DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment submitted 10/30/2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 4, 10-13, 17-18, and 20 are amended. In view of amendments filed 10/30/2025: objections to claims 1, 13, and 17 are withdrawn; the rejection of claim 10 under 112(b) is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 17, and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 8, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 2018/0279374), Sun hereinafter, in view of Conrad (US 2016/0191287).
Re. Claim 1. A network access method, performed by a terminal (Sun, ¶0008: Certain aspects provide a method for wireless communication by a UE. The method generally includes performing initial access in a cell of network based on first reference signals that are discoverable without a network configuration …), comprising:
receiving a reference signal transmitted by a network-side device (Sun, FIG. 10, ¶0086-¶0087: For example, operations 1000 may be performed by, a TRP with which a UE is performing operations of FIG. 9 for initial access. Operations 1000 begin, at 1002, by transmitting first reference signals that are discoverable without a network configuration, for initial access by a user equipment (UE).),
wherein the reference signal comprises a first reference signal (Sun, ¶0084, ¶0086-¶0087: Operations 900 begin, at 902, by performing initial access in a cell of a network based on first reference signals that are discoverable without a network configuration.), or
the reference signal comprises the first reference signal and a second reference signal,
wherein the first reference signal is a Single-Frequency Network (SFN)-specific reference signal (Sun, ¶0080: In a deployment, such as that shown in FIG. 8, where there are multiple TRPs 812, all TRPs 812 may transmit the cell specific Reference Signal (RS), for example carrying a Cell ID, as a single frequency network (SFN) transmission.), or
the second reference signal is a cell or Transmission Reception Point (cell/TRP)-specific reference signal (Sun, ¶0080: Each TRP 812 may also transmit a TRP specific RS (that carries a corresponding TRP ID).); and
performing an initial access-related operation based on the received reference signals (Sun, ¶0084-¶0085: Operations 900 begin, at 902, by performing initial access in a cell of a network based on first reference signals that are discoverable without a network configuration. As noted above, the self-discoverable signals may be cell specific or TRP specific SYNC signals. … As noted above, RS requiring network configuration may be TRP specific CSI-RS or some type of cell-specific RS.),
Yet, Sun does not explicitly teach wherein configurations of SFN-specific reference signals corresponding to different SFNs are independent, and configuration of the SFN-specific reference signal within a same SFN range is the same.
However, in the related art, Conrad teaches wherein configurations of SFN-specific reference signals corresponding to different SFNs are independent (Conrad, ¶0076: In at least one correlation-peaks embodiment, the set of known reference signals consists of an SFN-multicast reference signal unique to the given SFN-multicast area. [Since the SFN-multicast reference signal is unique to the given SFN-multicast area, the SFN-multicast reference signal of different SFN-multicast areas are implicitly independent.]), and
configuration of the SFN-specific reference signal within a same SFN range is the same (Conrad, ¶0076: In at least one correlation-peaks embodiment, the set of known reference signals consists of an SFN-multicast reference signal unique to the given SFN-multicast area.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Sun with the dynamic SFN-multicast symbol synchronization of Conrad. The resulting invention would provide for improved outcomes for a given public-safety incident (Conrad, ¶0003).
Re. Claim 2, Sun in view of Conrad teaches claim 1,
Sun further teaches wherein the performing an initial access related operation based on the received reference signal comprises at least one of the following:
initiating random access to the network-side device (Sun, ¶0088-¶0089: According to the first scheme noted above, the UE may detect the cell based on the SYNC signals (cell specific RS) and access the system with cell specific [Random Access Channel] RACH configurations. … According to the second scheme noted above, the UE may detect the TRP based on the SYNC signal (TRP specific RS) and access the system with TRP specific [Random Access Channel] RACH configurations.).
Re. Claim 5, Sun in view of Conrad teaches claim 2.
Sun further teaches wherein after the terminal successfully accesses a network, the method further comprises: receiving a third reference signal transmitted by the network-side device (Sun, FIG. 10, ¶0087: At 1004, the TRP transmits, after initial access by the UE, network configuration for second reference signals for the UE to monitor while the UE is in a connected or idle state, wherein one of the first and second reference signals are cell-specific and the other of the first and second reference signals are specific to transmit and receive points (TRPs) in the cell.),
wherein the third reference signal is a cell/TRP-specific reference signal (Sun, FIG. 10, ¶0087: At 1004, the TRP transmits, after initial access by the UE, network configuration for second reference signals for the UE to monitor while the UE is in a connected or idle state, wherein one of the first and second reference signals are cell-specific and the other of the first and second reference signals are specific to transmit and receive points (TRPs) in the cell.).
Re. Claim 6, Sun in view of Conrad teaches claim 5.
Sun further teaches wherein the third reference signal is transmitted through an SFN-specific system message, or through a cell/TRP-specific system message (Sun, ¶0103: As noted above, the TRP specific RS could be SYNC for the second scheme or CSI-RS for the first scheme (but NW may need to configure the CSI-RS list that UE needs to monitor) [The CSI-RS corresponds to the TRP specific RS (Sun, ¶0081).]), or
Re. Claim 8, Sun in view of Conrad teaches claim 1.
Sun further teaches wherein the terminal identifies the first reference signal by using at least one of physical cell identifier (Sun, ¶0080: In a deployment, such as that shown in FIG. 8, where there are multiple TRPs 812, all TRPs 812 may transmit the cell specific Reference Signal (RS), for example carrying a Cell ID, as a single frequency network (SFN) transmission.),
Re. Claim 17, Sun teaches a network access method, performed by a network-side device (Sun, ¶0009: Certain aspects provide a method for wireless communication by a transmit reception point (TRP).), comprising:
transmitting a reference signal to a terminal (Sun, FIG. 10, ¶0086-¶0087: For example, operations 1000 may be performed by, a TRP with which a UE is performing operations of FIG. 9 for initial access. Operations 1000 begin, at 1002, by transmitting first reference signals that are discoverable without a network configuration, for initial access by a user equipment (UE).),
wherein the reference signal comprises a first reference signal (Sun, ¶0084: Operations 900 begin, at 902, by performing initial access in a cell of a network based on first reference signals that are discoverable without a network configuration.), or
the reference signal comprises the first reference signal and a second reference signal,
wherein the first reference signal is a Single-Frequency Network (SFN)-specific reference signal (Sun, ¶0080: In a deployment, such as that shown in FIG. 8, where there are multiple TRPs 812, all TRPs 812 may transmit the cell specific Reference Signal (RS), for example carrying a Cell ID, as a single frequency network (SFN) transmission.), or
the second reference signal is a cell or Transmission Reception Point (cell/TRP)-specific reference signal (Sun, ¶0080: Each TRP 812 may also transmit a TRP specific RS (that carries a corresponding TRP ID). Each TRP 812 may also transmit a TRP specific RS (that carries a corresponding TRP ID).),
Yet, Sun does not explicitly teach wherein configurations of SFN-specific reference signals corresponding to different SFNs are independent, and configuration of the SFN-specific reference signal within a same SFN range is the same.
However, in the related art, Conrad teaches wherein configurations of SFN-specific reference signals corresponding to different SFNs are independent (Conrad, ¶0076: In at least one correlation-peaks embodiment, the set of known reference signals consists of an SFN-multicast reference signal unique to the given SFN-multicast area. [Since the SFN-multicast reference signal is unique to the given SFN-multicast area, the SFN-multicast reference signal of different SFN-multicast areas are implicitly independent.]), and
configuration of the SFN-specific reference signal within a same SFN range is the same (Conrad, ¶0076: In at least one correlation-peaks embodiment, the set of known reference signals consists of an SFN-multicast reference signal unique to the given SFN-multicast area.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Sun with the dynamic SFN-multicast symbol synchronization of Conrad. The resulting invention would provide for improved outcomes for a given public-safety incident (Conrad, 0003).
Re. Claim 19, Sun in view of Conrad teaches claim 17.
Sun further teaches wherein after the terminal successfully accesses a network, the method further comprises:
transmitting a third reference signal to the terminal (Sun, FIG. 10, ¶0087: At 1004, the TRP transmits, after initial access by the UE, network configuration for second reference signals for the UE to monitor while the UE is in a connected or idle state, wherein one of the first and second reference signals are cell-specific and the other of the first and second reference signals are specific to transmit and receive points (TRPs) in the cell.),
wherein the third reference signal is a cell/TRP-specific reference signal (Sun, FIG. 10, ¶0087: At 1004, the TRP transmits, after initial access by the UE, network configuration for second reference signals for the UE to monitor while the UE is in a connected or idle state, wherein one of the first and second reference signals are cell-specific and the other of the first and second reference signals are specific to transmit and receive points (TRPs) in the cell.).
Re. Claim 20, Sun teaches a terminal (Sun, ¶0062: FIG. 4 shows a block diagram of a design of a BS 110 and a UE 120, which may be one of the BSs and one of the UEs in FIG. 1.), comprising:
a processor (Sun, ¶0066: The processor 480 and/or other processors and modules at the UE 120 may also perform or direct processes for the techniques described herein.);
a memory having a computer program, or an instruction stored thereon (Sun, ¶0066: The memories 442 and 482 may store data and program codes for the BS 110 and the UE 120, respectively.),
wherein the computer program or the instruction, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to perform operations comprising:
receiving a reference signal transmitted by a network-side device (Sun, Fig. 10, ¶0086-¶0087: For example, operations 1000 may be performed by, a TRP with which a UE is performing operations of FIG. 9 for initial access. Operations 1000 begin, at 1002, by transmitting first reference signals that are discoverable without a network configuration, for initial access by a user equipment (UE).),
wherein the reference signal comprises a first reference signal (Sun, ¶0084: Operations 900 begin, at 902, by performing initial access in a cell of a network based on first reference signals that are discoverable without a network configuration.), or
the comprises the first reference signal and a second reference signal,
wherein the first reference signal is a Single-Frequency Network (SFN)-specific reference signal (Sun, ¶0080: In a deployment, such as that shown in FIG. 8, where there are multiple TRPs 812, all TRPs 812 may transmit the cell specific Reference Signal (RS), for example carrying a Cell ID, as a single frequency network (SFN) transmission.), or
the second reference signal is a cell or Transmission Reception Point (cell/TRP)-specific reference signal (Sun, ¶0080: Each TRP 812 may also transmit a TRP specific RS (that carries a corresponding TRP ID). Each TRP 812 may also transmit a TRP specific RS (that carries a corresponding TRP ID).); and
performing an initial access-related operation based on the received reference signal (Sun, ¶0084-¶0085: Operations 900 begin, at 902, by performing initial access in a cell of a network based on first reference signals that are discoverable without a network configuration. As noted above, the self-discoverable signals may be cell specific or TRP specific SYNC signals. … As noted above, RS requiring network configuration may be TRP specific CSI-RS or some type of cell-specific RS.),
Yet, Sun does not explicitly teach wherein configurations of SFN-specific reference signals corresponding to different SFNs are independent, and configuration of the SFN-specific reference signal within a same SFN range is the same.
However, in the related art, Conrad teaches wherein configurations of SFN-specific reference signals corresponding to different SFNs are independent (Conrad, ¶0076: In at least one correlation-peaks embodiment, the set of known reference signals consists of an SFN-multicast reference signal unique to the given SFN-multicast area. [Since the SFN-multicast reference signal is unique to the given SFN-multicast area, the SFN-multicast reference signal of different SFN-multicast areas are implicitly independent.]), and
configuration of the SFN-specific reference signal within a same SFN range is the same (Conrad, ¶0076: In at least one correlation-peaks embodiment, the set of known reference signals consists of an SFN-multicast reference signal unique to the given SFN-multicast area.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Sun with the dynamic SFN-multicast symbol synchronization of Conrad. The resulting invention would provide for improved outcomes for a given public-safety incident (Conrad, 0003).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Conrad, further in view of Ryu et al. (US 2018/0352416), Ryu hereinafter.
Re. Claim 3, Sun in view of Conrad teaches claim 2.
Sun further teaches wherein the performing cell selection or reselection comprises:
measuring the reference signal (Sun, ¶0094: According to this approach for UL based mobility enhancement, for IDLE mode, a UE may wake up (e.g., during a DRX ON period) and measure the cell specific RS for RLM (Radio Link Monitoring), frequency tracking loop/time tracking loop (FTL/TTL) updating, if needed, and/or open loop (OL) power control.); and
camping on, by the terminal, a first cell or a second cell according to a cell selection or reselection result (Sun, ¶0087: At 1004, the TRP transmits, after initial access by the UE, network configuration for second reference signals for the UE to monitor while the UE is in a connected or idle state, wherein one of the first and second reference signals are cell-specific and the other of the first and second reference signals are specific to transmit and receive points (TRPs) in the cell. [The UE being in a connected or idle state is taken as equivalent to the UE camping on the first or second cell.]),
wherein the first cell is an SFN-specific cell (Sun, 0088: According to the first scheme noted above, the UE may detect the cell based on the SYNC signals (cell specific RS) and access the system with cell specific RACH configurations. In this case, the network may then configure TRP specific CSI-RS for the UE to measure either in IDLE or CONNECTED state. [Sun, ¶0080 discloses that the cell specific RS is transmitted as an SFN transmission.]), or
the second cell is a cell/TRP specific cell or transmission reception point (Sun, ¶0089: According to the second scheme noted above, the UE may detect the TRP based on the SYNC signal (TRP specific RS) and access the system with TRP specific RACH configurations.).
Neither Sun nor Conrad explicitly teaches performing cell selection or reselection according to a measurement result.
However, in the related art, Ryu teaches performing cell selection or reselection according to a measurement result (Ryu, ¶¶0482-0485: A common initial cell selection procedure may be performed as follows. First, an MS may perform a cell search procedure for one carrier frequency. … Next, the MS may perform cell measurement on each cell in order to search for the strongest cell of the cells of the corresponding carrier frequency. … Second, the MS may read system information for the strongest cell of the corresponding carrier frequency. If the corresponding cell is a proper cell, the MS may attempt camping on the corresponding cell.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Sun as modified by the teaching of Conrad with the method for group message transmission in wireless communication system and apparatus therefor of Ryu. The resulting combination would reduce the frequency of UE wake ups to reduce power consumption by extending the time a UE is in an IDLE mode (Ryu, ¶0024).
Claims 4 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Conrad and Ryu as applied to claims 3 and 17, further in view of Ly et al. (US 2018/0091968), Ly hereinafter.
Re. Claim 4, Sun in view of Conrad and Ryu teaches claim 3.
Neither Sun nor Conrad explicitly teaches
the terminal receives the system information transmitted by the network-side device at a layer on which the terminal camps; or
the terminal receives the paging message transmitted by the network-side device at a layer on which the terminal camps; or
the terminal receives the advance indication information transmitted by the network-side device at a layer on which the terminal camps; or
the terminal initiates the random access to the network-side device at a layer on which the terminal camps, wherein
the layer on which the terminal camps is a first layer when the terminal camps on the first cell; or
the layer on which the terminal camps is a second layer when the terminal camps on the second cell,
wherein the first layer is an SFN layer, and the second layer is a cell layer or a transmission reception point layer.
However, in the related art, Ryu teaches the terminal receives the system information transmitted by the network-side device at a layer on which the terminal camps (Ryu, ¶0146: On the other hand, the network is unable to know the existence of the UE staying in the ECM-IDLE state, and a Core Network (CN) manages the UE on the basis of a tracking area unit which is an area unit larger than the cell. While the UE stays in the [EPS Connection Management] ECM-IDLE state, the UE per forms Discontinuous Reception (DRX) that the [Non-Access Stratum] NAS has configured by using the ID allocated uniquely in the tracking area. In other words, the UE can receive a broadcast signal of system information and paging information by monitoring a paging signal at a specific paging occasion for each UE-specific paging DRX cycle. [A UE in the EMC-IDLE state is in the (EPS Mobility Management) EMM-REGISTERED state and attached to a network at the NAS layer. That is, the UE is camping on the NAS layer of the CN.]); or
the terminal receives the paging message transmitted by the network-side device at a layer on which the terminal camps (Ryu, ¶0146: On the other hand, the network is unable to know the existence of the UE staying in the ECM-IDLE state, and a Core Network (CN) manages the UE on the basis of a tracking area unit which is an area unit larger than the cell. While the UE stays in the [EPS Connection Management] ECM-IDLE state, the UE per forms Discontinuous Reception (DRX) that the [Non-Access Stratum] NAS has configured by using the ID allocated uniquely in the tracking area. In other words, the UE can receive a broadcast signal of system information and paging information by monitoring a paging signal at a specific paging occasion for each UE-specific paging DRX cycle. [A UE in the EMC-IDLE state is in the (EPS Mobility Management) EMM-REGISTERED state and attached to a network at the NAS layer. That is, the UE is camping on the NAS layer of the CN.]); or the terminal receives the advance indication information transmitted by the network-side device at a layer on which the terminal camps; or
the terminal initiates the random access to the network-side device at a layer on which the terminal camps (Ryu, ¶¶0197-0201: First, a UE performs the random access procedure in the following cases. The case in which a UE performs initial access in an RRC idle state in the absence of an RRC connection to an eNB The case in which a UE performs an RRC connection re-establishment procedure The case in which a UE connects to a target cell for the first time while performing a handover procedure The case in which a random access procedure is requested by a command from an eNB [A UE in the RRC idle state is camped on the RRC layer at an eNB.]),
wherein the layer on which the terminal camps is a first layer when the terminal camps on the first cell (Ryu, ¶0146: On the other hand, the network is unable to know the existence of the UE staying in the ECM-IDLE state, and a Core Network (CN) manages the UE on the basis of a tracking area unit which is an area unit larger than the cell. While the UE stays in the ECM-IDLE state, the UE performs Discontinuous Reception (DRX) that the NAS has configured by using the ID allocated uniquely in the tracking area.); or
the layer on which the terminal camps is a second layer when the terminal camps on the second cell (Ryu, ¶¶0144-0145: The RRC state indicates whether the RRC layer of the UE is logically connected to the RRC layer of the eNB. In other words, in case the RRC layer of the UE is connected to the RRC layer of the eNB, the UE stays in the RRC_ CONNECTED state. … The network can identify the UE staying in the ECM-CONNECTED state at the level of cell unit and can control the UE in an effective manner.),
wherein the second layer is a cell layer or a transmission reception point layer (Ryu, ¶¶0144-0145: In other words, in case the RRC layer of the UE is connected to the RRC layer of the eNB, the UE stays in the RRC_ CONNECTED state. … The network can identify the UE staying in the ECM-CONNECTED state at the level of cell unit and can control the UE in an effective manner.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Sun as modified by the teaching of Conrad with the method for group message transmission in wireless communication system and apparatus therefor of Ryu. The resulting combination would reduce the frequency of UE wake ups to reduce power consumption by extending the time a UE is in an IDLE mode (Ryu, ¶0024).
None of Sun, Conrad, or Ryu explicitly teaches the first layer in an SFN layer.
However, in the related art, Ly teaches the first layer is an SFN layer (Ly, ¶0046: In UL-based mobility, cells may be organized into synchronized groups referred to herein as zones. The cells within a zone may form a single frequency network (SFN). And ¶0081: A zone, such as zone_1, may refer to a group or combination of cells that act together and are highly synchronized. Because of the coordinated operation of the cells in a zone, the SYNC signals are zone-specific. That is, the SYNC signals transmitted (e.g., broadcast) from a zone are typically single-frequency network (SFN) SYNC signals. A single-frequency network is a broadcast network where several transmitters simultaneously send the same signal over the same frequency channel. [The zones of Ly correspond to the tracking area units of Ryu both are composed of multiple cells which serve a UE without the UE having a connection to a specific eNB/TRP or specific cell.] ¶0139: cell-specific SYNC signal and zone-specific SYNC signal such as cell ID and zone ID are signaled in system information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine the invention of Sun as modified by the teachings of Conrad and Ryu with the techniques for mobility mode selection in uplink-based and downlink-based mobility of Ly. The resulting invention would reduce paging miss-and-call setup delay, reduce network resource (RS and paging) utilization, and/or reduce handover failure rate (Ly, ¶0045).
Re. Claim 18, Sun in view of Conrad teaches claim 17.
Sun teaches wherein the first cell is an SFN-specific cell (Sun, Fig. 8; ¶0080: In a deployment, such as that shown in FIG. 8, where there are multiple TRPs 812, all TRPs 812 may transmit the cell specific Reference Signal (RS), for example carrying a Cell ID, as a single frequency network (SFN) transmission. [The cell coverage area 802 served by base station 810 corresponds to the SFN-specific cell.]), or
the second cell is a cell/TRP-specific cell or transmission reception point (Sun, Fig. 8; ¶0080: Each TRP 812 may also transmit a TRP specific RS (that carries a corresponding TRP ID).).
Neither Sun nor Conrad explicitly teaches wherein when the terminal camps on a cell, the method further comprises: transmitting system information to the terminal at a layer on which the terminal camps; or transmitting a paging message to the terminal at a layer on which the terminal camps; or transmitting advance indication information to the terminal at a layer on which the terminal camps, wherein the layer on which the terminal camps is a first layer when the terminal camps on a first cell; or the layer on which the terminal camps is a second layer when the terminal camps on a second cell, wherein For clarity, Sun teaches the SFN-specific cell and TRP cell but does not explicitly teach first and second layers.]
However, in the related art, Ryu teaches wherein when the terminal camps on a cell, the method further comprises:
transmitting system information to the terminal at a layer on which the terminal camps (Ryu, ¶0146: On the other hand, the network is unable to know the existence of the UE staying in the ECM-IDLE state, and a Core Network (CN) manages the UE on the basis of a tracking area unit which is an area unit larger than the cell. While the UE stays in the [EPS Connection Management] ECM-IDLE state, the UE per forms Discontinuous Reception (DRX) that the [Non-Access Stratum] NAS has configured by using the ID allocated uniquely in the tracking area. In other words, the UE can receive a broadcast signal of system information and paging information by monitoring a paging signal at a specific paging occasion for each UE-specific paging DRX cycle. [A UE in the EMC-IDLE state is in the (EPS Mobility Management) EMM-REGISTERED state and attached to a network at the NAS layer. That is, the UE is camping on the NAS layer of the CN.]); or
transmitting a paging message to the terminal at a layer on which the terminal camps (Ryu, ¶0146: On the other hand, the network is unable to know the existence of the UE staying in the ECM-IDLE state, and a Core Network (CN) manages the UE on the basis of a tracking area unit which is an area unit larger than the cell. While the UE stays in the [EPS Connection Management] ECM-IDLE state, the UE per forms Discontinuous Reception (DRX) that the [Non-Access Stratum] NAS has configured by using the ID allocated uniquely in the tracking area. In other words, the UE can receive a broadcast signal of system information and paging information by monitoring a paging signal at a specific paging occasion for each UE-specific paging DRX cycle. [A UE in the EMC-IDLE state is in the (EPS Mobility Management) EMM-REGISTERED state and attached to a network at the NAS layer. That is, the UE is camping on the NAS layer of the CN.]); or
wherein the layer on which the terminal camps is a first layer when the terminal camps on a first cell (Ryu, ¶0146: On the other hand, the network is unable to know the existence of the UE staying in the ECM-IDLE state, and a Core Network (CN) manages the UE on the basis of a tracking area unit which is an area unit larger than the cell. While the UE stays in the ECM-IDLE state, the UE performs Discontinuous Reception (DRX) that the NAS has configured by using the ID allocated uniquely in the tracking area.); or
the layer on which the terminal camps is a second layer when the terminal camps on a second cell (Ryu, ¶¶0144-0145: The RRC state indicates whether the RRC layer of the UE is logically connected to the RRC layer of the eNB. In other words, in case the RRC layer of the UE is connected to the RRC layer of the eNB, the UE stays in the RRC_ CONNECTED state. … The network can identify the UE staying in the ECM-CONNECTED state at the level of cell unit and can control the UE in an effective manner.), and
the second layer is a cell layer or a transmission reception point layer (Ryu, ¶¶0144-0145: In other words, in case the RRC layer of the UE is connected to the RRC layer of the eNB, the UE stays in the RRC_ CONNECTED state. … The network can identify the UE staying in the ECM-CONNECTED state at the level of cell unit and can control the UE in an effective manner.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Sun as modified by the teaching of Conrad with the method for group message transmission in wireless communication system and apparatus therefor of Ryu. The resulting combination would reduce the frequency of UE wake ups to reduce power consumption by extending the time a UE is in an IDLE mode (Ryu, ¶0024).
None of Sun, Conrad, or Ryu explicitly teaches the first layer is an SFN layer.
However, in the related art, Ly teaches the first layer is an SFN layer (Ly, ¶0046: In UL-based mobility, cells may be organized into synchronized groups referred to herein as zones. The cells within a zone may form a single frequency network (SFN). And ¶0081: A zone, such as zone_1, may refer to a group or combination of cells that act together and are highly synchronized. Because of the coordinated operation of the cells in a zone, the SYNC signals are zone-specific. That is, the SYNC signals transmitted (e.g., broadcast) from a zone are typically single-frequency network (SFN) SYNC signals. A single-frequency network is a broadcast network where several transmitters simultaneously send the same signal over the same frequency channel. [The zones of Ly correspond to the tracking area units of Ryu both are composed of multiple cells which serve a UE without the UE having a connection to a specific eNB/TRP or specific cell.] 0139: cell-specific SYNC signal and zone-specific SYNC signal such as cell ID and zone ID are signaled in system information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine the invention of Sun as modified by the teachings of Conrad and Ryu with the techniques for mobility mode selection in uplink-based and downlink-based mobility of Ly. The resulting invention would reduce paging miss-and-call setup delay, reduce network resource (RS and paging) utilization, and/or reduce handover failure rate (Ly, ¶0045).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Conrad as applied to claim 1, further in view of Park et al. (US 2019/0158259), Park hereinafter.
Re. Claim 7, Sun in view of Conrad teaches claim 1.
Neither Sun nor Conrad explicitly teaches a resource of the first reference signal and a resource of the second reference signal are independent of each other, or a resource of the first reference signal is a subset of a resource of the second reference signal; or wherein the first reference signal and the second reference signal have at least one of the following relations: the first reference signal and the second reference signal are respectively mapped on different time domain resources; the first reference signal and the second reference signal are respectively mapped on different code domain resources; or the first reference signal and the second reference signal are respectively mapped on different frequency domain resources.
However, in the related art, Park, teaches a resource of the first reference signal ([For clarity, the first reference signal is equated with the enhanced physical multicast channel (ePMCH) RS. The ePMCH is a physical layer channel used for a plurality of cells (or base stations) to transmit the same data signal using the structure of a PDSCH (Park, ¶0223). That is, the ePMCH RS is a reference signal used for multicast broadcast in single frequency network (MB SFN) within a single frequency network (Park, ¶0218-¶0222).]) and
a resource of the second reference signal ([For clarity, the second reference signal is equated with the cell specific reference signal (CRS).])
are independent of each other (Park, ¶0259: In order to solve this problem, since an RS for an ePMCH itself is practically an independent new RS (e.g., it cannot be used for channel estimation along with a unicast RS), flexibility can be improved by applying a specific shift configuration (e.g., h-shift) in a form different from the v-shift applied in the existing unicast RS.), or
a resource of the first reference signal is a subset of a resource of the second reference signal (Park, ¶0229-¶0230: A [first] RS for an ePMCH may be transmitted in some or all of a total of 4 symbol (i.e., in a normal CP,
l
=
0
,
l
=
4
symbol in the first and the second slots, respectively,
l
is a symbol index) to which a CRS is mapped within one subframe by considering the above. For example, a [second] RS is transmitted from a single cell for a PDCCH for unicast in the first symbol (i.e.,
l
=
0
symbol of the first slot). In contrast, a [first] RS may be transmitted together from a plurality of cells for an ePMCH in the remaining symbols (i.e.,
l
=
4
symbol of the first slot,
l
=
0
,
l
=
4
symbol of the second slot). [The labels of the ePMCH RS and CRS as second and first RS, respectively, have been switched for clarity and consistency. Park’s ordering of the reference signals stems from the order in which they are introduced in the disclosure.]); or
wherein the first reference signal and the second reference signal have at least one of the following relations: the first reference signal and the second reference signal are respectively mapped on different time domain resources (Park, ¶0257-¶0260: As another technology proposed in the present invention, an RS (i.e., [first] RS) for demodulating an ePMCH may be defined/configured so that a "h-shift" is applied compared to a [second] RS (e.g., the CRS) defined in the existing technology. … When h-shift=1, it may mean a location shifted (i.e., time-shifted) to the right by one space (e.g., the direction in which a symbol index 1 increases) from the existing [second] RS (e.g., CRS) location. [The labels of the ePMCH RS and CRS as second and first RS, respectively, have been switched for clarity and consistency. Park’s ordering of the reference signals stems from the order in which they are introduced in the disclosure. Park further discloses that the h-shift value can be
h
=
-
1
so that the ePMCH RS precedes the CRS in the time domain.]);
the first reference signal and the second reference signal are respectively mapped on different code domain resources; or
the first reference signal and the second reference signal are respectively mapped on different frequency domain resources (Park, ¶0232-¶0235: Furthermore, the two RSs may be different in v-shift (i.e., frequency shift value) or a seed value for generating an RS sequence (e.g., a virtual cell identity (ID)) or the number of antenna ports. … Furthermore, FIG. 9 shows an example in which the CRS and the ePMCH RS have different v-shifts.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to combine the invention of Sun as modified by the teaching of Conrad with the method for transmitting and receiving multicast/broadcast data in wireless communication system, and apparatus therefor of Park. The resulting invention would provide for efficiently transmitting multicast/broadcast data by reusing the existing PDSCH structure (Park, ¶0018).
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view Conrad as applied to claim 8, further in view of Ly.
Re. Claim 9, Sun in view of Conrad teaches claim 8.
Sun further teaches at least one of the first physical cell identifier or the second physical cell identifier is used for the terminal to identify a cell on which or a transmission reception point at which the terminal is located (Sun, ¶0080: In a deployment, such as that shown in FIG. 8, where there are multiple TRPs 812, all TRPs 812 may transmit the cell specific Reference Signal (RS), for example carrying a Cell ID, as a single frequency network (SFN) transmission. Each TRP 812 may also transmit a TRP specific RS (that carries a corresponding TRP ID). [The Cell ID in the cell specific RS in the SFN transmission corresponds to the first physical cell identifier. The TRP ID in the TRP specific RS corresponds to the second physical cell identifier.]),
wherein the first physical cell identifier is an SFN-specific physical cell identifier (Sun, ¶0080: In a deployment, such as that shown in FIG. 8, where there are multiple TRPs 812, all TRPs 812 may transmit the cell specific Reference Signal (RS), for example carrying a Cell ID, as a single frequency network (SFN) transmission.), or
the second physical cell identifier is a physical cell identifier of the cell/TRP-specific cell or transmission reception point (Sun, ¶0080: Each TRP 812 may also transmit a TRP specific RS (that carries a corresponding TRP ID).).
Neither Sun nor Conrad explicitly teaches wherein a first physical cell identifier is the same as a second physical cell identifier; or a first physical cell identifier and a second physical cell identifier are independent of each other.
However, in the related art, Ly teaches a first physical cell identifier and a second physical cell identifier are independent of each other (Ly, ¶0086: In some aspects, the unified SYNC signals may identify the zone, but may not identify the cell from which the signal is transmitted. As such, base station 105-a in cell_1 may also transmit, via communication management component 340 (see e.g., FIG. 3), a cell-specific signal 205-a where the cell-specific signal can indicate a cell identifier of cell_1. [Since the zone, equivalent to an SFN (Ly, ¶0081), does not identify the cell and the cell requires transmitting a cell identifier on a cell-specific signal, the cell identifiers are interpreted as independent.]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Sun as modified by the teaching of Conrad with the techniques for mobility mode selection in uplink-based and downlink-based mobility of Ly. The resulting invention would reduce paging miss-and-call setup delay, reduce network resource (RS and paging) utilization, and/or reduce handover failure rate (Ly, ¶0045).
Re. Claim 10, Sun in view of Conrad and Ly teaches claim 9.
Neither Sun nor Conrad explicitly teaches the first physical cell identifier is transmitted to the terminal by the network-side device through a system message.
However, in the related art, Ly teaches wherein the first physical cell identifier is transmitted to the terminal by the network-side device through a system message (Ly, ¶0079: In some examples, the base station 105 may transmit (e.g., broadcast) the network list based on an event trigger (e.g., if the neighbor list changes based on position of the UE 115 in the coverage area 110 or if one or more zone transition conditions are satisfied). Alternatively, the network list may be transmitted by the base station 105 on a periodic basis using minimum system information blocks (SIBs). And 0088: In some examples, the neighbor list may include information such as a list of neighbor zone IDs and zone measurement configuration for the UE 115. Additionally or alternatively, the neighbor list may include neighbor cell information such as neighbor cell IDs and cell measurement configuration. [Based on the transmitting of the network list based on a change in the neighbor list, the network list and the neighbor list are interpreted as interchangeable.]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Sun as modified by the teaching of Conrad with the techniques for mobility mode selection in uplink-based and downlink-based mobility of Ly. The resulting invention would reduce paging miss-and-call setup delay, reduce network resource (RS and paging) utilization, and/or reduce handover failure rate (Ly, ¶0045).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Conrad and Ly as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Mizusawa (US 2017/0257789).
Re. Claim 11, Sun in view of Conrad and Ly teaches claim 9.
Neither Sun nor Conrad explicitly teaches wherein
the first physical cell identifier is the same as or different from the second physical cell identifier when the SFN-specific cell and the cell/TRP-specific cell are deployed on different frequencies.
However, in the related art, Ly teaches the first physical cell identifier is the same as or different from the second physical cell identifier (Ly, ¶0086: In some aspects, the unified SYNC signals may identify the zone, but may not identify the cell from which the signal is transmitted. As such, base station 105-a in cell_1 may also transmit, via communication management component 340 (see e.g., FIG. 3), a cell-specific signal 205-a where the cell-specific signal can indicate a cell identifier of cell_1. [Since the zone, equivalent to an SFN (Ly, ¶0081), does not identify the cell and the cell requires transmitting a cell identifier on a cell-specific signal, the cell identifiers are interpreted as independent.]) when the SFN-specific cell and the cell/TRP-specific cell are deployed on different frequencies.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed to combine the invention of Sun as modified by the teaching of Conrad with the techniques for mobility mode selection in uplink-based and downlink-based mobility of Ly. The resulting invention would reduce paging miss-and-call setup delay, reduce network resource (RS and paging) utilization, and/or reduce handover failure rate (Ly, ¶0045).
None of Sun, Conrad, and Ly explicitly teaches that the SFN-specific cell and the cell/TRP-specific cell are deployed on different frequencies.
However, in the related art, Mizusawa teaches that the SFN-specific cell and the cell/TRP-specific cell are deployed on different frequencies (Mizusawa, Fig 11, ¶0199: As described above with reference to FIG. 11, the frequency band F1 is the frequency band for the first cellular system included in the licensed band, and the frequency band F3 is the frequency band included in the unlicensed band (the shared band). In this example, the terminal apparatus 100 in the idle mode receives the paging message transmitted from the base station 200 in the frequency band F1, and receives the MBSFN signal transmitted from the base station 200 in the frequency band F3.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine the invention of Sun as modified by the teachings of Conrad and Ly with the apparatus of Mizusawa. The resulting invention would provide for increasing opportunities for terminal apparatuses to receive multicast signals (Mizusawa, ¶0005).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Conrad as applied to claim 1, further in view of Sang et al. (US 2018/0199328), Sang hereinafter.
Re. Claim 12, Sun in view of Conrad teaches claim 1.
Neither Sun nor Conrad explicitly teaches wherein when a network is deployed with a high frequency range and a low frequency range, the SFN-specific cell comprises a cell in the low frequency range, and the cell/TRP-specific cell comprises a cell in the high frequency range; or
However, in the related art, Sang teaches when a network is deployed with a high frequency range and a low frequency range (Sang, ¶0139: To address different scenarios where DL or UL mobility may each have its advantages, a real system can include hybrid deployment of both, and similar concepts can be extended to other hybrid systems including HF UDN and D2D under LF coverage, or HF throughput boosting to umbrella LF cell.),
the SFN-specific cell comprises a cell in the low frequency range (Sang, ¶0133: Depending on RAN architecture, for example when there is one TRP per cell, example embodiments can reduce to single beam operation, single frequency (omnidirectional LF only), and concrete BM/MM criteria (e.g., select and use only the best beam). And ¶0141: For the examples 300, 350 and 370 of the framework, DC may be used with a LF macro-cell and a HF small cell (microcell, picocell or femtocell).), and
the cell/TRP-specific cell comprises a cell in the high frequency range (Sang, ¶0138: L1 xRS/xSS measurements by TRPs 1020 or UE 1015 may generate L1-L3 RRM results and report them to one central unit (e.g., a gNB 1010, or a CU/DU, or a source TRP), for example, directly over omnidirectional LF channel, or through directional HF links to TRPs first, or by any L2-L3 signaling including but not limited to MAC CE piggyback, some format of downlink control information (DCI) and uplink control information (UCI) over physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) or physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)-like CH.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Sun as modified by the teaching of Conrad with the hybrid mobility and radio resource management mechanisms of Sang. The resulting invention would provide better control of coverage through a LF macro-cell and faster multi-point data links through a HF small cell (Sang, ¶0141).
Claims 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Conrad as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Ly, Guo et al. (US 2022/0240187), Guo hereinafter, and Ryu.
Re. Claim 13, Sun in view of Conrad teaches claim 2.
Neither Sun nor Conrad explicitly teaches before the receiving a paging message transmitted by the network-side device, the method further comprises at least one of the following:
transmitting an uplink signal to the network-side device, wherein the uplink signal is used for indicating an identifier of the terminal or
receiving an advance indication signal transmitted by the network-side device, wherein:
the advance indication signal comprises at least one of a Wake-Up Signal (WUS), a Go- To-Sleep signal (GTS), a Downlink Control Information (DCI) with cyclic redundancy check (CRC) scrambled by a Power-Saving Radio Network Temporary Identifier (PS-RNTI) (DCP), or
However, in the related art, Ly teaches before the receiving a paging message transmitted by the network-side device, the method further comprises at least one of the following:
transmitting an uplink signal to the network-side device (Ly, Fig. 16A, ¶0142: Referring to FIG. 16A, an example call flow 1600 shows signal exchanges between a UE (e.g., the UE 115 in FIG. 1) and an access node (AN) 1604 for mobility mode selection and management when the UE 115 is in an RRC state (e.g., the RRC-COMMON state 1504 in FIG. 15). … In particular, the UE 115 sends a mobility mode request signal or message (e.g., via a physical layer procedure).),
wherein the uplink signal is used for indicating an identifier of the terminal (Ly, ¶0142: In some examples, the mobility mode request signal or message may include random access channel (RACH) information, UE identification (e.g., UE-ID), and/or mobility mode information in one bit or multiple bits (e.g., mobility mode switching indication, a target or preferred mobility mode, or both).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Sun as modified by the teaching of Conrad with the techniques for mobility mode selection in uplink-based and downlink-based mobility of Ly. The resulting invention would reduce paging miss-and-call setup delay, reduce network resource (RS and paging) utilization, and/or reduce handover failure rate (Ly, ¶0045).
None of Sun, Conrad, or Ly explicitly teaches receiving an advance indication signal transmitted by the network-side device, wherein: the advance indication signal comprises at least one of a Wake-Up Signal (WUS), a Go- To-Sleep signal (GTS), a Downlink Control Information (DCI) with cyclic redundancy check (CRC) scrambled by a Power-Saving Radio Network Temporary Identifier (PS-RNTI) (DCP), or
However, in the related art, Guo teaches receiving an advance indication signal transmitted by the network-side device (Guo, Fig. 3, 4, ¶¶0035-0037: At step 304, the wireless network device transmits a downlink control signal to one or more UEs according to some implementations. … In some implementations, the downlink control signal indicates a detection behavior of a subsequent downlink control signal. At step 404, the UE receives a downlink control signal (sometimes referred herein as control signal or down link control signaling) according to some implementations. In some implementations, the downlink control signal includes one or more data blocks that indicate one or more triggering states of one or more user devices. … In some implementations, the downlink control signaling can indicate a detection behavior of a subsequent downlink control signal.), wherein:
the advance indication signal comprises at least one of a Wake-Up Signal (WUS), a Go- To-Sleep signal (GTS) (Guo, ¶0050: In some implementations, the triggering state includes at least one of identifier of power saving DCI format, a wake-up indication, a go-to-sleep indication, a PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel) monitoring periodicity indication, a PDCCH skipping duration indication, a BWP (Bandwidth Part) indicator, a spatial information, a time domain resource allocation, a QCL (Quasi-co-location) information, a SRS (Sounding Reference Signals) request, or a CSI (Channel State Information) request.),
a Downlink Control Information (DCI) with cyclic redundancy check (CRC) scrambled by a Power-Saving Radio Network Temporary Identifier (PS-RNTI) (DCP) (Guo, ¶0059: In some implementations, the first set of PDCCH candidates include DCI format with CRC scrambled by PS-RNTI. In some implementations, PS-RNTI is a new RNTI scrambling the DCI to indicate at least one of the above triggering states.),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine the invention of Sun as modified by the teachings of Conrad and Ly with the system and method for downlink control signaling of Guo. The resulting invention would provide lower overhead downlink control signaling and higher reliability triggering of UE power saving operations (Guo, 0022).
Yet, none of Sun, Conrad, Ly, or Guo explicitly teaches the advance indication signal is used for indicating whether the terminal receives the paging message or a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) corresponding to the paging message in several subsequent Discontinuous Reception (DRX) periods, or
However, in the related art, Ryu teaches the advance indication signal is used for indicating whether the terminal receives the paging message or a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) corresponding to the paging message in several subsequent Discontinuous Reception (DRX) periods (Ryu, ¶¶0305-0310: The 3GPP LTE/LTE-A system defines DRX (Discontinuous Reception) scheme for a UE to minimize power consumption. A UE employing DRX monitors transmission of a paging message only at one paging occasion for each paging cycle (namely DRX cycle). … One paging occasion (PO) refers to one subframe having a P-RNTI transmitted on a PDCCH addressing a paging message. … A DRX parameter (namely paging/PCCH configuration information) may be transmitted by being included in a common radio resource configuration ('RadioResourceConfigCommon') [Information Element] IE, which is an RRC message used for specifying common radio resource configuration. The common radio resource configuration IE may be transmitted through an RRC message such as an RRC Connection Reconfiguration message or SI message. An SI message is used for transmitting one or more SIBs. [The RRC Connection Reconfiguration message or SI message is interpreted as equivalent to the advance indication signal.]), or
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Sun as modified by the teachings of Conrad, Ly, and Guo with the method for group message transmission in wireless communication system and apparatus therefor of Ryu. The resulting combination would reduce the frequency of UE wake ups to reduce power consumption by extending the time a UE is in an IDLE mode (Ryu, ¶0024).
Re. Claim 14, Sun in view of Conrad, Ly, Guo, and Ryu teaches claim 13.
Neither Sun nor Conrad explicitly teaches the transmitting an uplink signal to the network-side device, the method further comprises: receiving a response message transmitted by the network-side device wherein the response message is used for indicating at least one of the following: the network-side device receives a feedback of the uplink signal; or whether there is the paging message of the terminal or the paging message of the group in which the terminal is located.
However, in the related art, Ly teaches after the transmitting an uplink signal to the network-side device, the method further comprises:
receiving a response message transmitted by the network-side device (Ly, ¶0047: In an example of intra-zone mobility, a UE may send one or more UL mobility reference signals (e.g., Physical Uplink Measurement Indication Channel (PUMICH) or Physical Uplink Measurement Reference Signal (PUMRS)) for mobility tracking at the network. In response, the network may decode the received one or more reference signals and acknowledge (ACK) UL mobility reference signal(s) and/or signaling paging indicator(s) received from the UE. For example, the network may send a Physical Keep-Alive Channel (PKACH) for acknowledging UL mobility reference signal(s) and/or signaling paging indicator(s).),
wherein the response message is used for indicating at least one of the following:
the network-side device receives a feedback of the uplink signal (Ly, 0047: In response, the network may decode the received one or more reference signals and acknowledge (ACK) UL mobility reference signal(s) and/or signaling paging indicator(s) received from the UE.); or
whether there is the paging message of the terminal (Ly, ¶0047: For example, the network may send a Physical Keep-Alive Channel (PKACH) for acknowledging UL mobility reference signal(s) and/or signaling paging indicator(s).) or the paging message of the group in which the terminal is located.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Sun as modified by the teaching of Conrad with the techniques for mobility mode selection in uplink-based and downlink-based mobility of Ly. The resulting invention would reduce paging miss-and-call setup delay, reduce network resource (RS and paging) utilization, and/or reduce handover failure rate (Ly, ¶0045).
Re. Claim 15, Sun in view of Conrad, Ly, Guo, and Ryu teaches claim 14.
Neither Sun nor Conrad explicitly teaches wherein the response message carries at least one of the advance indication signal or indication information, wherein the indication information is used for indicating information about a transmission reception point that receives the paging message.
Ly teaches wherein the response message carries at least one of the advance indication signal or indication information (Ly, ¶0047: For example, the network may send a Physical Keep-Alive Channel (PKACH) for acknowledging UL mobility reference signal(s) and/or signaling paging indicator(s).),
wherein the indication information is used for indicating information about a transmission reception point that receives the paging message (Ly, ¶0103: In an aspect, the RRC connection reconfiguration message may instruct the first TRP 508 (and the UE 115) to switch from UL mobility mode to DL mobility mode. In some aspects, the instruction(s) to switch is/are forwarded to the UE 115 by the first TRP 508 in a PKACH at block 7a (e.g., paging indicator=true). 0047: the network autonomously selects a serving cell or a TRP to send PHACK to one or more UEs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the invention of Sun as modified by the teaching of Conrad with the techniques for mobility mode selection in uplink-based and downlink-based mobility of Ly. The resulting invention would reduce paging miss-and-call setup delay, reduce network resource (RS and paging) utilization, and/or reduce handover failure rate (Ly, ¶0045).
Re. Claim 16, Sun in view of Conrad, Ly, Guo, and Ryu teach 14.
Sun further teaches wherein the advance indication signal is SFN-specific, or cell/TRP-specific; or
the response message is SFN-specific (Sun, ¶0096: In some cases, the signal may be transmitted in SFN mode over a subset of the TRPs in the cell.), or
cell/TRP-specific (Sun, ¶0100: At 1306, the UE receives a command to handover to a target TRP based on the report.).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.H.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417