DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 4, 16-17 are cancelled.
Claims 1, 8, 18 and 20 are amended.
Claims 1-3, 5-15 and 18-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Junkar (US 9465107 B2) in view of Altman I (US 9810784B2) or Harrell (US 8644113 B2) and Altman II(20160154089 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Junkar teaches An electronic device for localization, the electronic device comprising {Title, Abstract, Fig 1, Claim 1 has electronic device localization]:
a speaker configured to output an inaudible acoustic signal based on a signal parameter set [Title, Abstract, Fig 1, Claim 1 has electronic device emitting a sonic signal];
one or more microphones configured to receive a first reflected wave signal which is the output inaudible acoustic signal reflected by a space in which the electronic device, a first object and a second object are located, wherein the signal parameter set corresponds to a first arrangement of the second object in the space, and the first object is located at a first location in the space [Abstract, Fig 1, Claim 1 has electronic device receiving echo, Col 2, Lines 1-25 has location identification using sonic signal of objects in surroundings including preidentified locations meaning signal parameter corresponds to certain objects and locations];
a memory storing one or more instructions[Fig, 3 has memory #314];
and one or more processors configured to execute the one or more instructions stored in the memory to [Fig 3 has processor #303]:
obtain an amount of a change in a signal intensity of the first reflected signal in comparison to a reference signal corresponding to the inaudible acoustic signal based on a correlation between the reference signal corresponding to the inaudible acoustic signal and the received first reflected wave signal[ Abstract has correlation of reference signal with received echo; See also col 2 Lines 40-50 for ultrasonic echo comparison; See also Col 3 Lines 5-25 for amplitude detection];
based on the amount of change in the signal intensity, determine (i) a movement of the first object from the first location to a second location in the space or (ii) a change an arrangement of the second object from the first arrangement to a second arrangement in the space [Col 3, Lines 10-25 has using echo and doppler effect to find movement and identify location characteristics; See also Col 8 Lines 5-20 for object; Claim 1; Col 5, Lines 15-25 has object and location the change in the structure of the space including a identification for change in location See also claims 1 and 10 regarding objects;]
based on determining the movement of the first object from the first location to the second location in the space, and obtain object location information corresponding to a location of the object in the space based on the amount of signal change, the object information comprising angle information corresponding to an angle formed by the electronic device and the first object, the object not being the electronic device [Abstract; Claim 1; Col 2, Lines 1-25 has object and location identification as well as object detection and movement tracking; See also Col 3; Lines 5-15 has distance and direction/angle information from the echo];
and based on the amount of the change in the signal intensity determining the change in the arrangement of the second object from the first arrangement to the second arrangement in the space,….. [Abstract; Claim 1; Col 5, Lines 15-25 has object and location the change in the structure of the space including a identification for change in location; Abstract has correlation of reference signal with received echo; See also col 2 Lines 40-50 for ultrasonic echo comparison;]…..
wherein the signal parameter set includes parameters indicating characteristics of the inaudible acoustic signal, the characteristics of the inaudible acoustic signal including at least one of an amplitude, a cycle or a shape of the inaudible acoustic signal. [Figs 2A, 2B and Col 3, Lines 10-25 has using echo profile characteristics such amplitude, cycle, shape being used as signal parameters for location resolution ]…..
Junkar does not explicitly teach update the signal parameter set corresponding to the inaudible acoustic signal by using a waveform optimization model
wherein the amount of the change in the signal intensity corresponding to the movement of the first object is greater than the amount of the change in the signal intensity corresponding to the change in the arrangement of the second object, and [though regarding thresholds, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to set a threshold value for certain parameters, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges or values involves only routine skill in the art. Inre Aller, 105 USPQ 233.]…..
wherein the waveform optimization model is trained to output the signal parameter set based on the amount of signal change and ambient condition information being input, the ambient condition information comprises at least one of a temperature, an atmospheric pressure, a humidity, or a density of the space in which the electronic device is located.
Altman I teaches update a final parameter set corresponding to the inaudible acoustic signal by using a waveform optimization model. [Col 11 Lines 60-Col 12 Line 5 and Col 14, Lines 55-65 all have thresholds and parameter and adjusting template meaning waveform optimization model]
the amount of the change in the signal intensity corresponding to the movement of the first object is greater than the amount of the change in the signal intensity corresponding to the change in the arrangement of the second object [Claim 19, 20, 23, Col 11 Lines 60-Col 12 Line 5 and Col 14, Lines 55-65 all have thresholds for object detection, Claim 19, 20, 23, Col 11 Lines 60-Col 12 Line 5 and Col 14, Lines 55-65 all have thresholds for object detection meaning it is more than a change in background]…..
wherein the waveform optimization model is trained to output the signal parameter set based on the amount of signal change and ambient condition information being input. [Col 17; Lines 1-5 has ambient conditions and col 19; Lines 10-20 have various parameters] the ambient condition information comprising at least one of a temperature, an atmospheric pressure, a humidity, or a density of the space in which the electronic device is located[Claim 14; Col 3, Lines 55-60 and Col 10 Lines 45-55 consider temperature when accounting for the calculations];
Harrell also teaches the amount of the change in the signal intensity corresponding to the movement of the first object is greater than the amount of the change in the signal intensity corresponding to the change in the arrangement of the second object [4 and 5 have flowcharts with thresholds at #406, #410, #506, #510; Col 5; Lines 15-20 has thresholds for object detection meaning it is more than a change in background]
Altman II also teaches based on the amount of change in the signal intensity determine a movement of the first object from the first location to a second location in the space or a change in arrangement of the second object from the first arrangement to a second arrangement in the space[0006-0007, 0019-0020, 0023-0024 has object tracking using ultrasonics meaning object moves between locations or arrangements of objects in space]
based on determining the movement of the first object from the first location to the second location in the space, and obtain object location information corresponding to the second location of the object in the space based on the amount of signal change, the object information comprising angle information corresponding to an angle formed by the electronic device and the first object, the object not being the electronic device update a signal parameter set corresponding to the inaudible [0006-0007, 0019-0020, 0023-0024 has object tracking using ultrasonics meaning object moves between locations or arrangements of objects in space; 0004, 0022-0024 has directional determination meaning angle information]
wherein the amount of the change in the signal intensity corresponding to the movement of the first object is greater than the amount of the change in the signal intensity corresponding to the change in the arrangement of the second object, [0021, 0036, 0054 have thresholds and 0021 have updating location baseline based on change in objects]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to have modified localization device of Junkar with the waveform optimization of Altman I and directional tracking and temperature compensation of Altman II and the thresholds of either Altman I or Altman II or Harrel in order to better track objects movement over change in background or baseline and since compensation for environmental factors would be something that would be well known and practiced in order to achieve more accurate results.
Moreover, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust input and output for various certain parameters and by altering parameters in various iterations until the since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges or values involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233
Regarding claim 8, Junkar teaches a speaker[Title, Abstract, Fig 1, Claim 1 has electronic device emitting a sonic signal];
one or more microphones[ Abstract, Fig 1, Claim 1 has electronic device receiving echo];
a memory storing one or more instructions[Fig 3 has memory #314];
and one or more processors configured to execute the one or more instructions stored in the memory to[Fig 3 has processor #303]:…..
(b) control the speaker to output a plurality of candidate signals based on [Title, Abstract, Fig 1, Claim 1 has electronic device emitting a sonic signal];
(c) control the one or more microphones to receive first reflected wave signals which are the plurality of candidate signals reflected by a space in which the electronic device and an object are located[Abstract, Fig 1, Claim 1 has electronic device receiving echo];
(d) obtain a fitness value with respect to each of the plurality of candidate signals based on the first reflected wave signals[Fig 4; Col 6: Lines 20-40 has algorithm for matching echo signals meaning there is a fitness value for the signals for a match to occur];…..
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the one or more instructions to:[ Fig 3 has processor #303]
based on the reflected wave signals, generate a plurality of sub-signals divided into a plurality of time windows having pre-defined time intervals with respect to each of the reflected wave signals, and[Figs 2A, 2B and Col 3, Lines 10-25 has using echo profile characteristics such amplitude, cycle, shape being used as signal parameters for location resolution meaning it is continuous monitoring and anywhere there is a change could be considered the next window]
obtain a stability value of each of the plurality of candidate signals by calculating distance values between the electronic device and the object with respect to each of the plurality of sub -signals, [Col 3, Lines 10-25 has distance measurement based on echo meaning distance calculation to object is a basic concept in ultrasonics]
wherein the stability value indicates a similarity between a distance value of the distance values corresponding to a first time window among the plurality of time windows and a distance value of the distance values corresponding to a second time window adjacent to the first time window among the plurality of time windows, and [Abstract, Claim 1, Col 4; Lines 60- 65 has output being a result of matching stored reference with correlated signal based on the matching algorithm to output location based on level of match meaning there is a value for the signals for a match to occur; Figs 2A, 2B and Col 3, Lines 10-25 has using echo profile characteristics such amplitude, cycle, shape being used as signal parameters for location resolution meaning it is continuous monitoring and anywhere there is a change could be considered the next window]
wherein each of the first parameter set and the second parameter set includes parameters indicating characteristics of the plurality of candidate signals, and the characteristics including at least one of an amplitude, a cycle, or a shape of each of the plurality of candidate signals [2A, 2B and Col 3, Lines 10-25 has using echo profile characteristics such amplitude, cycle, shape being used as signal parameters for location resolution].
Junkar does not explicitly teach (a) obtain a first parameter set corresponding to a current generation based on ambient condition information, wherein the ambient condition information comprises at least one of a temperature, an atmospheric pressure, a humidity, or a density of the space in which the electronic device is located;…..
(e) determine a performance value based on the fitness value with respect to each of the plurality of candidate signals;
and (f) based on performance value, obtain a second parameter set corresponding to a next generation based on a correlation between the performance value and the first parameter set based on the ambient condition information[Though regarding thresholds or arbitrarily chosen values, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to set a value for certain parameters, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges or values involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.]
Altman I teaches (a) obtain a first parameter set corresponding to a current generation[Col 11 Lines 60-Col 12 Linc 5, Col 12; Lines 45-60 and Col 14, Lines 55-65 all have thresholds and parameters and adjusting template meaning adjusting parameters] based on ambient condition information, wherein the ambient condition information comprises at least one of a temperature, an atmospheric pressure, a humidity, or a density of the space in which the electronic device is located[Col 17; Lines 1-5 has ambient conditions and col 19; Lines 10-20 have various parameters, Claim 14; Col 3, Lines 55-60 and Col 10 Lines 45-55 consider temperature when accounting for the calculations];
e) determine whether or not a performance value performance value based on the fitness value with respect to each of the plurality of candidate signals [Claim 19,20, 23, Col 11 Lines 60-Col 12 Line 5 and Col 14, Lines 55-65 all have thresholds for object detection];
and (f) based on the performance value, obtain a second parameter set corresponding to a next generation based on a correlation between the performance value and the first parameter set based on the ambient condition information[Claim 19, 20, 23, Col 11 Lines 60-Col 12 Line 5 and Col 14, Lines 55-65 all have thresholds for object detection; Col 11 Lines 60-Col 12 Line 5 and Col 14, Lines 55-65 all have thresholds and parameter and adjusting template meaning waveform optimization model; Col 3, Lines 55-60 and Col 10 Lines 45-55 consider temperature when accounting for the calculations]
Harrell also teaches first and second parameters based on correlation between performance and parameters [Figs 4 and 5 have flowcharts with thresholds at #406, #410, #506, #510; Col 5; Lines 15-20 has thresholds]
Harrell also teaches first and second thresholds[, 4 and 5 have flowcharts with thresholds at #406, #410, #506, #510; Col 5; Lines 15-20 has thresholds]
Altman II also signal parameters set corresponding to the inaudible acoustic signal as well as thresholds[0021, 0036, 0054 have thresholds and 0021 have updating location baseline based on change in objects]
Moreover it has been held that where routine testing and general experimental conditions are present, discovering the optimum or workable ranges by altering parameters in various iterations until the desired effect is achieved involves only routine skill in the art. See, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to have modified localization device of Junkar with the thresholds of either Harrell or Altman I or Altman II and adjusting of parameters of Altman I based on environmental information in order to have an algorithm or program or model to update data and better localize the object.
Regarding claim 20, Junkar teaches a method of localization, the method comprising [Title, Abstract, Fig 1, Claim 1 has electronic device localization]:
outputting an inaudible acoustic signal based on a signal parameter set [Title, Abstract, Fig 1, Claim 1 has electronic device emitting a sonic signal];
receiving a first reflected wave signal which is the output inaudible acoustic signal reflected by a space in which the electronic device in which the electronic device, a first object and a second object are located, wherein the signal parameter set corresponds to a first arrangement of the second object in the space, and the first object is located at a first location in the space [Abstract, Fig 1, Claim 1 has electronic device receiving echo, Col 2, Lines 1-25 has location identification using sonic signal of objects in surroundings including preidentified locations meaning signal parameter corresponds to certain objects and locations];
obtaining an amount of a change in a signal intensity of the first reflected signal in comparison to a reference signal corresponding to the inaudible acoustic signal based on a correlation between the reference signal corresponding to the inaudible acoustic signal and the received first reflected wave signal[ Abstract has correlation of reference signal with received echo; See also col 2 Lines 40-50 for ultrasonic echo comparison; See also Col 3 Lines 5-25 for amplitude detection];
based on the amount of change in the signal intensity, determining (i) a movement of the first object from the first location to a second location in the space or (ii) a change in an arrangement of the second object from the first arrangement to a second arrangement in the space [Col 3, Lines 10-25 has using echo and doppler effect to find movement and identify location characteristics; See also Col 8 Lines 5-20 for object; Claim 1; Col 5, Lines 15-25 has object and location the change in the structure of the space including: a identification for change in location See also claims 1 and 10 regarding objects;]
based on determining the movement of the first object from the first location to the second location in the space, obtaining object location information corresponding to the second location of the first object in the space based on the amount of the change in signal intensity, the object location information comprising angle information corresponding to an angle formed by the electronic device and the first object, the object not being the electronic device [Abstract; Claim 1; Col 2, Lines 1-25 has object and location identification as well as object detection and movement tracking; See also Col 3; Lines 5-15 has distance and direction/angle information from the echo];
and based on determining the arrangement of the second object from the first arrangement to the second arrangement in the space,….. [Abstract; Claim 1; Col 5, Lines 15-25 has object and location the change in the structure of the space including a identification for change in location; Abstract has correlation of reference signal with received echo; See also col 2 Lines 40- 50 for ultrasonic echo comparison;]…..
wherein the signal parameter set includes parameters indicating characteristics of the inaudible acoustic signal, the characteristics of the inaudible acoustic signal including at least one of an amplitude, a cycle or a shape of the inaudible acoustic signal. [Figs 2A, 2B and Col 3, Lines 10-25 has using echo profile characteristics such amplitude, cycle, shape being used as signal parameters for location resolution ]…
Junkar does not explicitly teach ….. updating the signal parameter set corresponding to the inaudible acoustic signal by using a waveform optimization model, wherein the amount of the change in the signal intensity corresponding to the movement of the first object is greater than the amount of the change in the signal intensity corresponding to the change in the arrangement of the second object, and [though regarding thresholds, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to set a threshold value for certain parameters, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges or values involves only routine skill in the art. Inre Aller, 105 USPQ 233.]…..
wherein the waveform optimization model is trained to output the signal parameter set based on the amount of signal change and ambient condition information being input, the ambient condition information comprises at least one of a temperature, an atmospheric pressure, a humidity, or a density of the space in which the electronic device is located.
Altman I teaches update a final parameter set corresponding to the inaudible acoustic signal by using a waveform optimization model, [Col 11 Lines 60-Col 12 Line 5 and Col 14, Lines 55-65 all have thresholds and parameter and adjusting template meaning waveform optimization model] wherein the amount of the change in the signal intensity corresponding to the movement of the first object is greater than the amount of the change in the signal intensity corresponding to the change in the arrangement of the second object [Claim 19, 20, 23, Col 11 Lines 60-Col 12 Line 5 and Col 14, Lines 55-65 all have thresholds for object detection, Claim 19, 20, 23, Col 11 Lines 60-Col 12 Line 5 and Col 14, Lines 55-65 all have thresholds for object detection meaning it is more than a change in background]…..
wherein the waveform optimization model is trained to output the signal parameter set based on the amount of signal change and ambient condition information being input. [Col 17; Lines 1-5 has ambient conditions and col 19; Lines 10-20 have various parameters] the ambient condition information comprising at least one of a temperature, an atmospheric pressure, a humidity, or a density of the space in which the electronic device is located[Claim 14; Col 3, Lines 55-60 and Col 10 Lines 45-55 consider temperature when accounting for the calculations];
Harrell also teaches the amount of the change in the signal intensity corresponding to the movement of the first object is greater than the amount of the change in the signal intensity corresponding to the change in the arrangement of the second object [4 and 5 have flowcharts with thresholds at #406, #410, #506, #510; Col 5; Lines 15-20 has thresholds for object detection meaning it is more than a change in background]
Altman II also teaches based on the amount of change in the signal intensity determine a movement of the first object from the first location to a second location in the space or a change in arrangement of the second object from the first arrangement to a second arrangement in the space[0006-0007, 0019-0020, 0023-0024 has object tracking using ultrasonics meaning object moves between locations or arrangements of objects in space]
based on determining the movement of the first object from the first location to the second location in the space, and obtain object location information corresponding to the second location of the object in the space based on the amount of signal change, the object information comprising angle information corresponding to an angle formed by the electronic device and the first object, the object not being the electronic device update a signal parameter set corresponding to the inaudible [0006-0007, 0019-0020, 0023-0024 has object tracking using ultrasonics meaning object moves between locations or arrangements of objects in space; 0004, 0022-0024 has directional determination meaning angle information]
wherein the amount of the change in the signal intensity corresponding to the movement of the first object is greater than the amount of the change in the signal intensity corresponding to the change in the arrangement of the second object, [0021, 0036, 0054 have thresholds and 0021 have updating location baseline based on change in objects]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to have modified localization device of Junkar with the waveform optimization of Altman I and directional tracking and temperature compensation of Altman II and the thresholds of either Altman I or Altman II or Harrel in order to better track objects movement over change in background or baseline and since compensation for environmental factors would be something that would be well known and practiced in order to achieve more accurate results.
Moreover, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust input and output for various certain parameters and by altering parameters in various iterations until the since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges or values involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233
Regarding claim 2, Junkar teaches wherein the one or more processors configured to execute the one or more instructions stored in the memory to[Fig 3 has processor #303]
(b) control the speaker to output a plurality of candidate signals based on [Title, Abstract, Fig 1, Claim 1 has electronic device emitting a sonic signal];
(c) control the one or more microphones to receive first reflected wave signals which are the plurality of candidate signals reflected by the pace[Abstract, Fig 1, Claim 1 has electronic device receiving echo];
(d) obtain a fitness value with respect to each of the plurality of candidate signals based on the first reflected wave signals[Fig 4; Col 6: Lines 20-40 has algorithm for matching echo signals meaning there is a fitness value for the signals for a match to occur];…..
wherein each of the first parameter set and the second parameter set includes parameters indicating characteristics of the plurality of candidate signals, and the characteristics including at least one of an amplitude, a cycle, or a shape of each of the plurality of candidate signals[Figs 2A, 2B and Col 3, Lines 10-25 has using echo profile characteristics such amplitude, cycle, shape being used as signal parameters for location resolution],
wherein each of the reflected wave signals includes a plurality of sub -signals corresponding to a plurality of time windows, [Figs 2A, 2B and Col 3, Lines 10-25 has using echo profile characteristics such amplitude, cycle, shape being used as signal parameters for location resolution; Col 2],
and wherein the fitness value includes a stability value indicating similarity between a first sub-signal corresponding to a first time window of the plurality of time windows among the plurality of sub-signals and a second sub-signal corresponding to a second time widow of the plurality of time windows among the plurality of sub-signals. Abstract, Claim 1, Col 4; Lines 60-65 has output being a result of matching stored reference with correlated signal based on the matching algorithm to output location based on level of match meaning there is a value for the signals for a match to occur]
Junkar does not explicitly teach (a) obtain a first parameter set corresponding to a current generation;
(e) determine a performance value based on the fitness value with respect to each of the plurality of candidate signals exceeds a threshold value;
and (f) based on the performance value, obtain a second parameter set corresponding to a next generation based on a correlation between the performance value and the first parameter set or update the signal parameter set based on the signal from among the plurality of candidate signals. [Though regarding thresholds or arbitrarily chosen values, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to set a value for certain parameters, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges or values involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.]
Altman I teaches (a) obtain a first parameter set corresponding to a current generation[Col 11 Lines 60-Col 12 Linc 5, Col 12; Lines 45-60 and Col 14, Lines 55-65 all have thresholds and parameters and adjusting template meaning adjusting parameters];…..
e) determine whether or not a performance value performance value based on the fitness value with respect to each of the plurality of candidate signals [Claim 19, 20, 23, Col 11 Lines 60-Col 12 Line 5 and Col 14, Lines 55-65 all have thresholds for object detection];
and (f) based on the performance value, obtain a second parameter set corresponding to a next generation based on a correlation between the performance value and the first parameter set or update the signal parameter set based on the signal from among the plurality of candidate signals [Claim 19, 20, 23, Col 11 Lines 60-Col 12 Line 5 and Col 14, Lines 55-65 all have thresholds for object detection; Col 11 Lines 60-Col 12 Line 5 and Col 14, Lines 55-65 all have thresholds and parameter and adjusting template meaning waveform optimization model]
Harrell also teaches first and second parameters based on correlation between performance and parameters [Figs 4 and 5 have flowcharts with thresholds at #406, #410, #506, #510; Col 5; Lines 15-20 has thresholds]
Harrell also teaches first and second thresholds[Figs 4 and 5 have flowcharts with thresholds at #406, #410, #506, #510; Col 5; Lines 15-20 has thresholds]
Altman II also signal parameters set corresponding to the inaudible acoustic signal as well as thresholds[0021, 0036, 0054 have thresholds and 0021 have updating location baseline based on change in objects]
Moreover it has been held that where routine testing and general experimental conditions are present, discovering the optimum or workable ranges by altering parameters in various iterations until the desired effect is achieved involves only routine skill in the art. See, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to have modified localization device of Junkar with the thresholds of either Harrell or Altman I or Altman II and adjusting of parameters of Altman I in order to have an algorithm or program or model to update data and better localize the object.
Regarding claims 3 and 9, Junkar as modified, teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the one or more instructions to, based on the performance value, iteratively perform the operations of (b) to (f) by replacing the current Generation with the next generation. [Fig 4; Col 5, Lines 45-65 has iterative process to repeat based on condition].
Regarding claim 5, Junkar as modified, teaches wherein the object location information further comprises distance information corresponding to a distance between the electronic device and the object. [Col 3; Lines 5-15 has distance and direction/angle information from the echo]
Regarding claim 6, Junkar teaches Junkar as modified, teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the one or more instructions to: obtain the distance information based on the first reflected wave signal. [Col 3; Lines 5-15 has distance and direction/angle information from the echo]; and output the angle information by using a machine learning model using the distance information as an input. [Col 3; Lines 5-15 has distance and direction/angle in formation from the echo]
Regarding claim 7, Junkar as modified, teaches wherein the machine learning model is trained to output the angle information by using the distance information as the input. [Col 3; Lines 5-15 has distance and direction/angle information from the echo];
Regarding claim 10, Junkar as modified, teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the one or more instructions to, based on the performance value of a signal from among the plurality of candidate signals, obtain a final parameter set corresponding to a final signal from among the plurality of candidate signals, and obtain a reference signal corresponding to the signal. [Abstract, Claim 1, Col 4; Lines 60-65 has output being a result of matching stored reference with correlated signal based on the matching algorithm to output location based on level of match]
Regarding claim 11, Junkar, as modified, teaches wherein the final parameter set comprises at least one of a waveform feature function, a waveform location function, or a time window of the signal corresponding to the final parameter set, wherein the waveform feature function comprises a value of at least one of an amplitude, a cycle, or a shape of the corresponding signal, and wherein the waveform location function comprises a value of at least one of a frequency range, a frequency interval, or a latency of the corresponding signal. [Col 4; Lines 55-65 have various parameters such as amplitude, frequency, in the algorithm meaning it is a parameter]
Altman I, also teaches wherein the final parameter set comprises at least one of a waveform feature function, a waveform location function, or a time window of the signal corresponding to final parameter set, wherein the waveform feature function comprises a value of at least one of an amplitude, a cycle, or a shape of the corresponding signal, and wherein the waveform location function comprises a value of at least one of a frequency range, a frequency interval, or a latency of the corresponding signa. [Col 4; Lines 45-50 has phase and amplitude and delay as parameters; Col 19; Lines 10-20 have various parameters; Col 23 lines 5-10 has time window]
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust various certain parameters, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges or values involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 12, Junkar, as modified, teaches wherein the fitness value comprises an identification value, wherein the identification value is a signal similarity value between a candidate signal among the plurality of candidate signals and a reflected wave signal corresponding to the candidate signal among the reflected wave signals. [Abstract, Claim 1, Col 4; Lines 60-65 has output being a result of matching stored reference with correlated signal based on the matching algorithm to output location based on level of match meaning there is a value for the signals for a match to occur]
Regarding claim 13, Junkar, as modified, teaches wherein the performance value is a return value of a decision function having the stability value and the identification value of each of the plurality of candidate signals as variables, and wherein the decision function is configured to return the performance value by applying a weight to any one of the stability value and the identification value. [Abstract, Claim 1, Col 4; Lines 60-65 has output being a result of matching stored reference with correlated signal based on the matching algorithm to output location based on level of match meaning there is a value for the signals for a match to occur]
Regarding claim 14, Junkar, as modified, teaches : obtain analysis data corresponding to the correlation; Abstract; claim 1 has correlation and algorithms for the same]
Junkar does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors are further configured select the waveform feature function and a time window of the plurality of windows based on the analysis data and the performance value; and obtain the second parameter set by performing at least one of a cross-over operation or a mutation operation on atleast one of the selected waveform feature function or the selected time window.
Altman I teaches select the waveform feature function and a time window of the plurality of windows based on the analysis data and the performance value analysis data and the performance value[Col 12; Lines 50-60 has waveform features; Col 23 lines 1-10 has time window and cross correlation]; and obtain the second parameter set by performing at least one of a cross-over operation or a mutation operation on at least one of the selected waveform feature function or the selected time window. [Col 12; Lines 50-60 has waveform features; Col 23 lines 1-10 has time window and cross correlation];
Regarding claim 15, Junkar, modified teaches, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the one or more instructions to obtain the waveform location function based on at least one of the performance value, the selected waveform feature function, or the selected time window. [Abstract; claim 1 has correlation and algorithms for the same; Abstract, Claim 1, Col 4; Lines 60-65 has output being a result of matching stored reference with correlated signal based on the matching algorithm to output location based on level of match meaning there is a value for the signals for a match to occur]
Altman I also teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the one or more instructions to obtain the waveform location function based on at least one of the performance value, the selected waveform feature function, or the selected time window. [Col 12; Lines 50-60 has waveform features; Col 23 lines 1-10 has time window and cross correlation]
Regarding claim 18, Junkar does not does not explicitly teach wherein obtain ambient condition information; obtain a velocity of sound of the space based on the ambient condition information; and obtain, further based on the velocity of sound, the second parameter set corresponding to the next generation.
Altman I teaches wherein :obtain ambient condition information [Claim 14; Col 3, Lines 55-60 and Col 10 Lines 45-55 consider temperature when accounting for the calculations]; obtain a velocity of sound of the space based on the ambient condition information; and obtain, further based on the velocity of sound, the second parameter set corresponding to the next generation. [Claim 14; Col 3, Lines 55-60 and Col 10 Lines 45-55 consider temperature when accounting for the calculations]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to have modified localization device of Junkar temperature compensation of Altman since compensation for environmental factors would be something that would be well known and practiced in order to achieve more accurate results.
Regarding claim 19, Junkar, as modified, teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the one or more instructions to obtain the second parameter set by using a second machine learning model using at least one of the ambient condition information, the fitness value, or the first parameter set as an input [Fig 4; Col 5, Lines 45-65 has iterative process to repeat based on condition; Col 4, Lines 60-65 has various algorithms meaning more than one can be used]
Altman, also, teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the one or more instructions to obtain the second parameter set by using a second machine learning model using at least one of the ambient condition information, the fitness value, or the first parameter set as an input[Col 11 Lines 60-Col 12 Line 5 and Col 14, Lines 55-65 all have thresholds and parameter and adjusting template meaning it is an updating and learning model]
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant is reading the prior art overly narrowly. Itis the claims as a whole having Junkar in view of Altman I and Altman II and Harrell that renders the claimed limitation obvious. Applicant is claiming a device for object tracking and for monitoring and adjusting background/baseline and distinguishing between object and baseline. The prior art when viewed as a whole teach object tracking and changes in background/baseline.
Regarding the arguments on pages 14-18 regarding determining change in object location or change in arrangement and compensation for environmental factors it is pointed out that in the rejection above that Junkar and Altman II have object tracking which means the change in the echo signals track the object which reads on the claim and setting any arbitrary threshold or value in signal to distinguish from background or baseline in order to better track objects movement and compensation for environmental factors would be something that would be well known and practiced in order to achieve more accurate results and as such applicant has not clearly shown how their claims are distinguished from the prior art.
Applicant's remaining arguments amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. Rejections are maintained – and no allowable subject matter can be identified at this time.
Conclusion
/VIKAS ATMAKURI/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/JAMES R HULKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645