DETAILED ACTION
Application 18/127,427, “BATTERY PACK”, was filed with the USPTO on 3/28/2023 and has a foreign priority document of JP2022-056563 filed on 3/30/2022.
This office action is in response to communication filed on 3/28/2023.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 18/127,427, filed on 3/28/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 3/28/2023 and 3/4/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements (IDS) are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the two surfaces of the second conductive coupling member" in line 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “and extending in a vertical direction” in line 7-8. It is not clear if the limitation refers to “and openings extending in a vertical direction” or “and the cell terminals extending in a vertical direction”.
For examination purposes the aforementioned recitation has been interpreted as “and openings extending in a vertical direction”.
Claim 4 is rejected as it depends on Claim 3, and therefore incorporate the claimed subject matter from claims rejected under this statute.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2016/0197332 A1, provided on the IDS dated 3/4/2024).
Regarding Claim 1, Lee et al. teaches a battery pack (100, Fig. 3) disposed under a floor of a vehicle, the battery pack (100, Fig. 3) comprising:
a plurality of laminated cells (10, Fig. 1, see [0057], [0058]) stacked in a horizontal direction (see [0058]); and
a battery case (120/121, Fig. 3) accommodating the plurality of laminated cells (10, Fig. 1, see [0058], [0061]), wherein: the plurality of laminated cells (10, Fig. 1) are divided into at least a first cell group (110, Fig. 3) and a second cell group (110’, Fig. 3);
the first cell group (110, Fig. 3) and the second cell group (110’, Fig. 3) are spaced apart (by 132/134, Fig. 3);
the battery case includes a frame member (frame member (side frame of 120), Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 5) disposed between the first cell group (110, Fig. 5) and the second cell group (110’, Fig. 5);
the first cell group (110, Fig. 3) and the second cell group (110’, Fig. 3) are electrically coupled (110 and 110’ electrically interconnected by 132/134, see [0060]) by a conductive coupling member (132/134 along with 140 and 142, Fig. 3);
the conductive coupling member (132/134 along with 140 and 142, Fig. 3) includes:
first conductive coupling members (two 140s, Fig. 3) coupled to cell terminals of the first cell group (140 coupled to 134 coupled to 114 of 110, see [0065], [0072]) and the second cell group (140 coupled to 134 coupled to 114’ of 110’, see [0065], [0072]), respectively; and
a second conductive coupling member (142, Fig. 3) being plate-shaped and coupling the first conductive coupling members (140, Fig. 3);
the second conductive coupling member (142, Fig. 8) includes:
a bridge portion (bridge portion, Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8-1) facing an upper surface of the frame member (upper surface of frame member, Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 5);
a coupling portion (coupling portion, Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8-1) coupled to the first conductive coupling member (140, Fig. 8); and
a connecting portion (connecting portion, Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8-1) connecting the bridge portion (bridge portion, Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8-1) and the coupling portion (coupling portion, Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8-1); and
the coupling portion (coupling portion, Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8-1) is disposed below (see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8-1) the upper surface of the frame member (upper surface of frame member, Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 2, Lee et al. teaches wherein
surfaces of the first conductive coupling member (surface of first conductive coupling member, Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8-2) and the second conductive coupling member (one surface, Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8-2) facing each other in a vertical direction (see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8-2) are fixed to each other by bolts (136, Fig. 8, see [0073]).
Regarding Claim 3, Lee et al. teaches wherein:
the coupling portion of the second conductive coupling member (coupling portion (dotted line), Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8-2) has two surfaces (one surface, other surface, Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8-2) spaced apart in the vertical direction (see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8-2); and
the first conductive coupling member (140, Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8-2) is disposed between the two surfaces of the second conductive coupling member (between one surface and other surface, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2016/0197332 A1, provided on the IDS dated 3/4/2024) in view of Tarui (JP2021129412A, see machine translation for citation).
Regarding Claim 4, Lee et al. does not teach wherein the two surfaces of the second conductive coupling member have a receiving port formed such that a distance between the two surfaces increases as the two surfaces are away from bolt holes in an insertion direction of the first conductive coupling member.
However, Tarui teaches wherein
the two surfaces (upper surface and lower surface, Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3) of the second conductive coupling member (20, Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3) have a receiving port (receiving port, Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3) formed such that a distance between the two surfaces (A1, A2, Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3) increases as the two surfaces are away from bolt holes (left side 21b, Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3) in an insertion direction (Z direction, Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3) of the first conductive coupling member (30, Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the second conductive coupling member taught by Lee et al. such that the two surfaces of the second conductive coupling member have a receiving port formed such that a distance between the two surfaces increases as the two surfaces are away from bolt holes in an insertion direction of the first conductive coupling member as taught by Tarui because insulating structure can be easily attached to the receiving port of such second conductive coupling member (see Tarui last sentence [0057]).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2016/0197332 A1, provided on the IDS dated 3/4/2024) in view of Choi et al. (US 2011/0076546 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Lee et al. does not teach wherein: at least a part of the second conductive coupling member is covered with an insulating cover; and the insulating cover includes a fitting portion which fits into the frame member.
However, Choi et al. teaches wherein:
at least a part of the second conductive coupling member (a part of second conductive coupling member, Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2) is covered with an insulating cover (160, Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2); and
the insulating cover (160, Fig. 8) includes a fitting portion (164, Fig. 8) which fits into the frame member (150, Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2; 150 inserted through 164, see [0069]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to add an insulating cover as taught by Choi et al. onto the second conductive coupling member taught by Lee et al. such that wherein: at least a part of the second conductive coupling member is covered with an insulating cover; and the insulating cover includes a fitting portion which fits into the frame member to prevent the occurrence of a short circuit (see Choi [0008], [0035], [0072]).
Regarding Claim 6, Lee et al. teaches wherein:
the cell terminals (112/114, Fig. 5) of the first cell group (110, Fig. 5) and (112’/114’, Fig. 5) the second cell group (110’, Fig. 5), which are electrically coupled (112/112’ coupled to 132, 114/114’ coupled to 134, see [0065]; 134/132 coupled to 140, see [0062]) to the first conductive coupling member (140, Fig. 8), extend toward a frame member (112’/114’ toward frame member, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 5) side; and
the first conductive coupling member (140, Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8-3) includes:
a cell coupling portion (cell coupling portion, Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8-3) being plate-shaped (see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8-3);
a coupling portion (coupling portion, Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8-3) coupled to the coupling portion of the second conductive coupling member (coupling portion, Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8-1, 8-2); and
a connecting portion (connecting portion, Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8-3) connecting the cell coupling portion (cell coupling portion, Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8-3) and the coupling portion (coupling portion, Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 8-3).
Lee et al. does not teach the cell coupling portion having openings through which the cell terminals are inserted and extending in a vertical direction.
However, Choi et al. teaches the cell coupling portion (120/130, Fig. 5) having openings (125/135, Fig. 5) through which the cell terminals (212/214, Fig. 1) are inserted (see [0056]) and extending in a vertical direction (see Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to add openings as taught by Choi et al. onto the cell coupling portion of the first conductive coupling member taught by Lee et al. such that the cell coupling portion having openings through which the cell terminals are inserted and extending in a vertical direction to achieve electrical connection between the electrode terminals of the battery cells (see Choi [0019]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2016/0197332 A1, provided on the IDS dated 3/4/2024) in view of Satou (US 2017/0263981 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Lee et al. does not teach wherein the laminated cells are solid-state batteries.
However, Satou teaches wherein the laminated cells (100c, Fig. 3) are solid-state batteries (all-solid-state battery, see [0048]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the laminated cells taught by Lee et al. to be all-solid-state battery as taught by Satou because all-solid-state lithium-ion rechargeable batteries use a solid electrolyte which is nonflammable and thus improves heat resistance and fire resistance (see Satou [0004], [0005]).
Relevant or Related Art
The prior art made of record and not replied upon is considered pertinent to application’s disclosure, though not necessarily pertinent to applicant’s invention as claimed.
(Lin) US 2025/0105424 A1: output pole and busbar (Fig. 13, 14)
(Pak) US 2023/0073204 A1: conductive member (Fig. 8)
(Park) US 2011/0091763 A1: insulating and slits (Fig. 1, 5)
(Sakamoto) US 2023/0307772 A1: identical Fig. 1, 2 as in this application
(Sakamoto) US 2023/0307796 A1: identical Fig. 1, 2 as in this application
Conclusion
/NING CHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723