DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed October 9, 2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-22 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of 35 USC § 102.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jia et al. (US 20240235914 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jia et al. teaches a method of wireless communication of a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving second time domain signals each carrying L layers of data through each of Nr receiving antennas of the UE on a second frequency band in S second intervals corresponding to a second subcarrier spacing, each of the second intervals containing one or more OFDM symbols (Paragraph 40, 87, 111, UE employs its antennas to receive multiple OFDM-based time-domain signals derived from frequency-domain symbols, matching the claimed multi-layer reception structure), Nr and L being positive integers, wherein the second time domain signals received in different intervals of the S second intervals are transmitted from different wireless repeater devices of a group of M wireless repeater devices (Paragraph 49, 51, Different NT-TRPs act as repeater devices transmitting successive signals in distinct transmission windows toward the UE), wherein the L layers of data are transmitted by a base-station through sets of N1 modulation symbols carried on N1 subcarriers of a first subcarrier spacing in a first frequency band to the group of M wireless repeater devices (Paragraph 45, 49, Base-station performs layered MIMO precoding across subcarriers (N₁ symbols) and delivers these symbol sets over a first band to multiple NT-TRP repeater nodes); obtaining sets of N2 modulation symbols carried on N2 reception subcarriers of the second subcarrier spacing from each second time domain signal received through each receiving antenna of the UE in each second interval, wherein each set of the sets of N2 modulation symbols is corresponding to one of the OFDM symbols in the S second intervals (Paragraph 86-87, 115, The receiver extracts per-symbol sets (N₂) mapped to corresponding subcarriers and OFDM symbols from each received time-domain signal), and wherein the sets of N2 modulation symbols are generated by the wireless repeater devices by performing rate converting and frequency translation from the sets of N1 modulation symbols received in the first frequency band with the first subcarrier spacing to the second frequency band with the second subcarrier spacing (Paragraph 49, 90, 93, NT-TRPs transform backhaul-band signals using DFT/IFFT and cyclic shift operations constituting rate conversion and frequency translation to a new band and subcarrier spacing); obtaining a mapping rule that maps the sets of N2 modulation symbols received in two or more of the S second intervals to a resource set for decoding together, wherein the mapping rule indicates how each wireless repeater device maps N1 modulation symbols to N2 modulation symbols (Paragraph 93, 118, 123, Defined cyclic-shift and transform relationships operate as a mapping rule specifying how repeater-generated N₂ symbols correspond to the original N₁ symbols for coordinated decoding); and determining the L layers of data based on the sets of N2 modulation symbols decoded together as mapped in the resource set (Paragraph 113, 127, The receiver jointly decodes and combines symbol sets from multiple transmissions, yielding recovery of the multi-layered data stream).
Regarding claim 2, Jia et al. teaches reporting a capability of the UE indicating a maximum value of L, wherein the UE is capable of determining L layers of data based on sets of N2 modulation symbols received at the UE in all of the S second intervals on the second frequency band, and the maximum value of L is larger than Nr (Paragraph 37, 40, 111-113, UE (ED 110) is shown to receive, demodulate, and combine multiple sets of modulation symbols across time/frequency intervals, showing capability to process multiple data layers beyond its number of antennas, representing a reported maximum L > Nr).
Regarding claim 3, Jia et al. teaches wherein each of the group of M wireless devices comprises a digital frequency-translation repeater configured to: receive RF signals on a first carrier frequency f, during a first interval of duration TTI1; transform, in baseband, a first set of N, modulation symbols of a first subcarrier spacing SCS1 to a second set of N, modulation symbols of a second subcarrier spacing SCS2 according to a device-specific linear mapping; and transmit RF signals on a second carrier frequency f, in respective ones of the S second intervals of duration TTI2. where S =SCS2/SCS1 =TTI1 /TTI2 (Paragraph 49, 59, 86, 93, discloses a node (NT-TRP) that receives and retransmits RF signals while performing baseband transforms (DFT/IFFT with cyclic shift) between different frequency-domain configurations, effectively implementing digital frequency translation and time-interval scaling).
Regarding claim 4, Jia et al. teaches obtaining a quasi co-location (QCL) assumption for each of the S second intervals, wherein the QCL assumption indicate at least one of a Doppler shift, a Doppler spread, an average delay, a delay spread, and a spatial receiving parameter for receiving the sets of N2 modulation symbols in the each second interval (Paragraph 40, 113, Channel estimation and receive beamforming based on beam direction and reference signals correspond to deriving Doppler, delay, and spatial parameters for each reception interval, equivalent to obtaining QCL assumptions for accurate demodulation).
Regarding claim 5, Jia et al. teaches obtaining, from the base station, one or more parameters indicating a mapping that is used by the base station to configure the group of M wireless devices to map a set of N1 modulation symbols on N, subcarriers of the first subcarrier spacing in a first OFDM symbol to a set of N2 modulation symbols carried on N2 subcarriers of the second subcarrier spacing in a second OFDM symbol received at the UE, wherein the first OFDM symbol is carried on the first frequency band and is contained in a first time domain signal transmitted from the base station, wherein the set of N1 modulation symbols carries the L layers of data to be determined by the UE, and wherein the set of N2 modulation symbols are generated at a wireless device by performing rate converting and frequency translation of the set of N1 modulation symbol (Paragraph 45, 86-89, 99, 104, 112, teaches a base station (T-TRP 170) that modulates and precodes layers of data into modulation symbols, maps them via transforms (DFT/IFFT) to subcarriers forming OFDM symbols on a first frequency band, and generates a second OFDM signal by cyclically shifting (frequency translating) and re-mapping those symbols, effectively teaching rate conversion and frequency translation from N₁ subcarriers to N₂ subcarriers corresponding to a different subcarrier spacing, as directed by parameters signaled from the base station).
Regarding claim 6, Jia et al. teaches wherein the one or more parameters indicate at least one of: a bandwidth, or a bandwidth upper bound, of the first OFDM symbol, the first subcarrier spacing, and a value of N1 (Paragraph 59, 61, 64, 67, These passages define transform length N, window size L, and sub-carrier k that determine the OFDM symbol’s bandwidth, subcarrier spacing, and N1 parameter).
Regarding claim 7, Jia et al. teaches obtaining one or more parameters indicating a mapping that is used by the group of M digital frequency-translation repeaters to map a set of N1 modulation symbols received in a first OFDM symbol to a set of N2 modulation symbols to be transmitted in a second OFDM symbol (Paragraph 59, 60, 104, 101, These passages collectively describe parameters (e.g., cyclic shift amount, transform sizes M and N) that define a mapping between sets of modulation symbols—transforming N1 (DFT size M) frequency-domain symbols into N2 (IFFT size N) symbols for transmission, equivalent to mapping from a first to a second OFDM symbol via frequency-domain translation or reallocation), wherein the one or more parameters comprise at least one of: a device-specific linear transformation matrix T(k,n) describing the mapping from repeater inputs to repeater outputs per subcarrier (Paragraph 40, 49, 93, These describe per-subcarrier transformations (precoding/beamforming matrices or transforms) that mathematically represent linear mappings between input and output symbols, consistent with a T(k,n) matrix defining subcarrier-specific mapping); a subcarrier index mapping rule from N1-point FFT outputs to N2-point IFFT inputs including at least one of (i) centered insertion with zero padding, (ii) interleaved placement with distance R and offset
δ
, and (iii) symbol replication across multiple N2 subcarriers (Paragraph 57, 59, 61, 89, The described “mode-1” centered mapping and “mode-2” shifted mapping correspond to index remapping between N1 DFT outputs and N2 IFFT inputs; the cyclic shift and centered spectrum placement function analogously to subcarrier index rules like centered insertion or interleaving).
Regarding claim 8, Jia et al. teaches wherein the one or more parameters indicate at least one of: a bandwidth, or a bandwidth upper bound, of the second OFDM symbol, the second subcarrier spacing, and a value of N2 (Paragraph 29, 59, 61, 93, The passage defines bandwidth usage, subcarrier spacing (via IFFT length N), and transform parameters (N corresponding to N2) that configure the second OFDM symbol).
Regarding claim 9, Jia et al. teaches wherein second time domain signals received in each of the S second intervals on the second frequency band correspond to first time domain signals received at one of the group of M wireless devices in a first interval on a first frequency band, the second time domain signals representing sets of N1 modulation symbols received at the one wireless device and carried on N1 reception subcarriers of the first subcarrier spacing in the first interval, where the first interval and each second interval contain a same number of OFDM symbols of the first subcarrier spacing and the second subcarrier spacing, respectively, and wherein the second time domain signals are generated by the wireless device by rate converting and frequency translating the sets of N1 modulation symbols from the first frequency band to the second frequency band (Paragraph 86-89, 93, 109, 111, 112, 135, The cited portions collectively describe first and second time domain signals derived from frequency-domain representations of the same modulation symbol sets via DFT/IFFT transforms and cyclic shifts, where the second signal is generated from the first by transform-based rate conversion and frequency translation between two frequency bands, corresponding to repeated intervals containing equal numbers of OFDM symbols transmitted and retransmitted from one device to another).
Regarding claim 10, Jia et al. teaches wherein S equals to a ratio between the second subcarrier spacing and the first subcarrier spacing (Paragraph 89, 93, 104, The passages show the second signal is derived from the first by cyclic frequency shifting, showing proportional scaling between frequency intervals (i.e., subcarrier spacings), which corresponds to S being a ratio between the two spacings).
Regarding claim 11, Jia et al. teaches wherein N1 is no greater than N2 (Paragraph 59, 64, Shows that the DFT size (M ≈ N1) is less than or equal to the IFFT size (N ≈ N2), thus N1 ≤ N2).
Regarding claim 12, Jia et al. teaches wherein the first frequency band is in Frequency Range 1 and the second frequency band in Frequency Range 2 (Paragraph 30, 43, 49, 79, describes terrestrial (T-TRP) and non-terrestrial (NT-TRP) links corresponding to separate FR1 and FR2 frequency bands used for ground and satellite communications).
Regarding claim 13, Jia et al. teaches wherein the S second intervals are subsequent to the first interval (Paragraph 74-75, 86, 96, These passages describe that a first time-domain signal is transmitted and then retransmitted in later transmissions (subsequent intervals), showing the second signal occurs after the first interval in time sequence).
Regarding claim 14, Jia et al. teaches estimating a channel matrix of a channel for receiving second time domain signals in each of the S second intervals based on reference signals received on the channel (Paragraph 40, The UE processor performs channel estimation using received reference signals, thereby estimating the channel matrix for received time-domain signals).
Regarding claim 15, Jia et al. teaches determining L1 layers data, out of the L layers of data, based on second time domain signals received in S1 second intervals out of the S second intervals and on estimated channel matrices corresponding to the S1 second intervals, L1 and S1 being positive integers (Paragraph 40, 70-71, 113, Receiver determines a subset of data layers from multiple received time-domain signals by combining them using channel estimates from different intervals).
Regarding claim 16, Jia et al. teaches wherein Nr * S1 is no less than L1 (Paragraph 37, 86, 109, Multiple antennas (Nr) send and receive multiple transmissions (S1) that together provide at least the same number of independent data layers (L1)).
Regarding claim 17, Jia et al. teaches determining the L layers data based on second time domain signals received in all of the S second intervals and estimated channel matrices corresponding to the S second intervals (Paragraph 40, 67–71, 113, 123, 136, describe a receiver that estimates channel responses (h(k)) from reference signals and then combines multiple received time-domain signals across retransmissions (via MRC/MMSE) to recover the transmitted data, thereby determining the data layers from all received intervals using channel estimates).
Regarding claim 18, Jia et al. teaches a method of wireless communication of a base station, comprising: receiving an indication indicating that a user equipment (UE) is capable of receiving data transmitted from the base station on a first frequency band via a group of M digital frequency-translation repeaters (Paragraph 36, 43, 45, 49, 51, The base station (T-TRP 170) communicates with the UE (ED 110) and uses a group of repeaters (NT-TRPs 172) that forward data from the base station, collectively enabling UE reception via multiple forwarding nodes), each configured to receive first time domain signals on the first frequency band with a first subcarrier spacing, to perform rate converting and frequency translation to a second frequency band with a second subcarrier spacing (Paragraph 49, 57, 59, 86, 99, discloses that the NT-TRP performs PHY-layer modulation and IFFT to generate time-domain signals and cyclically shifts or remaps frequency components between retransmissions equivalent to performing frequency translation and rate (subcarrier-spacing) conversion), and to transmit, in different ones of S second intervals, data on N2 transmission subcarriers on the second frequency band (Paragraph 74, 85, 99, Different “transmissions” or “retransmissions” in alternating diversity modes correspond to multiple time intervals (S intervals) where each carries subcarrier-mapped data on distinct frequency resources) transmitting, to the group of M digital frequency-translation repeaters for forwarding the UE, L layers of data on N1 transmission subcarriers on the first frequency band (Paragraph 45, 51, 100, The base station (T-TRP) performs MIMO precoding to generate L data layers on N₁ subcarriers, transmits them via backhaul to multiple NT-TRPs that forward to the UE), L being a positive integer and greater than Nr, wherein Nr is a number of receiving antennas that the UE is equipped with on the second frequency band (Paragraph 37, 45, 51, teaches that the UE (ED 110) has multiple antennas while the base station applies MIMO precoding to generate multiple layers, supporting L > Nr as common in downlink MIMO where transmitted layers exceed UE antenna count).
Regarding claim 19, Jia et al. teaches determining L based on a respective number of active receiving and/or transmitting antennas on each digital frequency-translation repeater of wireless device of the group of M digital frequency-translation repeaters (Paragraph 36, 45, 49, These passages collectively describe each repeater-like transceiver (T-TRP 170, NT-TRP 172) having one or more active transmit/receive antennas that can be dynamically activated or deactivated and used in MIMO/beamforming operations).
Regarding claim 20, Jia et al. teaches wherein N1 is no greater than N2 (Paragraph 59, 64, Because the DFT uses M points and the IFFT uses N points, where M ≤ N for mapping within available subcarriers, the passage teaches N1 ≤ N2).
Regarding claim 21, Jia et al. teaches wherein the first frequency band is in Frequency Range 1 and the second frequency band is in Frequency Range 2 (Paragraph 30-31, 49, The UE communicates with terrestrial (T-TRP) and non-terrestrial (NT-TRP) nodes operating on separate wireless systems, corresponding to distinct bands (FR1 for terrestrial and FR2 for non-terrestrial)).
Regarding claim 22, Jia et al. teaches an apparatus for wireless communication, the apparatus being a user equipment (UE), comprising: a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory and configured to: receive second time domain signals each carrying L layers of data through each of Nr receiving antennas of the UE on a second frequency band in S second intervals corresponding to a second subcarrier spacing, each of the second intervals containing one or more OFDM symbols, Nr and L being positive integers (Paragraph 36-40, These passages collectively describe a user equipment with memory and processor configured to receive downlink time-domain signals through multiple antennas and demodulate OFDM-based symbols), wherein the second time domain signals received in different intervals of the S second intervals are transmitted from different wireless repeater devices of a group of M wireless repeater devices (Paragraph 44, 51, The disclosure of multiple transmit points (T-TRPs and NT-TRPs) jointly serving the UE through coordinated transmissions corresponds to receiving signals in different time intervals from different repeater-like devices), wherein the L layers of data are transmitted by a base-station through sets of N1 modulation symbols carried on N1 subcarriers of a first subcarrier spacing in a first frequency band to the group of M wireless repeater devices (Paragraph 45, 49, The base-station (T-TRP) modulates and precodes multiple symbol sets (N₁ modulation symbols over subcarriers) for downlink transmission to the repeater devices); obtain sets of N2 modulation symbols carried on N2 reception subcarriers of the second subcarrier spacing from each second time domain signal received through each receiving antenna of the UE in each second interval, wherein each set of the sets of N2 modulation symbols is corresponding to one of the OFDM symbols in the S second intervals, and wherein the sets of N2 modulation symbols are generated by the wireless repeater devices by performing rate converting and frequency translation from the sets of N1 modulation symbols received in the first frequency band with the first subcarrier spacing to the second frequency band with the second subcarrier spacing (Paragraph 89, 91, 93, 99, 104, The description of generating a second frequency-domain signal from a first by cyclic shift (frequency translation) and transformation (rate conversion) teaches the repeater’s processing that converts first-band modulation sets (N₁) into second-band sets (N₂)); obtain a mapping rule that maps the sets of N2 modulation symbols received in two or more of the S second intervals to a resource set for decoding together, wherein the mapping rule indicates how each wireless repeater device maps N1 modulation symbols to N2 modulation symbols (Paragraph 70, 113, 127, Combining of multiple cyclically shifted signals under a defined correspondence (mode mapping) indicates the receiver uses a mapping rule linking first and second sets of frequency-domain components for joint decoding); and determine the L layers of data based on the sets of N2 modulation symbols decoded together as mapped in the resource set (Paragraph 68, 113, The receiver determines the final decoded data layers (L layers) through combining and transforming received symbol sets corresponding to the jointly decoded resource sets).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Karlsson et al. (US 20240171445 A1)
Tervo et al. (US 20250047441 A1)
Jin et al. (US 20230403696 A1)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW SHAJI KURIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464