DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 1, 2026 with respect to claims 1-7 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 1-7, on page 6-7 of the Remarks, Applicant asserts that “a more efficient transmission of communications” is not found anywhere in Fujishiro, so the stated motivation appears more hindsight reasoning than a motivation with a rational underpinning. Applicant further asserts that “more efficient transmission of communications” is not found anywhere in Fujishiro and appears indefinite with respect to how efficient more efficient is. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner submits that Applicant has mischaracterized the Examiner’s motivation to combine articulated in the Office Action. The motivation articulated in the Office Action includes “more efficient transmission of data to multiple recipients within the communication system”, not merely “more efficient transmission of communications”. Further, Examiner respectfully submits that there is no requirement that the teaching, suggestion, or motivation be found in the reference itself. As discussed above, the teaching, suggestion, or motivation may be found in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. Examiner submits that it is known to those of ordinary skill in the art that the transmission of multicast data is more efficient than that of non-multicast data as multicast transmission allow a single transmission to be received by multiple recipients.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
For at least the foregoing reasons, the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 1-7 and 10-11 are maintained.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 8-9 and 12-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 and 15 recite the limitation “the first network node” and “the second network node" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim due to applicant’s amending of claim 8 to remove the limitations of “a first network node” and “a second network node”. Claims 14-15 are further rejected as being dependent upon rejected claim 13.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "from the first network node to the second network node" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim due to applicant’s amending of claim 8 to remove the limitations of “a first network node” and “a second network node”. Further, dependent claims 17 and 19 also recite “the first network node” and “the second network node” for which antecedent basis is lacking. Claims 17-19 are further rejected as being dependent upon rejected claim 16.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "from the first network node to the second network node" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim due to applicant’s amending of claim 8 to remove the limitations of “a first network node” and “a second network node”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (US 2022/0046661 A1)(hereinafter “Jeon”) in view of Fujishiro et al. (US 2023/0354465 A1) (hereinafter “Fujishiro”).
Regarding claim 1, Jeon discloses a method of multicast mobility in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state, comprising the acts of:
receiving, by a user equipment (UE), an RRC release message indicating transitioning of the UE from an RRC connected state to the RRC inactive state ([¶0330]: the wireless device may receive, in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state, a release message indicating a plurality of configured uplink resources. Each configured uplink resource, of the plurality of configured uplink resources, may be associated with a downlink reference signal (DL RS) of a plurality of DL RSs. The wireless device may transition, based on the release message, from the RRC connected state to an RRC inactive state or an RRC idle state. The release message may be an RRC release message.); and
changing, by the UE for receiving … data, an association to a beam from a first beam to a second beam (Fig. 25, [¶0284]: the wireless device 2502 may determine the beam failure of/on DL RS1, as shown in FIG. 25. The wireless device 2502 may determine a candidate beam (e.g., the DL RS3 as shown in FIG. 25). the beam failure detection indication and/or the beam failure recovery request 2504 may indicate an identity (e.g., C-RNTI, PUR-RNTI, and/or the like) of the wireless device 2502, an indication of the beam failure, and/or an identifier of the candidate beam (e.g., DL RS3). The wireless device 2502 may receive the response 2505 to the beam failure detection indication and/or the beam failure recovery request. The response 2505 may indicate one or more new beams (e.g., comprising the candidate beam, DL RS3) of the cell to be used for transmission and/or reception during/in the non-connected state. The wireless device 2502 may perform the transmission and/or the reception using the one or more new beams, for example, after or in response to receiving the response 2505. The response 2505 may be a second RRC message. The second RRC message may (re-)configures transmission and/or reception during/in the non-connected state with one or more new beams of the cell. The wireless device 2502 may receive the second RRC message that (re-)configures transmission and/or reception during/in the non-connected state via/with one or more new beams of the cell. The second RRC message may indicate a beam used for the transmission and/or reception to be switched from a first beam (e.g., DL RS1) of the cell to a second beam (e.g., DL RS3) of the cell.).
Although Jeon discloses receiving data in an RRC inactive state and that received data may include multicast data (See [¶0207]), Jeon fails to specifically disclose receiving multicast data in an RRC inactive state. However, Fujishiro discloses a UE receiving multicast data after transitioning to an RRC inactive state (Fig. 11; [¶0126]- [¶0127]: in Step S209, the UE 100 continues to receive multicast broadcast service (MBS) traffic in the RRC inactive state using a basic reception configuration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a UE to change an association of a beam from a first beam to a second beam for receiving data in an RRC inactive state, as taught by Jeon, to receive multicast data, as taught by Fujishiro. Doing so allows for more efficient transmission of data to multiple recipients within the communication system.
Regarding claim 2, Jeon in view of Fujishiro discloses all of the features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Jeon further discloses:
receiving first configuration parameters that are associated with receiving … services based on the first beam ([¶0210]: the wireless device 1702 may receive an RRC message comprising the radio resource configuration parameters of the one or more radio resources for a time that the wireless device is in the RRC_CONNECTED state (e.g., at step 1710).); and
receiving second configuration parameters that are associated with receiving … services based on the second beam ([¶0210] the wireless device 1702 may receive radio resource configuration parameters associated with one or more radio resources (e.g., uplink radio resources, the resources 1703, etc.) that the wireless device 1702 may use in the Non-RRC_CONNECTED state.).
Although Jeon discloses receiving first configuration parameters that are associated with receiving … services based on the first beam, and receiving second configuration parameters that are associated with receiving … services based on the second beam, Jeon fails to specifically disclose the services are multicast services. However, Fujishiro discloses that the configuration parameters are associated with multicast services (Fig. 11; [¶0126]- [¶0127]: in Step S209, the UE 100 continues to receive multicast broadcast service (MBS) traffic in the RRC inactive state using a basic reception configuration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to receive first and second configuration parameters that are associated with receiving services based on respective first and second beams, as taught by Jeon, in which the configuration parameters include configuration parameters associated with multicast services, as taught by Fujishiro. Doing so allows for more efficient transmission of data to multiple recipients within the communication system.
Regarding claim 3, Jeon in view of Fujishiro discloses all of the features of claim 2 as outlined above.
Jeon fails to disclose wherein the first configuration parameters comprise first point to multipoint (PTM) configuration parameters, and the second configuration parameters comprise second PTM configuration parameters. However, Fujishiro discloses wherein: the first configuration parameters comprise first point to multipoint (PTM) configuration parameters ([¶0062]: the MBS data to the UE may be Point To Multipoint (PTM)); and the second configuration parameters comprise second PTM configuration parameters ([¶0062]: the MBS data to the UE may be Point To Multipoint (PTM)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to receive first and second configuration parameters based on respective beams, as taught by Jeon, to include point to multipoint (PTM) configuration parameters within the configuration parameters, as taught by Fujishiro. Doing so allows for more efficient transmission of data to multiple recipients within the communication system.
Regarding claim 4, Jeon in view of Fujishiro discloses all of the features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Jeon further discloses wherein the receiving includes receiving configuration parameters that are associated with receiving … services: based on the first beam or the second beam ([¶0210]: the wireless device 1702 may receive an RRC message comprising the radio resource configuration parameters of the one or more radio resources for a time that the wireless device is in the RRC_CONNECTED state (e.g., at step 1710). The wireless device 1702 may receive radio resource configuration parameters associated with one or more radio resources (e.g., uplink radio resources, the resources 1703, etc.) that the wireless device 1702 may use in the Non-RRC_CONNECTED state.).
Although Jeon discloses wherein the receiving includes receiving configuration parameters that are associated with receiving … services: based on the first beam or the second beam, Jeon fails to specifically disclose the services are multicast services. However, Fujishiro discloses that the configuration parameters are associated with receiving multicast services (Fig. 11; [¶0126]- [¶0127]: in Step S209, the UE 100 continues to receive multicast broadcast service (MBS) traffic in the RRC inactive state using a basic reception configuration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to receive first and second configuration parameters that are associated with receiving services based on respective first and second beams, as taught by Jeon, in which the configuration parameters include configuration parameters associated with multicast services, as taught by Fujishiro. Doing so allows for more efficient transmission of data to multiple recipients within the communication system.
Regarding claim 5, Jeon in view of Fujishiro discloses all of the features of claim 4 as outlined above.
Jeon fails to disclose wherein the configuration parameters are point to multipoint (PTM) configuration parameters. However, Fujishiro discloses wherein the configuration parameters are point to multipoint (PTM) configuration parameters ([¶0062]: the MBS data to the UE may be Point To Multipoint (PTM)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to receive configuration parameters based on respective beams, as taught by Jeon, to include point to multipoint (PTM) configuration parameters within the configuration parameters, as taught by Fujishiro. Doing so allows for more efficient transmission of data to multiple recipients within the communication system.
Regarding claim 6, Jeon in view of Fujishiro discloses all of the features of claim 4 as outlined above.
Jeon further discloses wherein the configuration parameters including that one or more … configuration parameters are: applicable to the first beam or the second beam ([¶0210]: the wireless device 1702 may receive an RRC message comprising the radio resource configuration parameters of the one or more radio resources for a time that the wireless device is in the RRC_CONNECTED state (e.g., at step 1710). The wireless device 1702 may receive radio resource configuration parameters associated with one or more radio resources (e.g., uplink radio resources, the resources 1703, etc.) that the wireless device 1702 may use in the Non-RRC_CONNECTED state.).
Jeon fails to specifically disclose the configuration parameters are multicast configuration parameters. However, Fujishiro discloses that the configuration parameters are multicast configuration parameters (Fig. 11; [¶0126]- [¶0127]: in Step S209, the UE 100 continues to receive multicast broadcast service (MBS) traffic in the RRC inactive state using a basic reception configuration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention wherein the configuration parameters applicable to the first beam or second beam, as taught by Jeon, are multicast configuration parameters, as taught by Fujishiro. Doing so allows for more efficient transmission of data to multiple recipients within the communication system by enabling multicast data transmission.
Regarding claim 7, Jeon in view of Fujishiro discloses all of the features of claim 4 as outlined above.
Jeon further discloses wherein the configuration parameters indicate that multicast configuration parameters are extensible from the first beam to the second beam ([¶0290]: the configuration parameters for the new beam may be the same as those of the previous beam.) or, in a case where the first beam and the second beam are associated with a first network node and a second network node, respectively, the multicast configuration parameters are extensible from the first network node to the second network node (an alternative limitation not given mapping in the claim.)
Alternately, Jeon fails to disclose the alternative limitation of in a case where the first beam and the second beam are associated with a first network node and a second network node, respectively, the multicast configuration parameters are extensible from the first network node to the second network node. However, Fujishiro discloses in a case where the first beam and the second beam are associated with a first network node and a second network node, respectively, the multicast configuration parameters are extensible from the first network node to the second network node (Fig. 11; [¶0105]; [¶0126]: in Step S202, the gNB 200a transmits, to the UE 100, an RRC Reconfiguration message including a basic reception configuration and an RRC connected dedicated configuration for receiving MBS data from the gNB 200a (“the first network node”) and the gNB 200b (“the second network node”); [¶0137]-[¶0138]: in Step S12, the gNB 200b determines whether to enable the RRC connected dedicated configuration held by the UE 100 and transmits an instruction indicating the determination result to the UE 100. When the UE 100 receives the instruction to enable the RRC connected dedicated configuration from the gNB 200b, the UE 100 enables the held RRC connected dedicated configuration. Therefore, the RRC connected dedicated configuration parameters are indicated as extensible from the gNB 200a to the gNB 200b. Examiner notes that each of nodes gNB 200a and gNB 200b inherently have at least one associated beam.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention wherein the configuration parameters applicable to the first beam or second beam, as taught by Jeon, are associated with a first network node and a second network node, respectively, and the multicast configuration parameters are extensible from the first network node to the second network node, as taught by Fujishiro. Doing so allows for more efficient use of radio resources by enabling reuse of the radio resources.
Claim(s) 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon in view of Fujishiro and in further view of Shrivastava et al. (US 2024/0214988 A1)(hereinafter “Shrivastava”).
Regarding claim 10, Jeon in view of Fujishiro discloses all of the features of claim 7 as outlined above.
Jeon in view of Fujishiro does not disclose wherein the configuration parameters further indicate a table comprising a plurality of fields, wherein each field, in the plurality of fields, is associated with a beam or a network node. However, Shrivastava discloses wherein the configuration parameters further indicate a table comprising a plurality of fields, wherein each field, in the plurality of fields, is associated with a beam ([¶0112]; [¶0221]; [¶0242]; [¶0255]; [¶0296]; [¶0305]-[¶0307]: MBS/multicast session parameters may be conveyed through a table comprising fields within an RRC message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the RRC Reconfiguration message used to convey configuration parameters as taught by Jeon to convey the configuration parameters using fields as taught by Shrivastava. Doing so allows for providing a structured format for conveying multicast configuration parameters between the gNB and the UE.
Regarding claim 11, Jeon in view of Fujishiro and in further view of Shrivastava discloses all of the features of claim 10 as outlined above.
Jeon and Shrivastava fail to disclose wherein a plurality of beams, associated with the plurality of fields, are neighbor beams. However, Fujishiro discloses wherein a plurality of beams … are neighbor beams. ([¶0185]-[ ¶0188]: providing neighbor cell information from the gNB to the UE 100, and the UE 100 performing cell reselection based on the received neighbor cell information when in the RRC inactive state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to associate the plurality of beams and plurality of fields, as taught by Jeon and Shrivastava, with neighbor beams of neighbor nodes, as taught by Fujishiro. Doing so allows for identifying neighboring cells to the UE to facilitate inter-cell switching
Claim(s) 8-9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon in view of Fujishiro and further in view of Liu et al. (US 2021/0282114 A1)(hereinafter “Liu”).
Regarding claim 8, Jeon discloses a method of multicast mobility in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state, comprising the acts of:
receiving, by a user equipment (UE), an RRC release message indicating transitioning of the UE from an RRC connected state to the RRC inactive state ([¶0330]: the wireless device may receive, in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state, a release message indicating a plurality of configured uplink resources. Each configured uplink resource, of the plurality of configured uplink resources, may be associated with a downlink reference signal (DL RS) of a plurality of DL RSs. The wireless device may transition, based on the release message, from the RRC connected state to an RRC inactive state or an RRC idle state. The release message may be an RRC release message.); and
changing, by the UE for receiving … data, an association from a first beam to a second beam (Fig. 25, [¶0284]: the wireless device 2502 may determine the beam failure of/on DL RS1, as shown in FIG. 25. The wireless device 2502 may determine a candidate beam (e.g., the DL RS3 as shown in FIG. 25). the beam failure detection indication and/or the beam failure recovery request 2504 may indicate an identity (e.g., C-RNTI, PUR-RNTI, and/or the like) of the wireless device 2502, an indication of the beam failure, and/or an identifier of the candidate beam (e.g., DL RS3). The wireless device 2502 may receive the response 2505 to the beam failure detection indication and/or the beam failure recovery request. The response 2505 may indicate one or more new beams (e.g., comprising the candidate beam, DL RS3) of the cell to be used for transmission and/or reception during/in the non-connected state. The wireless device 2502 may perform the transmission and/or the reception using the one or more new beams, for example, after or in response to receiving the response 2505. The response 2505 may be a second RRC message. The second RRC message may (re-)configures transmission and/or reception during/in the non-connected state with one or more new beams of the cell. The wireless device 2502 may receive the second RRC message that (re-)configures transmission and/or reception during/in the non-connected state via/with one or more new beams of the cell. The second RRC message may indicate a beam used for the transmission and/or reception to be switched from a first beam (e.g., DL RS1) of the cell to a second beam (e.g., DL RS3) of the cell.).
Although Jeon discloses receiving data in an RRC inactive state and that received data may include multicast data (See [¶0207]), Jeon fails to specifically disclose receiving multicast data in an RRC inactive state. However, Fujishiro discloses a UE receiving multicast data after transitioning to an RRC inactive state (Fig. 11; [¶0126]- [¶0127]: in Step S209, the UE 100 continues to receive multicast broadcast service (MBS) traffic in the RRC inactive state using a basic reception configuration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a UE to change an association of a beam from a first beam to a second beam for receiving data in an RRC inactive state, as taught by Jeon, to receive multicast data, as taught by Fujishiro. Doing so allows for more efficient transmission of data to multiple recipients within the communication system.
Jeon further discloses receiving configuration parameters that are associated with receiving … services: based on the first beam or the second beam ([¶0210]: the wireless device 1702 may receive an RRC message comprising the radio resource configuration parameters of the one or more radio resources for a time that the wireless device is in the RRC_CONNECTED state (e.g., at step 1710). The wireless device 1702 may receive radio resource configuration parameters associated with one or more radio resources (e.g., uplink radio resources, the resources 1703, etc.) that the wireless device 1702 may use in the Non-RRC_CONNECTED state.);
wherein the configuration parameters indicate that … configuration parameters are extensible from the first beam to the second beam ([¶0290]: the configuration parameters for the new beam may be the same as those of the previous beam.).
Although Jeon discloses receiving … services: based on the first beam or the second beam, and wherein the configuration parameters indicate that … configuration parameters are extensible from the first beam to the second beam, Jeon fails to specifically disclose the services are multicast services and the configuration parameters are multicast configuration parameters. However, Fujishiro discloses that the configuration parameters are multicast configuration parameters associated with receiving multicast services (Fig. 11; [¶0126]- [¶0127]: in Step S209, the UE 100 continues to receive multicast broadcast service (MBS) traffic in the RRC inactive state using a basic reception configuration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to receive configuration parameters that are associated with receiving services based on respective first and second beams, as taught by Jeon, in which the configuration parameters include multicast configuration parameters associated with multicast services, as taught by Fujishiro. Doing so allows for more efficient transmission of data to multiple recipients within the communication system.
Jeon in view of Fujishiro does not disclose wherein the one or more parameters further indicate a bitmap comprising a plurality of bits, wherein each bit, in the plurality of bits, is associated with a beam. However, Liu discloses wherein the one or more parameters further indicate a bitmap comprising a plurality of bits, wherein each bit, in the plurality of bits, is associated with a beam ([¶0122] the base station 402 may dynamically configure beam activation and deactivation (e.g., deactivation may include inactivation) for broadcast or multicast SPS communication. The base station 402 may transmit information associated with the available beams 410a-d to the UEs 404a-c, e.g., so that the UEs 404a-c are able to provide measurements and/or other reporting associated with the available beams 410a-d to the base station 402. [¶0124] In some aspects, the signaling to indicate which of the available beams 410a-d is activated and/or deactivated may include a bitmap. The size of the bitmap is equal to the total number of available beams, where the total number of available beams may be predefined/configured by RRC for MCCH and then by MCCH for MTCH, or alternatively predefined/configured by RRC for both MCCH and MTCH. The base station 402 may generate the bitmap to include a respective bit that corresponds to each of the available beams 410a-d and/or corresponds to a respective transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state that may be associated with each of the available beams 410a-d and/or corresponds to respective quasi-colocation (QCL) information.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the RRC Reconfiguration message used to convey configuration parameters, as taught by Fujishiro, to convey the configuration parameters using bits of a bitmap as taught by Liu. Doing so allows for reducing the bandwidth required for conveying multicast configuration parameters between the gNB and the UE.
Regarding claim 9, Jeon in view of Fujishiro and further in view of Liu discloses all of the features of claim 8 as outlined above.
Jeon further discloses wherein a plurality of beams or a plurality of network nodes … are neighbor beams or neighbor network nodes ([¶0092]: The wireless device may measure received signal levels (e.g., reference signal levels, reference signal received power, reference signal received quality, received signal strength indicator, etc.) based on one or more signals sent from a serving cell and neighboring cells. The wireless device may report these measurements to a serving base station (e.g., the base station currently serving the wireless device). The serving base station of the wireless device may request a handover to a cell of one of the neighboring base stations, for example, based on the reported measurements.)
Jeon in view of Fujishiro does not specifically disclose that the plurality of beams or the plurality of network nodes are associated with the plurality of bits. However, Liu discloses wherein a plurality of beams or a plurality of network nodes [are], associated with the plurality of bits ([¶0124] In some aspects, the signaling to indicate which of the available beams 410a-d is activated and/or deactivated may include a bitmap. The size of the bitmap is equal to the total number of available beams, where the total number of available beams may be predefined/configured by RRC for MCCH and then by MCCH for MTCH, or alternatively predefined/configured by RRC for both MCCH and MTCH. The base station 402 may generate the bitmap to include a respective bit that corresponds to each of the available beams 410a-d and/or corresponds to a respective transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state that may be associated with each of the available beams 410a-d and/or corresponds to respective quasi-colocation (QCL) information.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to associate the plurality of neighbor network nodes, as taught by Jeon, with a plurality of bits as taught by Liu. Doing so allows for identifying neighboring cells to the UE to facilitate inter-cell switching.
Regarding claim 20, Jeon in view of Fujishiro and further in view of Liu discloses all of the features of claim 8 as outlined above.
Jeon further discloses determining to change the association from the first beam to the second beam or from the first network node to the second network node (Fig. 25, [¶0284]: the wireless device 2502 may determine the beam failure of/on DL RS1, as shown in FIG. 25. The wireless device 2502 may determine a candidate beam (e.g., the DL RS3 as shown in FIG. 25). the beam failure detection indication and/or the beam failure recovery request 2504 may indicate an identity (e.g., C-RNTI, PUR-RNTI, and/or the like) of the wireless device 2502, an indication of the beam failure, and/or an identifier of the candidate beam (e.g., DL RS3). The wireless device 2502 may receive the response 2505 to the beam failure detection indication and/or the beam failure recovery request. The response 2505 may indicate one or more new beams (e.g., comprising the candidate beam, DL RS3) of the cell to be used for transmission and/or reception during/in the non-connected state. The wireless device 2502 may perform the transmission and/or the reception using the one or more new beams, for example, after or in response to receiving the response 2505. The response 2505 may be a second RRC message. The second RRC message may (re-)configures transmission and/or reception during/in the non-connected state with one or more new beams of the cell. The wireless device 2502 may receive the second RRC message that (re-)configures transmission and/or reception during/in the non-connected state via/with one or more new beams of the cell. The second RRC message may indicate a beam used for the transmission and/or reception to be switched from a first beam (e.g., DL RS1) of the cell to a second beam (e.g., DL RS3) of the cell.)..
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujishiro in view of Liu and in further view of Löhr et al. (WO 2024/139460) (hereinafter “Löhr”).
Regarding claim 12, Jeon in view of Fujishiro and further in view of Liu discloses all of the features of claim 8 as outlined above.
Jeon in view of Fujishiro and further in view of Liu does not specifically disclose wherein: changing the association is from the first beam to the second beam; the first beam and the second beam are associated with the same network node; and the association is changed for inter-beam mobility. However, Löhr discloses wherein: changing the association is from the first beam to the second beam; the first beam and the second beam are associated with the same network node; and the association is changed is for inter-beam mobility (Fig. 7: [¶0117]-[¶0118]: at 702, a UE may trigger transmission of beam information to a base station in response to a current serving beam (“the first beam”) for transmitting data between the UE and the base station having changed while the UE is in an RRC Inactive state to provide for inter-beam mobility. The beam information indicates a new serving beam (“the second beam”). [¶0120]: at 706, the beam information is transmitted to the base station (i.e., “the same network node”) as part of a random access procedure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the changing of the association from the first beam to the second beam as taught by Jeon in view of Fujishiro and further in view of Liu, to a change in a first beam to a second beam associated with the same network node for inter-beam mobility as taught by Löhr. Doing so allows for providing for conveying an indication of a best beam for transmitting and receiving multicast data (Löhr: [¶0070]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL WAYNE MADDOX/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/CHI TANG P CHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463