DETAILED ACTION
Following prior arts are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-20060274075-A1 (hereinafter Yamazaki)
US 20220182625 A1 (hereinafter Danelsson)
US 20240276023 A1 (hereinafter Edpalm)
US-20150261884-A1 (hereinafter Pang)
US-20190270251-A1 (hereinafter Nagai)
US 20240276023 A1 (Fig.3; para 51)
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim rejections have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-7, 9-10, 12-13, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki in view of Danelsson
Regarding Claim 1. Yamazaki teaches a method of compressing image data, comprising the steps of.
receiving, at a computer system, a plurality of first digital image frames over a predetermined interval defined in a sequence to form a video sequence, each first digital image frame having a plurality of pixels within a spatial arrangement of the pixels of the plurality of pixels that is the same for all the first digital image frames in the plurality of first digital image frames[(para 126-129; “"As a result of performing spatial decimation processing on the N (N=4) blocks located at : the same position in the N consecutive frames (N=4), the data quantity of each block can be reduced”, "block processing portion 53 : reduces the number of pixels (spatial decimation processing).and the number of frames (temporal decimation processing) of the N blocks : (whose amounts of movements both in the horizontal direction and in the vertical direction are one pixel or more and less than two pixels) : located at the-same position in the N consecutive frames’”)] : defining, at the computer system, a first plurality of pixel positions within the spatial arrangement and a second plurality of pixel positions within the spatial arrangement [(para 169, 192 - "pixel values P14 and P3 : are arranged at the left and right sides, respectively, ta form the pixel set 255, Various techniques may be used to determining the order : of arranging the pixel values"; "the relative pixel position x of each pixel column set in the packed black after being subjected to decimation : processing and packing processing in the original image is calculated")] : storing, at a computer system, first data from pixels in the first plurality of pixel positions of frames of the plurality of first digital image frames at a first rate [(para 233,0491,0498-0499-"interblock pixel relative position calculator 362 calculates the relative pixel positions x of the pixel columns of each packed block in the original image starting from the head block by applying the motion vectors of the corresponding block according to the above-described equation (1)(x=mxv+4xn),and temporarily stores the calculated relative pixel positions x in an inter block-pixel relative position storage portion"; "blockdistributor731distributes the blocks to a frame rate conversion processor732,733,or734(frame rate conversion processor a, b, Or c),the frame rate conversion processors732,733,and 734 performing corresponding different frame rate conversion operations"; "packed blocks are packed blocks converted into the framerate R/M” ;"If R/M>=S” )] : and storing, at a computer system, second data from pixels in the second plurality of pixel positions of frames of the plurality of first digital image frames at a second rate, wherein the first rate is higher than the second rate. [(para 233, 491, 498-499; R/M>=S or R/M<S)]
Yamazaki does not explicitly show examining, at the computer system, the plurality of pixels in the first digital image frames to identify a first plurality of pixel positions within the spatial arrangement that are considered active pixels
However, in the same/related field of endeavor, Danelsson teaches examining, at the computer system, the plurality of pixels in the first digital image frames of the predetermined interval to identify a first plurality of pixel positions within the spatial arrangement that are considered active pixels ;[(para 40-49)]
Therefore, in light of above discussion it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the prior arts because such combination would provide predictable result with no change of their respective functionalities.
Yamazaki teaches, with regards to claim 5. The method as in claim 1, wherein: the step of storing the first data comprises associating the first data in a computer system memory with position of the first data in the spatial arrangement and the step of storing the second data comprises associating the second data in a computer system memory with position of the second data in the spatial arrangement. [(para [0493], [0497}-[0499} - “block : distributer 731 distributes each block to the frame rate conversion processor 732, 733, or 734 based on the block distribution flag. Blocks : subjected to spatial decimation processing in the block processing portion 121 are distributed to the frame rate conversion processor 732, E blocks subjected to temporal decimation processing in the block processing portion 132 are distributed to the frame rate conversion i processor 733, and blocks subjected to spatial and temporal decimation processing In the block processing portion 133 are distributed to : _| the frame rate conversion processors “configuration of the frame rate conversion processor 732, 733, or 734 is shown in FIG. 63, The E frame rate conversion processor 732, 733, ot 734 receives blocks output from the block distributor 731, and more specifically, blocks, : . each being packed frame the four blocks of the four frames obtained in the packing processor of the moving picture conversion apparatus : shown in FIG. 8, that is, the packed blocks having the relative pixel arrangement of the original image generated by the sorting processing : based on the relative pixel positions’; "if R/M>=S, the blocks input into the frame rate conversion processor 732, 733, or 734 are stored in : se a block storage portion"; “If R<S, the input blocks are supplied to a block movement processor 76% and the block storage portion"))]
Yamazaki teaches, with regards to claim 6. The method of claim 5, wherein the step of associating the first data comprises storing in a computer system memory a map that correlates the first data with the position of the first data in the spatial arrangement. [(para [0493}, [0497}-(0499)). :
Yamazaki teaches, with regards to claim 7. The method of claim 1, wherein the step of storing the first data comprises storing the first data without modification of the first data and the step of storing the second data comprises storing the second data without modification of the second data. [(para 198, 222, 276- “representative pixels (sampling points) of the frames 1 through 4, are stored"; “When performing packing processing after : temporal decimation, packed blocks are generated from only one frame, and thus, the replacement of pixel data does not occur”, “in the . : range A of the moving velocity of 4 te & pixels per frame, the order of the pixel columns in the packed blocks is not changed from that of : the original image. The same applies to the range B’)]
Yamazaki teaches, with regards to claim 9. The method of claim 5, wherein the step of associating the second data comprises storing the second data in an array that conforms to the spatial arrangement. [(para 478, 497-498 - "pixel-column swapping processing ... pixel-row swapping : processing ... having the relative pixel arrangement of the original image")]
Yamazaki teaches, with regards to claim 10. The method of claim 1, comprising: generating, at a computer system, a plurality of second digital image frames in the sequence, each second digital image frame having a plurality of pixels in the spatial arrangement, for each pixel position of the first plurality of pixel positions, defining, in the second digital image frames at the first rate and at a pixel position in the spatial arrangement in the second digital image frames corresponding to that pixel position of the first plurality of pixel positions, data corresponding to the data stored, for that pixel position of the first plurality of pixel positions, at the step of storing the first data, and for each pixel position of the second plurality of pixel positions, defining, in the second digital image frames at the second rate and at a pixel position in the spatial arrangement in the second digital image frames corresponding to that pixel position of the second plurality of pixel positions, data corresponding to the data stored, for that pixel position of the second plurality of pixel positions, at the step of storing the second data. [(para 197, 118, [0233], {0494}, [0497]-{0499] - mage accumulator 21 supplies the N consecutive frames to a block generating portion : 22, and also supplies the Mth frame of the N frames (Mth frame means that that frame is the Mth frame stored in the image accumulator’; : “interblock-pixel sorting packing portion 354 shown in FIG. 22, the received consecutive blocks are temporarily stored, in a block storage: portion 364.-An interlock-pixel relative position calculator 362 calculates the relative pixel positions x of the pixel columns of each packed : block in the original image starting from the head block by applying the motion vectors of the corresponding block according to the above- : described equation (1) (x=m.times.v+-4.times.n), and temporarily stores the calculated relative pixel positions x in an interlock-pixel i ‘ relative position storage portion”; “blocks, each being packed from the four blocks of the four frames obtained in the packing processor of : the moving picture conversion apparatus shown in FIG. 8, that is, the packed blocks having the-relative pixel arrangement of the original: image generated by the sorting processing based on the relative pixel positions")]
Yamazaki teaches, with regards to claim 12. The method as in claim 1, wherein the defining step comprises, for each first pixel position in the spatial arrangement over an interval of the first digital image frames, determining a variability in value of pixels at that pixel position of the first plurality of pixel positions over the interval, assigning the first pixel position to the first plurality of pixel positions or the second plurality of pixel positions based upon the variability.[[( para [0043]-{0044}] - “initial packed block may be reconstructed by receiving relative pixel positions set for the: pixels forming the packed block located substantially at the relative positions of the. pixels forming the original image before being: converted, and by sorting the relative pixel positions in ascending order or In descending order, and by changing the pixel positions of the : packed block corresponding to the relative pixel positions changed by the sorting’; “initial packed block may be reconstructed by correcting i ' {the positions of the pixels forming the packed block by a pixel swapping rule preset in accordance with the moving velocity of the blocks: - corresponding to the packed black")]
Yamazaki teaches, with regards to claim 13. The method as in claim 12, wherein the assigning step comprises: comparing the variability to a predetermined threshold, if the variability is above the predetermined threshold, assigning the first pixel position to the first plurality of pixel positions, and if the variability is below the predetermined threshold, assigning the first pixel position to the second plurality of pixel positions. [({para [0120}-: {0424}, [0187] - “if the amount of movement in the horizontal direction (X axis) or in the vertical direction {Y axis) supplied from the amount- : of movement detecting portion 314 Is two pixels or more, the block distributor 32 supplies the N blocks supplied form the block generating: . portion 22 and the amount of movement supplied frame the amount-of- movement detecting portion 31 to the block processing portion 51, If : the amounts of movements bath in the horizontal direction and the vertical direction are one pixel or more and fess than .. pixels, theblock distributor 32 outputs the N blacks and amount of movement to the block processing portion 53. If the amount of movement is other: than the above-described pixels, the block distributor 32 supplies the N blocks and amount of movement to the block processing portion’: : "“Calculations are made for determining the positions of the pixel columns in the packed black subjected to packing processing shown in FIG. 15 located in the packed black in the original image shown in FIG, 12. More specifically, the relative pixel position x of each pixel: column of the packed block subjected ta packing processing in the original image is calculated, assuming that the moving velocity of the: original image is v pixels per frame”)]
Yamazaki in view of Danelsson teaches, with regards to claim 18. A system for compressing image data, comprising: one or more processors: a memory coupled to the one or more processors: and one or more computer programs stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more computer programs including computer executable instructions that, upon execution, perform the steps of receiving a plurality of first digital image frames defined in a sequence to form a video sequence, each first digital image frame having a plurality of pixels within a spatial arrangement of the pixels of the plurality of pixels that is the same for all the first digital image frames in the plurality of first digital image frames, defining a first plurality of pixel positions within the spatial arrangement and a second plurality of pixel positions within the spatial arrangement, storing, at a computer system, first data from pixels in the first plurality of pixel positions of frames of the plurality of first digital image frames at a first rate, and storing, at a computer system, second data from pixels in the second plurality of pixel positions of frames of the plurality of first digital image frames at a second rate, wherein the first rate is higher than the second rate. [(see analysis of claim 1 and para 510-511 of Yamazaki)]
Claims 2-4, 8, 11, 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki in view of Danelsson in view of Pang.
Regarding Claim 2: Yamazaki teaches for each pixel position in the first plurality of pixel positions, the first rate is defined as pixels at said pixel position in the first plurality of pixel positions over a predetermined interval of the first digital image frames, and for each pixel position in the second plurality of pixel positions, the second rate is defined as pixels at said pixel position In the second plurality of pixel positions over the predetermined interval (para [0233], [0374], [0494], [0498}-{0499}),
but does not explicitly teach a first percentage of, a second percentage
However, in the same/related field of endeavor, Pang teaches a first percentage of, a second percentage of (para [0157}, [0175] - "for N . {a.g., N=3, 4, 5, 6, 7... 32) predefined pixel values, if the percentage of pixels (e.g., either luma or chroma, or both luma and chroma) with values equal of any of these N values in the candidate reference block is lower than a threshold (6.g., 70%, 75%, 80%, 85%, 90%, 95%}, then the candidate reference block is not added into the hash table"; "the process 600 may involve determining a percentage of pixels of the current black which have predetermined pixel values")
Therefore, in light of above discussion it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the prior arts because such combination would provide predictable result with no change of their respective functionalities, as percentage is common way to represent a ratio.
The prior arts combination additionally teaches with regards to claim 3. The method as in claim 2, wherein the first percentage is 100%. [(para 157, 475 of Pang)]
The prior arts combination additionally teaches with regards to claim 4. The method as in claim 3, wherein the second percentage corresponds to one said first digital image frame over the predetermined interval. [(Yamazaki further teaches to one said first digital image frame over the predetermined interval (para [0233], [0374], [0491], . {0498}-[0489) - "Ris 240 fps and M is 4 in this embodiment"). Pang further teaches wherein the second percentage corresponds (para {0157}, [0175))]
The prior arts combination additionally teaches with regards to claim 8. The method of claim 1, wherein the step of storing the first data comprises changing bit depth of the first data and the step of storing the second data comprises changing bit depth of the second data. [(Yamazaki further teaches wherein the step of storing the first data comprises the first data and the step of storing the second
data comprises the second data (para {0493}, [0497]-{0499}}, but does not explicitly teach changing bit depth of. However, Pang does teach changing bit depth of (para [0067] - "quantization process may reduce the bit depth")]
The prior arts combination additionally teaches with regards to claim 11. Yamazaki further teaches comprising: generating, at a computer system, a plurality of second digital image frames in the sequence, each second digital image frame having a plurality of pixels in the spatial arrangement, for each pixel position of the first plurality of pixel positions, defining, in the second digital image frames in an even distribution over the predetermined interval and at 2 pixel: position in the spatial arrangement in the second digital image frames corresponding to that pixel position of the first plurality of pixel positions in the first digital image frames, third data corresponding to the data stored, for that pixel position of the first plurality of pixel positions, at the step of storing the first data (para {0117}-(01418}, [0233], [0387), [0494], {04973-40499} - “It is desirable. that the distribution results obtained by the horizontally 1/4-decimated consecutive block extracting portion 551 and the vertically 1/4-decimated consecutive | block extracting portion 552 be the same as the distribution results obtained by the packing processing”), and defining remaining pixels, at the pixel position in the spatial arrangement in the second digital Image frames corresponding to that pixel position of the: first plurality of | pixel positions in the first digital image frames, by interpolating the third data (para [0233], 10277}-{0278}, [0494], 10497]-40499] - “pixel | arrangement in the packed blocks, can be estimated based on information concerning the moving velocity range of the corresponding blocks in the original image without the need to determine the relative pixel positions x of the original image"), and for each pixel position of. the second plurality of pixel positions, defining, In the second digital image frames at an even distribution over the predetermined interval: and at a pixel position in the spatial arrangement in the second digital image frames corresponding to that pixel position of the second: plurality of pixel positions, fourth data corresponding to the data stored, for that pixel position of the second plurality of pixel positions, at the step of storing the second data (para [0117]{01 18], [0233], [0387], (0494), [0497}-[0499}}, and defining remaining pixels, at the pixel — : position in the spatial arrangement in the second digital image frames corresponding to that pixel position of the second plurality of pixel positions in the second digital image frames, by interpolating the fourth data (para {0233}, [0277]-[0278], [0491], [0497}-[O499)).
Pang further teaches at the first percentage, if the first percentage is less than 100%, at the second percentage, if the second percentage is less than 100% (para {0157}, {O174]).
The prior arts combination additionally teaches with regards to claim 14. Yamazaki further teaches wherein: for each pixel position in the first plurality of pixel positions, the first rate is defined as pixels at said pixel position in the first plurality of pixel positions over a first interval of the first digital image frames, for each pixel position. in the second plurality of pixel positions, the second rate is defined as pixels at said pixel. position in the second plurality of pixel positions over the predetermined first interval (para [0233], [0374], [0491], [0498]-{0499)), and the defining step comprises, for each first pixel position in the spatial arrangement over a second interval of the first digital image frames that includes the first interval, determining a variability in value of pixels at the first pixel position aver the second interval, assigning the first pixel position to the first plurality of pixel positions or the second plurality of pixel positions based upon the variability (para [0175], [0187]-[0192], [0213}-{0219] "block distribution flag indicating which block processing portion 131, 132, or 133 is used for decimating each block, and a motion-vector velocity flag indicating the range of velocity of a motion vector are coded as side information. {n this case, the velocities of the motion vectors are divided into a plurality of velocity ranges”, “Calculations are made for determining the positions of the pixel columns in the packed block subjected to packing processing shown in FIG. 15 located in the packed black in the original image shown in FIG, 12. More specifically, the . relative pixel position x of each pixel column of the packed block subjected to packing processing in the original image is calculated, ‘assuming that the moving velocity of the original image fs v pixels per frame"; "When the moving velocity v is tower than 2 (v&lb2), the pixel column (n=1, m=O) js located farther rightward than the pixel column (n=G, m=2}"; “when the moving velocity v is 2 or higher (v.gtoreg.2},the pixel column (n=1, m=0) is located farther leftward than the pixel column (n=O, m=2)"), but does not explicitly teach a first percentage of, a second percentage of.
However, Pang does teach a first percentage of, a second percentage of (para 157, 175)
The prior arts combination additionally teaches with regards to claim 15. The method as in claim 14, wherein the first interval and the second interval constitute the same first digital image frames. (Yamazaki para 120, 123)
The prior arts combination additionally teaches with regards to claim 16. The method as in claim 14, wherein the second interval constitutes a number of first digital image frames greater than does the first interval. [( Yamazaki para[0146],[0149] "In the block generator 110,N frames(N=4)";“using the two consecutive frames(Mth frame and
(M+L)th frame ,i.e., the second frame and the third frame)among the N frames”).)]
Claims 17 & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki in view of Danelsson in view of Nagai.
Regarding Claims 17 & 19: Yamazaki does not explicitly show the plurality of first digital image frames comprises a video sequence of an instance of an additive manufacturing process
However, in the same/related field of endeavor, Nagai teaches plurality of first digital image frames comprises a video sequence of an instance of an additive manufacturing process
Therefore, in light of above discussion it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the prior arts because the processing Yamazaki can be applied to any video sequence including that of Nagai.
Conclusion
/SHAHAN UR RAHAMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426