DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 27-28 and 32-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kojima (US 2002/0166222 A1).
Claim 1:
The recitation " wherein immediately upon being hermetically sealed the portion that is disposed away from the first wall comprises a sealed interior gap that extends between the first wall and the second wall" is a product-by-process limitation. As set forth in MPEP § 2113, product by process claims are NOT limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only to the structure implied by the steps. Once a product appearing to be substantially the same or similar is found, a 35 U.S.C. § 102/103 rejection may be made and the burden is shifted to applicant to show an unobvious difference. See MPEP § 2113. The structure implied by the abovementioned steps is an apparatus comprising a sealed interior gap that extends between the first wall and the second wall
Kojima discloses an apparatus (figs. 1A-1D, [0004]-[0007]) comprising:
a frame component (109 and/or 30) configured to be integrated in a vehicle structure (figs. 1A-1D, [0007] and [0023] – see also vehicle panel applications discussed throughout Kojima), including a first wall (100) comprising a metal sheet (figs. 1A-1D, [0004]), a second wall (102) comprising a metal sheet and includes a portion that is disposed away from the first wall (100), wherein in the first wall (100) and the second wall (102) are hermetically sealed in operative connection with one another (figs. 1A-1D, [0004], see also bonded blanks welded along a closed curve figs. 10A-10C and 12A-12C, [0080] and [0082]);
wherein a sealed interior gap that extends between the first wall (100) and the second wall (102) (figs. 1A-1D, [0004]);
a fluid connector (101), wherein the fluid connector (101) is configured to deliver pressurized fluid received through the connector into the sealed interior gap through one or more of the first wall (100) and the second wall (102), wherein the delivered fluid (107) is to increase strength of the frame component (109) (figs. 1A-1D, [0004] and [0007]).
Claim 2:
Kojima discloses the apparatus according to claim 1 wherein one or more of the first wall (100) and the second wall (102) is permanently deformed responsive to the delivered fluid (107) (figs 1A-1D, [0005] and [0029]).
Claim 1:
In an alternative Kojima discloses an apparatus comprising:
a frame component (5) configured to be integrated in a vehicle structure (figs. 11, 12A-12C, [0098], [0102] and [0103), including a first wall (1) comprising a metal sheet (figs. 11, 12A-12C, [0098], [0102] and [0103), a second wall (2) comprising a metal sheet and includes a portion that is disposed away from the first wall (1), and is in hermetically sealed operative connection with the first wall (1) wherein a sealed interior gap extends between the first wall (1) and the second wall (2) (figs. 11, 12A-12C, [0098], [0102] and [0103); a fluid connector (3, 11d), wherein the fluid connector (3, 11d) is configured to deliver pressurized fluid received through the connector into the sealed interior gap through one or more of the first wall (1) and the second wall (2), wherein the delivered fluid (17) is to increase strength of the frame component (5) (figs. 11, 12A-12C, [0098], [0102] and [0103).
Claim 27:
Kojima discloses an apparatus (fig. 1D, [0007]) comprising:
a frame component (109) configured to be integrated in a vehicle structure (figs. 1A-1D, [0007]), including a first wall (100) comprised of at least one metal sheet (figs. 1A-1D, [0004]), a second wall (102) comprised of at least one further metal sheet (figs. 1A-1D, [0004]), wherein the first wall (100) and the second wall (102) bound a hermetically sealed interior gap, wherein the interior gap extends between the walls, a fluid connector (101), wherein the fluid connector (101) is configured to deliver pressurized fluid through one of the first wall (100) and the second wall (102) and into the interior gap, wherein the delivered fluid is to increase strength of the frame component (109) (figs. 1A-1D, [0004] and [0007]).
Claim 27:
In an alternative, Kojima discloses an apparatus comprising:
a frame component (5) configured to be integrated in a vehicle structure (figs. 11, 12A-12C, [0098], [0102] and [0103), including a first wall (1) comprised of at least one metal sheet (figs. 11, 12A-12C, [0098], [0102] and [0103), a second wall (2) comprised of at least one further metal sheet (figs. 11, 12A-12C, [0098], [0102] and [0103), wherein the first wall (1) and the second wall (2) bound a hermetically sealed interior gap (at 17) (fig. 12C), wherein the interior gap extends between the walls, a fluid connector (3, 11d), wherein the fluid connector (3, 11d) is configured to deliver pressurized fluid through one of the first wall (1) and the second wall (2) and into the interior gap (at 17), wherein the delivered fluid (17) is operative to increase strength of the frame component (5) (figs. 11, 12A-12C, [0098], [0102] and [0103).
Claim 28:
Kojima discloses the apparatus according to claim 27 wherein at least one of the at least one metal sheet (1), and the at least one further metal sheet (2) it is permanently deformed responsive to the delivered fluid (figs. 11, 12A-12C, [0098], [0102] and [0103).
Claim 32:
Kojima discloses a method (abstract) comprising:
joining in engaged relation a first wall (100) comprising at least one metal sheet and a second wall (102) comprising at least one further metal sheet of a frame component (109) configured to be integrated in a vehicle structure such that the first wall (100) and the second wall (102) bound a hermetically sealed interior gap that extends between the walls (figs. 1A-1D, [0004] and [0007]);
subsequent to joining delivering via a fluid connector (101), pressurized fluid into the interior gap through the first wall (100) or the second wall (102), wherein the delivered fluid is to increase strength of the frame component (109) (figs. 1A-1D, [0004] and [0007]).
Claim 33:
Kojima discloses the method according to claim 32 wherein in (b) at least one of the first wall (100) and the second wall (102) are permanently deformed responsive to the delivered fluid (figs 1A-1D, [0005] and [0029]).
Claim 32:
In an alternative, Kojima discloses a method (abstract) comprising:
joining in engaged relation a first wall (1) comprising at least one metal sheet and a second wall (2) comprising at least one further metal sheet of a frame component (5) configured to be integrated in a vehicle structure such that the first wall (1) and the second wall (2) bound a hermetically sealed interior gap (at 17) that extends between the walls (figs. 11, 12A-12C, [0098], [0102] and [0103);
subsequent to joining delivering via a fluid connector (3, 11d), pressurized fluid (17) into the interior gap through the first wall (1) or the second wall (2), wherein the delivered fluid (17) is operative to increase strength of the frame component (5) (figs. 11, 12A-12C, [0098], [0102] and [0103).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-11 and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kreth (DE 19506160-A1) as provided by (DE 19506160-A1) machine translation as an English language equivalent in view of Kojima (US 2002/0166222 A1).
Claim 1:
Kreth discloses an apparatus ([0001]) comprising:
a frame component (1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11) configured to be integrated in a vehicle structure, including first and second walls comprising metal sheets (aluminum) wherein the second wall includes a portion that is disposed away from the first wall thereby forming a gap between the first wall and the second wall (figs. 1-5, [0026] – see also annotated reproduction of fig. 4, below).
Kreth fails to disclose a fluid connector configured to deliver pressurized fluid received through the connector into a gap through one of the first wall and the second wall, wherein the delivered fluid is to increase strength of the frame component. Instead, Kreth discloses the apparatus may be manufactured by hydroforming (figs. 1-5, [0011] and [0026]).
Kojima discloses an apparatus (figs. 1A-1D, [0004]-[0007]) comprising:
a frame component (109 and/or 30) configured to be integrated in a vehicle structure (figs. 1A-1D, [0007] and [0023] – see also vehicle panel applications discussed throughout Kojima), including a first wall (100) comprising a metal sheet (figs. 1A-1D, [0004]), a second wall (102) comprising a metal sheet and includes a portion that is disposed away from the first wall (100), wherein in the first wall (100) and the second wall (102) are hermetically sealed in operative connection with one another (figs. 1A-1D, [0004], see also bonded blanks welded along a closed curve figs. 10A-10C and 12A-12C, [0080] and [0082]);
wherein a sealed interior gap that extends between the first wall (100) and the second wall (102) (figs. 1A-1D, [0004]);
a fluid connector (101), wherein the fluid connector (101) is configured to deliver pressurized fluid received through the connector into the sealed interior gap through one or more of the first wall (100) and the second wall (102), wherein the delivered fluid (107) is to increase strength of the frame component (109) (figs. 1A-1D, [0004] and [0007]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to improve the apparatus of Kreth by providing a fluid connection as taught by Kojima in order to provide a means of delivering the required hydraulic pressurized fluid in the Kreth hydroforming process. See MPEP § 2143 A which describes the prima facie obviousness of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. The results would have been predictable because both prior art references are drawn to manufacturing automotive components using a hydroforming manufacturing process.
Claim 2:
Kreth in view of Kojima renders obvious the apparatus according to claim 1 wherein at least one of the first wall and the second wall is permanently deformed responsive to the delivered fluid (Kreth, figs 1-5, [0010]) and Kojima, figs 1A-1D, [0005] and [0029]).
Claim 7:
Kreth in view of Kojima renders obvious the apparatus according to claim 1 wherein one of the first wall and the second wall includes a plurality of different regions, wherein the one of the first wall and the second wall has a respective transverse wall thickness in each of the respective regions, wherein a respective first transverse wall thickness in a first region differs from a respective second transverse wall thickness in a second region (variable wall thicknesses) (Kreth, [0010]).
Claim 8:
Kreth in view of Kojima renders obvious the apparatus according to claim 1 wherein the first wall includes a plurality of first wall regions, wherein each respective first wall region has a respective first wall transverse thickness, wherein a respective first wall transverse thickness in one first wall region differs from a respective first wall transverse thickness in another first wall region that is disposed away from the one first wall region, wherein the second wall includes a plurality of second wall regions, wherein each respective second wall region has a respective second wall transverse thickness, wherein a respective second wall transverse thickness in one second wall region differs from a respective second wall transverse thickness in another second wall region that is disposed away from the one second wall region (variable wall thicknesses) (Kreth, [0010]).
Claim 9:
Kreth in view of Kojima renders obvious the apparatus according to claim 1 wherein at least one of the first wall and the second wall includes a permanently deformed flattened outer surface responsive to the delivered fluid and an external adjacent pressure plate (Kreth, figs 1-5, [0010] and Kojima, fig. 22C, [0146]).
Claim 10:
Kreth in view of Kojima renders obvious the apparatus according to claim 1 wherein the delivered fluid comprises petroleum based liquid (Kojima, [0106]).
Claim 11:
Kreth in view of Kojima renders obvious the apparatus according to claim 1 and further comprising: at least one vehicle structure (Kreth, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15), wherein the at least one vehicle structure (Kreth, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15) includes the frame component (Kreth, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15), wherein the at least one vehicle structure (Kreth, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15) includes one or more of a vehicle side frame (Kreth, A-pillar, 8), a vehicle floor member (Kreth, front frame module), and a vehicle frame longitudinal member (Kreth, roof frame) (Kreth, figs. 1-5, [0012] and [0026]).
Claim 25:
Kreth in view of Kojima renders obvious the apparatus according to claim 1 and further comprising: at least one vehicle structure (Kreth, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15), wherein the at least one vehicle structure (Kreth, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15) includes at least two of a vehicle side frame (Kreth, A-pillar, 8), a vehicle floor member (Kreth, front frame module), and a vehicle frame longitudinal member (Kreth, roof frame) (Kreth, figs. 1-5, [0012] and [0026]); wherein each of the at least two of the vehicle side frame, the vehicle floor member, and the vehicle frame longitudinal member includes a respective frame component (Kreth, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15) (Kreth, figs. 1-5, [0012] and [0026]).
Claim 26:
Kreth in view of Kojima renders obvious the apparatus according to claim 1 and further comprising: at least one vehicle structure (Kreth, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15), wherein the at least one vehicle structure (Kreth, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15) includes each of a vehicle side frame (Kreth, A-pillar, 8), a vehicle floor member (Kreth, front frame module), and a vehicle frame longitudinal member (Kreth, roof frame) (Kreth, figs. 1-5, [0012] and [0026]); wherein each of the vehicle side frame, the vehicle floor member, and the vehicle frame longitudinal member includes a respective frame component (Kreth, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15) (Kreth, figs. 1-5, [0012] and [0026]).
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kojima (US 2002/0166222 A1).
Claim 3:
Embodiment 12A-12C of Kojima discloses the apparatus according to claim 1; and Embodiment 12A-12C of Kojima fails to disclose the frame component further including: a hermetically sealed pocket within the interior gap. Embodiment 22A-22C of Kojima discloses a hermetically sealed pocket (2a) within the interior gap (figs. 22A-22C, [0105], [0146] through [0148]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to improve the apparatus of embodiment 12A-12C of Kojima by providing a pocket as taught by embodiment 22A-22C of Kojima in order to provide a pocket for an O-ring (Kojima, [0149]). See MPEP §2143 A which describes the prima facie obviousness of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 4:
Embodiment 12A-12C of Kojima discloses the apparatus according to claim 1; and Embodiment 12A-12C of Kojima fails to disclose the frame component further including: a hermetically sealed pocket within the interior gap, wherein the pocket has a pocket interior area, wherein the fluid connector is configured to deliver the fluid into the pocket interior area. Embodiment 22A-22C of Kojima discloses a hermetically sealed pocket (2a) within the interior gap, wherein the pocket (2a) has a pocket interior area, wherein the fluid connector is configured to deliver the fluid (17) into the pocket interior area (figs. 22A-22C, [0105], [0146] through [0148]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to improve the apparatus of embodiment 12A-12C of Kojima by providing a pocket as taught by embodiment 22A-22C of Kojima in order to provide a pocket for an O-ring (Kojima, [0149]). See MPEP §2143 A which describes the prima facie obviousness of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 5:
Embodiment 12A-12C of Kojima discloses the apparatus according to claim 1; and Embodiment 12A-12C of Kojima fails to disclose the frame component further including: a hermetically sealed pocket within the interior gap, wherein the pocket has a pocket interior area bounded by a pocket wall, wherein the fluid connector is configured to deliver the fluid into the pocket interior area, wherein the pocket wall is permanently deformed responsive to the delivered fluid. Embodiment 22A-22C of Kojima discloses a hermetically sealed pocket (2a) within the interior gap, wherein the pocket (2a) has a pocket interior area bounded by a pocket wall, wherein the fluid connector is configured to deliver fluid (17) into the pocket interior area, wherein the pocket wall is permanently deformed responsive to the delivered fluid (figs. 22A-22C, [0105], [0146] through [0148] – see also annotated reproduction of fig. 22C, below). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to improve the apparatus of embodiment 12A-12C of Kojima by providing a pocket as taught by embodiment 22A-22C of Kojima in order to provide a pocket for an O-ring (Kojima, [0149]). See MPEP §2143 A which describes the prima facie obviousness of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kojima as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jones (US 3,910,087).
Claim 6:
Kojima discloses the apparatus according to claim 1; and Kojima fails to disclose the fluid connector is in connection with a check valve, wherein the check valve is configured to prevent fluid flow out of the gap.
Jones discloses control and operation of a hydroformer (col. 7, lines 30-32) wherein the hydroformer comprises a fluid connector (70) in operative connection with a check valve (15) (fig. 1, col. 4, lines 22-30). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to improve the apparatus of Kojima by providing a check valve as taught by Jones in order to provide control and operation of the hydroformer (Jones, col. 7, lines 30-32). See MPEP §2143 A which describes the prima facie obviousness of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claims 12-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kreth in view of Kojima as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Koenig (WO 97/09225).
Claim 12:
Kreth in view of Kojima renders obvious the apparatus according to claim 1 and further comprising: at least one vehicle structure (Kreth, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15), wherein the at least one vehicle structure (Kreth, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15) includes one or more of a vehicle side frame (Kreth, A-pillar, 8), a vehicle floor member (Kreth, front frame module), and a vehicle frame longitudinal member (Kreth, roof frame) (Kreth, figs. 1-5, [0012] and [0026]); wherein the vehicle side frame includes a roof portion (Kreth, top portion of 11) and a front pillar portion (Kreth, A-pillar, 8). Kreth in view of Kojima fails to disclose a rear pillar portion, and a sill portion, each of which bound a vehicle access opening. Instead, Kreth in view of Kojima discloses individual frame elements can preferably be prefabricated to form substructures – i.e. frame modules. The substructures such as the front and rear frames, passenger cell frame, chassis frame and roof frame are assembled from frame and node elements as described (Kreth, [0012]).
Koenig discloses a lightweight vehicle body (page 3, lines 1-5) further comprising a side frame including a rear pillar portion (38) and a sill portion (32) (page 11, lines 15-22). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to improve the apparatus of Kreth in view of Kojima by providing a rear pillar portion and a sill portion as taught by Koenig in order to provide a complete body-in-white comprising the Kreth substructures such as the front and rear frames, passenger cell frame, chassis frame and roof frame (Kreth, [0012] and Koenig, page 11, lines 15-22).
Claim 13:
Kreth in view of Kojima renders obvious the apparatus according to claim 1 and further comprising: at least one vehicle structure (Kreth, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15), wherein the at least one vehicle structure (Kreth, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15) includes one or more of a vehicle side frame (Kreth, A-pillar, 8), a vehicle floor member (Kreth, front frame module), and a vehicle frame longitudinal member (Kreth, roof frame) (Kreth, figs. 1-5, [0026]);
wherein the vehicle side frame (Kreth, A-pillar, 8), includes the frame component (Kreth, A-pillar, 8), wherein the vehicle side frame includes a roof portion (Kreth, roof frame), a front pillar portion (Kreth, A-pillar, 8). Kreth in view of Kojima fails to disclose a rear pillar portion, a sill portion, and a central pillar portion, wherein the central pillar portion extends intermediate of the front pillar portion and the rear pillar portion, and extends in engaged relation with and between the roof portion and the sill portion. Koenig discloses a lightweight vehicle body (page 3, lines 1-5) further comprising a side frame including a rear pillar portion (38) and a sill portion (32) and a central pillar portion (36), wherein the central pillar portion (36) extends intermediate of the front pillar portion (24) and the rear pillar portion (38), and extends in engaged relation with and between the roof portion (12) and the sill portion (32) (page 11, lines 15-22). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to improve the apparatus of Kreth in view of Kojima by providing a rear pillar portion and a sill portion as taught by Koenig in order to provide a complete body-in-white comprising the Kreth substructures such as the front and rear frames, passenger cell frame, chassis frame and roof frame (Kreth, [0012] and Koenig, page 11, lines 15-22). See MPEP §2143 A which describes the prima facie obviousness of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 14:
Kreth in view of Kojima renders obvious the apparatus according to claim 1 and further comprising: at least one vehicle structure (Kreth, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15), wherein the at least one vehicle structure (Kreth, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15) includes at least one or more of a vehicle side frame (Kreth, A-pillar, 8), a vehicle floor member (Kreth, front frame module), and a vehicle frame longitudinal member (Kreth, roof frame) (Kreth, figs. 1-5, [0026]); and Kreth in view of Kojima fails to disclose wherein the vehicle side frame includes a vehicle access opening bounded by a roof portion, a front pillar portion, a rear pillar portion, a sill portion, and a central pillar portion, wherein the central pillar portion extends intermediate of the front pillar portion and the rear pillar portion, and extends in engaged relation with and between the roof portion and the sill portion, wherein the central pillar portion includes the frame component. Instead, Kreth in view of Kojima discloses individual frame elements can preferably be prefabricated to form substructures – i.e. frame modules. The substructures such as the front and rear frames, passenger cell frame, chassis frame and roof frame are assembled from frame and node elements as described (Kreth, [0012]). Koenig discloses a lightweight vehicle body (page 3, lines 1-5) further comprising a side frame including a roof portion, a front pillar portion, a rear pillar portion (38) and a sill portion (32) and a central pillar portion (36), wherein the central pillar portion (36) extends intermediate of the front pillar portion (24) and the rear pillar portion (38), and extends in engaged relation with and between the roof portion (12) and the sill portion (32) (page 11, lines 15-22). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to improve the apparatus of Kreth in view of Kojima by providing a rear pillar portion and a sill portion as taught by Koenig in order to provide a complete body-in-white comprising the Kreth substructures such as the front and rear frames, passenger cell frame, chassis frame and roof frame (Kreth, [0012] and Koenig, page 11, lines 15-22). See MPEP §2143 A which describes the prima facie obviousness of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Kreth in view of Kojima and Koenig renders obvious the apparatus according to claim 1; wherein the central pillar portion includes the frame component (Kreth, [0012] and Koenig, page 11, lines 15-22).
Claim 15:
Kreth in view of Kojima renders obvious the apparatus according to claim 1 and further comprising: at least one vehicle structure (Kreth, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15), wherein the at least one vehicle structure (Kreth, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15) includes one or more of a vehicle side frame (Kreth, A-pillar, 8), a vehicle floor member (Kreth, front frame module), and a vehicle frame longitudinal member (Kreth, roof frame) and, wherein the vehicle floor member (Kreth, front frame module) includes the frame component (Kreth, front frame module), wherein the vehicle floor member (Kreth, front frame module) includes a front frame portion (front frame portion) (Kreth, figs. 1-5, [0026]). Kreth in view of Kojima fails to disclose a rear frame portion, a pair of side frame portions, wherein each of the side frame portions extends intermediate of the front frame portion and the rear frame portion, a front bumper portion that extends from the front frame portion, and a rear bumper portion that extends from the rear frame portion. Instead, Kreth in view of Kojima discloses individual frame elements can preferably be prefabricated to form substructures – i.e. frame modules. The substructures such as the front and rear frames, passenger cell frame, chassis frame and roof frame are assembled from frame and node elements as described (Kreth, [0012]). Koenig discloses a lightweight vehicle body (page 3, lines 1-5) further comprising a front frame portion (42), a rear frame portion (22), a pair of side frame portions (14), wherein each of the side frame portions (14) extends intermediate of and is connected to the front frame portion (42) and the rear frame portion (22), a front bumper portion (40) that extends from the front frame portion (42), and a rear bumper portion (205) that extends from the rear frame portion (22) (figs. 1 and 8, page 11, lines 15-22 and page 27, lines 28-32). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to improve the apparatus of Kreth in view of Kojima by providing a pair of side portions as taught by Koenig in order to provide a complete body-in-white comprising the Kreth substructures such as the front and rear frames, passenger cell frame, chassis frame and roof frame (Kreth, [0012] and Koenig, page 11, lines 15-22). See MPEP § 2143 A which describes the prima facie obviousness of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Kreth in view of Kojima and Koenig renders obvious the apparatus according to claim 1; wherein the vehicle floor member includes the frame component (Kreth, [0012] and Koenig, figs. 1 and 8, page 11, lines 15-22 and page 27, lines 28-32).
Claim 16:
Kreth in view of Kojima renders obvious the apparatus according to claim 1 and further comprising: at least one vehicle structure (Kreth, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15), wherein the at least one vehicle structure (Kreth, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15) includes one or more of a vehicle side frame (Kreth, A-pillar, 8), a vehicle floor member (Kreth, front frame module), and a vehicle frame longitudinal member (Kreth, roof frame) and, wherein the vehicle floor member (Kreth, front frame module) includes the frame component (Kreth, front frame module), wherein the vehicle floor member (Kreth, front frame module) includes a front frame portion (front frame module) (Kreth, figs. 1-5, [0026]). Kreth in view of Kojima fails to disclose a rear frame portion, a pair of side frame portions, wherein each of the side frame portions extends intermediate of and is connected to the front frame portion and the rear frame portion, a frame longitudinal rib, wherein the frame longitudinal rib extends transversely intermediate of and is connected to the frame side portions and extends in engagement with each of the front frame portion and the rear frame portion, a front bumper portion that extends from the front frame portion, and a rear bumper portion that extends from the rear frame portion. Instead, Kreth in view of Kojima discloses individual frame elements can preferably be prefabricated to form substructures – i.e. frame modules. The substructures such as the front and rear frames, passenger cell frame, chassis frame and roof frame are assembled from frame and node elements as described (Kreth, [0012]). Koenig discloses a lightweight vehicle body (page 3, lines 1-5) further comprising a front frame portion (42), a rear frame portion (22), a pair of side frame portions (14), wherein each of the side frame portions (14) extends intermediate of and is connected to the front frame portion (42) and the rear frame portion (22), a frame longitudinal rib, wherein the frame longitudinal rib extends transversely intermediate of and is connected to the frame side portions and extends in engagement with each of the front frame portion and the rear frame portion, a front bumper portion (40) that extends from the front frame portion (42), and a rear bumper portion (205) that extends from the rear frame portion (22) (figs. 1 and 8, page 11, lines 15-22 and page 27, lines 28-32 – see also annotated reproduction of fig. 3, below). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to improve the apparatus of Kreth in view of Kojima by providing a pair of side portions as taught by Koenig in order to provide a complete body-in-white comprising the Kreth substructures such as the front and rear frames, passenger cell frame, chassis frame and roof frame (Kreth, [0012] and Koenig, page 11, lines 15-22). See MPEP § 2143 A which describes the prima facie obviousness of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Kreth in view of Kojima and Koenig renders obvious the apparatus according to claim 1; wherein the vehicle floor member includes the frame component (Kreth, [0012] and Koenig, figs. 1 and 8, page 11, lines 15-22 and page 27, lines 28-32).
Claim 17:
Kreth in view of Kojima renders obvious the apparatus according to claim 1 and further comprising: at least one vehicle structure (Kreth, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15), wherein the at least one vehicle structure (Kreth, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15) includes one or more of a vehicle side frame (Kreth, A-pillar, 8), a vehicle floor member (Kreth, front frame module), and a vehicle frame longitudinal member (Kreth, roof frame) and, wherein the vehicle floor member (Kreth, front frame module) includes the frame component (Kreth, front frame module), wherein the vehicle floor member (Kreth, front frame module) includes the frame portion (front frame module) (Kreth, figs. 1-5, [0026]). Kreth in view of Kojima fails to disclose a rear frame portion, a pair of side frame portions, wherein each of the side frame portions extends intermediate of and is connected to the front frame portion and the rear frame portion, a frame transverse rib, wherein the frame transverse rib extends intermediate of and is connected to the front frame portion and rear frame portion and extends in engagement with each of the side frame portions, a front bumper portion that extends from the front frame portion, and a rear bumper portion that extends from the rear frame portion. Instead, Kreth in view of Kojima discloses individual frame elements can preferably be prefabricated to form substructures – i.e. frame modules. The substructures such as the front and rear frames, passenger cell frame, chassis frame and roof frame are assembled from frame and node elements as described (Kreth, [0012]). Koenig discloses a lightweight vehicle body (page 3, lines 1-5) further comprising a front frame portion (42), a rear frame portion (22), a pair of side frame portions (14), wherein each of the side frame portions (14) extends intermediate of and is connected to the front frame portion (42) and the rear frame portion (22), a frame transverse rib (26), wherein the frame transverse rib (26) extends intermediate of and is connected to the front frame portion (42) and rear frame portion (22) and extends in engagement with each of the side frame portions, a front bumper portion (40) that extends from the front frame portion (42), and a rear bumper portion (205) that extends from the rear frame portion (22) (figs. 1 and 8, page 11, lines 15-22 and page 27, lines 28-32). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to improve the apparatus of Kreth in view of Kojima by providing a pair of side portions as taught by Koenig in order to provide a complete body-in-white comprising the Kreth substructures such as the front and rear frames, passenger cell frame, chassis frame and roof frame (Kreth, [0012] and Koenig, page 11, lines 15-22). See MPEP § 2143 A which describes the prima facie obviousness of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Kreth in view of Kojima and Koenig renders obvious the apparatus according to claim 1; wherein the vehicle floor member includes the frame component (Kreth, [0012] and Koenig, figs. 1 and 8, page 11, lines 15-22 and page 27, lines 28-32).
Claim 18:
Kreth in view of Kojima renders obvious the apparatus according to claim 1 and further comprising: at least one vehicle structure (Kreth, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15), wherein the at least one vehicle structure (Kreth, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15) includes one or more of a vehicle side frame (Kreth, A-pillar, 8), a vehicle floor member (Kreth, front frame module), and a vehicle frame longitudinal member (Kreth, roof frame) and, wherein the vehicle floor member (Kreth, front frame module) includes the frame component (Kreth, front frame module), (Kreth, figs. 1-5, [0026]). Kreth in view of Kojima fails to disclose the vehicle floor member includes an annular front frame portion, an annular rear frame portion, a pair of annular side frame portions, wherein each of the side frame portions extends intermediate of and is connected to the front frame portion and the rear frame portion, a annular front bumper portion that extends from the front frame portion, and an annular rear bumper portion that extends from the rear frame portion. Instead, Kreth in view of Kojima discloses individual frame elements can preferably be prefabricated to form substructures – i.e. frame modules. The substructures such as the front and rear frames, passenger cell frame, chassis frame and roof frame are assembled from frame and node elements as described (Kreth, [0012]). Koenig discloses a lightweight vehicle body (page 3, lines 1-5) further comprising an annular front frame portion (168), an annular rear frame portion (frame portion surrounding item 189), a pair of annular side frame portions (210), wherein each of the side frame portions (210) extends intermediate of and is connected to the front frame portion (168) and the rear frame portion (frame portion surrounding item 189), a annular front bumper portion (40) that extends from the front frame portion (168), and an annular rear bumper portion (223) that extends from the rear frame portion (frame portion surrounding item 189), (figs. 1, 8, 26, 29, 30, 32 and 33 page 11, lines 15-22 and page 27, lines 28-32). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to improve the apparatus of Kreth in view of Kojima by providing a pair of side portions as taught by Koenig in order to provide a complete body-in-white comprising the Kreth substructures such as the front and rear frames, passenger cell frame, chassis frame and roof frame (Kreth, [0012] and Koenig, page 11, lines 15-22). See MPEP § 2143 A which describes the prima facie obviousness of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Kreth in view of Kojima and Koenig renders obvious the apparatus according to claim 1; wherein the vehicle floor member includes the frame component (Kreth, [0012] and Koenig, figs. 1, 8, 26, 29, 30, 32 and 33 page 11, lines 15-22 and page 27, lines 28-32).
Claim 19:
Kreth in view of Kojima renders obvious the apparatus according to claim 1 and further comprising: at least one vehicle structure (Kreth, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15), wherein the at least one vehicle structure (Kreth, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15) includes one or more of a vehicle side frame (Kreth, A-pillar, 8), a vehicle floor member (Kreth, front frame module), and a vehicle frame longitudinal member (Kreth, roof frame) and, wherein the vehicle floor member (Kreth, front frame module) includes the frame component (Kreth, front frame module), (Kreth, figs. 1-5, [0026]). Kreth in view of Kojima fails to disclose the vehicle floor member includes a front frame portion, a rear frame portion, a pair of side frame portions, wherein each of the side frame portions extends intermediate of and is connected to the front frame portion and the rear frame portion, a front bumper portion that extends from the front frame portion, and a rear bumper portion that extends from the rear frame portion, wherein one or more of the front frame portion and the rear frame portion comprises an annular frame portion, and further including a reinforcing pillar, wherein the reinforcing pillar extends across the annular frame portion. Instead, Kreth in view of Kojima discloses individual frame elements can preferably be prefabricated to form substructures – i.e. frame modules. The substructures such as the front and rear frames, passenger cell frame, chassis frame and roof frame are assembled from frame and node elements as described (Kreth, [0012]). Koenig discloses a lightweight vehicle body (page 3, lines 1-5) further comprising a vehicle floor member including a front frame portion (42), a rear frame portion (22), a pair of side frame portions (14), wherein each of the side frame portions (14) extends intermediate of and is connected to the front frame portion (42) and the rear frame portion (22), a front bumper portion (40) that extends from the front frame portion (42), and a rear bumper portion (205 or 223) that extends from the rear frame portion (22), wherein one or more of the front frame portion (42) and the rear frame portion (22) comprises an annular frame portion (40 and/or 223), and further including a reinforcing pillar (middle pillar of items 40 and/or 223), wherein the reinforcing pillar extends across the annular frame portion. (figs. 1, 8, 26, 29, 30, 32 and 33 page 11, lines 15-22 and page 27, lines 28-32). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to improve the apparatus of Kreth in view of Kojima by providing a pair of side portions as taught by Koenig in order to provide a complete body-in-white comprising the Kreth substructures such as the front and rear frames, passenger cell frame, chassis frame and roof frame (Kreth, [0012] and Koenig, page 11, lines 15-22). See MPEP § 2143 A which describes the prima facie obviousness of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Kreth in view of Kojima and Koenig renders obvious the apparatus according to claim 1; wherein the vehicle floor member includes the frame component (Kreth, [0012] and Koenig, figs. 1, 8, 26, 29, 30, 32 and 33 page 11, lines 15-22 and page 27, lines 28-32).
Claim 20:
Kreth in view of Kojima renders obvious the apparatus according to claim 1 and further comprising: at least one vehicle structure (Kreth, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15), wherein the at least one vehicle structure (Kreth, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15) includes one or more of a vehicle side frame (Kreth, A-pillar, 8), a vehicle floor member (Kreth, front frame module), and a vehicle frame longitudinal member (Kreth, roof frame) and, wherein the vehicle floor member (Kreth, front frame module) includes the frame component (Kreth, front frame module), (Kreth, figs. 1-5, [0026]). Kreth in view of Kojima fails to disclose the vehicle floor member includes the frame component, wherein the vehicle floor member includes a front frame portion, a rear frame portion, a pair of side frame portions, wherein each of the side frame portions extends intermediate of and is connected to the front frame portion and the rear frame portion, a front bumper portion that extends from the front frame portion, and a rear bumper portion that extends from the rear frame portion, and further comprising: a further vehicle floor member in fixed stacked engagement with the vehicle floor member, wherein the further vehicle floor member includes a further front frame portion, a further rear frame portion, a pair of further side frame portions, wherein each of the further side frame portions extends intermediate of and is connected to the further front frame portion and the further rear frame portion, a further front bumper portion that extends from the front portion, a further rear bumper portion that extends from the rear portion. Instead, Kreth in view of Kojima discloses individual frame elements can preferably be prefabricated to form substructures – i.e. frame modules. The substructures such as the front and rear frames, passenger cell frame, chassis frame and roof frame are assembled from frame and node elements as described (Kreth, [0012]). Koenig discloses a lightweight vehicle body (page 3, lines 1-5) further comprising a vehicle floor member including a front frame portion (160), a rear frame portion (frame portion surrounding item 189), a pair of side frame portions (227, 228), wherein each of the side frame portions (227, 228) extends intermediate of and is connected to the front frame portion (160) and the rear frame portion (frame portion surrounding item 189), a front bumper portion (40) that extends from the front frame portion (160), and a rear bumper portion (236) that extends from the rear frame portion (frame portion surrounding item 189), and further comprising: a further vehicle floor member in fixed stacked engagement with the vehicle floor member, wherein the further vehicle floor member includes a further front frame portion (150), a further rear frame portion (185), a pair of further side frame portions (229, 230), wherein each of the further side frame portions (229, 230) extends intermediate of and is connected to the further front frame portion (150) and the further rear frame portion (185), a further front bumper portion (169) that extends from the front portion (160), a further bumper rear portion (237) that extends from the rear portion. (figs. 1, 8, and 26-33 page 11, lines 15-22 and page 27, lines 28-32). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to improve the apparatus of Kreth in view of Kojima by providing a pair of side portions as taught by Koenig in order to provide a complete body-in-white comprising the Kreth substructures such as the front and rear frames, passenger cell frame, chassis frame and roof frame (Kreth, [0012] and Koenig, page 11, lines 15-22). See MPEP § 2143 A which describes the prima facie obviousness of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Kreth in view of Kojima and Koenig renders obvious the apparatus according to claim 1; wherein the vehicle floor member includes the frame component (Kreth, [0012] and Koenig, figs. 1, 8, 26, 29, 30, 32 and 33 page 11, lines 15-22 and page 27, lines 28-32).
Claim 21:
Kreth in view of Kojima renders obvious the apparatus according to claim 1 and further comprising: at least one vehicle structure (Kreth, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15), wherein the at least one vehicle structure (Kreth, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15) includes one or more of a vehicle side frame (Kreth, A-pillar, 8), a vehicle floor member (Kreth, front frame module), and a vehicle frame longitudinal member (Kreth, roof frame) and, wherein the vehicle floor member (Kreth, front frame module) includes the frame component (Kreth, front frame module), (Kreth, figs. 1-5, [0026]). Kreth in view of Kojima fails to disclose the vehicle frame longitudinal member includes a central portion configured to be positioned in a central area of a vehicle, and a front portion, wherein the front portion is configured to be directed from the central portion toward a front of the vehicle. Instead, Kreth in view of Kojima discloses individual frame elements can preferably be prefabricated to form substructures – i.e. frame modules. The substructures such as the front and rear frames, passenger cell frame, chassis frame and roof frame are assembled from frame and node elements as described (Kreth, [0012]). Koenig discloses a lightweight vehicle body (page 3, lines 1-5) further comprising a vehicle frame longitudinal member including a central portion (174) configured to be positioned in a central area of a vehicle, and a front portion , wherein the front portion (168) is configured to be directed from the central portion (174) toward a front of the vehicle (figs 26-27, page 40, lines 1-9 and page 40, lines 26-30). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to improve the apparatus of Kreth in view of Kojima by providing a central portion and a front portion as taught by Koenig in order to provide a complete body-in-white comprising the Kreth substructures such as the front and rear frames, passenger cell frame, chassis frame and roof frame (Kreth, [0012] and Koenig, page 11, lines 15-22). See MPEP § 2143 A which describes the prima facie obviousness of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Kreth in view of Kojima and Koenig renders obvious the apparatus according to claim 1; wherein the vehicle frame longitudinal member includes the frame component (Kreth, [0012] and Koenig, figs. 26-27, page 40, lines 1-9 and page 40, lines 26-30).
Claim 22:
Kreth in view of Kojima renders obvious the apparatus according to claim 1 and further comprising: at least one vehicle structure (Kreth, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15), wherein the at least one vehicle structure (Kreth, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15) includes one or more of a vehicle side frame (Kreth, A-pillar, 8), a vehicle floor member (Kreth, front frame module), and a vehicle frame longitudinal member (Kreth, roof frame) and, wherein the vehicle floor member (Kreth, front frame module) includes the frame component (Kreth, front frame module), (Kreth, figs. 1-5, [0026]). Kreth in view of Kojima fails to disclose the vehicle frame longitudinal member includes a central portion configured to be positioned in a central area of a vehicle, a front portion, wherein the front portion is configured to be directed from the central portion toward a front of the vehicle, and a rear portion configured to be directed from the central portion toward a rear portion of the vehicle. Instead, Kreth in view of Kojima discloses individual frame elements can preferably be prefabricated to form substructures – i.e. frame modules. The substructures such as the front and rear frames, passenger cell frame, chassis frame and roof frame are assembled from frame and node elements as described (Kreth, [0012]). Koenig discloses a lightweight vehicle body (page 3, lines 1-5) further comprising a vehicle frame longitudinal member including a central portion (174) configured to be positioned in a central area of a vehicle, a front portion, wherein the front portion (168) is configured to be directed from the central portion (174) toward a front of the vehicle and a rear portion (186) configured to be directed from the central portion toward a rear of the vehicle (figs 26-30, page 40, lines 1-9, page 40, lines 15-16, and page 40, lines 26-30). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to improve the apparatus of Kreth in view of Kojima by providing a central portion and a front portion as taught by Koenig in order to provide a complete body-in-white comprising the Kreth substructures such as the front and rear frames, passenger cell frame, chassis frame and roof frame (Kreth, [0012] and Koenig, page 11, lines 15-22). See MPEP § 2143 A which describes the prima facie obviousness of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Kreth in view of Kojima and Koenig renders obvious the apparatus according to claim 1; wherein the vehicle frame longitudinal member includes the frame component (Kreth, [0012] and Koenig, figs. 26-27, page 40, lines 1-9 and page 40, lines 26-30).
Claim 23:
Kreth in view of Kojima renders obvious the apparatus according to claim 1 and further comprising: at least one vehicle structure (Kreth, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15), wherein the at least one vehicle structure (Kreth, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15) includes one or more of a vehicle side frame (Kreth, A-pillar, 8), a vehicle floor member (Kreth, front frame module), and a vehicle frame longitudinal member (Kreth, roof frame) and, wherein the vehicle floor member (Kreth, front frame module) includes the frame component (Kreth, front frame module), (Kreth, figs. 1-5, [0026]). Kreth in view of Kojima fails to disclose the vehicle frame longitudinal member includes a central portion configured to be positioned in a central area of a vehicle, a front portion, wherein the front portion is configured to be directed from the central portion toward a front of the vehicle, and a rear portion configured to be directed from the central portion toward a rear portion of the vehicle, wherein the central portion is configured to extend lower in the vehicle than each of the front portion and the rear portion. Instead, Kreth in view of Kojima discloses individual frame elements can preferably be prefabricated to form substructures – i.e. frame modules. The substructures such as the front and rear frames, passenger cell frame, chassis frame and roof frame are assembled from frame and node elements as described (Kreth, [0012]). Koenig discloses a lightweight vehicle body (page 3, lines 1-5) further comprising a vehicle frame longitudinal member including a central portion (174) configured to be positioned in a central area of a vehicle, a front portion, wherein the front portion (168) is configured to be directed from the central portion (174) toward a front of the vehicle and a rear portion (186) configured to be directed from the central portion toward a rear of the vehicle, wherein the central portion (underbody) is configured to extend lower in the vehicle than each of the front portion and the rear portion (figs 26-30, page 40, lines 1-9, page 40, lines 15-16, and page 40, lines 26-31). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to improve the apparatus of Kreth in view of Kojima by providing a central portion and a front portion as taught by Koenig in order to provide a complete body-in-white comprising the Kreth substructures such as the front and rear frames, passenger cell frame, chassis frame and roof frame (Kreth, [0012] and Koenig, page 11, lines 15-22). See MPEP § 2143 A which describes the prima facie obviousness of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Kreth in view of Kojima and Koenig renders obvious the apparatus according to claim 1; wherein the vehicle frame longitudinal member includes the frame component (Kreth, [0012] and Koenig, figs. 26-27, page 40, lines 1-9 and page 40, lines 26-30).
Claim 24:
Kreth in view of Kojima renders obvious the apparatus according to claim 1 and further comprising: at least one vehicle structure (Kreth, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15), wherein the at least one vehicle structure (Kreth, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15) includes one or more of a vehicle side frame (Kreth, A-pillar, 8), a vehicle floor member (Kreth, front frame module), and a vehicle frame longitudinal member (Kreth, roof frame) and, wherein the vehicle floor member (Kreth, front frame module) includes the frame component (Kreth, front frame module), (Kreth, figs. 1-5, [0026]). Kreth in view of Kojima fails to disclose the vehicle frame longitudinal member includes a central portion configured to be positioned in a central area of a vehicle, a front portion, wherein the front portion is configured to be directed from the central portion toward a front of the vehicle, and a rear portion configured to be directed from the central portion toward a rear portion of the vehicle, at least one annular transition portion, wherein the at least one annular transition portion is positioned intermediate of and is connected to the central portion and one or more of the front portion and the rear portion. Instead, Kreth in view of Kojima discloses individual frame elements can preferably be prefabricated to form substructures – i.e. frame modules. The substructures such as the front and rear frames, passenger cell frame, chassis frame and roof frame are assembled from frame and node elements as described (Kreth, [0012]). Koenig discloses a lightweight vehicle body (page 3, lines 1-5) further comprising a vehicle frame longitudinal member including a central portion (174) configured to be positioned in a central area of a vehicle, a front portion, wherein the front portion (168) is configured to be directed from the central portion (174) toward a front of the vehicle and a rear portion (186) configured to be directed from the central portion toward a rear of the vehicle, at least one annular transition portion (204), wherein the at least one annular transition portion (204) is positioned intermediate of and is connected to the central portion (174) and one or more of the front portion (168) and the rear portion (189) (figs 26-30, page 27, lines 22-25, page 40, lines 1-9, page 40, lines 15-16, and page 40, lines 26-30). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to improve the apparatus of Kreth in view of Kojima by providing a central portion and a front portion as taught by Koenig in order to provide a complete body-in-white comprising the Kreth substructures such as the front and rear frames, passenger cell frame, chassis frame and roof frame (Kreth, [0012] and Koenig, page 11, lines 15-22). See MPEP § 2143 A which describes the prima facie obviousness of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Kreth in view of Kojima and Koenig renders obvious the apparatus according to claim 1; wherein the vehicle frame longitudinal member includes the frame component (Kreth, [0012] and Koenig, figs. 26-27, page 27, lines 22-25, page 40, lines 1-9 and page 40, lines 26-30).
Claims 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kojima (US 2002/0166222 A1).
Claim 29:
Embodiment 12A-12C of Kojima discloses the apparatus according to claim 27; and Embodiment 12A-12C of Kojima fails to disclose a hermetically sealed pocket within the interior gap, wherein the pocket bounds a pocket interior area, wherein the delivered fluid is received in the pocket interior area. Embodiment 22A-22C of Kojima discloses a hermetically sealed pocket (2a) within the interior gap, wherein the pocket (2a) bounds a pocket interior area, wherein the delivered fluid (17) is received in the pocket interior area (figs. 22A-22C, [0105], [0146] through [0148]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to improve the apparatus of embodiment 12A-12C of Kojima by providing a pocket as taught by embodiment 22A-22C of Kojima in order to provide a pocket for an O-ring (Kojima, [0149]). See MPEP §2143 A which describes the prima facie obviousness of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 30:
Embodiment 12A-12C of Kojima discloses the apparatus according to claim 27; and Embodiment 12A-12C of Kojima fails to disclose a hermetically sealed pocket within the interior gap, wherein the pocket includes a pocket wall that bounds a pocket interior area, wherein the delivered fluid is received in the pocket interior area wherein the pocket wall is permanently deformed responsive to the fluid. Embodiment 22A-22C of Kojima discloses a hermetically sealed pocket (2a) within the interior gap, wherein the pocket (2a) includes a pocket wall that bounds a pocket interior area, wherein the delivered fluid (17) is received in the pocket interior area wherein the pocket wall is permanently deformed responsive to the fluid (figs. 22A-22C, [0105], [0146] through [0148] – see also annotated reproduction of fig. 22C, below). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to improve the apparatus of embodiment 12A-12C of Kojima by providing a pocket as taught by embodiment 22A-22C of Kojima in order to provide a pocket for an O-ring (Kojima, [0149]). See MPEP §2143 A which describes the prima facie obviousness of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kojima as applied to claim 27 above, and further in view of Kreth (DE 19506160-A1) as provided by (DE 19506160-A1) machine translation as an English language equivalent.
Claim 31:
Kojima discloses the apparatus according to claim 27; and Kojima fails to disclose one or more of the at least one metal sheet, and the at least one further metal sheet, has a nonuniform transverse wall thickness. Kreth discloses an apparatus ([0001]) comprising a frame component (1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11) configured to be integrated in a vehicle structure, including first and second walls comprising metal sheets (aluminum) wherein the second wall includes a portion that is disposed away from the first wall thereby forming a gap between the first wall and the second wall (figs. 1-5, [0026] – see also annotated reproduction of fig. 4, above); wherein one or more of the at least one metal sheet, and the at least one further metal sheet, has a nonuniform transverse wall thickness ([0010]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to improve the apparatus of Kojima by providing a nonuniform transverse wall thickness as taught by Kreth since it was known that a hydroforming manufacturing process may provide variable wall thicknesses, bulges and shapes that cannot be realized with conventional forming processes (Kreth, [0010]). See MPEP § 2143 A which describes the prima facie obviousness of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claims 34-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kojima (US 2002/0166222 A1).
Claim 34:
Embodiment 12A-12C of Kojima discloses the method according to claim 32; and Embodiment 12A-12C of Kojima fails to disclose the first wall and the second wall are joined with a hermetically sealed pocket extending in the interior gap, and the fluid is delivered into a pocket interior area of the pocket. Embodiment 22A-22C of Kojima discloses the first wall (1) and the second wall (2) are joined with a hermetically sealed pocket (2a) extending in the interior gap, and the fluid (17) is delivered into a pocket interior area of the pocket (figs. 22A-22C, [0105], [0146] through [0148]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to improve the apparatus of embodiment 12A-12C of Kojima by providing a pocket as taught by embodiment 22A-22C of Kojima in order to provide a pocket for an O-ring (Kojima, [0149]). See MPEP §2143 A which describes the prima facie obviousness of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 35:
Embodiment 12A-12C of Kojima discloses the method according to claim 32; and Embodiment 12A-12C of Kojima fails to disclose the first wall and the second wall are joined with a hermetically sealed pocket extending in the interior gap, and the fluid is delivered into a pocket interior area of the pocket and at least one pocket wall bounding the pocket is permanently deformed responsive to the delivered fluid. Embodiment 22A-22C of Kojima discloses the first wall and the second wall are joined with a hermetically sealed pocket (2a) extending in the interior gap, and the fluid is deliver into a pocket interior area of the pocket wherein the pocket (2a) includes a pocket wall that bounds a pocket interior area, wherein the delivered fluid (17) is received in the pocket interior area wherein the pocket wall is permanently deformed responsive to the fluid (figs. 22A-22C, [0105], [0146] through [0148] – see also annotated reproduction of fig. 22C, below). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to improve the apparatus of embodiment 12A-12C of Kojima by providing a pocket as taught by embodiment 22A-22C of Kojima in order to provide a pocket for an O-ring (Kojima, [0149]). See MPEP §2143 A which describes the prima facie obviousness of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 37 is allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 37:
The prior art of record fails to disclose or fairly suggest a method comprising delivering pressurized fluid into an interior gap of a frame component and integrating the frame component in the vehicle structure with the fluid remaining within the sealed interior gap.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 23 December 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
No Frame Component Of A Vehicle Structure:
Regarding claims 1, 27, and 32, Applicant argues that the prior art fails to disclose a frame component specifically configured to be integrated into a vehicle structure. This is not persuasive because the claimed “frame component configured to be integrated into a vehicle structure” is broadly recited and does not require any specific structural modification beyond suitability for use in a vehicle. Kojima discloses a double sheet metal structure formed into a hollow structural member which, by its nature, is suitable for use as a load-bearing or reinforcing component. One of ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize such formed sheet metal structures as usable in vehicle structures, including as frame components. The claim does not require that the reference explicitly identify the structure as a “frame component,” only that it is capable of such use. Accordingly, Kojima teaches or at least suggests the claimed frame component.
No Second Wall With A Portion Disposed Away From A First Wall (Including "Immediately Upon Being Sealed" and "Sealed Interior Gap"):
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues that the prior art does not teach a second wall having a portion disposed away from the first wall that forms a sealed interior gap immediately upon hermetic sealing. This is not persuasive because Applicant’s argument improperly focuses on the condition of the walls at the moment of sealing rather than the resulting structure of the apparatus. The recitation “immediately upon being hermetically sealed” describes the timing of formation of the gap and does not impose a structural limitation on the final apparatus. Kojima discloses that upon application of internal fluid pressure, the walls move apart to form a hollow interior region between the walls. This results in a structure in which a portion of one wall is disposed away from the other wall and a sealed interior gap extends between the walls. The final structure of Kojima is therefore the same as that recited in the claim, regardless of whether the gap is formed at the moment of sealing or subsequently. Accordingly, Kojima teaches the claimed relationship between the walls and the sealed interior gap.
No Fluid Connector That Delivers Pressurized Fluid Into The Sealed Interior Gap:
Regarding claims 1 and 27, Applicant argues that the prior art does not disclose a connector configured to deliver pressurized fluid into a pre-existing hermetically sealed interior gap. This is not persuasive because the claim does not require that the interior gap be pre-existing prior to delivery of the fluid, but only that pressurized fluid is delivered into the sealed interior region between the walls. Kojima expressly discloses introducing pressurized fluid between the welded sheets to expand the structure, thereby delivering fluid into the interior region defined by the walls. The fact that the gap is formed or expanded by the introduced fluid does not negate that the fluid is delivered into the space between the walls. Accordingly, Kojima teaches a fluid connector delivering pressurized fluid into the interior gap as broadly claimed.
No Delivered Fluid Operative To Increase Strength Of The Frame Component:
Regarding claims 1, 27, and 32, Applicant argues that the prior art fails to teach that the delivered fluid is operative to increase the strength of the frame component. This is not persuasive because Kojima discloses forming a hollow structure by internal pressurization, which inherently results in a structural member having increased resistance to deformation compared to a flat or unformed sheet. The formation of a hollow, expanded geometry is well understood in the art to improve structural rigidity and strength. Thus, the introduced pressurized fluid is operative to create and define the final geometry that provides increased resistance to deformation. The claim does not require that the fluid remain within the structure after formation or that the fluid itself directly provides ongoing reinforcement. Accordingly, Kojima teaches or at least renders obvious the recited functional relationship.
No Hermetically Sealed Interior Gap Extending Between The First Wall And The Second Wall:
Regarding claim 27, Applicant argues that the prior art does not disclose first and second sheet metal walls bounding a hermetically sealed interior gap. This is not persuasive because Kojima discloses two sheet metal members welded together at their peripheries, thereby forming a sealed structure. Upon expansion, a hollow interior region is created between the walls. The welded periphery defines a hermetically sealed boundary, and the interior region between the walls constitutes the claimed interior gap. Accordingly, Kojima teaches a hermetically sealed interior gap extending between the first and second walls.
No Joining A First Wall And A Second Wall To Bound A Hermetically Sealed Interior Gap... Prior To Delivery Of Pressurized Fluid:
Regarding claim 32, Applicant argues that the prior art does not teach joining the walls to form a hermetically sealed interior gap prior to delivery of pressurized fluid. This is not persuasive because Kojima discloses welding the sheets together prior to the introduction of fluid. The welding step establishes a sealed boundary between the sheets. While the interior space may initially be minimal or undeformed, the structure is nonetheless sealed prior to fluid introduction. The subsequent introduction of fluid expands this sealed region. The claim does not require that the gap be fully formed or expanded prior to fluid delivery, only that the walls are joined in a hermetically sealed manner. Accordingly, Kojima teaches the claimed sequence.
No Delivery Of Pressurized Fluid Into A Previously Formed Hermetically Sealed Interior Gap:
Regarding claim 32, Applicant argues that the prior art only creates a gap as a result of fluid pressure rather than delivering fluid into a previously formed gap. This is not persuasive because the claim does not require that the gap be fully formed prior to fluid delivery, but only that fluid is delivered into the sealed interior region between the walls. In Kojima, fluid is introduced into the sealed space between the welded sheets, and that space is expanded by the fluid. Whether the gap is initially minimal or subsequently enlarged does not distinguish the claimed method. The fluid is still delivered into the sealed interior region as required by the claim.
No Frame Component... Comprised Of A First Wall... And A Second Wall... In Hermetically Sealed Operative Connection:
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues that the prior art fails to disclose a frame component comprised of first and second walls in hermetically sealed operative connection, asserting that Kreth utilizes single-wall extruded members. This is not persuasive because Kojima, which is applied in the rejection, clearly discloses first and second sheet metal walls that are welded together to form a sealed structure. The combination of references teaches or suggests the claimed configuration. Even if Kreth alone discloses a single-wall structure, Kojima provides the teaching of a two-wall hermetically sealed configuration, and it would have been obvious to utilize such known sheet metal forming techniques to achieve the desired structural characteristics. Accordingly, the combination of the references teaches the claimed structure.
Prima Facie Obviousness Has Not Been Established:
Regarding claim 1 and claims 3–9, 12–26, and 31, Applicant argues that the Office has failed to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. This is not persuasive because the Office has identified specific structural features disclosed in the applied references and has articulated a reasoned basis for combining such teachings. As set forth above, Kojima teaches a structure including first and second walls in hermetically sealed operative connection that define an interior region, and Kreth teaches vehicle structural components. The combination of these teachings yields the claimed frame component configured for use in a vehicle structure. The rejection is supported by articulated reasoning with rational underpinning, including the predictable use of known structural forming techniques to achieve known benefits such as strength and rigidity. Accordingly, a prima facie case of obviousness has been properly established.
The Proposed Modification Of Kreth Would Change The Principles Of Operation:
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues that modifying Kreth in view of Kojima would change the principle of operation of Kreth. This is not persuasive because the proposed combination does not alter the fundamental operation of Kreth, but rather applies a known alternative structural configuration to achieve the same purpose. Kreth is directed to vehicle structural members, and Kojima teaches a known technique for forming hollow, sheet-based structures with improved strength characteristics. Substituting or incorporating such a known structural configuration into the vehicle components of Kreth represents the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions. The principle of operation of Kreth, providing structural support within a vehicle, is maintained. Accordingly, the proposed combination does not change the principle of operation.
No Reason To Combine Features:
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues that there is no reason or motivation to combine the teachings of Kreth and Kojima. This is not persuasive because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply known forming techniques, such as those taught by Kojima, to vehicle structural components such as those disclosed in Kreth in order to achieve predictable improvements in strength, stiffness, and weight reduction. Both references are directed to structural components and forming techniques within related fields, and the combination merely involves the application of a known technique to a known structure for its intended purpose. Such a combination would have been within the ordinary skill in the art and does not require impermissible hindsight. Accordingly, the motivation to combine is adequately supported.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Marando (US 5,816,089) discloses a hydroforming apparatus.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Lee A Holly/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726