoring is recommended until steady state is achieved. See par. 5.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the instant application to arrive at the claimed invention in view of Ivaturi. One would be motivated to do so because Ivaturi teaches advantages of converting a subject from IV sotalol to oral sotalol in a manner that reduces hospital stay, increases convenience and reduces cost. This is done safely and effectively by allow a patient to be monitored for QTc prolongation three times within a short period of time so that conversion can be rapid. This is taught to be possible regardless of renal abnormality. A single IV dose is contemplated and there does not appear to be a distinction over a single dose as compared to multiple doses in rapid succession wherein the multiple doses are similar and/or of an optimizable strength based on predictable PK. Further, Ivaturi explains that as renal function decreases, the dose of sotalol and/or the frequency of administration of sotalol must be decreased. Ivaturi teaches the safety of broad dosage ranges and the ability to provide infusions over longer periods of time or rapidly. Administration prior to the Ivaturi’s teachings include a 5 hours infusion. Ivaturi teaches rapid infusions over 1-3 hours, although rapid infusions over 5 minutes has also been shown to be safe. Thus, slower and more rapid infusions have been shown to be acceptable. However, a shorter infusion can allow for faster stabilization for patient release from a facility or hospital. Typically, the dosages taught by Ivaturi include a 40, 60 or 80 mg infusion over a couple of hours followed by oral maintenance dosage of 80, 120, or 160 mg up to twice daily that can be titrated up. These are the standard doses known to be used in the field. Using higher or lower loading doses and/or maintenance doses would appear to include optimizable doses based on patient tolerability, weight, agent, renal function, and other result-effective parameters. While many dosage regimens are safe with predictable PK, Ivaturi provides examples in which an IV dose is approximately 50% lower than the oral dose to be titrated to. Ivaturi teaches broad ranges for IV dosage administration over the first couple of hours to be later converted to an oral dose that can be administered periodically and also outside of a hospital facility. As such, there is a reasonable and predictable expectation of success in arriving at the claimed methods in view of Ivaturi.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batul et al., “Intravenous Sotalol- Reintroducing a Forgotten Agent to the Electrophysiology Therapeutic Arsenal,” Journal of Atrial Fibrillation, Feb-Mar 2017, Vol 9, Issue 5 (cited in IDS), in view of Li et al., “Efficacy of Intravenous Sotalol for Treatment of Incessant Tacharrhythmias in Children,” Am J Cardiol 2017; 119:1366-1370 (cited in IDS), in view of Somberg et al., “Developing a safe intravenous sotalol dosing regimen,” Am J Ther, 2010 Jul-Aug; 17(4): 365-72 (cited in IDS), in view of Saul et al., “Pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics of sotalol in a pediatric population with superventricular and ventricular tacharrhythmia,” Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics, March 2001 (cited in IDS), and in view of Ivaturi et al., (US2019/0307343) (cited in IDS).
Batul teaches sotalol for treatment of atrial fibrillation (AF) and atrial flutter (AFL). Batul explains that the safety principles applicable to oral sotalol are valid for intravenous sotalol as well. The bioavailability of oral sotalol is 93% with peak plasma concentrations in 2.5 to 4 hrs. Batul indicates that IV sotalol dosage includes administering 1-1.5 mg/kg over 5-30 minutes. In a 30 kg pediatric subject, this would include 30-45 mg over 5-30 minutes, and in a 70 kg human, this would include 70-105 mg over 5-30 minutes. This rate of infusion is substantially more rapid than claimed and well under a 1 hour infusion time. Batul explains that risk increases when QTc is above 500 msec and shows a linear correlation to sotalol blood levels. See p2, 5th full par. High dose rapid therapy was shown to be safe and efficacious in suppressing SVT in 90% of patients aged 7 to 728 days, with no proarrhythmic effect or QTc prolongation observed. See p4. Further, it has an elimination half-life of 12-16 hours. See p3, 3rd full par. Further, Table 1 below explains the dose conversion for oral and intravenous forms.
Batul explains IV sotalol can be a substitute for oral medication, such as for post-operative and critically ill subjects, especially when they have reduced GI permeability and absorption for oral administrations to reach effective serum concentrations. See p3, 1st full par. In other instances, IV forms provide advantages as compared to oral forms because it reaches therapeutic levels quicker and could be used in hospitals to facilitate a transition to oral forms.
Li teaches treating patients with IV sotalol and those subjects that maintained sinus rhythm were transitioned to oral therapy. See p1367, par. 7. Subjects that were treated have AVRT, AT, Aflutter, AF, and VT. See Table 1. Any patient with a QTc above 480 was converted to oral sotalol therapy. See p1367, par. 4. Li used a loading dose of 1 mg/kg over 10 minutes and then 4.5 mg/kg/day. See p1369, last full par. Thus, Li shows a reasons that subjects taking IV will be transitioned to oral sotalol.
Li explains that for patients with atrioventricular reentrant tachycardia who converted to sinus rhythm on sotalol within 2 hours, IV sotalol was continued for another 1 to 24 hours and then transitioned to oral therapy. See p1367, 1st par. In other words, patients were converted to oral therapy in as few as 3 hours after starting the IV dose.
Further, Somberg teaches Cmax is known to be a function of length of infusion, wherein increasing duration of infusion decreases Cmax.
Saul teaches, “An examination of the individual data of the smallest patients did not indicate any deviation from dose-proportionate linear pharmacokinetics for sotalol.” P150, 1st full par. These data are shown below in Table III. QTc interval was dose dependent. The steady state pharmacokinetics of sotalol was dose proportionate. See Abstract. A dose of 30 mg/m2 yielded a SS Cmax of 851 +/- 185.
The pediatric patients receiving multiple doses of sotalol achieved ideally small fluctuation factor values between peak and steady state and experienced a dose-proportionate response. Further, there were linear correlations between drug concentration and pharmacological activity on the QTcB interval. See p155, last par.
Ivaturi teaches sotalol is used to treat ventricular arrhythmia and atrial fibrillation (AF) or flutter. See par. 3. It can be used for maintenance of normal sinus rhythm as well as acute management of ventricular arrhythmias. Ivaturi teaches administering sotalol in a manner that allows for intravenous sotalol administered and conversion to oral sotalol to increase hospital flexibility, convenience, and to save money, regardless of whether they have normal or abnormal renal function. See par. 27 and par. 33. Typically a subject is required to stay at a hospital for three days prior to discharge. See par. 35. Ivaturi teaches monitoring maximum QTc prolongation and changes in prolongation relative to a baseline measurement. The provisional application also teaches that the relationship between sotalol concentration and QTc is linear and enables a reliable prediction of QTc prolongation using a baseline QTc value. In view of the teachings as a whole, when QTc changes too much from a baseline value, infusions can cease any point. See p7. Further, a specific risk is taught to be calculated based on a calculated relationship relative to a subject’s baseline. Alternatively, if there is no change (i.e., 0% from baseline), a POSA would understand that this indicates the subject is tolerating sotalol well. QTc is measured after each first and second IV dose, e.g., to confirm that it is safe and has not deviated 20% or more from a baseline measurement. See prior art claims 1-3.
If a first dose is administered and the QTc is not acceptable, the subject will be switch to oral sotalol. Thus, they will only be administered a single IV dosage. This is consistent with claim 1. The examiner also notes that there is not much practical difference between an single infusion over 1 hour and a diffusion over 1.5 or 2 hours of a similar dosage.
A patient can be treated whether they have normal or abnormal renal function. See par. 31. The instant claims require a creatinine clearance that is greater than 60 mL/min. This includes subjects that have normal kidney function of a CrCl of greater than 90 mL/min. There is no claim that requires a CrCl of less than 90 mL/min. A subject will be administered a lower dosage or a less frequent dosage if they are known to have renal impairment, such as every 24 hours with impairment rather than every 12 hours, e.g. The methods described allow for a reduction of a hospital stay to 24 hours by accelerating parameters, such as Cmax. See par. 44. Further, after surgery re-initiation of sotalol can re-stabilize Cmax. See par. 47. QTc interval is able to be kept below 500 msec throughout this process. See par. 49. In an example, oral sotalol was administered at a dosage of 80, 120, and 160 mg twice daily. See par. 5 and Figure 2. Further, embodiments include administering an intravenous dosage initially over a period of 30 minutes to 2 hours. See par. 7. Sotalol hydrochloride is a form prescribed for injection. See par. 5. Further, IV loading doses are shown in Figure 4 to be 1-3 hours and include a dose of up to 80 mg in a subject that was on a prior stable dose of 80 mg. Figure 8 provides additional examples in which a target oral maintenance dose can range from 80 mg to 160 mg. Further, dose titration includes administering an IV dose of about 80 mg over 2 hour prior to a 160 mg oral dose; 60 mg infusion over 1.5 hours prior to a 120 mg oral dose; or a 40 mg infusion over 1 hour prior to a 80 mg oral dose. These examples include sotalol naïve subjects.
Ivaturi teaches a mixed dose method wherein a single IV dose is immediately followed by an oral administration. Immediately after is considered similar to or the same as administration about 1 hour after completion of a single dose of IV sotalol. It is abundantly clear that dose titration is taught and conveys to a POSA that is should be done and appears to be required to be guided by clinical response. As such, if a subjects requires an increase in dosage, they could be administered IV sotalol under QTc monitoring and have their Cmax, ss achieved rapidly to ensure the dose is safe. At that time, they could be transitioned to oral maintenance dosing as taught by Ivaturi. This would impart the benefits taught by Ivaturi to include a shorter hospital stay and a cost savings, among others.
This is particularly the case given the predictability of pharmacokinetic parameters, including Cmax, ss, and Tmax, the known bioavailability of oral compared to IV sotalol, and the known QTc-concentration relationship, among others.
Ivaturi explains that the rapid infusion of sotalol is known to be safe. Ivaturi explains that IV infusions as rapid as 5 minutes have been without incident. In examples, Ivaturi teaches administration of an IV infusion of 40 mg, followed by an IV infusion of 20 mg, and followed by an IV infusion of 20 mg. This is an 80 mg infusion, e.g., over a period of 2 hours. Ivaturi explains a goal to accelerate dosing of Cmax, ss to as early as 1 day. In some embodiment, Cmax, ss is achieved within 4 hours of initiation of treatment (i.e., 2 hours after completion of a 2 hour IV regimen) in a method wherein one IV infusion or more are followed by oral administration. See par. 61. In some cases, an oral dose can immediately follow IV administration (i.e., a mixed dosing regimen is also contemplated). In other embodiments, at the end of a 2-hour infusion, an 80 mg dose can be administered followed by another 80 mg dose 12 hours after the initiation of infusion. Similar achievement for 120 mg and 160 mg oral doses can also be achieved through such regimen. Thus, regardless of the ultimate maintenance dosage desired, the ability administer rapid IV sotalol followed by oral sotalol is predictable. Cmax is known to be a function of length of infusion and dose-proportionate linear pharmacokinetics for sotalol. Treatment of naïve patients is also contemplated. See par.’s 44, 47, 49, and others.
Ivaturi also teaches a first infusion of 10 mg to 60 mg over 0.5 hours. See prior art claim 4. Then, a second infusion can be over 0.5 hours after the start of the first infusion. This second infusion is 10 to 40 mg. This equates to 100 mg over 1 hour and falls within the scope of the instant claims. Further, a third infusion of 10 mg to 30 mg starting 0.5 hours after the start of the second infusion is claimed. See prior art claims 12 and 13, e.g. Thus, Ivaturi claims administering 100 mg over 1 hour and 130 mg over 1.5 hours.
Ivaturi teaches in the background section that standard prescribing information for sotalol injection includes a 5 hours infusion to mimic the PK of oral therapy. As such, administration over 5 hours could be a starting point for treatment. Further, a previous standard for AF included titration of 80 mg BID to a titration of up to 360 mg/day. The bioavailability is similar for oral and IV sotalol. See par. 5.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. ‘[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.’" In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Optimizing a dosage of a known-result effective variable with predictable trends in pharmacokinetic parameters would require nothing more than routine experimentation, including in those subjects with varying degrees of renal function, as explicitly taught by Ivaturi. Thus, while examples provided by Ivaturi generally show a lower IV dose followed by a higher oral dose, these are examples that can be modified as needed. Further, instant claim 1 includes administration of an IV dosage that is 60 mg, followed by a 120 mg oral dose. This is exactly what Ivaturi teaches in an example. Ivaturi also teaches that a steady state can be achieved within 4 and 7 hours for re-stabilized subjects. See Figures 6 and 7.
Instant claims 1 and 8 provide for 60 mg to be administered over about 1 hour followed by 120 mg orally. Ivaturi teaches and claims 60 mg over 1.5 hours followed by 120 mg orally. This dosage is almost anticipated by the prior art in Figure 8 and the claims.
The notion of administering an IV dose over one hour to a few hours prior to switching to an oral dose that is equal to or less than double the dose of the single IV administered dose is shown in examples provided by Ivaturi to be acceptable. Additionally, titrating an oral dose up to 240 mg/day or 360 mg/day is obvious in view of the cited prior art. This is the case based on specific examples and the predictability of PK parameters taught by the prior art. In light thereof and without an allegation nor showing of unexpected results, it would appear that the claims are drawn to specific yet optimizable doses of sotalol designed to achieve a rapid and safe Cmax and ss while keeping a subject’s QTc monitored and below an acceptable threshold.
The limitation “admitted to a facility capable of providing cardiac resuscitation and continuous electrographic monitoring” is interpreted to include facilities such as a hospital, as described in paragraph 85 of the instant Specification. Ivaturi teaches treating a subject in a hospital. See par. 5. Standard treatment is recommended to be at a hospital and monitoring is recommended until steady state is achieved. See par. 5.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior the filing of the instant application to combine the teachings of Batul, Li, Somberg, Saul, and Ivaturi to arrive at the instantly claimed methods. One would have been motivated to do so because Ivaturi provides a motivation to expeditiously arrive at an oral dosage after IV therapy, and provides a strong correlation to assist a POSA to arrive at a proper dosage in a subject with renal impairment. Dosage must decrease in amount and/or frequency of administrations as renal impairment increases. Further, the claimed dosage baselines are taught. Batul explains that IV sotalol dosage includes administering 1-1.5 mg/kg over 5-30 minutes. In a 30 kg pediatric subject, this would include 30-45 mg over 5-30 minutes, and in a 70 kg human, this would include 70-105 mg over 5-30 minutes. These rates are consistent with the rapid rates of infusion claimed and in some cases are even faster than the rapid infusion rates claimed. Moreover, Batul explicitly states that such rapid IV administration can be used in a hospital setting to transition a subject to oral therapy. Li explains that subjects that are administered IV sotalol and converted to a normal sinus rhythm were transitioned to oral sotalol. For example, patients with atrioventricular reentrant tachycardia who converted to sinus rhythm were transitioned to oral therapy in as few as 3 hours after starting IV sotalol. See p1367, 1st par. Somberg and Saul are cited merely to show the known predictability of sotalol pharmacokinetic data. For example, Cmax is known to be a function of length of infusion, wherein increasing duration of infusion decreases Cmax, and even pediatric patients show a dose-proportionate linear pharmacokinetic profile. As such, as person of ordinary skill in the art would understand how to obtain a desired Cmax by altering length of infusion and dosage, e.g. The prior art shows that the IV and oral dosage equivalents, which for the oral dosage include a range of 80 mg to 160 mg, which is the same range presently claimed. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. ‘[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.’" In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Optimizing a dosage of a known-result effective variable with predictable trends in pharmacokinetic parameters would require nothing more than routine experimentation, including in those subjects with varying degrees of renal function, as explicitly taught by Ivaturi.
As such, no claim is allowed.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,610,660, in view of Ivaturi (above). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘660 patent include converting a subject from IV to oral sotalol with doses of oral and IV administration that overlap the claimed doses. Further, the doses include a time range that is optimizable and overlaps the timing of oral administration initiation instantly claimed. The notion of administering an IV dose over one hour to a few hours prior to switching to an oral dose that is equal to or less than double the dose of the single IV administered dose is shown in examples provided by Ivaturi to be acceptable. Additionally, titrating an oral dose up to 240 mg/day or 360 mg/day is obvious in view of the cited prior art. This is the case based on specific examples and the predictability of PK parameters taught by the prior art. In light thereof and without an allegation nor showing of unexpected results, it would appear that the claims are drawn to specific yet optimizable doses of sotalol designed to achieve a rapid and safe Cmax and ss while keeping a subject’s QTc monitored and below an acceptable threshold.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,344,518, in view of Ivaturi (above). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘518 patent include converting a subject from IV to oral sotalol with doses of oral and IV administration that overlap the claimed doses. Further, the doses include a time range that is optimizable and overlaps the timing of oral administration initiation instantly claimed. The notion of administering an IV dose over one hour to a few hours prior to switching to an oral dose that is equal to or less than double the dose of the single IV administered dose is shown in examples provided by Ivaturi to be acceptable. Additionally, titrating an oral dose up to 240 mg/day or 360 mg/day is obvious in view of the cited prior art. This is the case based on specific examples and the predictability of PK parameters taught by the prior art. In light thereof and without an allegation nor showing of unexpected results, it would appear that the claims are drawn to specific yet optimizable doses of sotalol designed to achieve a rapid and safe Cmax and ss while keeping a subject’s QTc monitored and below an acceptable threshold.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,512,620, in view of Ivaturi (above).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘620 patent include converting a subject from IV to oral sotalol with doses of oral and IV administration that overlap the claimed doses. Further, the doses include a time range that is optimizable and overlaps the timing of oral administration initiation instantly claimed. The notion of administering an IV dose over one hour to a few hours prior to switching to an oral dose that is equal to or less than double the dose of the single IV administered dose is shown in examples provided by Ivaturi to be acceptable. Additionally, titrating an oral dose up to 240 mg/day or 360 mg/day is obvious in view of the cited prior art. This is the case based on specific examples and the predictability of PK parameters taught by the prior art. In light thereof and without an allegation nor showing of unexpected results, it would appear that the claims are drawn to specific yet optimizable doses of sotalol designed to achieve a rapid and safe Cmax and ss while keeping a subject’s QTc monitored and below an acceptable threshold.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,403,109, in view of Ivaturi (above).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘109 patent include converting a subject from IV to oral sotalol with doses of oral and IV administration that overlap the claimed doses. Further, the doses include a time range that is optimizable and overlaps the timing of oral administration initiation instantly claimed. The notion of administering an IV dose over one hour to a few hours prior to switching to an oral dose that is equal to or less than double the dose of the single IV administered dose is shown in examples provided by Ivaturi to be acceptable. Additionally, titrating an oral dose up to 240 mg/day or 360 mg/day is obvious in view of the cited prior art. This is the case based on specific examples and the predictability of PK parameters taught by the prior art. In light thereof and without an allegation nor showing of unexpected results, it would appear that the claims are drawn to specific yet optimizable doses of sotalol designed to achieve a rapid and safe Cmax and ss while keeping a subject’s QTc monitored and below an acceptable threshold.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,696,902, in view of Ivaturi (above).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘109 patent include converting a subject from IV to oral sotalol with doses of oral and IV administration that overlap the claimed doses. Further, the doses include a time range that is optimizable and overlaps the timing of oral administration initiation instantly claimed. The notion of administering an IV dose over one hour to a few hours prior to switching to an oral dose that is equal to or less than double the dose of the single IV administered dose is shown in examples provided by Ivaturi to be acceptable. Additionally, titrating an oral dose up to 240 mg/day or 360 mg/day is obvious in view of the cited prior art. This is the case based on specific examples and the predictability of PK parameters taught by the prior art. In light thereof and without an allegation nor showing of unexpected results, it would appear that the claims are drawn to specific yet optimizable doses of sotalol designed to achieve a rapid and safe Cmax and ss while keeping a subject’s QTc monitored and below an acceptable threshold.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,390,431, in view of Ivaturi (above).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘431 patent include converting a subject from IV to oral sotalol with doses of oral and IV administration that overlap the claimed doses. Further, the doses include a time range that is optimizable and overlaps the timing of oral administration initiation instantly claimed. The notion of administering an IV dose over one hour to a few hours prior to switching to an oral dose that is equal to or less than double the dose of the single IV administered dose is shown in examples provided by Ivaturi to be acceptable. Additionally, titrating an oral dose up to 240 mg/day or 360 mg/day is obvious in view of the cited prior art. This is the case based on specific examples and the predictability of PK parameters taught by the prior art. In light thereof and without an allegation nor showing of unexpected results, it would appear that the claims are drawn to specific yet optimizable doses of sotalol designed to achieve a rapid and safe Cmax and ss while keeping a subject’s QTc monitored and below an acceptable threshold.
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the following copending Application Numbers in view of Ivaturi (above).
17/306,490 (claims 1-22);
18/417,748 (claims 21-29);
18/322,111 (claims 8-28);
18/324,703 (claims 1-18);
18/107,785 (claims 6-32);
18/135,467 (claims 1-16);
18/304,196 (claims 1-22);
19/019,556 (claims 1, 2, 4-12);
18/631,538 (claims 1-20); and
19/022,878 (claims 1-20).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct claims of the applications cited above because they include an obvious or optimizable dosage range and are directed to converting a subject from IV to oral sotalol with doses of oral and IV administration. Further, the claims take into account renal clear and treat subjects with normal or abnormal renal clearance. In view of the cited prior art, renal clearance can be considered as a known parameter for optimization and a roadmap to arrive at a suitable dosage regimen. The notion of administering an IV dose over one hour to a few hours prior to switching to an oral dose that is equal to or less than double the dose of the single IV administered dose is shown in examples provided by Ivaturi to be acceptable. Additionally, titrating an oral dose up to 240 mg/day or 360 mg/day is obvious in view of the cited prior art. This is the case based on specific examples and the predictability of PK parameters taught by the prior art. In light thereof and without an allegation nor showing of unexpected results, it would appear that the claims are drawn to specific yet optimizable doses of sotalol designed to achieve a rapid and safe Cmax and ss while keeping a subject’s QTc monitored and below an acceptable threshold.
As such, no claim is allowed.
Conclusion
/JARED BARSKY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628