CTNF 18/127,942 CTNF 77481 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION Drawings 06-36 AIA The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the mounting tab defined by the connector header must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 recites the limitation "a mounting tab defined by the connector header" in Line 7. Applicant’s Drawings and Specification show the mounting tab as either being part of the connector (Claim 10) or the lever (Claim 18). For examination purposes, the Examiner will assume that the mounting tab is part of the connector. Appropriate correction is required. As best understood by the Examiner, the rejection stands as follows: Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Tanaka (U.S. Patent No. 9,843,118). Regarding Claim 1, Tanaka discloses a connector assembly, comprising: a connector header (101, 120) configured to be attached to a mounting substrate (111) by a first mounting stud (Column 4, Lines 32-47) extending through a first aperture (121) defined by the connector header; a connector (1) configured to mate and unmate with the connector header and having a mating assist lever (20) configured to attach and detach the connector to and from the connector header; and a mounting tab (23) defined by the connector and configured to attach the connector to the first mounting stud extending through a second aperture (20e) defined by the mounting tab . Regarding Claim 2, Tanaka discloses the mounting tab being integrally formed with the connector (Fig. 1). Regarding Claim 9, Tanaka discloses the mounting tab being integrally formed with the mating assist lever (Fig. 1) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-07 AIA 07-97 12-51-07 Claim s 10-18 are allowed. The references fail to teach, disclose, or suggest, either alone or in combination, regarding Claim 10, inserting a first mounting stud extending from a mounting substrate through a first aperture defined by a connector header; placing a first nut on the first mounting stud and securing the connector header to the mounting substrate; inserting the first mounting stud through a second aperture of a mounting tab defined by a connector configured to mate and unmate with the connector header, placing a second nut on the first mounting stud and securing the mounting tab to the first nut; regarding Claim 18, inserting a first mounting stud extending from a mounting substrate through a first aperture defined by a connector header; placing a first nut on the first mounting stud and securing the connector header to the mounting substrate; and placing a second nut on the first mounting stud and securing the mounting tab to the first nut. and in combination with the rest of the limitations of the base and intermediate claims. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art discloses connector assemblies, similar to Applicant’s claimed invention, having connector headers, mounting tabs and levers . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to EDWIN A LEON whose telephone number is (571)272-2008. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 10am-6pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Renee S Luebke can be reached on 5712722009. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /EDWIN A. LEON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833 Application/Control Number: 18/127,942 Page 2 Art Unit: 2833 Application/Control Number: 18/127,942 Page 3 Art Unit: 2833 Application/Control Number: 18/127,942 Page 4 Art Unit: 2833 Application/Control Number: 18/127,942 Page 5 Art Unit: 2833