DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-9 are pending and presented for examination. Claims 1-9 were elected without traverse in the response dated 9 February 2026. As such claims 10-15 were cancelled. As such, THIS RESTRICTION REQUIREMENT IS MADE FINAL.
Priority
The instant application claims priority to numerous applications via either a continuation-in-part or a continuation. The earliest application from which this application asserts priority to is 13249315 which was effectively filed on 30 September 2011, however, there is no support for methane being the hydrocarbon precursor material so the claims cannot have that effective filing date. 13309894 is the next in the priority chain and it discloses methane as a precursor, while hydrogen production is not explicitly disclosed, it is considered to be implicitly present as breaking down the C-H bonds produces both C and H as graphene and hydrogen at such a temperature, and accordingly the claims are given the effective filing date of that application which is 2 December 2011.
Claim Interpretation
In claim 2, “the hydrocarbon precursor material comprises” is being construed as “wherein the two-carbon-fragment species comprises . . .”. Note that given the “and/or” in claim 1 also that this claim is optional.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 1 (and those dependent thereon), “the gaseous stream” lacks antecedent basis. It is being construed as “contacting the graphenic carbon particles with a quench stream” for the purposes of compact prosecution.
As to claim 4, it is indefinite as it lacks the temperature units, it is being construed as being n Celsius for the purposes of compact prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Effect of Carrier Gas (Ar and He) on the Crystallographic Quality of Networked Nanographite Grown on Si Substrates by Photoemission-Assisted Plasma-Enhanced Chemical Vapor Deposition” to Sumi et al. (hereinafter, “Sumi at __”) in view of US PG Pub No. 20080044678 to Hung et al. (hereinafter, “Hung at __”).
Regarding claims 1, 3 and 8, Sumi discloses a method for making graphene (076201-2 R col) comprising:
Introducing into a thermal zone an inert carrier gas (Ar/He) and a hydrocarbon precursor comprising methane (076201-2 L col);
Heating the hydrocarbon precursor material in the thermal zone to decompose the hydrocarbon precursor material and form the graphene (id. at 700 C, while hydrogen is not explicitly disclosed as being produced given heating above the decomposition temperature of methane, one of ordinary skill in the art, absent evidence to the contrary, would expect hydrogen to also be formed though the Office cannot test for this. See MPEP 2112 V, "[T]he PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his [or her] claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on inherency' under 35 U.S.C. 102, on prima facie obviousness' under 35 U.S.C. 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same." The burden of proof is similar to that required with respect to product-by-process claims. In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 70, 205 USPQ 594, 596 (CCPA 1980) (quoting In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430,433-34 (CCPA 1977))").
However, Sumi does not expressly state that the resulting graphene is subjected to a quench gas.
Hung in a method of plasma treating “virtually any material” (Hung at [0020]) discloses passing the formed stream to a quench gas (Hung at [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to perform the method of Sumi in view of the quench gas of Hung. The teaching or suggested motivation in doing so being particle size control (Hung at [0035]).
As to claim 2, this limitation is optional due to the “or” in claim 1 from which it depends and as such it is not required.
Turning to claim 4, Hung discloses temperatures of 2500-20000 C (Hung at [0023]) which overlap that range instantly claimed such that a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05).
Concerning claim 5, the inside is inert (076201-2 L col).
Turning to claim 6, a plasma is used and the methane is mixed with the carrier gas (Id.).
As to claim 7, separate introduction can be performed (Hung at [0030]).
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 6099696 to Schwob et al. (hereinafter, “Schwob at __”; cited by Applicants) in view of Hung.
Regarding claims 1-4 and 8, Schwob discloses a method of making graphenic carbon (fullerenes, Schwob at 3:25) comprising:
Introducing into a thermal zone methane or ethane (Schwob at 3:55, ethane meeting “”material capable of forming a two carbon fragment species and claim 2);
Heating the hydrocarbon precursor material in to thermal zone to decompose the hydrocarbon precursor material and form the hydrogen and the fullerene (6:39, 3500 C which abuts upon “greater than 3500” and is thusly prima facie obvious for claim 4, see MPEP 2144.05; while hydrogen is not explicitly disclosed as being produced given heating above the decomposition temperature of methane, one of ordinary skill in the art, absent evidence to the contrary, would expect hydrogen to also be formed though the Office cannot test for this. See MPEP 2112 V).
However, Schwob does not expressly state introduction of a carrier gas or quenching.
Hung in a method of forming materials via precursors exposed to plasmas operating at temperatures up to 20000 C (Hung at [0023]) discloses that a carrier gas of Ar or He (Hung at [0020]) and a quench gas (Hung at [0026]) can be utilized.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to perform the method of Schwob in view of the quench gas of Hung. The teaching or suggested motivation in doing so being particle size control (Hung at [0035]).
Concerning claim 5, inerts are present (Schwob at 3:43).
Turning to claim 6, plasma is taught and the gases can be mixed together (Id.).
With respect to claim 7, Schwob at “Fig. 2” shows that the gases can be added separately.
Claims 1-3, 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PG Pub No. 20110059599 to Ward et al. (hereinafter, “Ward at __”) in view of “Growth of Large-Area Single- and Bi-Layer Graphene by Controlled Carbon Precipitation on Polycrystalline Ni Surfaces” to Reina et al. (hereinafter, “Reina at __”).
Regarding claims 1, 3 and 8, Ward discloses a method of making graphene (given heating above the decomposition temperature of methane production of hydrogen also is inherent absent evidence to the contrary though the Office cannot test for this, see MPEP 2112 V) comprising:
Introducing into a thermal zone an inert carrier gas and a hydrocarbon precursor (argon and methane, Ward at [0028]);
Heating the hydrocarbon precursor to 800-900 C to decompose the methane and produce the graphene and hydrogen.
However, Ward does not expressly state usage of a quench gas.
Reina discloses that post synthesis of graphene that cooling via argon+hydrogen can be performed from 1000 to 500 C (Reianat “Figure 1” caption).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to perform the method of Ward in view of the quenching gas of Reina. The teaching or suggested motivation in doing so is formation of bilayer products (Id. & “Title”).
As to claim 2, acetylene can be present (Ward at [0026]).
As to claim 5, the atmosphere is substantially inert due to the carrier gas presence (Id.) in the vacuum.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4-9 of U.S. Patent No. 8486364 in view of Hung.
Regarding claim 1, ‘364 discloses a method of making graphene (hydrogen is implicitly produced absent evidence to the contrary as plasma treatment of methane is performed) via introducing methane into a thermal zone which is then heated by the plasma. However, no inert carrier gas is added and nor is quenching via a quench gas of the produced graphene claimed.
Hung in a method of forming materials via precursors exposed to plasmas operating at temperatures up to 20000 C (Hung at [0023]) discloses that a carrier gas of Ar or He (Hung at [0020]) and a quench gas (Hung at [0026]) can be utilized.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to perform the method of ‘834 in view of the quench gas of Hung. The teaching or suggested motivation in doing so being particle size control (Hung at [0035]).
As to claim 2, this claim is optional given the “and/or” in claim 1.
As to claim 3, methane is disclosed in both.
As to claim 4, 3500-20000 C is performed in Claim 1 of ‘894.
Concerning claims 5-8, these are the same as claims 4-9 of ‘894.
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of US Patent No. 8486363 in view of Hung.
Regarding claim 1, ‘363 discloses a method for generating graphene (hydrogen production is considered to inherently occur due to the same processing conditions) comprising:
Introducing methane and/or a material capable of forming two-carbon-fragmenet species which is hten heated via a plasma to decompose the hydrocarbon and produce graphene and hydrogen.
However, ‘363 does not expressly state addition of an inert carrier gas nor adding such to a quench gas.
Hung in a method of forming materials via precursors exposed to plasmas operating at temperatures up to 20000 C (Hung at [0023]) discloses that a carrier gas of Ar or He (Hung at [0020]) and a quench gas (Hung at [0026]) can be utilized.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to perform the method of ‘636 in view of the quench gas of Hung. The teaching or suggested motivation in doing so being particle size control (Hung at [0035]).
Claims 2-8 are the same as claims 2-9 of ‘363.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As to claim 9, none of the cited prior art either alone or in combination discloses that the graphene produced by the instantly claimed metho d has an aspect ratio >=3:1, a BET surface area of 70-100 m2/g, and a I2D/IG of at least 1:1. Sumi discloses an aspect ratio of 10:3 but does not disclose or suggest (as the temperature is lower than 3500 C) the surface area and I2D/IG as claimed and the combination with Hung does not suggest this.
Conclusion
Claims 1-9 are rejected.
RICHARD M. RUMP
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1759
/RICHARD M RUMP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759