DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The new grounds of rejection set forth below are necessitated by applicant’s amendment filed on December 8, 2025. In particular, claim 1 which has been amended to include the limitations of the previously presented claims 3 and 5. This combination of limitations was not present at the time of the previous office action. Thus, the following action is properly made final.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: for proper antecedent basis, please amend “90 parts by mass of at least one” to read “90 parts by mass of the at least one”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 is objected to from being dependent upon a previously objected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, for clarity and proper antecedent basis, the examiner suggests amending “a styrene-butadiene rubber including the modified styrene-butadiene rubber” to “the modified styrene-butadiene rubber”.
Regarding claim 7, this claim is rejected for being dependent upon a previously rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsubota (US 2020/0207149) in view of Isitman et al (US 2019/0184744) with evidence provided by Hishikawa (US 2023/0331042) and Isitman et al (US 2022/0371365).
Regarding claims 1-2, Tsubota teaches a rubber composition comprising a rubber component (A) which is 40 % by mass of more of natural rubber ([0019]) and from 5 to 60 % by mass of SBR which is modified ([0020]). The composition further comprises from 5 to 50 phr of a terpene resin ([0022]). Tsubota teaches that the rubber composition also contains 20 to 120 phr of silica ([0035]).
However, Tsubota is silent to the characteristics of the terpene resin.
Isitman ‘744 teaches a rubber composition for a tire tread (Abstract) comprising 25 to 90 phr of a synthetic isoprene rubber ([0023]), 10 to 60 phr ([0026]) of a polyterpene resin ([0046]). The polyterpene resin can be Sylvatraxx 4150 ([0046]). Sylvatraxx 4150 has a softening point of about 115 (Table 1). As evidenced by Hishikawa, Sylvatraxx 4150 is made from 5% by mass α-pinene and 95% by mass β-pinene ([0080]). As evidenced by Isitman ‘365, Sylvatraxx has a glass transition temperature of 60 C (Table 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the terpene resin of Tsubota be the Sylvatraxx 4150 as taught by Isitman ‘744. One would have been motivated to do so in order to receive the expected benefit of using a resin that promotes traction (Isitman ‘744, [0042]).
Regarding claims 6-7, Tsubota teaches a tire having a tread made from the composition according to claims 1-2 ([0083]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 8, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the reasons set forth below:
Applicant’s argument: Isitman ‘744 does not teach or suggest the addition of SBR.
Examiner’s response: Isitman ‘744 is no longer used to teach the rubber components of the composition, rather Tsubota is used to teach the presence of the SBR.
Applicant’s argument: Neither Tsubota nor Buisman teaches or suggest the polyterpene resin as a mixed resin within the specific claimed ratio.
Examiner’s response: This is taught by the Isitman ‘744 reference as noted above. Buisman is no longer used as a reference in the rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DORIS L. LEE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1764
/DORIS L LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764