DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 3, 6 –9, 12, 14 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holdsworth, et. al. (EP 3940869 A1), in view of Weinberger, et. al. (US 20200136119 A1) and Kitano, et. al. (US 20210031710 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Holdsworth recites a battery pack comprising: a plurality of battery cells(“[0014] the array of battery cells . . . [0018] [which] may be cylindrical cells. In other examples the cells may be button cells, prismatic cell, pouch cells, or other cells known in the art”) ; a battery management module (BMM) (“battery management system (BMS)”; a plurality of sensor devices and/or a plurality of current collector devices (“[0049] In order to monitor the temperatures of the cells 34 of the two adjacent rows A, B, temperature sensors 36 are provided in spaces between the rows A, B. The preferred locations of the temperatures sensors 36 will, to some extent, depend on the chosen geometry of the array 31 of the battery assembly 30 and the resulting locations of spaces in the array.”). Holdsworth at [0014-18, 49, Fig. 5A – 5B.
Holdsworth at Fig. 5A – 5B.
Holdsworth teaches “[0047] The flexible PCB 35 extends the entire length of the row A and incorporates electrical conduits for carrying electrical signals. In this way, the flexible PCB 35 is able to provide electrical connections to and from temperature sensors 36 (not visible in Figure 4A) that are provided between the adjacent rows A, B. The location of the temperature sensors 36 between the rows A, B will be described in more detail below. [0048] Any suitable flexible PCB 35 may be used. For example, a PCB made of a thin, electrically insulating substrate (for example a polyamide film) with embedded conductors can be used. The flexibility of the PCB 35 allows it conform to the surfaces of the sidewalls 341 of the cells 34. Conveniently, one or both major surfaces of the flexible PCB 34 may be covered in an adhesive so that the flexible PCB 35 can be affixed to the side walls 341 without additional fixings.” Holdsworth at [0047-48]. This teaches a flexible conductor arrangement comprising a plurality of conductor lines (“electrical conducts for carrying electrical signals”), and a plurality of flexible flat cables (FFCs) connected to the FPC (see above, Fig. 5A-5B). Id.
However, regarding a flexible printed circuit (FPC), the flexible PCB is a flexible printed circuit board, wherein the PCBs 35 act as “branches,” which “[0057] can be connected onward electrical paths. These may, ultimately, lead to a battery management system (BMS) or the like that is operable to control the battery assembly 30 based at least in part on the temperature measurements received from the sensors 36.” Holdsworth at Fig. 5A, [0057]. In other words, while there is a plurality of flexible flat cables (FFCs), and these conductor lines electrically interconnect the BMM with the sensor devices, there is no “hub” type flexible printed circuit which the conductors are all routed through as described in Holdsworth. For this reason, Holdsworth is silent as to a plurality of flat cables (FFCs) connected to the FPC [emphasis added], wherein the conductor lines are routed along the FPC and branch into the plurality of FFCs, and wherein each of the conductor lines electrically interconnects the BMM with one of the sensor devices, one of the current collector devices, and/or one of the battery cells via the FPC and via one of the FFCs.
Weinberger teaches a battery module 100, having a first and second set of busbars 60, 70, which “may form a flexible printed circuit 85) when overlaid on each other. Weinberger at [0026, 58], Fig. 4 and 6. Further, “[0058] As illustrated in FIG. 6, the insulating layers 81, 82, 83, 84 and the first and second set of busbars 60, 70 may form a flexible printed circuit (FPC) 85 when overlaid on each other. Therein, the outer insulating layers 81, 84 may encapsulate the remaining layers 60, 70, 82, 83 by forming an outer insulating shell around the remaining layers 60, 70, 82, 83. Therein, the cell contact legs of the busbars 65, 66, 75, 76 protrude laterally from the FPC 85 to contact the cell terminals 11, 12 of the battery cells 10 of a battery module. Further, the inner insulating layers 82, 83 may include metallizations or circuit components, such as a Cell Supervision Circuit (CSC) or parts thereof.” Id. In other words, Weinberger discloses a multilayer FPC which comprises interior metallization or circuit components, including or not limited to sensors, an integrated circuit, the busbars (i.e., the FPC connects to a plurality of cells), and other components. Weinberger teaches its construction for busbars, by virtue of forming a FPC, reduces mechanical stress while “having a compact size.” Id. at [0009-10]. Further, Weinberger at least implies this multilayer structure allows for the more complex interconnections of a 3D busbar structure without a shape that “significantly contributes to the overall height of the battery module.” See id.
Fig. 4 of Weinberger.
Fig. 6 of Weinberger.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the battery module of Holdsworth, such that it comprises the FPC of Weinberger, such that the branches of the flat cables of Holdsworth connect to the FPC of Weinberger, wherein a plurality of flat cables (FFCs) connected to the FPC, wherein the conductor lines are routed along the FPC (i.e., as the circuit components) and branch into the plurality of FFCs, and wherein each of the conductor lines electrically interconnects the BMM with one of the sensor devices (in part because Weinberger teaches its circuits may connect to sensors; as modified, this comprises at least one FFC connecting to each of the conducting layers of the FPC), one of the current collector devices, and/or one of the battery cells via the FPC and via one of the FFCs, because Weinberger teaches a benefit to permitting multiple interconnections while maintaining a compact size.
The FFCs as previously articulated do not extend from branch portions, and branch portions are not articulated in the modification of Holdsworth.
Kitano teaches a power supply apparatus 1, having an interface unit 7 to couple the battery pack (IPU 10) for an electric vehicle to a plurality of electrical devices 20a, b, c, d, e via branch connector 30, which separates into a plurality of branch cables 50 from the main cable 26 at a coupling unit 25 (which is the point where the cables branch) along a projecting portion 41. Kitano at [0008, 0034], Fig. 4. Kitano also teaches “[0044] Further, the interface unit 7 includes a branch connector 30 provided with the coupling unit 25 and the plurality of fuses 31.” Id. at [0044]. This permits “space savings,” “workability,” and “manufacturability,” and “[0044] makes it possible to collectively perform operations of coupling and releasing between the configuration including the IPU 10 and components close to the IPU 10 and each of the plurality of accessories 20 a to 20 e , simply by inserting or removing the branch connector 30,” while strongly implying a benefit to connecting the flat cables to fuses disposed on the interface unit. Id. Each branch at the coupling unit 25 is a “branch portion,” and because each branch portion corresponds to a branching cable 50 and connector 51, this is a plurality of cables connected to the interface unit at respective branch portions thereof.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the battery module of Holdsworth, such that the FFCs connect to the FPC at respective branch portions thereof, because Kitano teaches improvements to space savings, workability, manufacturability, and collective removal.
Claim 1 is obvious over Holdsworth, in view of Weinberger and Kitano.
Regarding Claim 2, Claim 2 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Holdsworth.
Weinberger teaches a FPC comprises a plurality of electrically conducting layers (the busbars 60, 70; [0058] indicates “metallization” or “circuits“ disposed within the inner insulating layers 82, 83 read upon this feature) that are separated from each other by an electrically isolating layer (wherein this layer is one of the layers described in the following: “[0058] As illustrated in FIG. 6, the insulating layers 81, 82, 83, 84 and the first and second set of busbars 60, 70 may form a flexible printed circuit (FPC) 85 when overlaid on each other. Therein, the outer insulating layers 81, 84 may encapsulate the remaining layers 60, 70, 82, 83 by forming an outer insulating shell around the remaining layers 60, 70, 82, 83.” Weinberger at [0058].
Claim 2 is obvious over Holdsworth, in view of Weinberger and Kitano.
Regarding Claim 3, Claim 3 relies upon Claim 2. Claim 2 is obvious over modified Holdsworth.
Holdsworth teaches flexible flat cables (PCBs 35); Weinberger teaches electrical conducting layers which comprise busbars, as well as inner insulating layers which comprise circuits. Holdsworth at Fig. 5A-5B; Weinberger at [0058]. As previously modified, modified Holdsworth discloses one of the plurality of FFCs is electrically connected to each of the electrically conducting layers of the FPC.
Claim 3 is obvious over Holdsworth, in view of Weinberger and Kitano.
Regarding Claim 6, Claim 6 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Holdsworth.
Holdsworth teaches each of the FFCs is electrically connected to a plurality of the sensor devices, the current collector devices, and/or the battery cells. Holdsworth at Fig. 5A – 5B, wherein the ribbon-like FFCs attach to sensors disposed in spaces between the rose, upon the cells, or in other available spaces of the array (“[0049] In order to monitor the temperatures of the cells 34 of the two adjacent rows A, B, temperature sensors 36 are provided in spaces between the rows A, B. The preferred locations of the temperatures sensors 36 will, to some extent, depend on the chosen geometry of the array 31 of the battery assembly 30 and the resulting locations of spaces in the array.”).
Claim 6 is obvious over Holdsworth, in view of Weinberger and Kitano.
Regarding Claim 7, Claim 7 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Holdsworth.
Holdsworth teaches “[0006] According to a first aspect there is provided a battery assembly comprising: an array of battery cells, the array comprising plural rows, each row comprising plural cells; a flexible printed circuit board, PCB, provided between two adjacent rows of the plurality of rows of cells; and at least one temperature sensor provided adjacent to and electrically connected to the flexible PCB, each temperature sensor being operable to sense a temperature of one or more cells of the two adjacent rows,” wherein Fig. 5A-5B shows the FPC “reaches” the plurality via the ribbon-like FFC. Holdsworth at [0006], 5A-5B. Further, Weinberger teaches an extending FPC in Fig. 4. For this reason, modified Holdsworth teaches the battery cells and the sensor devices and/or current collector devices are arranged in a plurality of cell stacks, and wherein the FPC is arranged to reach the plurality of cell stacks.
Claim 7 is obvious over Holdsworth, in view of Weinberger and Kitano.
Regarding Claim 8, Claim 8 relies upon Claim 7. Claim 7 is obvious over modified Holdsworth.
As modified, the FFCs of Holdsworth are modified to connect to the FPC of Weinberger, which comprises busbars which connect to the cells, circuits which connect to sensor devices; this indicates that as each of the FFCs is electrically connected to the battery cells and the sensor devices and/or the current collector devices of the same battery cell stack, as the FPC provides an electrical connection via its conductive components.
Claim 8 is obvious over Holdsworth, in view of Weinberger and Kitano.
Regarding Claim 9, Claim 9 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Holdsworth.
Holdsworth teaches the flexible conductor arrangement is electrically connected to a single BMM. Holdsworth at [0057].
Claim 9 is obvious over Holdsworth, in view of Weinberger and Kitano.
Regarding Claim 12, Claim 12 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Holdsworth.
Weinberger teaches the FPC comprises an electrical connector (“[0058] As illustrated in FIG. 6, the insulating layers 81 , 82 , 83 , 84 and the first and second set of busbars 60 , 70 may form a flexible printed circuit (FPC) 85 . . . Further, the inner insulating layers 82 , 83 may include metallizations or circuit components . . . These metallizations may be further configured to connect to an integrated circuit (IC) 86 , which may be configured to receive signals corresponding to cell voltages and/or temperatures, to process these signals, and/or to communicate with other components as connector”); thereby, modified Holdsworth teaches the FPC comprises an electrical connector to electrically interconnect the FPC and the BMM with each other in a reversible manner (here reversible here is interpreted to mean “removable,” and here the metallizations are electrically connect to the busbars, but are not mechanically coupled, indicating a reversible connection). Weinberger at [0058].
Claim 12 is obvious over Holdsworth, in view of Weinberger and Kitano.
Regarding Claim 14, Claim 14 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Holdsworth.
Weinberger teaches the FPC comprises an electronic device. Weinberger at [0058].
Claim 14 is obvious over Holdsworth, in view of Weinberger and Kitano.
Regarding Claim 15, Claim 15 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Holdsworth.
Weinberger teaches an electric vehicle comprising a battery pack; consequently, modified Holdsworth teaches an electric vehicle comprising the battery pack according to claim 1.
Claim 15 is obvious over Holdsworth, in view of Weinberger and Kitano.
Regarding Claim 16, Holdsworth teaches a method for assembling a battery pack, the method comprising: providing a plurality of battery cells (“[0014] the array of battery cells . . . [0018] [which] may be cylindrical cells. In other examples the cells may be button cells, prismatic cell, pouch cells, or other cells known in the art”), a battery management module (BMM) (“battery management system (BMS)”, a plurality of sensor devices and/or a plurality of current collector devices (“[0049] In order to monitor the temperatures of the cells 34 of the two adjacent rows A, B, temperature sensors 36 are provided in spaces between the rows A, B. The preferred locations of the temperatures sensors 36 will, to some extent, depend on the chosen geometry of the array 31 of the battery assembly 30 and the resulting locations of spaces in the array.”). Holdsworth at [0014-18, 49, Fig. 5A – 5B.
Holdsworth teaches “[0047] The flexible PCB 35 extends the entire length of the row A and incorporates electrical conduits for carrying electrical signals. In this way, the flexible PCB 35 is able to provide electrical connections to and from temperature sensors 36 (not visible in Figure 4A) that are provided between the adjacent rows A, B. The location of the temperature sensors 36 between the rows A, B will be described in more detail below. [0048] Any suitable flexible PCB 35 may be used. For example, a PCB made of a thin, electrically insulating substrate (for example a polyamide film) with embedded conductors can be used. The flexibility of the PCB 35 allows it conform to the surfaces of the sidewalls 341 of the cells 34. Conveniently, one or both major surfaces of the flexible PCB 34 may be covered in an adhesive so that the flexible PCB 35 can be affixed to the side walls 341 without additional fixings.” Holdsworth at [0047-48]. This teaches a flexible conductor arrangement, the flexible conductor arrangement comprising a plurality of conductor lines (“electrical conducts for carrying electrical signals”), and a plurality of flexible flat cables (FFCs) connected to the FPC (see above, Fig. 5A-5B). Id.
However, regarding a flexible printed circuit (FPC), the flexible PCB is a flexible printed circuit board, wherein the PCBs 35 act as “branches,” which “[0057] can be connected onward electrical paths. These may, ultimately, lead to a battery management system (BMS) or the like that is operable to control the battery assembly 30 based at least in part on the temperature measurements received from the sensors 36.” Holdsworth at Fig. 5A, [0057]. In other words, while there is a plurality of flexible flat cables (FFCs), and these conductor lines electrically interconnect the BMM with the sensor devices, there is no “hub” type flexible printed circuit which the conductors are all routed through as described in Holdsworth. For this reason, Holdsworth is silent as to a plurality of flexible flat cables (FFCs) connected to the FPC, the conductor lines being routed along the FPC and branching into the plurality of FFCs; and electrically interconnecting each of the sensor devices, the current collector devices, and/or the battery cells with the BMM by one of the conductor lines via the FPC and via one of the FFCs.
Holdsworth at Fig. 5A – 5B.
Weinberger teaches a battery module 100, having a first and second set of busbars 60, 70, which “may form a flexible printed circuit 85) when overlaid on each other. Weinberger at [0026, 58], Fig. 4 and 6. Further, “[0058] As illustrated in FIG. 6, the insulating layers 81, 82, 83, 84 and the first and second set of busbars 60, 70 may form a flexible printed circuit (FPC) 85 when overlaid on each other. Therein, the outer insulating layers 81, 84 may encapsulate the remaining layers 60, 70, 82, 83 by forming an outer insulating shell around the remaining layers 60, 70, 82, 83. Therein, the cell contact legs of the busbars 65, 66, 75, 76 protrude laterally from the FPC 85 to contact the cell terminals 11, 12 of the battery cells 10 of a battery module. Further, the inner insulating layers 82, 83 may include metallizations or circuit components, such as a Cell Supervision Circuit (CSC) or parts thereof.” Id. In other words, Weinberger discloses a multilayer FPC which comprises interior metallization or circuit components, including or not limited to sensors, an integrated circuit, the busbars (i.e., the FPC connects to a plurality of cells), and other components. Weinberger teaches its construction for busbars, by virtue of forming a FPC, reduces mechanical stress while “having a compact size.” Id. at [0009-10]. Further, Weinberger at least implies this multilayer structure allows for the more complex interconnections of a 3D busbar structure without a shape that “significantly contributes to the overall height of the battery module.” See id.
Fig. 4 of Weinberger.
Fig. 6 of Weinberger.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the battery module of Holdsworth, such that it comprises the FPC of Weinberger, such that such that the branches of the flat cables of Holdsworth connect to the FPC of Weinberger, wherein a plurality of flexible flat cables (FFCs) connected to the FPC, the conductor lines being routed along the FPC (i.e., as the circuit components) and branching into the plurality of FFCs; and electrically interconnecting each of the sensor devices (in part because Weinberger teaches its circuits may connect to sensors; as modified, this comprises at least one FFC connecting to each of the conducting layers of the FPC), the current collector devices, and/or the battery cells with the BMM by one of the conductor lines via the FPC and via one of the FFCs, because Weinberger teaches a benefit to permitting multiple interconnections while maintaining a compact size.
The FFCs as previously articulated do not extend from branch portions, and branch portions are not articulated in the modification of Holdsworth.
Kitano teaches a power supply apparatus 1, having an interface unit 7 to couple the battery pack (IPU 10) for an electric vehicle to a plurality of electrical devices 20a, b, c, d, e via branch connector 30, which separates into a plurality of branch cables 50 from the main cable 26 at a coupling unit 25 (which is the point where the cables branch) along a projecting portion 41. Kitano at [0008, 0034], Fig. 4. Kitano also teaches “[0044] Further, the interface unit 7 includes a branch connector 30 provided with the coupling unit 25 and the plurality of fuses 31.” Id. at [0044]. This permits “space savings,” “workability,” and “manufacturability,” and “[0044] makes it possible to collectively perform operations of coupling and releasing between the configuration including the IPU 10 and components close to the IPU 10 and each of the plurality of accessories 20 a to 20 e , simply by inserting or removing the branch connector 30,” while strongly implying a benefit to connecting the flat cables to fuses disposed on the interface unit. Id. Each branch at the coupling unit 25 is a “branch portion,” and because each branch portion corresponds to a branching cable 50 and connector 51, this is a plurality of cables connected to the interface unit at respective branch portions thereof.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the battery module of Holdsworth, such that the FFCs connect to the FPC at respective branch portions thereof, because Kitano teaches improvements to space savings, workability, manufacturability, and collective removal.
Claim 16 is obvious over Holdsworth, in view of Weinberger and Kitano.
Claims 4-5, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holdsworth in view of Weinberger and Kitano, as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of Dawley, et. al. (US 20200274204 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Claim 4 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Holdsworth.
Holdsworth and Weinberger are silent as to a welded portion.
Dawley teaches a battery module having a flexible conductor arrangement, wherein “[0004] In particular, the battery module described herein includes an interconnect board assembly (“ICB assembly”) having a carrier frame and a printed circuit board assembly (“PCBA”), the latter of which is mounted to the carrier frame. The PCBA is integrally constructed of two main components, i.e., a cell sense printed circuit board (“PCB”) and a thin, flexible printed circuit (“flex circuit”).” Further, “[0043] the flex circuit 18 contemplated herein is constructed of a thin, flexible foil substrate 18S and insulation material 38, as shown in FIG. 10. An uninsulated terminal end 122 of each respective flying leads 22 may be gently deflected or angled into contact or close proximity with a corresponding busbar 30 and thereafter securely welded into place. One advantage of using a metal foil construction for the flex circuit 18 is the resulting improvement in strain relief, particularly at or along welds joining the flex circuit 18 to the PCB 16. While an uninsulated terminal end 122 is shown in FIG. 3A, it is also possible to extend the insulation material 38 out to the edge of the terminal end 122 and provide an opening in the insulation material 38 large enough to permit welding.” In other words, Dawley teaches that attaching a flexible printed circuit to a busbar via metal foil portions, within an opening that is isolated by insulation, provides strain relief and secure connection between the components.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the battery pack of modified Holdsworth, such that it comprises the welded positions of Dawley, such that the battery cells are electrically interconnected by a busbar, and wherein the FPC comprises a metal portion arranged at a welding position, electrically isolated from the conductor lines, and welded to the busbar, because Dawley teaches that attaching a flexible printed circuit to a busbar via metal foil portions, within an opening that is isolated by insulation, provides strain relief and secure connection between the components.
Claim 4 is obvious over Holdsworth in view of Weinberger and Kitano, and further in view of Dawley.
Regarding Claim 5, Claim 5 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Holdsworth.
Holdsworth and Weinberger are silent as to a welded portion.
Dawley teaches a battery module having a flexible conductor arrangement, wherein “[0004] In particular, the battery module described herein includes an interconnect board assembly (“ICB assembly”) having a carrier frame and a printed circuit board assembly (“PCBA”), the latter of which is mounted to the carrier frame. The PCBA is integrally constructed of two main components, i.e., a cell sense printed circuit board (“PCB”) and a thin, flexible printed circuit (“flex circuit”).” Further, “[0043] the flex circuit 18 contemplated herein is constructed of a thin, flexible foil substrate 18S and insulation material 38, as shown in FIG. 10. An uninsulated terminal end 122 of each respective flying leads 22 may be gently deflected or angled into contact or close proximity with a corresponding busbar 30 and thereafter securely welded into place. One advantage of using a metal foil construction for the flex circuit 18 is the resulting improvement in strain relief, particularly at or along welds joining the flex circuit 18 to the PCB 16. While an uninsulated terminal end 122 is shown in FIG. 3A, it is also possible to extend the insulation material 38 out to the edge of the terminal end 122 and provide an opening in the insulation material 38 large enough to permit welding.” In other words, Dawley teaches that attaching a flexible printed circuit to a busbar via metal foil portions, within an opening that is isolated by insulation, provides strain relief and secure connection between the components.
As modified, modified Holdsworth teaches the battery cells are electrically interconnected by a busbar, and wherein the busbar comprises a metal portion arranged at a welding position, electrically isolated from the conductor lines, and welded to the FPC.
Claim 5 is obvious over Holdsworth in view of Weinberger and Kitano, and further in view of Dawley.
Regarding Claim 13, Claim 13 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Holdsworth.
Holdsworth and Weinberger are silent as to a welded portion.
Dawley teaches a battery module having a flexible conductor arrangement, wherein “[0004] In particular, the battery module described herein includes an interconnect board assembly (“ICB assembly”) having a carrier frame and a printed circuit board assembly (“PCBA”), the latter of which is mounted to the carrier frame. The PCBA is integrally constructed of two main components, i.e., a cell sense printed circuit board (“PCB”) and a thin, flexible printed circuit (“flex circuit”).” Further, “[0043] the flex circuit 18 contemplated herein is constructed of a thin, flexible foil substrate 18S and insulation material 38, as shown in FIG. 10. An uninsulated terminal end 122 of each respective flying leads 22 may be gently deflected or angled into contact or close proximity with a corresponding busbar 30 and thereafter securely welded into place. One advantage of using a metal foil construction for the flex circuit 18 is the resulting improvement in strain relief, particularly at or along welds joining the flex circuit 18 to the PCB 16. While an uninsulated terminal end 122 is shown in FIG. 3A, it is also possible to extend the insulation material 38 out to the edge of the terminal end 122 and provide an opening in the insulation material 38 large enough to permit welding.” In other words, Dawley teaches that attaching a flexible printed circuit to a busbar via metal foil portions, within an opening that is isolated by insulation, provides strain relief and secure connection between the components.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the battery pack of modified Holdsworth, such that each of the FFCs is welded to the FPC, because Dawley teaches that attaching a flexible printed circuit to a busbar via metal foil portions, within an opening that is isolated by insulation, provides strain relief and secure connection between the components.
Claim 13 is obvious over Holdsworth in view of Weinberger and Kitano, and further in view of Dawley.
Claims 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holdsworth in view of Weinberger and Kitano, as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of Kang, et. al. (EP 3121056 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Claim 10 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Holdsworth.
Holdsworth and Weinberger are silent as to a battery disconnect unit.
Kang discloses a battery disconnect unit (BDU) for an electric vehicle, wherein [0021] Therefore, an aspect of the present disclosure is to provide a battery disconnect unit capable of protecting electric components and peripheral electric components thereof, by autonomously interrupting a power supplying from a battery without an additional power source, when an over-current is generated or when the battery disconnect unit is at an extraordinary high temperature atmosphere.” Kang at [0002 – 3, 0021].
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to modify the battery pack of modified Holdsworth, such that the battery pack further comprises a battery disconnect unit (BDU), and wherein the BDU comprises the BMM, because Kang teaches a benefit to interrupting the power supply when an over-current is generated or when the battery disconnect unit is at an extraordinary high temperature atmosphere
Claim 10 is obvious over Holdsworth, in view of Weinberger and Kitano, and further in view of Kang.
Claims 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holdsworth in view of Weinberger and Kitano, as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of Ohno, et. al. (EP 3806193 A1).
Regarding Claim 11, Claim 11 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Holdsworth.
Holdsworth teaches the plurality of FFCs has an elongated shape in a principal extension direction. Holdsworth at Fig. 5A-5B.
Weinberger teaches the FPC has an elongated shape in a principal extension direction. Weinberger at Fig. 4.
However both Holdsworth and Weinberger are silent as to “and wherein the FPC and the plurality of FFCs are arranged so that the principal extension direction of the FPC is perpendicular to the principal extension direction of each of the plurality of FFCs.”
Ohno teaches a bus bar for interconnecting two batteries, wherein the bus bar 71 comprises a bridge part 74A and connector parts 72A and 72B, which serves to “[0066] prevent bus bar 71 interference contact with the container 3 of each of the secondary batteries 1α and 1β.” Ohno at Fig. 13, [0066].
Further, this would at least imply to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the raised, bridge like portion provides this benefit because, rather than sitting on the batteries like a plate, the connector bridge is perpendicular to the connection portions of the busbar. Finally, Ohno teaches “[0071] For this reason, it is possible to effectively prevent significant variations in the distance between the connector parts 72A and 72B due to external force, etc., and to maintain a constant or substantially constant distance.” Id. at [0071].
As previously modified, the Office notes that the FFCs of modified Holdsworth extend from an FPC which is formed by two busbars.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the battery pack of modified Holdsworth, such that wherein each of the FPC and the plurality of FFCs has an elongated shape in a principal extension direction, and wherein the FPC and the plurality of FFCs are arranged so that the principal extension direction of the FPC is perpendicular to the principal extension direction of each of the plurality of FFCs, because Ohno teaches its bridge configuration helps prevent interference contact, and because the bridge prevents variations in distance between connectors, such as the extending FFCs which extend through the cell stacks of Holdsworth.
Claim 11 is obvious over Holdsworth, in view of Weinberger and Kitano, further in view of Ohno.
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holdsworth in view of Weinberger and Kitano, as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of Sa, et. al. (KR20190081783A).
Regarding Claim 17, Claim 17 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Holdsworth.
Modified Holdsworth is silent as to the location of the BMS.
Sa teaches a circuit board 1100 for use in a battery apparatus for a vehicle, wherein the circuit board comprises branch portion 130, having flat bonding portions 131. Sa at [0057 – 58]. Sa teaches the BMS transmit information along busbar 20, 200 to the BMS (not shown within Fig. 8); the BMS is not located upon the connecting portion 20. Further “[0039] The branch 30 is formed at the end of the connection part and attached to the bus bar 200 to be electrically connected. A plurality of the branch portions 30 may be spaced apart from each other, and the number of branch portions 30 may be increased or decreased along the joining portion with the bus bar 200.” Finally, Sa teaches “[0044] The circuit board 1000 of the first embodiment of the present invention is formed such that the central portion 10 is separated from the connecting portion 20 and the branch portion 30 so that the loss portion a shown in FIG. Thereby increasing the yield of the FPCB disk. Also, the cost for manufacturing the circuit board 1000 can be reduced by using a FFC or a rigid PCB that is less expensive than the FPCB.”
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to modify the battery pack of modified Holdsworth, such that the BMM is spaced apart from the respective branch portions, because Sa teaches a benefit to a reduction in cost when separating the central portion 10 (strongly implied to have the BMM / BMS of Sa) from the connecting portion 20 and branch portion 30.
Claim 17 is obvious over Holdsworth in view of Weinberger and Kitano, and further in view of Sa.
Regarding Claim 18, Claim 18 relies upon Claim 16. Claim 16 is obvious over modified Holdsworth.
Modified Holdsworth is silent as to the location of the BMS.
Sa teaches a circuit board 1100 for use in a battery apparatus for a vehicle, wherein the circuit board comprises branch portion 130, having flat bonding portions 131. Sa at [0057 – 58]. Sa teaches the BMS transmit information along busbar 20, 200 to the BMS (not shown within Fig. 8); the BMS is not located upon the connecting portion 20. Further “[0039] The branch 30 is formed at the end of the connection part and attached to the bus bar 200 to be electrically connected. A plurality of the branch portions 30 may be spaced apart from each other, and the number of branch portions 30 may be increased or decreased along the joining portion with the bus bar 200.” Finally, Sa teaches “[0044] The circuit board 1000 of the first embodiment of the present invention is formed such that the central portion 10 is separated from the connecting portion 20 and the branch portion 30 so that the loss portion a shown in FIG. Thereby increasing the yield of the FPCB disk. Also, the cost for manufacturing the circuit board 1000 can be reduced by using a FFC or a rigid PCB that is less expensive than the FPCB.”
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to modify the battery pack of modified Holdsworth, such that the BMM is spaced apart from the respective branch portions, because Sa teaches a benefit to a reduction in cost when separating the central portion 10 (strongly implied to have the BMM / BMS of Sa) from the connecting portion 20 and branch portion 30.
Claim 18 is obvious over Holdsworth in view of Weinberger and Kitano, and further in view of Sa.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.R.H./Examiner , Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725