DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Preliminary Remarks
This is a reply to the RCE with a new IDS filed on 05/28/2026. Claims 1-22 remain pending in the present application with claims 1 and 12 being independent claims.
When making claim amendments, the applicant is encouraged to consider the references in their entireties, including those portions that have not been cited by the examiner and their equivalents as they may most broadly and appropriately apply to any particular anticipated claim amendments.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 28, 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and is being considered by the Examiner.
Response to RCE
Applicant’s RCE with the new IDS filed on 05/28/2026 have been considered, necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasek et al. (US 20200236433 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Hasek”) in view of Dhanabalan et al. (US 20150319494 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Dhanabalan”), further in view of Johnston et al. (US 20180113579 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Johnston”), and further in view of Bax et al. (US 20160173633 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Bax”).
Regarding claim 1, Hasek discloses a method for enabling cross-service content recording, the method comprising:
identifying a first content item consumed from a first content service (see Hasek, paragraph [0061]: “the user may submit a request for an instance of content using the second content access device 203. However, that instance of content may already be currently being accessed by the first content access device 201”).
Regarding claim 1, Hasek discloses all the claimed limitations with the exception of wherein the first content item is part of a series; identifying a second content item related to the first content item that is not available from the first content service, wherein the first content item is different from the second content item, and the second content item is one of an unwatched episode of the series, a future scheduled episode of the series, an episode of a prequel to the series, or an episode of a sequel to the series; based at least in part on identifying the second content item, retrieving programming schedule data from a second content service, wherein the programming schedule data specifies a scheduled broadcast time for the second content item on the second content service; determining, based on the programming schedule data, whether the second content item is scheduled to be available from the second content service at the scheduled broadcast time; in response to determining that the second content item is scheduled to be available from the second content service, automatically scheduling recording of the second content item from the second content service; and generating for output a confirmation that recording of the second content item from the second content service has been scheduled.
Dhanabalan from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses determining, based on the programming schedule data, whether the second content item is scheduled to be available from the second content service at the scheduled broadcast time (see Dhanabalan, paragraph [0022]: “EPGs enable the user to identify desired programming using interactive menus and, if DVR functionality is present in the user's system, may permit the user to schedule the recording of desired programming via the EPG”; and paragraph [0045]: “Scheduling conflict manager 115 may communicate, for example, with OTT content source 210 or EPG server 215 (FIG. 2) to identify if a particular program associated with a DVR tuner conflict will be available to a user as OTT content … scheduling conflict manager 115 may identify subscriptions/services through which the user has access to on-demand content to determine if a particular program is available on-demand. If the particular program is available on-demand, scheduling conflict manager 115 may provide a suggestion to the user that tuning of live television (and canceling the scheduled DVR recording) can continue without risk of losing access to content of the scheduled DVR recording“); and
generating for output a confirmation that recording of the second content item from the second content service has been scheduled (see Dhanabalan, paragraph [0047]: “Notification window 702 may include a timeframe indication section 704 (e.g., “recordings are scheduled to start in 2 minutes”)”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Dhanabalan with the teachings as in Hasek. The motivation for doing so would ensure the system to have the ability to use the system and method disclosed in Dhanabalan to enable the user to identify desired programming using interactive menus and, if DVR functionality is present in the user's system, may permit the user to schedule the recording of desired programming via the EPG; to allow user to schedule the recording of programs and to use notification window to confirm scheduled recordings thus determining whether the second content item is scheduled to be available from the second content service based on the programming schedule data, scheduling recording of the second content item from the second content service in response to determining that the second content item is scheduled to be available from the second content service and generating for output a confirmation that recording of the second content item from the second content service has been scheduled in order to send instruction to the recording service to schedule the recording of the second content item so that user can communicate with the content provider to schedule recording of the selected programs.
Regarding claim 1, Hasek and Dhanabalan disclose all the claimed limitations with the exception of wherein the first content item is part of a series; identifying a second content item related to the first content item that is not available from the first content service, wherein the first content item is different from the second content item, and the second content item is one of an unwatched episode of the series, a future scheduled episode of the series, an episode of a prequel to the series, or an episode of a sequel to the series; based at least in part on identifying the second content item, retrieving programming schedule data from a second content service, wherein the programming schedule data specifies a scheduled broadcast time for the second content item on the second content service; and in response to determining that the second content item is scheduled to be available from the second content service, automatically scheduling recording of the second content item from the second content service.
Johnston from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses wherein the first content item is part of a series (see Johnston, FIG. 6A and paragraph [0153]: “the user may have watched previous episodes in a television series such that the current/next episode is included in user interface”); and
wherein the first content item is different from the second content item, and the second content item is one of an unwatched episode of the series, a future scheduled episode of the series, an episode of a prequel to the series, or an episode of a sequel to the series (see Johnston, FIG. 6L and paragraph [0161]: “in user interface 602, representation 606-9 of suggested media item A-2, and representation 606-10 of suggested media item A-1. Media item A-1 is optionally a first episode in collection A of episodic media items, and media item A-2 is optionally a second episode in collection A of episodic media items. The user has purchased and partially watched media item A-1, as shown in information 612 in FIG. 6L. As a result of the user having purchased and/or watched (at least partially) media item A-1, the electronic device has suggested media item A-2 to the user, as shown in FIG. 6L. Further, the electronic device has done so, despite that fact that the user watched media item A-1 via media provider 1, and media item A-2 is available via a different media provider 3, not via media provider 1”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Johnston with the teachings as in Hasek and Dhanabalan. The motivation for doing so would ensure the system to have the ability to use the unified media browsing application that presents media items from different media applications in a unified media browsing user interface disclosed in Johnston to display a watched episode in a television series such that the current/next episode is included in user interface; to display first and second episodes in collection A of episodic media items; to suggest second media item to the user as a result of the user having watched first media item wherein the second media item is available via a different media provider not the same as first media item thus displaying the first content item and second media content of a series wherein the first content item is different from the second content item and the second content item is an unwatched episode of the series in order to provide different content items are available from different content platforms so that viewers can view different episodes of the series from different content providers.
Regarding claim 1, Hasek, Dhanabalan, and Johnston disclose all the claimed limitations with the exception of identifying a second content item related to the first content item that is not available from the first content service; wherein the programming schedule data specifies a scheduled broadcast time for the second content item on the second content service; and in response to determining that the second content item is scheduled to be available from the second content service, automatically scheduling recording of the second content item from the second content service.
Bax from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses identifying a second content item related to the first content item that is not available from the first content service (see Bax, paragraph [0073]: “Responsive to a user on a client device 730 referencing a media item 712 through content on a first content provider, a search may be performed to determine whether the media item 712 is available on a second content provider 714”);
based at least in part on identifying the second content item, retrieving programming schedule data from a second content service, wherein the programming schedule data specifies a scheduled broadcast time for the second content item on the second content service (see Bax, paragraph [0071]: “Responsive to the media queuing component 610 receiving the invocation 623 of the media item record option 626, the best TV show 612 may be queued 630 for consumption through the media provider 616. The invocation 623 may correspond to a single user interaction with the media item record option 626. In an example of the single user interaction, the queuing the best TV show 630 may comprise scheduling a recording of the best TV show 612 and presenting, through the media provider 616, a notification 632 of a successful request to record the best TV show 612”); and
in response to determining that the second content item is scheduled to be available from the second content service, automatically scheduling recording of the second content item from the second content service (see Bax, paragraph [0072]: “The invocation 623 may comprise submitting user account credentials, of the user, to the media provider 616 and instructing the media provider 616 to queue 630 the best TV show 612 for consumption by the user. The relevant information 636 may comprise a confirmation 638 (e.g., a notification asking the user to confirm the user's intent to record). Responsive to the user selecting 644 the confirmation 638, the best TV show 612 may be scheduled to be recorded, and the user may be presented with a notification of the successful request to record the best TV show 632”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Bax with the teachings as in Hasek, Dhanabalan, and Johnston. The motivation for doing so would ensure the system to have the ability to use the system and method of media queuing disclosed in Bax to determine whether a media item is available on a second content provider in response to a user on a client device referencing the media item through content on a first content provider; to queue the media item to be recorded by receiving the invocation of the media item record option based on user interaction wherein the queuing the media item comprises scheduling a recording of the media item; and to schedule the media item to be recorded in response to the user confirmation thus identifying a second content item related to the first content item that is not available from the first content service; retrieving programming schedule data from a second content service based at least in part on identifying the second content item wherein the programming schedule data specifies a scheduled broadcast time for the second content item on the second content service; and automatically scheduling recording of the second content item from the second content service in response to determining that the second content item is scheduled to be available from the second content service in order to schedule the recording of the media item from the second content service so that the desired media item can be record from second content service when it is not available in the first content service.
Regarding claim 2, the combination teachings of Hasek, Dhanabalan, Johnston, and Bax as discussed above also disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising requesting authorization from the second content service to access the second content item at a time at which the second content item is scheduled to be available (see Dhanabalan, paragraph [0045]: “scheduling conflict manager 115 may identify subscriptions/services through which the user has access to on-demand content to determine if a particular program is available on-demand. If the particular program is available on-demand, scheduling conflict manager 115 may provide a suggestion to the user that tuning of live television (and canceling the scheduled DVR recording) can continue without risk of losing access to content of the scheduled DVR recording”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 3, the combination teachings of Hasek, Dhanabalan, Johnston, and Bax as discussed above also disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising requesting authorization from a recording service for allocation of recording resources at a time at which the second content item is scheduled to be available (see Hasek, paragraph [0117]: “The resource manager 840 may be responsible for persistence and digital rights policy along with allocating, monitoring, and controlling resources, particularly pulling ABR segments and bandwidth therefor, for recording and playback related services”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 4, the combination teachings of Hasek, Dhanabalan, Johnston, and Bax as discussed above also disclose the method of claim 3, further comprising:
in response to receiving authorization from the recording service for allocation of recording resources at the time at which the second content item is scheduled to be available, transmitting, to the recording service, an instruction to schedule recording of the second content item at the time (see Hasek, paragraph [0115]: “playing or recording of the media content 850, 851 may be scheduled for the subscriber using, for example, the player 960 of the device 803. At 717, one or more ABR segments of the media content 850, 851 may be played independent of the subscriber's location so as to allow the viewing of the media content 850, 851 on the device 803”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 5, the combination teachings of Hasek, Dhanabalan, Johnston, and Bax as discussed above also disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising generating for output a user interface element linked to a recording service, wherein selection of the user interface element causes output of a user interface of the recording service (see Dhanabalan, paragraph [0042]: “scheduling conflict manager 115 may present the list of unwatched alternate content simultaneously with the conflict notification. In another implementation, as described further in connection with FIG. 7D, scheduling conflict manager 115 may present the list of alternate content as a tiered or layered selection process after the conflict notification. Selection of one of the recorded content options allows the user to select alternate programming without disturbing the DVR recording schedules”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 6, the combination teachings of Hasek, Dhanabalan, Johnston, and Bax as discussed above also disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising generating for output an identifier of the second content item, wherein scheduling recording of the second content item from the second content service occurs in response to selection of the identifier (see Dhanabalan, paragraph [0038]: “Stored DVR content list 620 may include content identifiers (e.g., program titles, recording dates, etc.) along with other metadata indicating features associated with each content item”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 7, the combination teachings of Hasek, Dhanabalan, Johnston, and Bax as discussed above also disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising generating for output, in a user interface of the first content service, an indication that the second content item has been recorded (see Hasek, paragraph [0062]: “the user may submit a request for an instance of content using the second content access device 203 after that instance of content has been stored to the first content access device 201”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 8, the combination teachings of Hasek, Dhanabalan, Johnston, and Bax as discussed above also disclose the method of claim 7, further comprising:
receiving selection of the indication that the second content item has been recorded (see Hasek, paragraph [0126]: “providing a catalog of media content data to display to the user including program schedule information at a predetermined time in response to the user communicating a selection to the resource manager”); and
in response to receiving selection of the indication that the second content item has been recorded, beginning playback of the recorded second content item (see Hasek, paragraph [0126]: “The user may use the scheduler service 976 to specific channels to view from the guide or line-up displayed, user privileges, and other settings (e.g., such as DVR settings and preferences default DVR scheduling settings”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 9, the combination teachings of Hasek, Dhanabalan, Johnston, and Bax as discussed above also disclose the method of claim 8, further comprising in response to detecting an end of playback of the second content item, returning to the user interface of the first content service (see Hasek, paragraph [0062]: “stored instance of content cannot be accessed by the first content access device 201 until the second content access device 203 is no longer accessing the instance of content”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 10, the combination teachings of Hasek, Dhanabalan, Johnston, and Bax as discussed above also disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the first content service is an on-demand content service and the second content service is a linear content service (see Hasek, paragraph [0116]: “The system 800 may be configured with a video core 849 adapted for content processing and communication for ingesting and packaging linear content 851 (e.g., live broadcasting) and non-linear (e.g., video on demand (VOD)) content 850 by communication lines 848 across a communication network or CDN 847 to a video edge 845 to service a device 803 (e.g., set top box, tablet, smart phone, computer, etc.) of a user that subscribes to a content subscription service”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 11, the combination teachings of Hasek, Dhanabalan, Johnston, and Bax as discussed above also disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining whether a user currently associated with the first content service is subscribed to the second content service (see Hasek, paragraph [0082]: “the content provider device may verify registration for content access devices that do not have verified approved geolocations but not verify registrations for content access devices that do”); and
in response to determining that the user is not subscribed to the second content service, generating for output an option to subscribe to the second content service (see Hasek, paragraph [0083]: “404 is illustrated and described as the content provider device providing an error message if the content access device is not registered. However, it is understood that this is an example. In various implementations, the content provider device may perform various other actions such as prompting for content access device registration, offering access to content that does not require registration, and so on”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 1 above.
Claim 12 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 1 above. In addition, the combination teachings of Hasek, Dhanabalan, Johnston, and Bax as discussed above also disclose a system for enabling cross-service content recording, the system comprising:
input/output circuitry (see Hasek, paragraph [0065]: “input/output components”); and
control circuitry (see Hasek, paragraph [0065]: “The content access devices 301, 302 may respectively include one or more processing units”).
Claim 13 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 2 above.
Claim 14 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 3 above.
Claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 4 above.
Claim 16 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 5 above.
Claim 17 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 6 above.
Claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 7 above.
Claim 19 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 8 above.
Claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 9 above.
Claim 21 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 10 above.
Claim 22 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 11 above.
Conclusion
NIENRU YANG
Examiner
Art Unit 2484
/NIENRU YANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2484
/THAI Q TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2484