DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Remarks
This final office action is in response to the amendment filed on January 15, 2026. Claims 9-14, 19 and 21-29 are currently pending. Applicant added new claims 21-29. Claims 1-8, 15-18 and 20 are canceled.
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s amendment of the specification for typographical errors.
Applicant argues that Talebi, the prior art noted infra, does not teach “assistance information.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Talebi teaches assistance information, (i.e., network model for hosting a Non-Public Network with a PLMN infrastructure may be employed. In this model, a Non-Public Network may be deployed using the infrastructure resources of a PLMN. Some RAN nodes may be shared by both the NPN and the PLMN so the UEs that are capable of both NPN and PLMN services may access both networks through these shared RAN nodes. Besides the shared RAN nodes, the NPN may have its dedicated network functions/resources such as dedicated AMFs, dedicated Network Slices, data network, and/or the like) (Col 45, lines 38-48). Examiner notes that Applicant amended the claims on January 15, 2026, to include assistant information. Egro, Talebi teaches Applicant’s assistance information. (See non-final infra).
Applicant argues that Talebi does not disclose “that the UE 100 performs a deregistration process to the second network based on the S-NSSAI(s)”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant did not specifically claim the particular feature in the Independent claims, 9 and 19, such as, “that the UE 100 performs a deregistration process to the second network based on the S-NSSAI(s)”. Therefore, Examiner respectfully finds this point moot.
Based on Applicant’s amendment and Examiner’s final remarks, this action is made final at this time. See final office action for details, infra:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9-14, 19 and 21-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by F. Talebi et al. (US Patent No. 11405851 and Talebi hereinafter).
Regarding Claims 9 and 19, Talebi teaches a network access guide method for a terminal to access a first network, comprising: receiving assistance information from an access network side device of a second network by a first terminal (i.e., network model for hosting a Non-Public Network with a PLMN infrastructure may be employed. In this model, a Non-Public Network may be deployed using the infrastructure resources of a PLMN. Some RAN nodes may be shared by both the NPN and the PLMN so the UEs that are capable of both NPN and PLMN services may access both networks through these shared RAN nodes. Besides the shared RAN nodes, the NPN may have its dedicated network functions/resources such as dedicated AMFs, dedicated Network Slices, data network, and/or the like) (Col 45, lines 38-48), wherein the assistance information is used to instruct the first terminal to access the first network (i.e., An S-NSSAI (Single Network Slice Selection Assistance information) may identify a network slice. An S-NSSAI may comprise a slice/service type (SST), which may refer to the expected network slice behavior in terms of features and services; and/or a slice differentiator (SD). A slice differentiator may be optional information that may complement the slice/service type(s) to allow further differentiation for selecting a network slice instance from potentially multiple network slice instances that comply with the indicated slice/service type. In an example, the same network slice instance may be selected employing different S-NSSAIs. The CN part of a network slice instance(s) serving a UE 100 may be selected by CN) Col 10, lines 62-67 – Col 11, lines 1-7); and executing a deregistration process by the first terminal based on the assistance information (i.e., access networks and a 5G core network. An example 5G access network may comprise an access network connecting to a 5G core network. An access network may comprise an NG-RAN 105 and/or non-3GPP AN 165. An example 5G core network may connect to one or more 5G access networks 5G-AN and/or NG-RANs. 5G core network may comprise functional elements or network functions as in example FIG. 1 and example FIG. 2 where interfaces may be employed for communication among the functional elements and/or network elements) (Col 6, lines 63-67 to Col 7, lines 1-11).
In regards to the newly added limitations, “by the first terminal….for instructing… and the assistance information comprises a cause value indicating that a disaster condition of the first network is terminated” … by the first terminal …. to the second terminal”….
Talebi teaches “by the first terminal….for instructing… and the assistance information comprises a cause value indicating that a disaster condition of the first network is terminated” … by the first terminal …. to the second terminal”…. (i.e., The UE 100 may set a requested PDU type during a PDU session establishment procedure based on its IP stack capabilities and/or configuration. In an example, the SMF 160 may select PDU type of a PDU session. In an example, if the SMF 160 receives a request with PDU type set to IP, the SMF 160 may select PDU type IPv4 or IPv6 based on DNN configuration and/or operator policies. In an example, the SMF 160 may provide a cause value to the UE 100 to indicate whether the other IP version is supported on the DNNCol 5, lines 30-39); see also (i.e., NG-RAN, the AN parameters may include e.g. SUCI or SUPI or the 5G-GUTI, the Selected PLMN ID and requested NSSAI, and/or the like. In an example, the AN parameters may comprise establishment cause. The establishment cause may provide the reason for requesting the establishment of an RRC connection. In an example, the registration type may indicate if the UE 100 wants to perform an initial registration (i.e. the UE 100 is in RM-DEREGISTERED state), a mobility registration update (e.g., the UE 100 is in RM-REGISTERED state and initiates a registration procedure due to mobility), a periodic registration update (e.g., the UE 100 is in RM-REGISTERED state and may initiate a registration procedure due to the periodic registration update timer expiry) or an emergency registration (e.g., the UE 100 is in limited service state). In an example, if the UE 100 performing an initial registration (i.e., the UE 100 is in RM-DEREGISTERED state) to a PLMN for which the UE 100 does not already have a 5G-GUTI, the UE 100 may include its SUCI or SUPI in the registration request. The SUCI may be included if the home network has provisioned the public key to protect SUPI in the UE. If the UE 100 received a UE 100 configuration update command indicating that the UE 100 needs to re-register and the 5G-GUTI is invalid, the UE 100 may perform an initial registration and may include the SUPI in the registration request message. For an emergency registration, the SUPI may be included if the UE 100 does not have a valid 5G-GUTI available; the PEI may be included when the UE 100 has no SUPI and no valid 5G-GUTI. In other cases, the 5G-GUTI may be included and it may indicate the last serving AMF 155. If the UE 100 is already registered via a non-3GPP access in a PLMN different from the new PLMN (e.g., not the registered PLMN or an equivalent PLMN of the registered PLMN) of the 3GPP access, the UE 100 may not provide over the 3GPP access the 5G-GUTI allocated by the AMF 155 during the registration procedure over the non-3GPP access. If the UE 100 is already registered via a 3GPP access in a PLMN (e.g., the registered PLMN), different from the new PLMN (i.e. not the registered PLMN or an equivalent PLMN of the registered PLMN) of the non-3GPP access, the UE 100 may not provide over the non-3GPP access the 5G-GUTI allocated by the AMF 155 during the registration procedure over the 3GPP access) (Col 12, lines 39-67 to Col 13, lines 1-50) see also (Col 14, lines 46-67- Col 15, lines 1-2).
Regarding Claims 10 and 21, Talebi teaches wherein the first terminal has previously accessed th9+e first network (i.e., Overload control and congestion control in a core network as a result of excessive signaling messages associated with a certain CAG may cause service interruption, delays and network failures and may hinder access of other users and devices that do not belong to congested CAG. Existing solutions for reducing the network load may not be efficient when CAG network causes the congestion in a wireless network. For example, reduction of load based on network slices, and/or data network name (DNN) may not address the overload/congestion issue caused by a CAG. For example, network slice-based overload and barring may not enable the possibility to prevent devices from access attempt to the network in areas which the devices are not allowed to use the network slice. For example, a wireless device may not access the network slice allocated for a non-public network (NPN), a closed access group (CAG), a PLMN, and/or the like. DNN based overload and barring may not enable the possibility to prevent devices from access attempt to the network in areas which the devices are not allowed to use the DNN. For example, the wireless device may not access the DNN allocated for a non-public network (NPN), a closed access group (CAG), a PLMN, and/or the like. Slice based congestion control may be used to prevent access of UE (to use the slice). The slice-based congestion control may be not applicable preventing access of UE belonging to specific CAGs) (Col 30, lines 57-67 to Col 31, lines 1-16).
Regarding Claims 11, 24 and 28-29, Talebi teaches wherein the assistance information comprised at least one of the following: a broadcast message; a non-access stratum (NAS) message, comprising a deregistration request message or a rejection message for NAS request; or an access stratum (AS) message, comprising a rejection message for AS request (i.e. The wireless network may employ a procedure such as UE configuration update procedure to provide CAG related configurations to the wireless device. The CAG related configurations may be an indication of whether the UE is a CAG only UE, a list of allowed CAGs, CAG IDs that the UE may access, and/or the like. The wireless device may receive the configurations or CAG related configurations via a broadcast message. The broadcast message may comprise a system information block (SIB), a master information block (MIB), and/or the like) (Col 34, lines 6-19).
Regarding Claims 12 and 25, Talebi teaches further comprising: after deregistration process of second network (i.e., an AMF may detect 5GMM (mobility management) signalling congestion and may perform general NAS level congestion control. Under the 5GMM signalling congestion conditions the AMF may reject 5GMM signalling requests from UEs. The AMF may determine not to reject the following requests: requests for emergency services, requests for emergency services fallback, requests from UEs configured for high priority access in selected PLMN, deregistration request message, and/or the like ) (Col 41, lines 37-67 to Col 42, lines 1-13)
performing public land mobile network (PLMN) selection, network selection, or network reselection by the first terminal based on the assistance information (i.e., new AMF 155 may send to the UE 100 a registration accept 955 (comprising: 5G-GUTI, registration area, mobility restrictions, PDU session status, allowed NSSAI, [mapping of allowed NSSAI], periodic registration update timer, LADN information and accepted MICO mode, IMS voice over PS session supported indication, emergency service support indicator, and/or the like). In an example, the AMF 155 may send the registration accept message to the UE 100 indicating that the registration request has been accepted. 5G-GUTI may be included if the AMF 155 allocates a new 5G-GUTI. If the AMF 155 allocates a new registration area, it may send the registration area to the UE 100 via registration accept message 955. If there is no registration area included in the registration accept message, the UE 100 may consider the old registration area as valid. In an example, mobility restrictions may be included in case mobility restrictions may apply for the UE 100 and registration type may not be emergency registration. The AMF 155 may indicate the established PDU sessions to the UE 100 in the PDU session status. The UE 100 may remove locally any internal resources related to PDU sessions that are not marked as established in the received PDU session status. In an example, when the UE 100 is connected to the two AMF 155 belonging to different PLMN via 3GPP access and non-3GPP access then the UE 100 may remove locally any internal resources related to the PDU session of the current PLMN) (Col 17, lines 11-58).
Regarding Claims 13 and 26, Talebi teaches selecting the first terminal a PLMN out of a forbidden PLMN list (i.e., The AMF 155 may set the IMS voice over PS session supported Indication. In an example, in order to set the IMS voice over PS session supported indication, the AMF 155 may perform a UE/RAN radio information and compatibility request procedure to check the compatibility of the UE 100 and RAN radio capabilities related to IMS voice over PS. In an example, the emergency service support indicator may inform the UE 100 that emergency services are supported, e.g., the UE 100 may request PDU session for emergency services. In an example, the handover restriction list and UE-AMBR may be provided to NG-RAN by the AMF 155). (Col 17, lines 11-58).
Regarding Claims 14 and 27, Talebi teaches further comprising: receiving first information of the first network by the first terminal, wherein the first information indicates that a disaster condition of the first network is terminated, and the first information is contained in a system message of the first network (i.e., emergency services, list (i.e., The AMF 155 may set the IMS voice over PS session supported Indication. In an example, in order to set the IMS voice over PS session supported indication, the AMF 155 may perform a UE/RAN radio information and compatibility request procedure to check the compatibility of the UE 100 and RAN radio capabilities related to IMS voice over PS. In an example, the emergency service support indicator may inform the UE 100 that emergency services are supported, e.g., the UE 100 may request PDU session for emergency services. In an example, the handover restriction list and UE-AMBR may be provided to NG-RAN by the AMF 155). (Col 17, lines 11-58).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Talebi Fard et al., (US Patent No. 11405851 B2), “Closed Access Group Overload and Congestion Control” August 2, 2022).
Communication
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.qov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll free).
/DIANE D MIZRAHI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647
Diane.Mizrahi@USPTO.gov