Election/Restrictions
Claims 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected embodiment, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on March 6, 2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of the embodiment of Figures 5-8 in the reply filed on March 6, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the groups have considerable overlapping subject matter, such that examination of all currently pending claims in a single application is appropriate. This is not found persuasive because the embodiments or sufficiently different that none of the claims is generic nor would they be allowable based on their common subject matter. Also, applicant’s claims broadly refer to a “linear translating assembly” which could be found is vastly different environments requiring an extensive search in differing subject matter areas for each of the embodiments.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because, in Figure 7, the lead line for reference numeral 52 (inner clamshell 52) points to the outer clamshell 54, not the inner clamshell 52. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: In para [0028], lines 2-3, applicant describes the first and second clamshell elements 58, 60, as “hemispherical”. However, the clamshell elements shown are semi-cylindrical and have semicircular cross sections, but they are not “hemispherical” (half of a sphere).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 7 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities: In claims 7 and 16, applicant claims two first spring grooves and two second spring grooves. These grooves appear to correspond to the first second, third, and fourth spring grooves described in applicant’s detailed disclosure. Claim language should have clear support in the specification. Using terms inconsistently, as in this case, can cause confusion and should be avoided. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
It is noted that the term “clamshell” typically means an object with two hinged parts that opens and closes like a clamshell (dictionary.com). However, applicant’s “clamshell assembly” refers to two separate elements that are not connected by a hinge.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5 and 9-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krueger (PGPub 2025/0121874) in view of Tessier (PGPub 2016/0326814).
Krueger teaches a linear translating assembly (linear actuator 1) comprising: a housing 2; a linear translating component 7,8, (thrust rod assembly 7 that includes a spindle 8) moveable in an axial direction (para [0029]), wherein at least a portion of the length of the linear translating component is disposed within the housing; and an anti-rotation device 10 (par [0030]-[0032]) comprising: an inner ring assembly 10.3 at least partially surrounding the linear translating component 7, 8, at a mounting location of the linear translating component; and an outer ring assembly 10.4 at least partially surrounding the inner clamshell assembly (see Figure 4; para [0032), wherein the anti-rotation device is disposed within the housing 2 and is axially fixed to the linear translating component at the mounting location in a nonrotational manner relative to the linear translating component, wherein interaction between the anti-rotation device and the housing prevents rotation of the linear translating component (non-round geometry 10.1 of anti-rotation device 10 mates with the geometry of the housing to prevent rotation of the spindle 8; para [0030], last 4 lines).
Krueger shows unitary inner and outer rings, rather than clamshell assemblies forming the inner and outer rings of the anti-rotation device.
Tessier teaches a linear translating component 16 and a guide 100 fixed to the translating component. The guide comprises inner and outer rings 102, 104 (see Figure 8B). The inner ring (clamp 102) is formed by a clamshell assembly that surrounds the linear translating component 16 and the outer ring 104 (a sliding bushing) is formed by an outer clamshell assembly that surrounds the inner clamshell assembly, thereby facilitating assembly and replacement of the guide assembly (para [0107]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configuration the inner and outer rings of Krueger as inner and outer clamshell assemblies, as taught by Tessier, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to facilitate assembly and replacement of the rings.
Regarding claim 3, the anti-rotation device and the housing of Krueger are in direct contact with each other (para [0030], lines 8-10).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Krueger teaches a rear wheel steering arrangement with a motor 3 and belt drive 4 for moving the linear translating assembly. It specifies that the linear translating assembly includes a spindle but does not specify that it is a lead screw or nut screw. However, it is old and well known that steering systems that use a rotary motor typically require a ball nut or lead screw mechanism to convert rotary power input to linear steering output. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the spindle of Krueger as either a ball screw or a lead screw, as both are old and well known steering spindle configurations, in order to convert rotary drive from the motor to linear movement of the linear translating component (spindle 8).
Regarding claim 9, the inner clamshell assembly (taught by Tessier, Figure 8) comprises a first inner clamshell element and a second inner clamshell element (halves of clamp 102), the first and second inner clamshell elements each surrounding a portion of the linear translating component 16 at the mounting location.
Regarding claim 10, Krueger teaches the inner ring (which in the combination corresponds to the inner clamshell elements of Tessier) includes at least one protrusion and/or recess, wherein the mounting location of the linear translating component includes at least one protrusion and/or recess engaged with the protrusion(s) and/or recess(es) of the ring element to axially and rotationally fix the linear translating component and the inner clamshell assembly relative to each other (Krueger teaches a hexagonal geometry of the spindle 8 that forms protrusions that engage recesses in the inner ring 10.3; see Figure 4; para [0032, last 4 lines).
Regarding claim 11, the outer clamshell assembly (bushing 104, seen in Figure 8B of Tessier) comprises a first outer clamshell element and a second outer clamshell element, the first and second outer clamshell elements each surrounding a portion of the inner clamshell assembly (bushing clamshell elements 104 surround clamshell elements of clamp 102 of Tessier).
Regarding claim 12, at least one of the first outer clamshell element and the second outer clamshell element includes at least one protrusion and/or recess, wherein the inner clamshell assembly includes at least one protrusion and/or recess engaged with the protrusion(s) and/or recess(es) of the first and second outer clamshell element to axially and rotationally fix the outer clamshell assembly and the inner clamshell assembly relative to each other (Krueger teaches a tongue in groove connection and a knurling 10.2 that form inter-engaged protrusions and recesses between inner and outer rings 10.3, 10.4 that hold them relatively fixed).
Regarding claim 13, Krueger teaches an electric power steering system (a typical electric motor is shown in Figure 1).
Claim(s) 2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krueger and Tessier as applied to claims 1, 3-5 and 9-12 above, and further in view of Ohnishi (EP 2908028).
The combination lacks a sleeve disposed between the outer clamshell assembly and the housing.
Ohnishi teaches a linear translating assembly having a housing 2, a linear translating component 7, and an anti-rotation device that cooperates with the housing to prevent rotation of the linear translating component. It also teaches using a sleeve 18, 18’, disposed between the anti-rotation assembly and the housing to increase durability of the linear actuator (para 0035], lines 1-11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a sleeve disposed between the anti-rotation device and the housing, as taught by Ohnishi, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to increase the durability of the linear translating assembly.
Regarding claim 4, Ohnishi teaches a, electric power steering system (Figure 1) where the linear translating component is a ball screw (ball screw shaft 7, 12; Figure 2, para [0031], line 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the spindle of Krueger as a ball screw, as taught by Ohnishi, in order to convert rotary drive from the motor to linear movement of the linear translating component (spindle 8).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-17 are allowed.
Claims 6-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kondo, Doerner, de Paula, Shin, Jablonsky, Schoon, Wuebbolt-Gorbatenko, Kuhnt, and Case Myers teach anti-rotation devices on linear translating components.
/ANNE MARIE M BOEHLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3611