DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 10/20/2025 has been entered. Claims 1- 54 are pending in this application.
Claims 21, and 30 have been amended. Claims 1- 20, 25- 27, 33- 35, and 37- 44, are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 10/20/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 21, and 30 under Remarks Concerning Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hongtao Wang (US 20220210434 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 24, 30, 45, 49, 50, and 51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xin Zhao (US 20180176556 A1) (hereinafter Zhao) in view of Tomonori Hashimoto (US 20250168405 A1) (hereinafter Hashimoto) further in view of Hongtao Wang (US 20220210434 A1) (hereinafter Wang):
Regarding Claim 21, Zhao teaches a method of video decoding ([0013], and [0005] teaches a video decoding method) performed at a computing system having memory and one or more processors ([0012] teaches the computing system that includes a memory and processors), the method comprising:
obtaining video data comprising a plurality of blocks, including a first block, from a video bitstream ([0057- 0058], and [0051] teaches video data that includes multiple blocks from the bitstream);
determining a plurality of transform coefficients associated with the first block([0008], and [0058] teach determining the transform coefficients of the video block) , wherein coefficient signs associated with the plurality of transform coefficients are not explicitly signaled in the video bitstream ([0075], and [0062] teaches the coefficient signs are not signaled in the bitstream).
Zhao does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Hashimoto teaches deriving respective coefficient signs for the plurality of transform coefficients ( teaches determining the coefficient signs for the coefficients [0162]) including:
deriving, using a sign prediction technique, respective coefficient signs for a first N transform coefficients from the plurality of transform coefficients along a scanning order for the first block, wherein N is a positive integer ([0233],[0242], and [0235] teaches splitting the coefficients into groups based on scan order and applying sign prediction to the first group) ; and
(deriving) respective coefficient signs for a second set of the plurality of transform coefficients, wherein each transform coefficient in the second set is after the first N transform coefficients in the scanning order ([0242], and [0238] teaches determining the coefficient signs for the second group, which is after the first group); and
reconstructing the first block based on the plurality of transform coefficients and the respective coefficient signs for the plurality of transform coefficients ( [0010], [0157- 0158], and [0115] teach reconstructing the block using the derived coefficients and signs).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the low-complexity sign prediction for video coding disclosed by Zhao to add the grouping of the transform coefficient of Hashimoto to decrease the number of calculations needed (Hashimoto [0009]).
Hashimoto does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Wang teaches deriving, using a cross-component sign coding technique respective coefficient signs ([0176], [0201], and [0212] teaches deriving signs based on cross component information).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the low-complexity sign prediction for video coding disclosed by Zhao to add the grouping of the transform coefficient of Hashimoto to further add the cross-component sign coding of Wang to improve coding efficiency. (Wang [0006]).
Regarding Claim 24, Zhao in view of Hashimoto and Wang teach the method of claim 21. Hashimoto further teaches forgoing predicting respective coefficient signs for a third set of the plurality of transform coefficients (“it is desirable that the sign prediction is performed excluding the transform coefficients, in the group, whose signs are not determined (for example, by not performing addition of undetermined terms, or by replacing the undetermined transform coefficients with 0).” [0245]; “The sign prediction unit 31110 performs the sign prediction for each group. The sign prediction unit 31110 performs the sign prediction on the transform coefficients in a certain group without using the transform coefficients whose signs are not determined (or by replacing them with 0). Consequently, the sign prediction unit 31110 performs the sign prediction for the subsequent groups, using the transform coefficients whose signs are determined.”[0239]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the low-complexity sign prediction for video coding disclosed by Zhao to add the grouping of the transform coefficient of Hashimoto to decrease the number of calculations needed (Hashimoto [0009]).
Regarding Claim 30, Zhao teaches a computing system (“desktop computers, notebook (i.e., laptop) computers, tablet computers” [0036]), comprising:
control circuitry (“desktop computers, notebook (i.e., laptop) computers, tablet computers” [0036]);
memory (“source device 12 provides the video data to destination device 14 via a computer-readable medium 16. Source device 12 and destination device 14 may comprise any of a wide range of devices, including desktop computers, notebook (i.e., laptop) computers, tablet computers” [0036]); and
one or more sets of instructions stored in the memory and configured for execution by the control circuitry, the one or more sets of instructions (“medium that can be used to store desired program code in the form of instructions or data structures and that can be accessed by a computer” [0347]) comprising instructions for:
obtaining video data comprising a plurality of blocks, including a first block(“Video decoder 30 may receive a bitstream generated by video encoder 22. In addition, video decoder 30 may parse the bitstream to obtain syntax elements from the bitstream.” [0058]; “Video encoder 22 may partition a coding block of a CU into one or more prediction blocks.” [0051]; “the bitstream comprises an encoded representation of video data” [0057]) ;
determining a plurality of transform coefficients associated with the first block (“Residual data represents pixel differences between the original block to be coded and the predictive block. For further compression, the residual data may be transformed from the pixel domain to a transform domain, resulting in residual transform coefficients, which then may be quantized “ [0008]; “video decoder 30 may inverse quantize coefficient blocks of TUs of the current CU” [0058]);
signaling the plurality of transform coefficients (Fig. 11; note: the transform coefficients are signaled using the transform processing unit (104), and encode the coefficients using the entropy encoding unit 118 for all sets).
Zhao does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Hashimoto teaches encoding(“coding a sign for each transform coefficient” [0006]), using a sign prediction technique, respective coefficient signs for a first N transform coefficients from the plurality of transform coefficients along a scanning order for the first block, wherein N is a positive integer (“The transform coefficients in the first group may be located on a lower frequency side in scan order than the transform coefficients in the second group. In other words, i<j is satisfied, in a case that the scan position of the transform coefficients in the first group is i and the scan position of the transform coefficients in the second group is j.” [0242]; “The sign prediction unit 31110 … determines the signs of the transform coefficients in the first group.” [0235]);
encoding (“coding a sign for each transform coefficient” [0006]), …, respective coefficient signs for a second set of the plurality of transform coefficients, wherein each transform coefficient in the second set is after the first N transform coefficients in the scanning order (“The transform coefficients in the first group may be located on a lower frequency side in scan order than the transform coefficients in the second group. In other words, i<j is satisfied, in a case that the scan position of the transform coefficients in the first group is i and the scan position of the transform coefficients in the second group is j.” [0242]; “The sign prediction unit 31110 … determines the signs of the transform coefficients in the second group.” [0238]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the low-complexity sign prediction for video coding disclosed by Zhao to add the grouping of the transform coefficient of Hashimoto to decrease the number of calculations needed (Hashimoto [0009]).
Hashimoto does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Wang teaches using a cross-component sign coding technique, ([0008], [0176], [0201], and [0212] teaches deriving signs based on cross component information and encoding video data).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the low-complexity sign prediction for video coding disclosed by Zhao to add the grouping of the transform coefficient of Hashimoto to further add the cross-component sign coding of Wang to improve coding efficiency. (Wang [0006]).
Regarding Claim 45, Zhao in view of Hashimoto and Wang teach the computing system of claim 30. Zhao teaches the one or more sets of instructions further comprise instructions (“medium that can be used to store desired program code in the form of instructions or data structures and that can be accessed by a computer” [0347]).
Zhao does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Hashimoto teaches instructions for forgoing signaling respective coefficient signs for a third set of transform coefficients associated with the first block. (“it is desirable that the sign prediction is performed excluding the transform coefficients, in the group, whose signs are not determined (for example, by not performing addition of undetermined terms, or by replacing the undetermined transform coefficients with 0).” [0245]; “The sign prediction unit 31110 performs the sign prediction for each group. The sign prediction unit 31110 performs the sign prediction on the transform coefficients in a certain group without using the transform coefficients whose signs are not determined (or by replacing them with 0). Consequently, the sign prediction unit 31110 performs the sign prediction for the subsequent groups, using the transform coefficients whose signs are determined.”[0239]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the low-complexity sign prediction for video coding disclosed by Zhao to add the grouping of the transform coefficient of Hashimoto to decrease the number of calculations needed (Hashimoto [0009]).
Regarding Claim 49, Zhao in view of Hashimoto and Wang teach the method of claim 21. Hashimoto further teaches wherein the respective coefficient signs for the first N transform coefficients are derived after deriving the respective coefficient signs for the second set of the plurality of transform coefficients ([0133] teaches that in decreasing frequency decoding, the coefficient that is last in a low high scan is decoded first).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the low-complexity sign prediction for video coding disclosed by Zhao to add the grouping of the transform coefficient of Hashimoto to decrease the number of calculations needed (Hashimoto [0009]).
Regarding Claim 50, Zhao in view of Hashimoto and Wang teach the method of claim 21. Hashimoto further teaches the plurality of transform coefficients correspond to a first color ([0067], and [0154] teaches first color component coefficients).
the method further comprises selecting the respective coefficient signs for the first N transform coefficients for use with the sign prediction technique when a corresponding color element of a second color has a non-zero transform coefficient .(“ the absolute value AbsLevel[i] of the transform coefficients in the first group may be equal to or larger than the absolute value AbsLevel[j] of the transform coefficients in the second group. In other words, the following is satisfied.” [0243]; “The CU decoder 3022 performs a loop related to the color component for each TU. In a case that isSignPredictedTU is 1, the CU decoder 3022 calls syntax sign_prediction (x, y, tbWidth, tbHeight, cIdx) related to the sign prediction for each color component. Here, x and y indicate the top left position (x, y) of the TU. tbWidth indicates the width of the TU, tbHeight indicates the height of the TU, and cIdx indicates the color component.” [0154]; “The sign prediction unit 31110 may perform derivation by changing the maximum number of signs to be subjected to the sign prediction, depending on luminance or chrominance” [0227]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the low-complexity sign prediction for video coding disclosed by Zhao to add the grouping of the transform coefficient of Hashimoto to decrease the number of calculations needed (Hashimoto [0009]).
Regarding Claim 51, Zhao teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a video bitstream that is generated by a video encoding method (“a non-transitory computer-readable medium encoded with instructions” [0012]; “Video data memory 151 may store encoded video data, such as an encoded video bitstream, to be decoded by the components of video decoder 30” [0145]), the video bitstream comprising:
plurality of transform coefficients for a block of video data (“. Residual data represents pixel differences between the original block to be coded and the predictive block. For further compression, the residual data may be transformed from the pixel domain to a transform domain, resulting in residual transform coefficients, which then may be quantized “ [0008]; “video decoder 30 may inverse quantize coefficient blocks of TUs of the current CU” [0058]);
wherein the video encoding method (“a method of coding video data.” [0013]) comprises:
determining the plurality of transform coefficients associated with the block (“. Residual data represents pixel differences between the original block to be coded and the predictive block. For further compression, the residual data may be transformed from the pixel domain to a transform domain, resulting in residual transform coefficients, which then may be quantized “ [0008]; “video decoder 30 may inverse quantize coefficient blocks of TUs of the current CU” [0058])
Zhao does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Hashimoto teaches encoded information for respective coefficient signs (“coding a sign for each transform coefficient” [0006]) for a first N transform coefficients from the plurality of transform coefficients along a scanning order for the block (“The transform coefficients in the first group may be located on a lower frequency side in scan order than the transform coefficients in the second group. In other words, i<j is satisfied, in a case that the scan position of the transform coefficients in the first group is i and the scan position of the transform coefficients in the second group is j.” [0242]; “The sign prediction unit 31110 … determines the signs of the transform coefficients in the first group.” [0235]);
and encoded information for respective coefficient signs (“coding a sign for each transform coefficient” [0006]) for a second set of the plurality of transform coefficients (“The transform coefficients in the first group may be located on a lower frequency side in scan order than the transform coefficients in the second group. In other words, i<j is satisfied, in a case that the scan position of the transform coefficients in the first group is i and the scan position of the transform coefficients in the second group is j.” [0242]; “The sign prediction unit 31110 … determines the signs of the transform coefficients in the second group.” [0238]); and
encoding (“coding a sign for each transform coefficient” [0006]), using a sign prediction technique, the respective coefficient signs for the first N transform coefficients from the plurality of transform coefficients along the scanning order for the block, wherein N is a positive integer (“The transform coefficients in the first group may be located on a lower frequency side in scan order than the transform coefficients in the second group. In other words, i<j is satisfied, in a case that the scan position of the transform coefficients in the first group is i and the scan position of the transform coefficients in the second group is j.” [0242]; “The sign prediction unit 31110 … determines the signs of the transform coefficients in the first group.” [0235]); and
encoding (“coding a sign for each transform coefficient” [0006]), … the respective coefficient signs for the second set of the plurality of transform coefficients, wherein each transform coefficient in the second set is after the first N transform coefficients in the scanning order (“The transform coefficients in the first group may be located on a lower frequency side in scan order than the transform coefficients in the second group. In other words, i<j is satisfied, in a case that the scan position of the transform coefficients in the first group is i and the scan position of the transform coefficients in the second group is j.” [0242]; “The sign prediction unit 31110 … determines the signs of the transform coefficients in the second group.” [0238])..
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the low-complexity sign prediction for video coding disclosed by Zhao to add the grouping of the transform coefficient of Hashimoto to decrease the number of calculations needed (Hashimoto [0009]).
Hashimoto does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Wang teaches using a cross-component sign coding technique, ([0008], [0176], [0201], and [0212] teaches deriving signs based on cross component information and encoding video data).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the low-complexity sign prediction for video coding disclosed by Zhao to add the grouping of the transform coefficient of Hashimoto to further add the cross-component sign coding of Wang to improve coding efficiency. (Wang [0006]).
Claims 22- 23, 28- 29 31- 32, 36, 46-, 47, and 52- 53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xin Zhao (US 20180176556 A1) (hereinafter Zhao) in view of Tomonori Hashimoto (US 20250168405 A1) (hereinafter Hashimoto) in view of Hongtao Wang (US 20220210434 A1) (hereinafter Wang) further in view of Roman Igorevich Chernyak (US 20220217347 A1) (hereinafter Chernyak):
Regarding Claim 22, Zhao in view of Hashimoto and Wang teach the method of claim 21; however do not explicitly teach the sign prediction technique comprises predicting a coefficient sign for a color coefficient based on one or more neighbor components
However, in an analogous art, Chernyak teaches the sign prediction technique comprises predicting a coefficient sign for a color coefficient based on one or more neighbor components ( “Mode 1: Cb is coded and Cr is derived according to Cr=CSign*Cb/2” [0267]; “Mode 2: Cb is coded and Cr is derived according to Cr=CSign*Cb” [0268]; “Mode 3: Cr is coded and Cb is derived according to Cb=CSign*Cr/2“it w [0269]; “where CSign represents the sign used for deriving the second chroma residual block” [0270]; “cross-component rotational transform” [0275]; Note: the Cr coefficient are determined (e.g., predicting) based on Cb coefficient, where Cb is a neighboring component).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the low-complexity sign prediction for video coding disclosed by Zhao in view of Hashimoto and Wang to further add the cross-component sign coding using neighbor components of Chernyak to improve the video compression without the sacrifice of image quality (Chernyak [0004]).
Regarding Claim 23, Zhao in view of Hashimoto and Wang teach the method of claim 21; however do not explicitly teach wherein the cross-component sign coding technique comprises predicting a coefficient sign for a color coefficient based on a sign value of a different color coefficient.
However, in an analogous art, Chernyak teaches wherein the cross-component sign coding technique comprises predicting a coefficient sign for a color coefficient based on a sign value of a different color coefficient (“Mode 1: Cb is coded and Cr is derived according to Cr=CSign*Cb/2” [0267]; These coding modes apply simplified cross-component rotational transforms, as shown in Table 1. Note: the modes a selected based on table 1; “cross-component rotational transform” [0275]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the low-complexity sign prediction for video coding disclosed by Zhao in view of Hashimoto and Wang to further add the cross-component sign coding using neighbor components of Chernyak to improve the video compression without the sacrifice of image quality (Chernyak [0004]).
Regarding Claim 28, Zhao in view of Hashimoto and Wang teach the method of claim 21. Hashimoto further teaches selecting the second set …in accordance with a determination that each transform coefficient of the second set is non-zero(“grouping of the transform coefficients to be predicted is performed based on the absolute value of the transform coefficients. Specifically, the sign prediction unit 31110 performs sorting depending on the absolute value AbsLevel of the transform coefficients. Subsequently, the sign prediction unit 31110 selects (maxNumPredSigns/2) transform coefficients having a larger absolute value as the transform coefficients in the first group, and selects (maxNumPredSigns/2) transform coefficients having a smaller absolute value as the transform coefficients in the second group. The sign prediction unit 31110 may perform sorting in ascending order, and select top (maxNumPredSigns/2) transform coefficients as the first group and the following (maxNumPredSigns/2) transform coefficients as the second group. Then, the sign prediction unit 31110 performs the sign prediction for each group.” [0246]; “he CU decoder 3022 derives width spAreaWidth and height spAreaHeight of a range to which the sign prediction is applied from the block size tbWidth and tbHeight and spRange to which the sign prediction can be applied. Subsequently, the CU decoder 3022 performs the following processing in a coefficient being non-zero and for which sign hiding is not used “ [0155]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the low-complexity sign prediction for video coding disclosed by Zhao to add the grouping of the transform coefficient of Hashimoto to decrease the number of calculations needed (Hashimoto [0009]).
Hashimoto does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Chernyak teaches for use with the cross-component sign coding technique (“Mode 1: Cb is coded and Cr is derived according to Cr=CSign*Cb/2” [0267]; “Mode 2: Cb is coded and Cr is derived according to Cr=CSign*Cb” [0268]; “Mode 3: Cr is coded and Cb is derived according to Cb=CSign*Cr/2“it w [0269]; “where CSign represents the sign used for deriving the second chroma residual block” [0270]; “cross-component rotational transform” [0275]; Note: the Cr coefficient are determined based on Cb coefficient; “sps_joint_cbcr_enabled_flag equal to 1 specifies that the joint coding of chroma residuals is enabled for a coded layer video sequence” [0302]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the low-complexity sign prediction for video coding disclosed by Zhao in view of Hashimoto and Wang to further add the cross-component sign coding using neighbor components of Chernyak to improve the video compression without the sacrifice of image quality (Chernyak [0004]).
Regarding Claim 29, Zhao in view of Hashimoto and Wang teach the method of claim 21. Hashimoto further teaches the second set comprises a set of color elements of a first color (“The CU decoder 3022 performs a loop related to the color component for each TU. In a case that isSignPredictedTU is 1, the CU decoder 3022 calls syntax sign_prediction (x, y, tbWidth, tbHeight, cIdx) related to the sign prediction for each color component. Here, x and y indicate the top left position (x, y) of the TU. tbWidth indicates the width of the TU, tbHeight indicates the height of the TU, and cIdx indicates the color component.” [0154]; “The sign prediction unit 31110 may perform derivation by changing the maximum number of signs to be subjected to the sign prediction, depending on luminance or chrominance” [0227]; “The sign prediction unit 31110 according to the present embodiment divides the transform coefficients to be predicted into two groups, and performs the prediction of the signs for each group. “ [0233]) ; and
… in accordance with a determination that, for each element of the second set, a corresponding color element of a second color has a non-zero transform coefficient.(“ the absolute value AbsLevel[i] of the transform coefficients in the first group may be equal to or larger than the absolute value AbsLevel[j] of the transform coefficients in the second group. In other words, the following is satisfied.” [0243]; “The CU decoder 3022 performs a loop related to the color component for each TU. In a case that isSignPredictedTU is 1, the CU decoder 3022 calls syntax sign_prediction (x, y, tbWidth, tbHeight, cIdx) related to the sign prediction for each color component. Here, x and y indicate the top left position (x, y) of the TU. tbWidth indicates the width of the TU, tbHeight indicates the height of the TU, and cIdx indicates the color component.” [0154]; “The sign prediction unit 31110 may perform derivation by changing the maximum number of signs to be subjected to the sign prediction, depending on luminance or chrominance” [0227]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the low-complexity sign prediction for video coding disclosed by Zhao to add the grouping of the transform coefficient of Hashimoto to decrease the number of calculations needed (Hashimoto [0009]).
Hashimoto does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Chernyak teaches the method further comprises selecting the second set for use with the cross- component sign coding technique (“Mode 1: Cb is coded and Cr is derived according to Cr=CSign*Cb/2;” [0267]; note: the Cr and the Cb are color elements. The Cr is the second set and it comprises the color elements of the first color (Cb]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the low-complexity sign prediction for video coding disclosed by Zhao in view of Hashimoto and Wang to further add the cross-component sign coding using neighbor components of Chernyak to improve the video compression without the sacrifice of image quality (Chernyak [0004]).
Regarding Claim 31, Zhao in view of Hashimoto and Wang teach the computing system of claim 30; however do not explicitly teach the sign prediction technique comprises predicting a coefficient sign for a color coefficient based on one or more neighbor components
However, in an analogous art, Chernyak teaches the sign prediction technique comprises predicting a coefficient sign for a color coefficient based on one or more neighbor components ( “Mode 1: Cb is coded and Cr is derived according to Cr=CSign*Cb/2” [0267]; “Mode 2: Cb is coded and Cr is derived according to Cr=CSign*Cb” [0268]; “Mode 3: Cr is coded and Cb is derived according to Cb=CSign*Cr/2“it w [0269]; “where CSign represents the sign used for deriving the second chroma residual block” [0270]; “cross-component rotational transform” [0275]; Note: the Cr coefficient are determined (e.g., predicting) based on Cb coefficient, where Cb is a neighboring component).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the low-complexity sign prediction for video coding disclosed by Zhao in view of Hashimoto and Wang to further add the cross-component sign coding using neighbor components of Chernyak to improve the video compression without the sacrifice of image quality (Chernyak [0004]).
Regarding Claim 32, Zhao in view of Hashimoto and Wang teach the computing system of claim 30; however do not explicitly teach wherein the cross-component sign coding technique comprises predicting a coefficient sign for a color coefficient based on a sign value of a different color coefficient.
However, in an analogous art, Chernyak teaches wherein the cross-component sign coding technique comprises predicting a coefficient sign for a color coefficient based on a sign value of a different color coefficient (“Mode 1: Cb is coded and Cr is derived according to Cr=CSign*Cb/2” [0267]; These coding modes apply simplified cross-component rotational transforms, as shown in Table 1. Note: the modes a selected based on table 1; “cross-component rotational transform” [0275]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the low-complexity sign prediction for video coding disclosed by Zhao in view of Hashimoto and Wang to further add the cross-component sign coding using neighbor components of Chernyak to improve the video compression without the sacrifice of image quality (Chernyak [0004]).
Regarding Claim 36, Zhao in view of Hashimoto and Wang teach the computing system of claim 30. Zhao teaches wherein the one or more sets of instructions further comprise instructions (“medium that can be used to store desired program code in the form of instructions or data structures and that can be accessed by a computer” [0347]).
Zhao does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Hashimoto teaches instructions for selecting the second set … in accordance with a determination that each transform coefficient of the second set is non-zero.(“grouping of the transform coefficients to be predicted is performed based on the absolute value of the transform coefficients. Specifically, the sign prediction unit 31110 performs sorting depending on the absolute value AbsLevel of the transform coefficients. Subsequently, the sign prediction unit 31110 selects (maxNumPredSigns/2) transform coefficients having a larger absolute value as the transform coefficients in the first group, and selects (maxNumPredSigns/2) transform coefficients having a smaller absolute value as the transform coefficients in the second group. The sign prediction unit 31110 may perform sorting in ascending order, and select top (maxNumPredSigns/2) transform coefficients as the first group and the following (maxNumPredSigns/2) transform coefficients as the second group. Then, the sign prediction unit 31110 performs the sign prediction for each group.” [0246]; “he CU decoder 3022 derives width spAreaWidth and height spAreaHeight of a range to which the sign prediction is applied from the block size tbWidth and tbHeight and spRange to which the sign prediction can be applied. Subsequently, the CU decoder 3022 performs the following processing in a coefficient being non-zero and for which sign hiding is not used “ [0155]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the low-complexity sign prediction for video coding disclosed by Zhao to add the grouping of the transform coefficient of Hashimoto to decrease the number of calculations needed (Hashimoto [0009]).
Hashimoto does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Chernyak teaches for use with the cross-component sign coding technique (“Mode 1: Cb is coded and Cr is derived according to Cr=CSign*Cb/2” [0267]; “Mode 2: Cb is coded and Cr is derived according to Cr=CSign*Cb” [0268]; “Mode 3: Cr is coded and Cb is derived according to Cb=CSign*Cr/2“it w [0269]; “where CSign represents the sign used for deriving the second chroma residual block” [0270]; “cross-component rotational transform” [0275]; Note: the Cr coefficient are determined based on Cb coefficient; “sps_joint_cbcr_enabled_flag equal to 1 specifies that the joint coding of chroma residuals is enabled for a coded layer video sequence” [0302]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the low-complexity sign prediction for video coding disclosed by Zhao in view of Hashimoto and Wang to further add the cross-component sign coding using neighbor components of Chernyak to improve the video compression without the sacrifice of image quality (Chernyak [0004]).
Regarding Claim 46, Zhao in view of Hashimoto and Wang teach the computing system of claim 30. Zhao teaches wherein the one or more sets of instructions further comprise instructions (“medium that can be used to store desired program code in the form of instructions or data structures and that can be accessed by a computer” [0347]).
Zhao does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Hashimoto teaches instructions for selecting the second set … in accordance with a determination that each transform coefficient of the second set is non-zero.(“grouping of the transform coefficients to be predicted is performed based on the absolute value of the transform coefficients. Specifically, the sign prediction unit 31110 performs sorting depending on the absolute value AbsLevel of the transform coefficients. Subsequently, the sign prediction unit 31110 selects (maxNumPredSigns/2) transform coefficients having a larger absolute value as the transform coefficients in the first group, and selects (maxNumPredSigns/2) transform coefficients having a smaller absolute value as the transform coefficients in the second group. The sign prediction unit 31110 may perform sorting in ascending order, and select top (maxNumPredSigns/2) transform coefficients as the first group and the following (maxNumPredSigns/2) transform coefficients as the second group. Then, the sign prediction unit 31110 performs the sign prediction for each group.” [0246]; “he CU decoder 3022 derives width spAreaWidth and height spAreaHeight of a range to which the sign prediction is applied from the block size tbWidth and tbHeight and spRange to which the sign prediction can be applied. Subsequently, the CU decoder 3022 performs the following processing in a coefficient being non-zero and for which sign hiding is not used “ [0155]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the low-complexity sign prediction for video coding disclosed by Zhao to add the grouping of the transform coefficient of Hashimoto to decrease the number of calculations needed (Hashimoto [0009]).
Hashimoto does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Chernyak teaches for use with the cross-component sign coding technique (“Mode 1: Cb is coded and Cr is derived according to Cr=CSign*Cb/2” [0267]; “Mode 2: Cb is coded and Cr is derived according to Cr=CSign*Cb” [0268]; “Mode 3: Cr is coded and Cb is derived according to Cb=CSign*Cr/2“it w [0269]; “where CSign represents the sign used for deriving the second chroma residual block” [0270]; “cross-component rotational transform” [0275]; Note: the Cr coefficient are determined based on Cb coefficient; “sps_joint_cbcr_enabled_flag equal to 1 specifies that the joint coding of chroma residuals is enabled for a coded layer video sequence” [0302]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the low-complexity sign prediction for video coding disclosed by Zhao in view of Hashimoto and Wang to further add the cross-component sign coding using neighbor components of Chernyak to improve the video compression without the sacrifice of image quality (Chernyak [0004]).
Regarding Claim 47, Zhao in view of Hashimoto and Wang teach the computing system of claim 30. Zhao teaches the one or more sets of instructions (“medium that can be used to store desired program code in the form of instructions or data structures and that can be accessed by a computer” [0347]).
Zhao does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Hashimoto teaches the second set comprises a set of color elements of a first color (“The CU decoder 3022 performs a loop related to the color component for each TU. In a case that isSignPredictedTU is 1, the CU decoder 3022 calls syntax sign_prediction (x, y, tbWidth, tbHeight, cIdx) related to the sign prediction for each color component. Here, x and y indicate the top left position (x, y) of the TU. tbWidth indicates the width of the TU, tbHeight indicates the height of the TU, and cIdx indicates the color component.” [0154]; “The sign prediction unit 31110 may perform derivation by changing the maximum number of signs to be subjected to the sign prediction, depending on luminance or chrominance” [0227]; “The sign prediction unit 31110 according to the present embodiment divides the transform coefficients to be predicted into two groups, and performs the prediction of the signs for each group. “ [0233]) ; and
… in accordance with a determination that, for each element of the second set, a corresponding color element of a second color has a non-zero transform coefficient.(“ the absolute value AbsLevel[i] of the transform coefficients in the first group may be equal to or larger than the absolute value AbsLevel[j] of the transform coefficients in the second group. In other words, the following is satisfied.” [0243]; “The CU decoder 3022 performs a loop related to the color component for each TU. In a case that isSignPredictedTU is 1, the CU decoder 3022 calls syntax sign_prediction (x, y, tbWidth, tbHeight, cIdx) related to the sign prediction for each color component. Here, x and y indicate the top left position (x, y) of the TU. tbWidth indicates the width of the TU, tbHeight indicates the height of the TU, and cIdx indicates the color component.” [0154]; “The sign prediction unit 31110 may perform derivation by changing the maximum number of signs to be subjected to the sign prediction, depending on luminance or chrominance” [0227]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the low-complexity sign prediction for video coding disclosed by Zhao to add the grouping of the transform coefficient of Hashimoto to decrease the number of calculations needed (Hashimoto [0009]).
Hashimoto does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Chernyak teaches the method further comprises selecting the second set for use with the cross- component sign coding technique (“Mode 1: Cb is coded and Cr is derived according to Cr=CSign*Cb/2;” [0267]; note: the Cr and the Cb are color elements. The Cr is the second set and it comprises the color elements of the first color (Cb]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the low-complexity sign prediction for video coding disclosed by Zhao in view of Hashimoto and Wang to further add the cross-component sign coding using neighbor components of Chernyak to improve the video compression without the sacrifice of image quality (Chernyak [0004]).
Regarding Claim 52, Zhao in view of Hashimoto and Wang teach the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 51; however do not explicitly teach the sign prediction technique comprises predicting a coefficient sign for a color coefficient based on one or more neighbor components
However, in an analogous art, Chernyak teaches the sign prediction technique comprises predicting a coefficient sign for a color coefficient based on one or more neighbor components ( “Mode 1: Cb is coded and Cr is derived according to Cr=CSign*Cb/2” [0267]; “Mode 2: Cb is coded and Cr is derived according to Cr=CSign*Cb” [0268]; “Mode 3: Cr is coded and Cb is derived according to Cb=CSign*Cr/2“it w [0269]; “where CSign represents the sign used for deriving the second chroma residual block” [0270]; “cross-component rotational transform” [0275]; Note: the Cr coefficient are determined (e.g., predicting) based on Cb coefficient, where Cb is a neighboring component).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the low-complexity sign prediction for video coding disclosed by Zhao in view of Hashimoto and Wang to further add the cross-component sign coding using neighbor components of Chernyak to improve the video compression without the sacrifice of image quality (Chernyak [0004]).
Regarding Claim 53, Zhao in view of Hashimoto and Wang teach the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 51; however do not explicitly teach wherein the cross-component sign coding technique comprises predicting a coefficient sign for a color coefficient based on a sign value of a different color coefficient.
However, in an analogous art, Chernyak teaches wherein the cross-component sign coding technique comprises predicting a coefficient sign for a color coefficient based on a sign value of a different color coefficient (“Mode 1: Cb is coded and Cr is derived according to Cr=CSign*Cb/2” [0267]; These coding modes apply simplified cross-component rotational transforms, as shown in Table 1. Note: the modes a selected based on table 1; “cross-component rotational transform” [0275]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the low-complexity sign prediction for video coding disclosed by Zhao in view of Hashimoto and Wang to further add the cross-component sign coding using neighbor components of Chernyak to improve the video compression without the sacrifice of image quality (Chernyak [0004]).
Claims 48 and 54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xin Zhao (US 20180176556 A1) (hereinafter Zhao) in view of Tomonori Hashimoto (US 20250168405 A1) (hereinafter Hashimoto) in view of Hongtao Wang (US 20220210434 A1) (hereinafter Wang) further in view of Alexey Konstantinovich Filippov (US 20210014509 A1) (hereinafter Filippov):
Regarding Claim 48, Zhao in view of Hashimoto and Wang teach the method of claim 21; however do not explicitly teach the respective coefficient signs for the first N transform coefficients are derived before deriving the respective coefficient signs for the second set of the plurality of transform coefficients.
However, in an analogous art Filippov teaches the respective coefficient signs for the first N transform coefficients are derived before deriving the respective coefficient signs for the second set of the plurality of transform coefficients. ([0150] teaches deriving signs for first M coefficients and the other are derived after).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the low-complexity sign prediction for video coding disclosed by Zhao in view of Hashimoto and Wang to further add the deriving order of Filippov to decrease the bitrate without the sacrifice of image quality (Filippov [0004]).
Regarding Claim 54, Zhao in view of Hashimoto and Wang teach the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 51; however do not explicitly teach the respective coefficient signs for the first N transform coefficients are derived before deriving the respective coefficient signs for the second set of the plurality of transform coefficients.
However, in an analogous art Filippov teaches the respective coefficient signs for the first N transform coefficients are derived before deriving the respective coefficient signs for the second set of the plurality of transform coefficients. ([0150] teaches deriving signs for first M coefficients and the other are derived after).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the low-complexity sign prediction for video coding disclosed by Zhao in view of Hashimoto and Wang to further add the deriving order of Filippov to decrease the bitrate without the sacrifice of image quality (Filippov [0004]).
Conclusion
/MAHMOUD KAMAL ABOUZAHRA/Examiner, Art Unit 2486
/JAMIE J ATALA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2486