Specification
The specification and drawings have been reviewed and no clear informalities or objections have been noted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the aluminophosphate-type zeolite" in lines 1-2 . There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. As best understood, this recitation of aluminophosphate-type zeolite appears to be referencing the aluminophosphate-type zeolite recited in claim 2 and will be examined as such.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park (US 6,503,661).
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses a battery comprising:
an electrode body including a positive electrode (cathode, col. 4 lines 66-67) and a negative electrode (anode, col. 4 lines 14-15) stacked with a separator provided therebetween (see col. 5 lines 24-25 which discloses that the anode, cathode and a polymer electrolyte/separator are laminated/stacked);
an electrolyte (see col. 5 lines 41-53 which discloses an electrolytic solution injected into the battery); and
an exterior material (such as the plastic case disclosed in col. 6 lines 66-67),
wherein
at least one of the electrolyte, the separator, or the exterior material includes a filler (see col. 5 lines 13-22 which discloses forming the polymer electrolyte/separator with a filler), and
the filler includes a zeolite having no Si as a constituent element (see claim 1 of Park which discloses a filler which is a zeolite made of aluminophosphate, no silicon).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 6,503,661).
Regarding claim 3, Park does not teach the exact claimed range for pore size, but does teach that the filler/zeolite, or aluminophosphate, has a pore size of 0.5 to 1nm which overlaps the claimed range (see col. 3 lines 8-11). As such, arriving at the claimed range would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP §2144.05(I)).
Relevant Prior Art
US 2018/0254531 – Discloses the use of zeolites in batteries for enhanced conductivity.
US 2014/0023930 – Discloses adding an aluminum phosphate into a separator/electrolyte of an electrochemical device.
US 2018/0043656 – Discloses the presence of aluminophosphate in the separator/electrolyte of a battery.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW J MERKLING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725