DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 18, and 20 recite the term “intermediate” carbon black which is indefinite. The instant specification [0045] states: “It has been found, however, that a carbon black which does not fall into one of the standard ASTM categories is particularly useful in forming a rubber composition suited to use in tire plies. This carbon black is referred to herein as an ‘intermediate’ carbon black since it falls between two conventional ASTM grades with respect to the degree of structure.” The definition does not specify what is meant by “categories” and further, there are many ASTM standards. Which category or categories does the carbon black have to fall between and in which ASTM standard? The definition does not properly set forth the metes and bounds of what is considered to be “intermediate”. The term “intermediate” is indefinite.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 2 recites the broad recitation “an STSA of at least 55 m2/g”, and the claim also recites “an STSA of up to 65 m2/g” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. Claim 3 recites the broad recitation of “an Absorption Number (OAN) of at least 132 cc/100g”, and the claim also recites “an OAN of up to 149 cc/100g”. Claim 4 recites the broad recitation of “an Oil Absorption Number of a Compressed sample (COAN) determined according to ASTM D3493-21 of at least 90 cc/100g”, and the claims also recite “at least 95 cc/100g or up to 110 cc/100g, or up to 105 cc/100g”, which are each narrower statements of the range/limitations. Claims 2-4 are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claims 2-17 and 19 are rejected for being dependent on claims 1 and 18 respectively.
Claim Analysis
Summary of Claim 1:
A rubber composition comprising:
100 phr of elastomer, the elastomer comprising 60-100 phr of a conjugated diene elastomer;
at least 20 phr of an intermediate carbon black, the intermediate carbon black having a statistical thickness surface area (STSA), as determined according to ASTM D6556-21, of from 50 m2/g to 70 m2/g;
at least 5 phr silica;
at least 0.1 phr of a tear strength agent;
a sulfur-based curing agent; and
an accelerator for the curing agent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoyagi et al. (EP 3845591 as listed on IDS dated October 22, 2024) in view of Wampler et al. (US 10072154 as listed on IDS dated March 29, 2023).
Regarding claims 1-4, Aoyagi et al. disclose Example 62 comprises 100 phr rubber comprising natural rubber, styrene butadiene rubber, and butadiene rubber, which are all conjugated dienes, 30 phr of carbon black, 30 phr silica, 1 part of tear strength agent 3-methyl-5-pyrazolone, 2 parts of sulfur, and a vulcanization accelerator (See Table 10), thereby lying within the claimed amounts of the components as recited in the instant claims.
Aoyagi et al. do not teach the carbon black having the statistical thickness surface area (STSA), Oil Absorption Number (OAN), and Oil Absorption Number of a Compressed sample (COAN) as recited in the instant claims 1-4 respectively.
Wampler et al. teach a carbon black in SR409 sample #1 having an STSA of 55.9 m2/g, OAN of 142.6 cc/100g, and a COAN of 97.9 (see Table 1), thereby lying within the claimed ranges of instant claims 1, 2, 3, and 4. Wampler et al. offer the motivation that the carbon black in rubber compositions exhibits low rolling resistance and thereby offers better fuel efficiency for tires [col 2, line 20-26]. Aoyagi et al. is also concerned with reducing rolling resistance and achieving lower fuel consumption for tires [0301]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add the carbon black of Wampler et al. with the composition of Aoyagi et al. with reasonable expectation that the rolling resistance would be reduced.
Regarding claim 5, Aoyagi et al. disclose the amount of silica present in Example 62 is 30 phr silica, thereby lying within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 6, Aoyagi et al. teach in Example 62 the amount of carbon black present is 30 phr and the amount of silica present is 30 phr, equivalent to a 1:1 ratio of carbon black to silica and thereby lying within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 7, Aoyagi et al. do not teach the CTAB surface area of the silica used in Example 62.
However, Aoyagi et al. teach exemplary silica products include HD200MP, which has a specific surface area (CTAB) of 185-225 m2/g as evidenced by the datasheet included in this Office Action [0112], thereby overlapping the claimed range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add the silica having an overlapping CTAB surface since Aoyagi et al. teach both may be used.
Regarding claim 8, Aoyagi et al. disclose in Example 62 the amount of silica coupling agent is 2.4 phr, thereby lying within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 10, Aoyagi et al. disclose 3-methyl-5-pyrazolone is present in Example 62, thereby reading on the instant claim.
Regarding claim 11, 12, and 13, Aoyagi et al. disclose 3 phr of zinc oxide, 2 phr of stearic acid, and 2 phr of a cure accelerator in Example 62, thereby reading on the instant claims.
Regarding claim 14, 15, and 17, Aoyagi et al. do not teach Example 62 is used to form a cord-reinforced rubber component for a tire.
However, Aoyagi et al. do teach the rubber composition is used to form a tire and can be used to form a carcass, which is a cord layer forming the frame work of the tire [0287-0301]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form a cord-reinforced rubber component as taught by Aoyagi et al.
Claims 9, 16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoyagi et al. (EP 3845591 as listed on IDS dated October 22, 2024) in view of Wampler et al. (US 10072154 as listed on IDS dated March 29, 2023) in further view of Sandstrom et al. (US 20060169382 as listed on IDS dated ).
The composition disclosed in claim 1 is incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding claim 9, Aoyagi et al. do not teach the rubber composition comprises a cobalt salt.
Sandstrom et al. teach a rubber composition comprising a cobalt salt in an amount from 0 to about 5 phr (claim 1, [0037]). Sandstrom et al. offer the motivation that the cobalt salt enhances physical properties in the rubber composition [0005]. Aoyagi et al. is also interested in improving the physical properties of the rubber composition [0003]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add the cobalt salt of Sandstrom et al. with the composition of Aoyagi et al. with reasonable expectation that the physical properties would improve.
Regarding claim 16, Aoyagi et al. is silent on if the cord comprises at least one of metal wires and a fabric material.
Sandstrom et al. teach the carcass ply of the tire comprises brass coated steel cords or polyester cords [0028-0029], thereby reading on in the instant claim. Aoyagi et al. is also concerned with a carcass ply [0292-0301]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the carcass made from Aoyagi et al. also comprises a cord as taught by Sandstrom et al. since it is well known in the industry to incorporate a metal wire in a carcass ply.
Regarding claim 18 and 19, Aoyagi et al. disclose a method of forming a rubber composition in Example 62 wherein 100 phr rubber comprising natural rubber, styrene butadiene rubber, and butadiene rubber, which are all conjugated dienes, 30 phr of carbon black, 30 phr silica, 1 part of 3-methyl-5-pyrazolone tear strength agent, 2 parts of sulfur, and a vulcanization accelerator are mixed together to form a rubber composition (See Table 10), thereby reading on the first step of instant claim 18.
Aoyagi et al. do not teach the carbon black having the statistical thickness surface area (STSA) as recited in the instant claim 18.
Wampler et al. teach a carbon black in SR409 sample #1 having an STSA of 55.9 m2/g, (see Table 1), thereby lying within the claimed ranges of instant claims 1, 2, 3, and 4. Wampler et al. offer the motivation that the carbon black exhibits low rolling resistance and thereby offers better fuel efficiency [col 2, line 20-26]. Aoyagi et al. is also concerned with reducing rolling resistance and achieving lower fuel consumption [0301]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add the carbon black of Wampler et al. with the composition of Aoyagi et al. with reasonable expectation that the rolling resistance would be reduced.
Aoyagi is silent on coating at least one cord with the rubber composition.
Sandstrom et al. teach rubber compositions are mixed with polyester and nylon cords and cured at 150°C (see Table 2, [0028-0029], thereby reading on step 2 and 3 in the instant claim. Sandstrom et al. offer the motivation that the cord reinforced rubber composition improves durability [0003]. Aoyagi et al. is also concerned with a durability [0003]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to coat at least one cord as taught by Sandstrom et al. with the rubber composition of Aoyagi et al. with reasonable expectation that the durability would improve.
Regarding claim 20, Aoyagi et al. teach in Example 61 a rubber composition comprising 100 phr of natural rubber, which is predominantly cis 1,4 polyisoprene in view of instant specification [0031], 45 phr of carbon black, 10 phr silica, 1 parts of compound 1, a 3-methyl-5-pyrazolone tear strength agent, 2 phr of an antioxidant, 2 phr of stearic acid, 4 phr zinc oxide, 1 phr of a sulfur curing agent, and 1.2 phr of a cure accelerator (see Table 9), thereby lying within the claimed ranges.
Aoyagi et al. do not teach the CTAB surface area of the silica used in Example 61.
However, Aoyagi et al. teach exemplary silica products include HD200MP, which has a specific surface area (CTAB) of 185-225 m2/g as evidenced by the datasheet included in this Office Action [0112], thereby overlapping the claimed range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add the silica having an overlapping CTAB surface since Aoyagi et al. teach both may be used.
Furthermore, Aoyagi et al. do not teach a silica coupling agent is present in Example 61.
However, Aoyagi et al. do teach a silica coupling agent is present in an amount of 0.1 to 20 parts by mass per 100 parts by mass of carbon black and/or inorganic filler [0126-0145]. Aoyagi et al. teach the amount of carbon black is preferably 20 to 100 parts by mass based on 100 parts of rubber in the composition [0159]. Therefore, the amount of silane coupling agent is calculated to be 0.02 to 20 parts by mass per 100 rubber and thereby overlapping with the claimed range.
Aoyagi et al. do not teach the rubber composition comprises a cobalt salt.
Sandstrom et al. teach a rubber composition comprising a cobalt salt in an amount from 0 to about 5 phr (claim 1, [0037]). Sandstrom et al. offer the motivation that the cobalt salt enhances physical properties in the rubber composition [0005]. Aoyagi et al. is also interested in improving the physical properties of the rubber composition [0003]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add the cobalt salt of Sandstrom et al. with the composition of Aoyagi et al. with reasonable expectation that the physical properties would improve.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18532643 (reference application) in view of Wampler et al. (US 10072154). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are related to rubber compositions comprising silica, a tear strength agent, sulfur based curing agent, and an accelerator in overlapping amounts. ‘643 do not teach an intermediate carbon black.
Wampler et al. teach a carbon black in SR409 sample #1 having an STSA of 55.9 m2/g (see Table 1). Wampler et al. teach carbon black is widely used as pigments, fillers, and reinforcing agents in rubber compounds [col 1, line 19-26]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add the carbon black of Wampler et al. to ‘643 since it is well known in the rubber industry to add carbon black.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of copending Application No. 19225592 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications refer to an elastomer, a carbon black having the same STSA, a tear strength agent, silica,
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/ANDREA WU/Examiner, Art Unit 1763
/CATHERINE S BRANCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763