Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 10, and 15 have been considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Alexanian et al. (US 20210247512 A1) and O’Connor et al. (US 20220158351 A1). Regarding clarity of the claim language interpretation of claim 1, Examiner acknowledges that the metal part must define the waveguide because the plastic overmolded on top of the metal follows the shape of the metal. This interpretation aligns with claim 10 where the language explicitly declares that the metal forms the waveguide.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alexanian et al. (US 20210247512 A1) in view of O’Connor et al. (US 20220158351 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Alexanian discloses [Note: what Alexanian fails to disclose is strike-through]
A vehicle sensor assembly (see Abstract, “RADAR sensor assemblies/modules, particularly those for vehicles”), comprising:
a waveguide block (see pg. 1, paragraph 0002, “In an example of a vehicle sensor assembly according to some embodiments, the assembly may comprise a waveguide block”) comprising:
a metal core (see Fig. 7B; pg. 5, paragraph 0069, “FIG. 7B depicts the opposite side of substrate 730, the surface of which may comprise a metallic/conductive material and/or layer… To avoid or at least reduce signal leakage in this region, one or more preferably metallic and/or electrically conductive structures may be formed within the PCB/substrate layer 730.”); and
a thermoplastic portion coupled with the metal core (see Figs. 7A and 7B, metal portion 730 and thermoplastic portion 734; pg. 5, paragraph 0068, “Chambers 734 may, in some preferred embodiments, comprise dielectric chambers. In other words, these chambers may be made up of a dielectric material, such as, for example, a glass fiber reinforced (fiberglass) epoxy resin material or the like, a thermoplastic material, or a ceramic material.”), wherein the waveguide block defines one or more waveguides, each waveguide of the one or more waveguides being defined by a waveguide groove (see pg. 5, paragraph 0069, “In the depicted embodiment, these confinement structures comprise periodic structures operably coupled to the waveguide formed within the adjacent waveguide block that define a zipper-like shape within the metallic portion of the layer/region adjacent to the waveguides 720.”), and
an antenna structure operably coupled with the one or more waveguides, wherein the antenna structure comprises an array of one or more slots (see Fig. 8, antenna slot 710; pg. 6, paragraph 0075, “each of the waveguide grooves comprises a portion that oscillates back and forth and further comprises an elongated antenna slot 710 positioned therein”), and wherein each of the one or more slots is configured to deliver electromagnetic radiation from a corresponding waveguide of the one or more waveguides therethrough (see pg. 1, paragraph 0009, “a series of spaced slots, which may be aligned or staggered relative to one another, may be used, from which electromagnetic waves may be delivered and/or received.”).
O’Connor discloses
wherein the thermoplastic portion is overmolded to the metal core (see pg. 6, paragraphs 0042-0047, injection molding process of dielectric composition comprising a thermoplastic polymer; pg. 6, paragraph 0047 “For example, an associated substrate board may be preheated before overmolding or heating the dielectric composition and adhering the dielectric structures onto the substrate board.”)
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by O’Connor into the invention of Alexanian. Both Alexanian and O’Connor are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose electromagnetic waveguides with metal and thermoplastic components. Alexanian discloses a vehicle sensor assembly, a waveguide block, a metal core, a thermoplastic portion coupled to the metal core, the waveguide block defining waveguides with grooves, and electromagnetic slot antennas coupled to the waveguides; however, Alexanian fails to disclose the thermoplastic portion being overmolded to the metal core. Alexanian discloses the thermoplastic portion and metal portion being coupled together, but not via a molding process. This feature is disclosed by O’Connor where the thermoplastic molding process can be overmolded onto a substrate. The combination of Alexanian and O’Connor would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the adhesion of the metal and thermoplastic portion in an efficient manner known to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 3, Alexanian further discloses
The vehicle sensor assembly of claim 1, wherein the thermoplastic portion comprises at least one exposed region in which the metal core is not covered by the thermoplastic portion (see pg. 5, paragraph 0069, “It may be important for electrical contact to be provided for in this region of assembly 700. However, in some embodiments described herein, a gap may be maintained between the adjacent surface defining the waveguides 720 and the PCB/substrate 730.”; see Figs. 9 and 10, gaps among thermoplastic portion 734 not covering metal portion 730).
Regarding claim 4, Alexanian further discloses
The vehicle sensor assembly of claim 3, wherein at least one integrated circuit is positioned within the at least one exposed region to allow for direct thermal contact between the at least one integrated circuit and the metal core of the waveguide block (see pg. 5, paragraph 0065, “In some embodiments, substrate 730 may comprise a printed circuit board that may comprise one or more metallic/conductive layers coupled thereto.”).
Regarding claim 5, O’Connor discloses
The vehicle sensor assembly of claim 1, wherein the metal core comprises an aluminum material (see pg. 6, paragraph 0053, “Any of the aforementioned conductive layers, for example, conductive layer 310 and 312 independently, can comprise a conductive metal. The conductive metal can comprise at least one of copper, aluminum, silver, or gold.”).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by O’Connor into the invention of Alexanian. Alexanian discloses the metal core being made of a metallic/conductive material (see pg. 5, paragraph 0069, “FIG. 7B depicts the opposite side of substrate 730, the surface of which may comprise a metallic/conductive material and/or layer.”); however, Alexanian fails to disclose the metal core explicitly being made of aluminum. This feature is disclosed by O’Connor where the conductive layer can be made of aluminum. The combination of Alexanian and O’Connor would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to easily manufacture a waveguide with readily available/common materials, reducing production costs by using a relatively accessible material to construct the metal component of the waveguide.
Regarding claim 6, Alexanian further discloses
The vehicle sensor assembly of claim 1, wherein the thermoplastic portion defines the one or more waveguides (see pg. 5, paragraph 0066, “Thus, chamber 734A is configured to extend along and adjacent to a first side of an adjacent waveguide groove 720 and a second chamber 734B is configured to extend along and adjacent to a second side of the same waveguide groove 720.”; pg. 6, paragraph 0068, chambers may be made of thermoplastic).
Regarding claim 7, Alexanian further discloses
The vehicle sensor assembly of claim 6, wherein each of the one or more waveguides comprises a waveguide groove defined by opposing rows of posts, and wherein each of the posts is wholly defined by the thermoplastic portion (see pg. 4, paragraph 0058, “waveguide assembly 400 comprises a plurality of waveguide grooves 420 that are defined by opposing rows of posts”; see Fig. 10, posts defined by thermoplastic portion 734; pg. 5, paragraph 0071, “ As best seen in the enlarged view of FIG. 10, these periodic structures comprise an elongated opening or slot that preferably extends along a line that may run parallel, or at least substantially parallel, to the adjacent waveguide along one or more sides thereof.”).
Regarding claim 8, Alexanian further discloses
The vehicle sensor assembly of claim 1, wherein at least a portion of at least one waveguide groove is non-straight, and wherein the non-straight portion is wholly defined by the thermoplastic portion (see pg. 3, paragraph 0048, “the waveguides described herein may be defined in a variety of ways and may curve about the block/assembly as desired according to the space available.”; see Fig. 10, curved portions of waveguide defined by thermoplastic 734).
Regarding claim 9, the same cited sections and rationale from claim 7 are applied.
Regarding claim 10, the same cited sections and rationale from claim 1 are applied.
Regarding claim 11, the same cited sections and rationale from claim 1 are applied.
Regarding claim 12, the same cited sections and rationale from claim 5 are applied.
Regarding claim 13, the same cited sections and rationale from claim 6 are applied.
Regarding claim 14, the same cited sections and rationale from claim 4 are applied.
Regarding claim 15, the same cited sections and rationale from claims 1, 3, and 6 are applied.
Regarding claim 16, the same cited sections and rationale from claim 7 are applied.
Regarding claim 17, the same cited sections and rationale from claim 9 are applied.
Regarding claim 18, the same cited sections and rationale from claim 4 are applied.
Regarding claim 19, the same cited sections and rationale from claim 5 are applied.
Regarding claim 20, the same cited sections and rationale from claim 6 are applied.
Additional Relevant Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure and may be found on the accompanying PTO-892 Notice of References Cited:
US 20250044404 A1 (Himmelstoss); A radar apparatus. The radar apparatus includes a printed circuit board and a signal generating circuit which is disposed at least indirectly on the printed circuit board, is electrically coupled to the printed circuit board, and is configured to generate a radar signal. The radar apparatus additionally includes a waveguide antenna device which is disposed at least indirectly on the printed circuit board and is at least partly formed on the basis of injection-molded plastic. The radar apparatus additionally includes a waveguide coupling device, wherein the signal generating circuit is disposed on or in the waveguide coupling device, and the waveguide coupling device is configured to couple the radar signal generated by the signal generating circuit into the waveguide antenna device.
US 20190109361 A1 (Ichinose; from previous Office Action); A waveguiding device includes: a first conductive member having a first conductive surface and a first rod group including a plurality of conductive rods protruding from the first conductive surface; a plate-shaped second conductive member having a second conductive surface opposing the first conductive surface and opposing leading ends of the rods in the first rod group, a third conductive surface on an opposite side from the second conductive surface, and a slit; and a third conductive member having a fourth conductive surface opposing the third conductive surface, and a second rod group including a plurality of conductive rods protruding from the fourth conductive surface and each having a leading end opposed to the third conductive surface. The slit is longer than a free-space wavelength of an electromagnetic wave having a center frequency of a frequency band used, and is located between the first rod group and the second rod group, the slit defining a transmission line.
US 20230275336 A1 (Wintermantel; from previous Office Action); A radar system including a circuit board and a molded part having an antenna, wherein the connection between an emitting or receiving element of a high-frequency component and the antenna on an upper side of the molded part is realized by inner waveguides, the emitting or receiving element configured to emit in the direction or receive from the direction of the circuit board, the circuit being permeable by radar waves in the region of the emitting or receiving element, the molded part being arranged on a side of the circuit board opposite the high-frequency component and partially and conductively connected to said circuit board, at least one hollow waveguide is formed by a depression on the side of the molded part facing the circuit board and a metallized surface of the circuit board, and said at least one waveguide is fed from a permeable location of the circuit board.
US 12142806 B2 (Goebel; from previous Office Action); An apparatus at least comprising a first contact partner which has a first metal contact surface, a 3-dimensional injection molded layer serving as second contact partner which has a second metal contact surface, and which comprises a synthetic injection-moldable material, and a plurality of deformable microstructures being situated between said first contact partner and said second contact partner. Said deformable microstructures are serving as electric pressure contacts which electrically connect said first metal contact surface and said second metal contact surface after having assembled said first contact partner and said second contact partner. Said apparatus comprises an electrically isolating bonding agent, preferably an electrically isolating bonding agent comprising a polymeric material or a polymeric-based compound material. Said bonding agent being situated between said first contact partner and said second contact partner.
US 20100225425 A1 (Cho; from previous Office Action); A device including a coplanar waveguide structure is disclosed. A coplanar waveguide structure comprises one or more ground lines proximate to one or more signal lines, the signal lines and the ground lines being essentially parallel to each other and oriented substantially along a first direction; a periodic structure included in at least one of the one or more signal lines comprises alternating segments, wherein at least one of the alternating segments extends in a second direction transverse to the first direction.
Conclusion
/ISABELLA A EDRADA/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/TIMOTHY A BRAINARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648