DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/06/2023 and 11/01/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “132” has been used to designate both a guide rod and magnet, specifically in Fig. 28 and Fig. 29. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 14, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raidt et al. (United States Patent No. US 10,285,791 B2; herein, Raidt) and further in view of Fachinger et al. (United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2020/0023128 A1; herein, Fachinger).
Regarding claim 1, Raidt discloses
a contact device (contact device 14), comprising a shaped contact surface (shaped contact area 34) that is shaped in conformity with a body part of the animal to which the injection is to be administered (col. 11 lines 1-4);
a first injector (syringes 28), comprising a front dispensing end (needle 30) which, extends through a first passage opening in the shaped contact surface and protrudes in relation to the shaped contact surface in a region adjacent to the first passage opening (col.11 lines 20-26);
a first measuring device (force measurement device 18) that outputs at least one first measuring signal in order to detect contact of the animal with the front dispensing end of the first injector (col. 1 lines 57-61); and
a control unit (control device S) that activates injection via the first injector on the basis of the at least one first measuring signal (col. 12 line 67 – col. 13 line 2).
Raidt does not disclose that the injection device is needle-free. However, Fachinger teaches a needle-free injection device (Fig. 1, [0022]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the syringe and needle injection instrument of Raidt with the needleless injector taught by Fachinger in order to eliminate needlestick injuries for the administrator and the animal being injected, as well as allowing for easier mass vaccinations.
Regarding claim 2, Raidt does not disclose a first linear guide that carries the first injector, first linear guide mounted movably along a first displacement direction between a front end position and a triggering position and stops under spring pretensioning in the front end position, wherein the first measuring device outputs a first measuring signal when the triggering position is reached by the first injector. However, Fachinger teaches a first linear guide that carries the first injector (drive means, [0018]), first linear guide mounted movably along a first displacement direction between a front end position and a triggering position ([0022], piston is movable in a second direction opposite to the first direction by actuation of the drive means) and stops under spring pretensioning in the front end position ([0022], a preferred position at which the volume of said chamber is at a minimum and the spring is nearly unloaded), wherein the first measuring device outputs a first measuring signal when the triggering position is reached by the first injector ([0028], the supply-line is provided with a sensor for detecting the presence of liquid for injecting purposes, whilst the operation of the drive means is dependent on the sensor). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify a means for moving the injector, as it is not disclosed in Raidt, to a mechanism like the drive means as taught in Fachinger in order to provide clarity to the operation of the injection. Furthermore in regards to the operation of the injection, it would have been obvious to modify the injection device of Raidt with the spring component taught by Fachinger, allowing for the injections to be more consistent and precise in the amount of fluid being pushed, as springs are a known component used in the autoinjector industry.
Regarding claim 14, in the modified device of Raidt, Raidt discloses wherein the first injector is a self-filling syringe (col. 10 line 50-52).
Regarding claim 15, Raidt discloses a second injector (col. 10 line 50-52, injection instrument 26 comprises two syringes 28), which comprises a front dispensing end (needle 30) which, extends through a second passage opening in the shaped contact surface and protrudes in relation to the shaped contact surface in a region adjacent to the second passage opening (col.11 lines 20-26), and a second measuring device (col. 11 lines 67-68, force measurement device 18 comprises three force sensors 42a, 42b, 42c) which outputs at least one second measuring signal in order to detect contact of the animal with the front dispensing end of the second injector (col. 1 lines 57-61), wherein the control unit activates injection via the second injector on the basis of the at least one second measuring signal (col. 12 line 66 – col. 13 line 3).
Raidt does not disclose that the injection device is needle-free. However, Fachinger teaches a needle-free injection device (Fig. 1, [0022]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the syringe and needle injection instrument of Raidt with the needleless injector taught by Fachinger in order to eliminate needlestick injuries for the administrator and the animal being injected, as well as allowing for easier mass vaccinations.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raidt further in view of Fachinger as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Hunter et al. (United States Patent No. US 8,328,755 B2; herein, Hunter).
Regarding claim 3, Raidt in view of Fachinger does not disclose the first measuring device contactlessly detects the reaching of the triggering position. However, Hunter teaches a first measuring device contactlessly detects the reaching of the triggering position (Fig. 2A & col. 10 lines 19-32, magnet assembly 205 including magnets 204A, 204B and coil assembly 203 generate mechanical force for the electromagnetic actuator 200). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the actuator and control device of Raidt with the electromagnetic actuator, magnet and coil assemblies taught by Hunter in order for the sensing mechanism used by the control device and actuator to experience less mechanical wear as contact dependent counterparts, and produce more consistent results being installed in a protected area such as the housing.
Claims 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raidt further in view of Fachinger as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Lerner et al. (United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2012/0078224; herein, Lerner).
Regarding claim 4, Raidt in view of Fachinger does not disclose the contact surface is mounted displaceably between a main position and an injection position, wherein, in the main position of the contact surface, the front dispensing end of the first injector does not extend through the first passage opening in the shaped contact surface, and, in the injection position of the contact surface, the front dispensing end of the first injector extends through the first passage opening in the shaped contact surface and protrudes in relation to the shaped contact surface in a region adjacent to the first passage opening. However, Lerner teaches the contact surface (ocular contact surface 108) is mounted displaceably between (Fig. 29 and Fig. 30) a main position ([0133], non-deployed state) and an injection position ([0141], deployed state), wherein, in the main position of the contact surface, the front dispensing end of the first injector (dispensing member (conduit) 11) does not extend through the first passage opening in the shaped contact surface ([0133], non-deployed (pre-deployed) state, the conduits will generally reside within the housing), and, in the injection position of the contact surface, the front dispensing end of the first injector (dispensing member 11) extends through the first passage opening in the shaped contact surface and protrudes in relation to the shaped contact surface in a region adjacent to the first passage opening ([0133], deployed state…the conduit, or a portion thereof, will typically extend from the housing). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pillar support elements and cylindrical cavities of the contact device of Raidt to displaceably mount the contact surface between a main position and an injection position, wherein, in the main position of the contact surface, the front dispensing end of the first injector does not extend through the first passage opening in the shaped contact surface, and, in the injection position of the contact surface, the front dispensing end of the first injector extends through the first passage opening in the shaped contact surface and protrudes in relation to the shaped contact surface in a region adjacent to the first passage opening as taught by Lerner in order to allow a user to properly position the injector relative to a patient so that medication is delivered effectively and properly. This would result in the pillar-shaped support elements 40a-40c having a translatable conduit structure as shown in Lerner’s FIG. 29-30 enabling the function of displaceable mounting.
Regarding claim 5, in the modified device of Raidt, Raidt teaches the contact surface is mounted in such a manner that the contact surface is in the main position without an animal pressed against it (col. 3 lines 15-23), and that the contact surface is movable into the injection position only upon a predetermined force being exceeded by the animal pressing against it (col. 3 lines 15-23). The examiner considers the movement of the contact device from a pre-contact position to a post-contact position as described in the prior art of Raidt as equivalent to the movement of a contact surface from a main position to an injection position.
Regarding claim 6, Raidt discloses the contact surface (contact device 14). Raidt does not disclose the contact surface being held in the main position under spring pretensioning. Fachinger teaches the contact surface being held in the main position under spring pretensioning ([0022], a preferred position at which the volume of said chamber is at a minimum and the spring is nearly unloaded). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the contact device from Raidt with the spring of Fachinger, as springs are a known operation element is the autoinjector industry due to their ability to return to original setting without much displacement.
Regarding claim 7, Raidt in view of Fachinger does not disclose the contact surface is mounted displaceably between a main position and an injection position, wherein, in the main position of the contact surface, the front dispensing end of the first injector does not extend through the first passage opening in the shaped contact surface, and, in the injection position of the contact surface, the front dispensing end of the first injector extends through the first passage opening in the shaped contact surface and protrudes in relation to the shaped contact surface in a region adjacent to the first passage opening. However, Lerner teaches the contact surface (ocular contact surface 108) is mounted displaceably between (Fig. 29 and Fig. 30) a main position ([0133], non-deployed state) and an injection position ([0141], deployed state), wherein, in the main position of the contact surface, the front dispensing end of the first injector (dispensing member (conduit) 11) does not extend through the first passage opening in the shaped contact surface ([0133], non-deployed (pre-deployed) state, the conduits will generally reside within the housing), and, in the injection position of the contact surface, the front dispensing end of the first injector (dispensing member 11) extends through the first passage opening in the shaped contact surface and protrudes in relation to the shaped contact surface in a region adjacent to the first passage opening ([0133], deployed state…the conduit, or a portion thereof, will typically extend from the housing). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pillar support elements and cylindrical cavities of the contact device of Raidt to displaceably mount the contact surface between a main position and an injection position, wherein, in the main position of the contact surface, the front dispensing end of the first injector does not extend through the first passage opening in the shaped contact surface, and, in the injection position of the contact surface, the front dispensing end of the first injector extends through the first passage opening in the shaped contact surface and protrudes in relation to the shaped contact surface in a region adjacent to the first passage opening as taught by Lerner in order to allow a user to properly position the injector relative to a patient so that medication is delivered effectively and properly. This would result in the pillar-shaped support elements 40a-40c having a translatable conduit structure as shown in Lerner’s FIG. 29-30 enabling the function of displaceable mounting.
Regarding claim 8, in the modified device of Raidt, Raidt teaches the contact surface is mounted in such a manner that the contact surface is in the main position without an animal pressed against it (col. 3 lines 15-23), and that the contact surface is movable into the injection position only upon a predetermined force being exceeded by the animal pressing against it (col. 3 lines 15-23). The examiner considers the movement of the contact device from a pre-contact position to a post-contact position as described in the prior art of Raidt as equivalent to the movement of a contact surface from a main position to an injection position.
Regarding claim 9, Raidt discloses the contact surface (contact device 14). Raidt does not disclose the contact surface being held in the main position under spring pretensioning. Fachinger teaches the contact surface being held in the main position under spring pretensioning ([0022], a preferred position at which the volume of said chamber is at a minimum and the spring is nearly unloaded). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the contact device from Raidt with the spring of Fachinger, as springs are a known operation element is the autoinjector industry due to their ability to return to original setting without much displacement.
Claims 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raidt further in view of Fachinger as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Smith et al. (United States Patent Application No. US 2007/0093747 A1; herein, Smith).
Regarding claim 10, Raidt in view of Fachinger does not disclose the fluid volume dispensed during the needle-free injection is adjustable. However, Smith teaches the fluid volume dispensed during the needle-free injection is adjustable ([0026], the dosage from each dosage device 24 can be a different quantity). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the volume held within the syringes of Raidt with the adjustable characteristic of Smith in order to allow for flexible dosing patterns between animals.
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raidt further in view of Fachinger as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Moons (United States Patent No. US 10,588,729 B2).
Regarding claim 11, Raidt discloses the first measuring device detects a force exerted on the first injector by the animal pressing against the contact surface, and thus against the front dispensing end of the first injector (col. 12 line 57 – col. 13 line 3). Fachinger teaches a needle-free injection (Fig. 1, [0022]). Raidt in view of Fachinger does not disclose the first measuring device outputs first measuring signals to the control unit which activates the injection when a predetermined limit value is exceeded. However, Moons teaches the first measuring device outputs first measuring signals to the control unit which activates the injection when a predetermined limit value is exceeded (Fig. 4, col. 3 lines 53-61). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the force sensors and pressure application area of Raidt, as well as the needle free injection of Fachinger with the control algorithm of Moons in order for the control device of Raidt to autonomously function when the force sensors detect a change, allowing the administrator to focus on the animal.
Regarding claim 12, Raidt discloses the first measuring device detects a force exerted on the contact surface by the animal pressing against the contact surface (col. 12 line 57 – col. 13 line 3). Fachinger teaches a needle-free injection (Fig. 1, [0022]). Raidt in view of Fachinger does not disclose the first measuring device outputs first measuring signals to the control unit which triggers the injection when a predetermined limit value is exceeded. Moons teaches the first measuring device outputs first measuring signals to the control unit which triggers the needle-free injection when a predetermined limit value is exceeded (Fig. 4, col. 3 lines 53-61). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the force sensors and pressure application area of Raidt, as well as the needle free injection of Fachinger with the control algorithm of Moons in order for the control device of Raidt to autonomously function when the force sensors detect a change, allowing the administrator to focus on the animal.
Regarding claim 13, Raidt discloses the first measuring device comprises a proximity sensor (capacitive sensor 46) which detects the presence of the animal at the contact surface (col. 12 lines 24-25). Fachinger teaches a needle-free injection (Fig. 1, [0022]). Raidt in view of Fachinger does not disclose the first measuring device outputs a first measuring signal to the control unit which triggers the injection on the basis of the first measuring signal of the proximity sensor. However, Moons teaches the first measuring device outputs a first measuring signal to the control unit which triggers the injection on the basis of the first measuring signal of the proximity sensor (Fig. 4, col. 3 lines 53-61). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the capacitive sensor and output of Raidt, as well as the needle free injection of Fachinger with the control algorithm of Moons in order for the control device of Raidt to autonomously function when the capacitive sensor detect an animal within proximity, allowing the administrator to focus on the animal.
Conclusion
/EVELYN ANNE THOMAN/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/MICHAEL J TSAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783