DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7, 10-13, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oevrard et al (French Patent Publication 2,937,932).
Re claim 1, Oevrard et al. discloses an interior trim part of a vehicle, comprising a carrier (4, figure 4) having a first surface (see the annotated figure below), a second surface (see the annotated figure below), and at least one opening (see the annotated figure below) penetrating the carrier from the first surfaces to the second surface, a membrane layer (5, 12, figure 1) applied to the first surface and covering the opening, a décor layer (6) applied to the membrane layer, and an electronic module (10, 14, figure 1) detachably arranged within the opening and contacting the membrane layer or interacting with the membrane layer, wherein the electronic module is decoupled from the carrier by dampening elements (see the annotated below).
Re claim 2, the carrier is molded on the membrane layer or vice versa (see page 3, paragraphs 4-6 of the machine translation which discloses the 5 is molded to the frame 4).
Re claim 3, the membrane layer is fastened to the first surface of the carrier by a first adhesive layer (68, figure 3).
Re claim 7, the electronic module is fastened to the carrier by a screw- or snapping connection (22, figure 1).
Re claim 10, a housing (20, figure 1) is fastened to the carrier, said housing is enclosing the electronic module.
Re claim 11, Oevrard et al. discloses a vehicle, comprising an interior trim part according to claim 7.
Re claim 12, Oevrard et al. discloses a method for manufacturing an interior trim part according to claim 1, comprising the following steps:
- producing the carrier by over molding the membrane layer such that the membrane layer and the carrier are fastened to each other (see page 3, paragraphs 4-6 of the machine translation which discloses the 5 is molded to the frame 4) or injection molding the carrier followed by the steps of applying a first adhesive layer to the first surface and fastening the membrane layer to the carrier.
Re claim 13, the method includes placing the lamination tool (54, figure 2) such that it is contacting the second surface and the membrane layer, and laminating the décor layer (6) on the membrane layer (see the annotated figure below).
Re claim 15, the method includes fastening the electronic module to the carrier by a screw- or snapping connection (22).
Re claim 16, the method includes fastening a housing (20) to the carrier such that the housing is enclosing the electronic module.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oevrard et al (French Patent Publication 2,937,932).
Re claim 5, Oevrard et al. discloses all the limitations of the claims, as applied above, except for the membrane layer having a thickness of between .05 mm and 4 mm. Oevrard et al. is silent as to the thickness of the layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a membrane layer, such as that disclosed by Oevrard et al., to have a thickness of between .05 mm and 4 mm, with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and is a recitation of relative dimension of the claimed device and the device having the claimed relative dimension would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In this case it appears the devices would perform similarly given the same relative dimensions. See In re Gardner v. TEC Systems, 225 UPA 232 (1984).
Re claim 6, Oevrard et al. discloses all the limitations of the claim, as applied above, except for the décor layer having a thickness (TD) of between .2 mm and 4 mm. Oevrard et al. is silent as to the thickness of the layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a decor layer, such as that disclosed by Oevrard et al., to have a thickness of between .2 mm and 4 mm, with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and is a recitation of relative dimension of the claimed device and the device having the claimed relative dimension would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In this case it appears the devices would perform similarly given the same relative dimensions. See In re Gardner v. TEC Systems, 225 UPA 232 (1984).
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oevrard et al. (French Patent Publication 2,937,932) in view of Oevrard et al. ‘942 (US Patent 9,767,942).
Oevrard et al. discloses all the limitations of the claims, as applied above except for the décor layer is applied to the membrane layer by a second adhesive layer.
Oevrard et al. ‘942 teaches applying a décor layer (14) to a membrane layer (10) by an adhesive (see column 3, lines 26-29).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify an interior trim part, such as that disclosed by Oevrard et al., to have the décor layer be applied to the membrane layer by a second adhesive layer, as taught by Oevrard et al. ‘942, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to attach the interior trim part to the membrane layer in a conventional and cost-effective manner of upholstery.
Claims 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oevrard et al (French Patent Publication 2,937,932) in view of Valcher (WIPO Publication WO2021/180624A1).
Re claim 8, Oevrard et al. discloses all the limitations of the claim, as applied above, except for at least one vibration generating element is either integrated into the electronic module or interacting with the electronic module such that vibrations generated by the vibration generating element are transferred to the membrane layer and the decor layer.
Valcher teaches at least one vibration generating element (36, figure 10) being either integrated into the electronic module or interacting with the electronic module such that vibrations generated by the vibration generating element are transferred to a layer (206).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an interior trim part, such as that disclosed Oevrard et al., to have at least one vibration generating element be either integrated into the electronic module or interacting with the electronic module such that vibrations generated by the vibration generating element are transferred to the membrane layer and the decor layer, as taught by Valcher, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to alert the user of the device that the electronic module has been activated.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/18/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that claim 1, as amended, is not anticipated under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oevrard et al. (French Patent Publication 2,937,932) because the reference fails to disclose “the electronic module is decoupled from the carrier by damping elements”. Applicant asserts that the connection between support 13 and armature 4 in the Oevrard et al. reference is rigid and intended for securing the support and not for decoupling the electronic module form the carrier by “damping elements”. The examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons.
Applicant’s arguments seem to rest on the difference in rigidity between the structure of the Oevrard reference and applicant’s own discloses invention. However, rigidity or flexibility with regard to the damping elements of applicant’s own damping elements is not disclosed in applicant’s originally filed specification, claims, or drawings. In fact, applicant’s originally filed application gives no indication of how much dampening or what type of material a structure must have to be considered a “damping element” according to the claims. Therefore, by its own nature, the structures identified in the annotated figures above of the Oevrard reference can be considered “damping elements” as they must inherently damp vibrations between the carrier and electronic module simply by their presence. Their effectiveness in this regard is not part of applicant’s originally filed disclosure and so regardless of the flexibility, rigidity, or material of the structure identified as the “damping elements” in the Oevrard reference, the structure must satisfy the claim language as it will provide some dampening however small that may be.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON S MORROW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612
March 11, 2026