DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the mounting tab defined by the connector header must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a mounting tab defined by the connector header" in Line 7. Applicant’s Drawings and Specification show the mounting tab as either being part of the connector (Claim 10) or the lever (Claim 18). For examination purposes, the Examiner will assume that the mounting tab is part of the connector. Appropriate correction is required.
As best understood by the Examiner, the rejection stands as follows:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tanaka (U.S. Patent No. 9,843,118). Regarding Claim 1, Tanaka discloses a connector assembly, comprising: a connector header (101, 120) configured to be attached to a mounting substrate (111) by a first mounting stud (Column 4, Lines 32-47) extending through a first aperture (121) defined by the connector header; a connector (1) configured to mate and unmate with the connector header and having a mating assist lever (20) configured to attach and detach the connector to and from the connector header; and a mounting tab (23) defined by the connector and configured to attach the connector to the first mounting stud extending through a second aperture (20e) defined by the mounting tab.
Regarding Claim 2, Tanaka discloses the mounting tab being integrally formed with the connector (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 9, Tanaka discloses the mounting tab being integrally formed with the mating assist lever (Fig. 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-18 are allowed.
The references fail to teach, disclose, or suggest, either alone or in combination, regarding Claim 10, inserting a first mounting stud extending from a mounting substrate through a first aperture defined by a connector header; placing a first nut on the first mounting stud and securing the connector header to the mounting substrate; inserting the first mounting stud through a second aperture of a mounting tab defined by a connector configured to mate and unmate with the connector header, placing a second nut on the first mounting stud and securing the mounting tab to the first nut; regarding Claim 18, inserting a first mounting stud extending from a mounting substrate through a first aperture defined by a connector header; placing a first nut on the first mounting stud and securing the connector header to the mounting substrate; and placing a second nut on the first mounting stud and securing the mounting tab to the first nut. and in combination with the rest of the limitations of the base and intermediate claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art discloses connector assemblies, similar to Applicant’s claimed invention, having connector headers, mounting tabs and levers.
/EDWIN A. LEON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833