DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 8, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regard to claim 1, Applicant submits that the cited prior art does not teach the amendments to the claim. Remarks, pp. 10-12.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 USC §103 over a combination of Roberts et al. (US 2016/0127789), Thomas et al. (US 9866888), Matsunaga et al. (US 2018/0027284), and Christie et al. (US 2018/0295403).
Christie teaches:
identifying, by a first content service, a first plurality of content items available from the first content service on a user device ([0039], “In various embodiments, the primary subscription may be to Apple TV (or iTunes or a similar service) in which case Apple TV may be referred to as the ‘primary provider’, and the other multiple service providers may be referred to as ‘secondary providers’.” [0040], “For example, FIG. 2 illustrates the television 100 and display 102 of FIG. 1 with like items having identical reference numerals. FIG. 2 illustrates that the content identified within bar 106 corresponds to different subscription based services 200. For example,…season 2 (Sea. 2) is available from the Apple iTunes® service 204….” Fig. 2),
wherein the first content service is an on-demand content service ([0040], “In the example shown, a viewer of the display 102 has a subscription to a service provided by the source of the display 102. For example, the viewer may have a subscription to an Apple TV® (the primary subscription). … In such an embodiment, whether the viewer selects to view episode 3 or episode 4 of season 3 (each of which corresponds to a different provider and subscription), or any of the other content shown in block 106, the content will be provided by the Apple TV service.” [0067], “Display 1600 is shown displaying video content 1601 that is streamed from a subscription based service provider (e.g., Apple TV).”);
identifying, by the first content service, a second content service that is linked to the first content service on the user device ([0042], “Each of the providers 402-410 are shown coupled to the algorithm 420 by a line. In the embodiment shown, a line coupled from a provider 402-410 to the selection algorithm indicates that the primary subscription based service (Apple TV) provides content corresponding to the given provider (e.g., based on an agreement between the primary subscription service provider and the secondary subscription service provider).” [0051], “While the embodiment of FIG. 6 contemplates a primary subscription provider and multiple secondary subscription providers 620, the viewing experience provided to the viewer is generally managed solely by the primary subscription provider.”),
wherein the second content service is a linear content service ([0049], “As an example, a viewer may have a cable television subscription (secondary subscription). In addition, the viewer may have a subscription to the service provider associated with the data store (e.g., an iTunes account or similar subscription). The cable television operator (e.g., as shown as a provider 620) broadcasts video content, such as live television and video-on-demand content, 24 hours a day.”);
determining, by the first content service, whether content items of the second plurality of content items are available from the second content service ([0052], “To further enhance the viewer's experience, complications associated with managing secondary subscriptions may be managed through the primary subscription. For example, the primary subscription provider may identify content available to a viewer via a secondary subscription.”);
scheduling, by the first content service, a recording of the content items of the second plurality of content items at the second content service ([0040], “the Apple TV service has recorded or otherwise obtained and aggregated content corresponding to all of the sources/providers shown in block 200.” [0049], “Data store 600 is configured to record and/or otherwise capture all content broadcast/provided by the cable television operator and store the content as part of the data store 640.”).
Considering Christie with the combination, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination to include identifying, by a first content service, the first plurality of content items available from the first content service on a user device, wherein the first content service is an on-demand content service, identifying, by the first content service, a second content service that is linked to the first content service on the user device, wherein the second content service is a linear content service, determining, by the first content service, whether content items of the second plurality of content items are available from the second content service, and scheduling, by the first content service, a recording of the content items of the second plurality of content items at the second content service. The modification would serve to facilitate aggregation of preferred content from multiple sources. The modification would additionally serve to provide the viewer with a consistent interface and viewing experience (See Christie: [0052]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 8-10, 12-13, and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Roberts et al. (US 2016/0127789), Thomas et al. (US 9866888), Matsunaga et al. (US 2018/0027284), and Christie et al. (US 2018/0295403).
Regarding claim 1, Roberts teaches a method for seamless playback of content items from different content services, the method comprising:
identifying a first plurality of content items available from a first content service on a user device ([0012], “In order to provide the user with access to all of the episodes in the program series, the media service system may monitor, over the course of time subsequent to the user flagging the media program, an availability of the episodes from a plurality of different presentation sources (e.g., by searching for upcoming airings of the episodes by a broadcast television source and searching for previously aired episodes in one or more video-on-demand sources). The media service system may also determine when the user is likely to view each of the episodes.”),
identifying a second plurality of content items not available from the first content service ([0012], “In order to provide the user with access to all of the episodes in the program series, the media service system may monitor, over the course of time subsequent to the user flagging the media program, an availability of the episodes from a plurality of different presentation sources (e.g., by searching for upcoming airings of the episodes by a broadcast television source and searching for previously aired episodes in one or more video-on-demand sources). The media service system may also determine when the user is likely to view each of the episodes.”),
wherein the first plurality of content items and the second plurality of content items are episodes of a series ([0012], “In order to provide the user with access to all of the episodes in the program series, the media service system may monitor, over the course of time subsequent to the user flagging the media program, an availability of the episodes from a plurality of different presentation sources (e.g., by searching for upcoming airings of the episodes by a broadcast television source and searching for previously aired episodes in one or more video-on-demand sources). The media service system may also determine when the user is likely to view each of the episodes.”);
determining whether content items of the second plurality of content items are available from the second content service ([0012], [0013], “For example, the media service system may select a video-on-demand source as the presentation source that is used to provide the user with access to a first subset of episodes in the program series and a broadcast television source as the presentation source that is used to provide the user with access to a second subset of episodes in the program series.”); and
in response to determining that content items of the second plurality of content items are available from the second content service:
scheduling a recording of the content items of the second plurality of content items at the second content service ([0044], “the user input representative of the request to flag the set of related media programs may include a request to record a particular media program included in the set of related media programs. For example, a user may select a “record” option on a remote control device while a media program is being presented in order to record the media program and thereby flag the media program, as well as its corresponding set of related media programs, as being of interest to the user.”);
determining an order in which to play back content items from both the first plurality of content items and the second plurality of content items ([0012], “In order to provide the user with access to all of the episodes in the program series, the media service system may monitor, over the course of time subsequent to the user flagging the media program, an availability of the episodes from a plurality of different presentation sources (e.g., by searching for upcoming airings of the episodes by a broadcast television source and searching for previously aired episodes in one or more video-on-demand sources).” [0067], “As shown, user interface 400 may include a plurality of graphical objects 402 representative of a plurality of episodes included a program series labeled ‘Program Series A’. For example, graphical objects 402 may include a first set of graphical objects 402-1 representative of episodes included in a first season of the program series labeled ‘Program Series A’, a second set of graphical objects 402-2 representative of episodes included in a second season of the program series labeled ‘Program Series A’, and a third set of graphical objects 402-3 representative of episodes included in a third season of the program series labeled ‘Program Series A.’” Figs. 4-5),
wherein the order is determined by interleaving content items from both the first and content service and the second content service into a single ordered list of content items based at least in part on an episode number associated with the series ([0012], “In order to provide the user with access to all of the episodes in the program series, the media service system may monitor, over the course of time subsequent to the user flagging the media program, an availability of the episodes from a plurality of different presentation sources (e.g., by searching for upcoming airings of the episodes by a broadcast television source and searching for previously aired episodes in one or more video-on-demand sources).” [0067], “As shown, user interface 400 may include a plurality of graphical objects 402 representative of a plurality of episodes included a program series labeled ‘Program Series A.’” [0071], “FIG. 5 shows a user interface 500 that is similar to user interface 400, except that user interface 500 includes badge icons that indicate the presentation source for each episode represented by graphical objects 502. To illustrate, badge icon 504-1 indicates that the episode labeled ‘Episode A’ in season three of the program series is available by way of a video-on-demand source. As another example, badge icon 504-2 indicates that that the episode labeled ‘Episode B’ in season three of the program series has been recorded by the media content processing device.” Figs. 4-5);
playing back a first content item from the first plurality of content items ([0018], “Such media programs that are made available for user consumption through a media service may be accessed and/or played back by an appropriately configured media player device for presentation to a user.”);
determining that the second content item from the second plurality of content items has been recorded ([0071], “FIG. 5 shows a user interface 500 that is similar to user interface 400, except that user interface 500 includes badge icons that indicate the presentation source for each episode represented by graphical objects 502. To illustrate, badge icon 504-1 indicates that the episode labeled ‘Episode A’ in season three of the program series is available by way of a video-on-demand source. As another example, badge icon 504-2 indicates that that the episode labeled ‘Episode B’ in season three of the program series has been recorded by the media content processing device.” Figs. 4-5).
Roberts does not expressly teach identifying, by a first content service, the first plurality of content items available from the first content service on a user device, wherein the first content service is an on-demand content service. Roberts also does not expressly teach identifying, by the first content service, a second content service that is linked to the first content service on the user device, wherein the second content service is a linear content service. Roberts also does not expressly teach determining includes determining, by the first content service, whether content items of the second plurality of content items are available from the second content service. Roberts also does not expressly teach that the scheduling includes scheduling, by the first content service, a recording of the content items of the second plurality of content items at the second content service. Roberts also does not expressly teach, in response to determining that content items of the second plurality of content items are available from the second content service: detecting an end of playback of the first content item from the first plurality of content items; identifying, based on the order, that a second content item from the second plurality of content items is to be played back next; automatically beginning playback of the second content item of the second plurality of content items from the second content service; and based at least in part on detecting an end of playback of the second content item of the second plurality of content items from the second content service, removing the second content item from the single ordered list of content items.
Thomas teaches detecting an end of playback of a first content item from a first plurality of content items, identifying, based on an order, that a second content item from a second plurality of content items is to be played back next, and automatically beginning playback of the second content item of the second plurality of content items from the second content service (Col. 7, line 64 to col. 8, line 7, “The media guidance application may create virtual content source 124 including the subset of the multiple episodes of the program series that the user has not watched. In some embodiments, the media guidance application may create virtual content source 124 by retrieving the subset of the multiple next episodes of the program series from multiple content sources. In some embodiments, the multiple content sources may comprise broadcast, on-demand, recorded, and streaming video content sources. The media guidance application may auto play the next episodes without any user intervention.” Fig. 1).
In view of Thomas’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Roberts to include, in response to determining that content items of the second plurality of content items are available from the second content service: detecting an end of playback of the first content item from the first plurality of content items; identifying, based on the order, that a second content item from the second plurality of content items is to be played back next; and automatically beginning playback of the second content item of the second plurality of content items from the second content service. The modification would serve to facilitate the viewing experience for users. The modification would thereby improve the overall user experience.
The combination does not expressly teach identifying, by a first content service, the first plurality of content items available from the first content service on a user device, wherein the first content service is an on-demand content service. The combination also does not expressly teach identifying, by the first content service, a second content service that is linked to the first content service on the user device, wherein the second content service is a linear content service. The combination also does not expressly teach determining includes determining, by the first content service, whether content items of the second plurality of content items are available from the second content service. The combination also does not expressly teach that the scheduling includes scheduling, by the first content service, a recording of the content items of the second plurality of content items at the second content service. The combination also does not expressly teach, in response to determining that content items of the second plurality of content items are available from the second content service: based at least in part on detecting an end of playback of the second content item of the second plurality of content items from the second content service, removing the second content item from the single ordered list of content items.
Matsunaga teaches, based at least in part on detecting an end of playback of a content item of a plurality of content items, removing the content item from an ordered list of content items ([0101], “It is assumed that, thereafter, the user has performed a user's operation of displaying bookmark list screen 46 (refer to FIG. 6) on smart phone 8 in order to view the content item registered in the bookmark list. When the user's operation is accepted by acceptor 36 of smart phone 8, an application (software) for displaying bookmark list screen 46 (refer to FIG. 6) is activated in smart phone 8.” [0110], “In this way, the distribution request for the content item of ‘Program B’ is transmitted from smart phone 8 to recorder 4. Recorder 4 that has received this request refers to the reproduction position information of ‘Program B’ registered in the bookmark list, and from the updated reproduction position, distributes the content item of ‘Program B’ from content distributor 26 of recorder 4 to smart phone 8 (Step S18).” [0114], “In this way, managing controller 34 of server 6 determines that the reproduction of the content item is finished, and deletes the content information regarding the content item of ‘Program B’ from the bookmark list (Step S22).”).
In view of Matsunaga’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination to include, based at least in part on detecting an end of playback of the second content item of the second plurality of content items from the second content service, removing the second content item from the single ordered list of content items. The modification would serve to facilitate user navigation and selection of unviewed content. The modification would thereby improve the user experience.
The combination does not expressly teach identifying, by a first content service, the first plurality of content items available from the first content service on a user device, wherein the first content service is an on-demand content service. The combination also does not expressly teach identifying, by the first content service, a second content service that is linked to the first content service on the user device, wherein the second content service is a linear content service. The combination also does not expressly teach determining includes determining, by the first content service, whether content items of the second plurality of content items are available from the second content service. The combination also does not expressly teach that the scheduling includes scheduling, by the first content service, a recording of the content items of the second plurality of content items at the second content service.
Christie teaches:
identifying, by a first content service, a first plurality of content items available from the first content service on a user device ([0039], “In various embodiments, the primary subscription may be to Apple TV (or iTunes or a similar service) in which case Apple TV may be referred to as the ‘primary provider’, and the other multiple service providers may be referred to as ‘secondary providers’.” [0040], “For example, FIG. 2 illustrates the television 100 and display 102 of FIG. 1 with like items having identical reference numerals. FIG. 2 illustrates that the content identified within bar 106 corresponds to different subscription based services 200. For example,…season 2 (Sea. 2) is available from the Apple iTunes® service 204….” Fig. 2),
wherein the first content service is an on-demand content service ([0040], “In the example shown, a viewer of the display 102 has a subscription to a service provided by the source of the display 102. For example, the viewer may have a subscription to an Apple TV® (the primary subscription). … In such an embodiment, whether the viewer selects to view episode 3 or episode 4 of season 3 (each of which corresponds to a different provider and subscription), or any of the other content shown in block 106, the content will be provided by the Apple TV service.” [0067], “Display 1600 is shown displaying video content 1601 that is streamed from a subscription based service provider (e.g., Apple TV).”);
identifying, by the first content service, a second content service that is linked to the first content service on the user device ([0042], “Each of the providers 402-410 are shown coupled to the algorithm 420 by a line. In the embodiment shown, a line coupled from a provider 402-410 to the selection algorithm indicates that the primary subscription based service (Apple TV) provides content corresponding to the given provider (e.g., based on an agreement between the primary subscription service provider and the secondary subscription service provider).” [0051], “While the embodiment of FIG. 6 contemplates a primary subscription provider and multiple secondary subscription providers 620, the viewing experience provided to the viewer is generally managed solely by the primary subscription provider.”),
wherein the second content service is a linear content service ([0049], “As an example, a viewer may have a cable television subscription (secondary subscription). In addition, the viewer may have a subscription to the service provider associated with the data store (e.g., an iTunes account or similar subscription). The cable television operator (e.g., as shown as a provider 620) broadcasts video content, such as live television and video-on-demand content, 24 hours a day.”);
determining, by the first content service, whether content items of the second plurality of content items are available from the second content service ([0052], “To further enhance the viewer's experience, complications associated with managing secondary subscriptions may be managed through the primary subscription. For example, the primary subscription provider may identify content available to a viewer via a secondary subscription.”);
scheduling, by the first content service, a recording of the content items of the second plurality of content items at the second content service ([0040], “the Apple TV service has recorded or otherwise obtained and aggregated content corresponding to all of the sources/providers shown in block 200.” [0049], “Data store 600 is configured to record and/or otherwise capture all content broadcast/provided by the cable television operator and store the content as part of the data store 640.”).
In view of Christie’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination to include identifying, by a first content service, the first plurality of content items available from the first content service on a user device, wherein the first content service is an on-demand content service, identifying, by the first content service, a second content service that is linked to the first content service on the user device, wherein the second content service is a linear content service, determining, by the first content service, whether content items of the second plurality of content items are available from the second content service, and scheduling, by the first content service, a recording of the content items of the second plurality of content items at the second content service. The modification would serve to facilitate aggregation of preferred content from multiple sources. The modification would additionally serve to provide the viewer with a consistent interface and viewing experience (See Christie: [0052]).
Regarding claims 2 and 13, the combination further teaches further comprising: detecting an end of playback of the second content item from the second plurality of content items; identifying, based on the order, that a third content item from the first plurality of content items is to be played back next; and automatically beginning playback of the third content item of the first plurality of content items from the first content service (Roberts: [0067], Figs. 4-5; Thomas: Col. 7, line 64 to col. 8, line 7, “The media guidance application may create virtual content source 124 including the subset of the multiple episodes of the program series that the user has not watched. In some embodiments, the media guidance application may create virtual content source 124 by retrieving the subset of the multiple next episodes of the program series from multiple content sources. In some embodiments, the multiple content sources may comprise broadcast, on-demand, recorded, and streaming video content sources. The media guidance application may auto play the next episodes without any user intervention.” Fig. 1).
Regarding claims 8 and 19, the combination further teaches further comprising:
determining that the second content item is available from both the first content service and the second content service (Roberts: [0012], [0013], “For example, the media service system may select a video-on-demand source as the presentation source that is used to provide the user with access to a first subset of episodes in the program series and a broadcast television source as the presentation source that is used to provide the user with access to a second subset of episodes in the program series.”); and
automatically beginning playback of the second content item from the selected content service (Roberts: [0018]; Thomas: Col. 7, line 64 to col. 8, line 7, “The media guidance application may create virtual content source 124 including the subset of the multiple episodes of the program series that the user has not watched. In some embodiments, the media guidance application may create virtual content source 124 by retrieving the subset of the multiple next episodes of the program series from multiple content sources. In some embodiments, the multiple content sources may comprise broadcast, on-demand, recorded, and streaming video content sources. The media guidance application may auto play the next episodes without any user intervention.” Fig. 1).
The combination teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination as presently combined does not expressly teach determining a respective quality level associated with the second content item available from the first content service and the second content item available from the second content service, and selecting a content service having a higher respective quality level.
Christie teaches:
determining a respective quality level associated with a content item available from a first content service and the content item available from a second content service ([0041], “For example, there may be multiple options available for the episode 1, season 3, e.g., episode 1 of season 3 may be available from multiple sources. This particular episode is available from both provider 308 and provider 310. In addition, each of these providers may have this particular episode available in high definition (HD), or standard definition (SD) or both.”); and
selecting a content service having a higher respective quality level ([0094], “Given these possibilities, a viewer may have various preferences regarding how the given content is prioritized when either being presented as being available or when being selected for viewing. For example, a viewer may give a higher priority to free content over paid content. Also, HD content may be given priority over SD content, and so on.”).
In view of Christie’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination to include determining a respective quality level associated with the second content item available from the first content service and the second content item available from the second content service, and selecting a content service having a higher respective quality level. The modification would enable a combined system to present users with content that is of a user-preferred quality. The modification would thereby improve the user experience.
Regarding claims 9 and 20, the combination further teaches wherein the respective quality level is determined based on network conditions between a playback device and a server of a respective content service (Christie: [0094], “Also, HD content may be given priority over SD content, and so on. Using such preferences, selections from available content may be made for presentation to the viewer or when particular content is selected for viewing. In addition to such preferences, additional factors 2308 may be used to determine which content is provided to a viewer. For example, bandwidth considerations may affect the selection of content. If it is determined that the bandwidth to the viewer's device is limited, HD content may be disfavored (at least temporarily) until the condition eases.”).
Regarding claims 10 and 21, the combination further teaches wherein the respective quality level is determined based on media characteristics of the second content item available from a respective content service ([0094], “Given these possibilities, a viewer may have various preferences regarding how the given content is prioritized when either being presented as being available or when being selected for viewing. For example, a viewer may give a higher priority to free content over paid content. Also, HD content may be given priority over SD content, and so on.”).
Regarding claim 12, Roberts teaches a system for seamless playback of content items from different content services, the system comprising: output circuitry; and control circuitry ([0086]-[0087], Fig. 8). The rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC § 103 is similarly applied to the remaining limitations of claim 12.
Claim(s) 3 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Roberts, Thomas, Matsunaga, Christie, and Chen et al. (US 20140282772).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, the combination further teaches wherein playback of content items is initiated from a user interface of the first content service (Roberts: Figs. 4-5), the method further comprising:
detecting an end of playback of the second content item from the second plurality of content items (Thomas: Col. 7, line 64 to col. 8, line 7, “The media guidance application may create virtual content source 124 including the subset of the multiple episodes of the program series that the user has not watched. In some embodiments, the media guidance application may create virtual content source 124 by retrieving the subset of the multiple next episodes of the program series from multiple content sources. In some embodiments, the multiple content sources may comprise broadcast, on-demand, recorded, and streaming video content sources. The media guidance application may auto play the next episodes without any user intervention.” Fig. 1).The combination teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach determining that the second content item is last in the order; and returning to the user interface of the first content service.
Chen teaches determining that a content item is last in an order, and returning to a user interface ([0054], “A playlist is a list of content items chosen to run in sequence or randomly. The content items can be of any type and from one or more sources, such as live content items (e.g. live broadcasts) over radio frequency (RF) or Internet Protocol (IP), programs recorded locally on a digital video recorder (DVR), programs programmed on a network DVR (wherein material is stored in a network node remote from the television), programs from a video-on-demand (VOD) library, or programs from an online content library/stores on a private network or a public network, such as the Internet.” [0154], “At the end of the playlist, the application returns to the main menu.”).
In view of Chen’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination to include determining that the second content item is last in the order, and returning to the user interface of the first content service. The modification would serve to facilitate user navigation of the system.
Claim(s) 4-6 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Roberts, Thomas, Matsunaga, Christie, and Lewis et al. (US 2015/0278209).
Regarding claims 4 and 15, the combination further teaches wherein the order in which to play back content items includes content items not currently available from any content service, the method further comprising: detecting an end of playback of the second content item from the second plurality of content items; identifying, based on the order, a next content item to be played back; determining whether the next content item is included in either the first plurality of content items or the second plurality of content items (Roberts: [0067], Figs. 4-5; Thomas: Col. 7, line 64 to col. 8, line 7, “The media guidance application may create virtual content source 124 including the subset of the multiple episodes of the program series that the user has not watched. In some embodiments, the media guidance application may create virtual content source 124 by retrieving the subset of the multiple next episodes of the program series from multiple content sources. In some embodiments, the multiple content sources may comprise broadcast, on-demand, recorded, and streaming video content sources. The media guidance application may auto play the next episodes without any user intervention.” Fig. 1).
However, the combination does not expressly teach, in response to determining that the next content item is not included in either the first plurality of content items or the second plurality of content items: pausing playback of content items from both the first plurality of content items and the second plurality of content items; and generating for output a notification that the next content item is not available.
Lewis teaches, in response to determining that a next content item is not available:
pausing playback of content items ([0031], “In another implementation, in response to receiving an instruction to play the next available media item in the playlist and an error message indicating that one or more media items should be skipped over, the media player of the user device may delay the playback of the next available media item for a predetermined time. For example, in one implementation, the media play may display a timer to show the remaining time till the start of the playback of the next available media item. The media player may also display a description (e.g., title) of the next available media item scheduled for the playback and may also display descriptions of the one or more media items that are unavailable. In this way, the user may have the option to pause the playback of the next available media item during the delay period. However, by default, the media player of the user device starts the playback of the current media item on the playlist 160 if the media player does not receive a user request to pause the playback.”); and
generating for output a notification that the next content item is not available ([0027], “In response to receiving a request for a playlist, content availability manager 140 may identify media items of the playlist. If content availability manager 140 determines that any media items are not available for a playback, content availability manager 140 may send a message to the user device indicating that specific media item is unavailable for a playback on the user device.” [0030]).
In view of Lewis’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination to include, in response to determining that the next content item is not included in either the first plurality of content items or the second plurality of content items: pausing playback of content items from both the first plurality of content items and the second plurality of content items; and generating for output a notification that the next content item is not available. By enabling a means for informing users of the unavailability of certain content items, the modification would serve to improve the overall experience for users.
Regarding claims 5 and 16, the combination further teaches further comprising:
determining whether a content item following the next content item in the order is included in either the first plurality of content items or the second plurality of content items (Roberts: [0067], Figs. 4-5; Thomas: Col. 7, line 64 to col. 8, line 7, “The media guidance application may create virtual content source 124 including the subset of the multiple episodes of the program series that the user has not watched. In some embodiments, the media guidance application may create virtual content source 124 by retrieving the subset of the multiple next episodes of the program series from multiple content sources. In some embodiments, the multiple content sources may comprise broadcast, on-demand, recorded, and streaming video content sources. The media guidance application may auto play the next episodes without any user intervention.” Fig. 1).
However, the combination as presently combined does not expressly teach, in response to determining that the content item following the next content item in the order is included in either the first plurality of content items or the second plurality of content items, generating for output a prompt to resume playback of content items beginning with a next available content item in the order.
Christie teaches, in response to determining that a content item following a next content item in an order is available, generating for output a prompt to resume playback of content items beginning with a next available content item in the order ([0036], “Referring to FIG. 1, one embodiment of a television 100 and television display 102 is shown. In the example shown, the television display 102 is displaying video content related to a television show. In particular, the title 104 of a television show is depicted along with an episode bar 106 and play icon 110.” [0038], “In this manner, selecting play 110 while image 108 is selected (i.e., has focus) may result in episode 1 of season 3 of the modernfamily television series being played on the display 102.” Figs. 1-3).
In view of Christie’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination to include, in response to determining that the content item following the next content item in the order is included in either the first plurality of content items or the second plurality of content items, generating for output a prompt to resume playback of content items beginning with a next available content item in the order. The modification would serve to further facilitate content playback for users.
Regarding claims 6 and 17, the combination further teaches further comprising:
receiving selection of the prompt (Christie: [0041], “In such embodiments, determining which version(s) of particular content to display as being available for selection may need to be made. Alternatively, if selecting ‘play’ by the viewer causes the episode to immediately begin playing automatically, then a selection algorithm may be needed to determine which source is used to provide the content.” Figs. 1-3); and
in response to receiving selection of the prompt: identifying the next available content item in the order; determining a content service from which the next available content item is available; and automatically beginning playback of the next available content item from the determined content service (Christie: [0041], “In such embodiments, determining which version(s) of particular content to display as being available for selection may need to be made. Alternatively, if selecting ‘play’ by the viewer causes the episode to immediately begin playing automatically, then a selection algorithm may be needed to determine which source is used to provide the content.” [0095], [0096], “Given the available content options and factors 2440, the algorithm 2430 selects one or more of the options for presentation to the viewer.” Figs. 1-3).
Claim(s) 7 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Roberts, Thomas, Matsunaga, Christie, Lewis, and Johnston et al. (US 2018/0113579).
Regarding claims 7 and 18, the combination further teaches further comprising:
determining whether the next content item is available from any content service (Roberts: [0012], “In order to provide the user with access to all of the episodes in the program series, the media service system may monitor, over the course of time subsequent to the user flagging the media program, an availability of the episodes from a plurality of different presentation sources (e.g., by searching for upcoming airings of the episodes by a broadcast television source and searching for previously aired episodes in one or more video-on-demand sources).”).
However, the combination does not expressly teach, in response to determining that the next content item is available from a third content service, generating for output an option to subscribe to the third content service.
Johnston teaches, in response to determining that a content item is available from a content service, generating for output an option to subscribe to the content service ([0280], “In response to the selection of representation 1204-5, the electronic device displays representations 1210-3 to 1210-5 corresponding to the different content providers/versions associated with season 2, episode 1. … Representations 1210-4 and 1210-5 are optionally selectable to purchase then view their corresponding episodes, respectively, and/or subscribe to content providers 2 and 4, respectively, then view their corresponding episodes.” [0281], “In response, in FIG. 12N, the electronic device displays a page via which the user is able to purchase version B of season 2, episode 1 (e.g., by selecting button 1250) to watch the episode, subscribe to content provider 2 to watch the episode (e.g., by selecting button 1252), or cancel the request to watch the episode (e.g., by selecting button 1254, which optionally causes the electronic device to return to the display of FIG. 12L).” Figs. 12B, 12N).
In view of Johnston’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination to include, in response to determining that the next content item is available from a third content service, generating for output an option to subscribe to the third content service. The modification would serve to facilitate user access to desired content.
Claim(s) 56-57 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Roberts, Thomas, Matsunaga, Christie, and Bax et al. (US 2016/0173633).
Regarding claim 56, the combination further teaches granting the first content service access to the second content service based at least in part on:
determining a subscription package associated with the second content service via an authorization protocol (Christie: [0076], “FIG. 19 illustrates a landing page for the Game of Thrones selection of FIG. 17. In this case, the landing page 1900 provides video content (video, still, or animation), a title of the series 1910, and a description of the series 1920. In this example, the viewer does not have a subscription to the access the content (e.g., a secondary subscription to HBO). Therefore, a banner is displayed 1930 that informs the viewer that the series is not currently available according to their current subscriptions and advises that they may sign up (subscribe) for $9.99 per month. In various embodiments, a user may select the banner and immediately subscribe to HBO. In various embodiments, the viewer makes the subscription through the primary provider, which handles communications with the HBO subscription service. In some embodiments, billing for the HBO service may be included in the viewer's primary provider bill. In such embodiments, subscribing to HBO may be as simple as a couple of button presses to authorize the subscription. Following this simple subscription process, all of the HBO content held by the primary provider is immediately available to the viewer. In other embodiments, rather than subscribing through the primary provider, the viewer may be taken to an HBO subscription service site to complete the subscription process. Billing may be direct to the viewer or included with the primary provider billing as mentioned above.”).
However, the combination does not expressly teach transmitting a request to the user device to login to the second content service.
Bax teaches transmitting a request to a user device to login to a second content service ([0047], “The user may have an account with the second content provider, the third content provider, and/or other content providers. A client device of the user may have a device identifier. A request to link the client device using the device identifier to the second content provider may be received from the user. The device identifier may be linked with the second content provider so that the user may quickly access media items from the second content provider (e.g., the user may submit and/or save account login information for the account with the second content provider).”).
In view of Bax’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination to include transmitting a request to the user device to login to the second content service. The modification would serve to facilitate access to second content services for multiple users.
Regarding claim 57, the combination further teaches wherein a single user profile of the user device links the first content service to the second content service (Christie: [0039], “As used herein, subscriptions to these multiple services may be referred to as secondary subscriptions, while a subscription to the service corresponding to the display 102 (e.g., the Apple TV service) may be referred to as the primary subscription. In various embodiments, the primary subscription may be to Apple TV (or iTunes or a similar service) in which case Apple TV may be referred to as the ‘primary provider’, and the other multiple service providers may be referred to as ‘secondary providers’. … In contrast to the above, not only does bar 106 in FIG. 1 identify content corresponding to multiple providers which may require multiple secondary subscriptions, all of the corresponding content has been aggregated by the provider of the service that corresponds to the primary subscription (e.g., Apple TV).” [0057], “In other embodiments, password or other login type information may be entered via a remote control device. … Based on such communication, the set-top box or other device may convey the smart phone data to the primary subscription service provider. If the smart phone is identified as being associated with a valid subscription, then entitlement/authorization type data may be conveyed to the set-top, television, or otherwise, which enables it to receive subscriber 1's subscription based content. Such embodiments would enable the viewing of one's own subscription content at a friend's house. Alternatively, subscription content could follow a subscriber to a hotel room during travel. Numerous such scenarios are possible and are contemplated.” [0076]).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL R TELAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426