DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The following is a FINAL OFFICE ACTION in response to applicant’s amendments to and response for Application #18/128,151, filed on 04/13/2026.
Claims 1-20 are now pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The rationale for this finding is explained below.
Per Step 1 of the analysis, the claims are analyzed to determine if they are directed to statutory subject matter. Claim 1 claims an apparatus comprising one or more processors coupled to one or more memories. Therefore, the claim is interpreted as an apparatus. An apparatus is a statutory category for patentability. Claim 16 claims a system comprising one or more processors coupled to one or more memories. Therefore, the claim is interpreted as an apparatus. An apparatus is a statutory category for patentability.
Per Step 2A, Prong 1 of the analysis, the examiner must now determine if the claims recite an abstract idea. In the instant case, the independent claims recite an abstract idea. Specifically, the independent claims 1 and 16 recite “receiving vehicle information including operating conditions from each vehicle in a fleet and historical vehicle information associated with each vehicle, develop one or more vehicle models, select one of the vehicle models based on an operational parameter that provides for a least prediction error, the least prediction error being based on a difference between an estimated remaining life and an expected remaining life of at least one target component in the fleet, receive…an indication of a target fleet, determine a fleet failure probability regarding a likelihood of a component failure in the fleet, the fleet failure probability having a predefined threshold based on the vehicle model, the indication, and fleet information including at least fleet usage, fleet vehicle types, and fleet engine types, determine a predictive maintenance schedule based on the fleet failure probability, and in response to an operational parameter exceeding the predefined threshold for at least one target component in the fleet, schedule maintenance for the at least one target component.” Therefore, the claims recite an abstract idea, namely a mental process. A human operator with access to the vehicle information and operating conditions, historical vehicle information, fleet usage, and fleet vehicle types could analyze the data, develop a vehicle model such as a flow chart or hierarchy tree, and make a judgment by determining a fleet failure probability and a predictive maintenance schedule. The computer only automates the abstract idea. The limitations previously added by amendment do not change the analysis. The vehicle information being for each vehicle of a fleet can still be analyzed as part of a mental process. The fleet failure probability can still be calculated using basic math and calculations as part of a mental process even if compared to a threshold value. The scheduling of maintenance in response to an operational parameter exceeding a predefined threshold can be done as part of a mental process in which the data is analyzed, and a decision to schedule maintenance is determined based on the analysis. The actual “scheduling,” absent further detail, is not considered to be any kind of technical process but could simply be a decision or a verbal or manual communication. The developing of one or more models in and of itself, absent further detail, is also considered a mathematical formula, which is also an abstract idea. The limitations currently added by amendment do not change the analysis. Algorithms and mathematical models can be used by a human operator as part of a mental process when doing analysis of the data. A mathematical formula such as an algorithm can be selected from among several algorithms based on its past ability to best predict the outcome. The models being run by a machine learning engine only automate the mental process using a computer and that is addressed below. Therefore, the claims still recite a mental process.
Per Step 2A, Prong 2 of the analysis, the examiner must now determine if the claims integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The additional elements of the claims include an “apparatus,” a “system,” “one or more processors,” and “one or more memories.” However, these recited elements are considered generic recitations of technical elements as they are recited at a high level of generality. These elements are being used as “tools to automate the abstract idea” (see MPEP 2106.05 (f)), and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. They are not recitations of a special purpose computer or transformation (see MPEP 2106.05 (b) and (c)). The additional elements also include “develop one or more vehicle models…using a machine learning engine that receives vehicle information.” However, the use of the machine learning model is recited at a very high level of generality with no detail as to how specifically the model is “used.” Therefore, this additional element is considered the equivalent of “apply it,” or using a computer as a tool to automate the abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Therefore, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claims also include the actual “receiving” of vehicle information.” It is here assumed that the data is received over an electronic network, although this is not recited in the claims. This additional element, absent further detail, is considered “receiving and/or transmission of data over a network,” which is listed in the MPEP 2106.05 (d) (II) (i) as an example of conventional computer functioning- see “receiving or transmitting data over a network” citing TLI Communications, OIP Techs v Amazon.com, buySAFE v Google. Therefore, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The limitations added by amendment, namely “receive, via a user interface, one or more inputs including at least an indication of a target fleet,” and “output via the user interface, data associated with the predictive maintenance schedule compared to other predictive maintenance schedules for the target fleet,” absent any further detail, are considered conventional computer functioning as listed in the MPEP 2106.05 (d) (II)- see “receiving or transmitting data over a network” citing TLI Communications, OIP Techs v Amazon.com, buySAFE v Google, see also “presenting offers and gathering statistics,” citing OIP Techs v Amazon.com. Therefore, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Per Step 2B of the analysis, the examiner must now determine if the claims include limitations that are “significantly more” than the abstract idea by demonstrating an improvement to another technology or technical field, an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself, or meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment. The additional elements of the claims include an “apparatus,” a “system,” “one or more processors,” and “one or more memories.” However, these recited elements are considered generic recitations of technical elements as they are recited at a high level of generality. These elements are being used as “tools to automate the abstract idea” (see MPEP 2106.05 (f)), and are not considered significantly more than the abstract idea itself. They are not recitations of a special purpose computer or transformation (see MPEP 2106.05 (b) and (c)). The additional elements also include “develop one or more vehicle models…using a machine learning engine that receives vehicle information.” However, the use of the machine learning model is recited at a very high level of generality with no detail as to how specifically the model is “used.” Therefore, this additional element is considered the equivalent of “apply it,” or using a computer as a tool to automate the abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Therefore, this additional element is not considered significantly more. The claims also include the actual “receiving” of vehicle information.” It is here assumed that the data is received over an electronic network, although this is not recited in the claims. This additional element, absent further detail, is considered “receiving and/or transmission of data over a network,” which is listed in the MPEP 2106.05 (d) (II) (i) as an example of conventional computer functioning- see “receiving or transmitting data over a network” citing TLI Communications, OIP Techs v Amazon.com, buySAFE v Google. Therefore, this additional element is not considered significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The limitations added by amendment, namely “receive, via a user interface, one or more inputs including at least an indication of a target fleet,” and “output via the user interface, data associated with the predictive maintenance schedule compared to other predictive maintenance schedules for the target fleet,” absent any further detail, are considered conventional computer functioning as listed in the MPEP 2106.05 (d) (II)- see “receiving or transmitting data over a network” citing TLI Communications, OIP Techs v Amazon.com, buySAFE v Google, see also “presenting offers and gathering statistics,” citing OIP Techs v Amazon.com. Therefore, these additional elements are not considered significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
When considered as an ordered combination, the claim is still considered to be directed to an abstract idea as the claims in the ordered combination simply recite the logical steps for receiving the data, developing a vehicle model, determining a fleet failure probability, and determining a predictive maintenance schedule. Therefore, the ordered combination does not lead to a determination of significantly more.
When considering the dependent claims, claims 2 and 3 are considered part of the abstract idea, as determining a remaining useful life of a target component as well as determining a total life prediction can be done as part of the analysis and judgment of the mental process. Claims 4-7 are considered part of the abstract idea, as determining a failure mileage with an associated percentage or receiving a threshold failure rate and determine when the predicted failure rate is predicted to be achieved can be determined or providing a recommendation of maintenance for the target component or generating a report can be done as part of a mental process, and the processor executing instructions from the memory is considered a generic recitation of a technical element as it is recited at a high level of generality. The processor and memory are being used as “tools to automate the abstract idea” (see MPEP 2106.05 (f)), and are not considered significantly more than the abstract idea itself. They are not recitations of a special purpose computer or transformation (see MPEP 2106.05 (b) and (c)). Claim 8 is considered part of the abstract idea as what the report identifies does not change the analysis. Claims 9 and 10 are considered insignificant extra-solution activity, as the type of data received by the model and the type of vehicle information does not change the manner in which the same steps are performed. The data being received by the model, in such as a training of the model or input, is considered the equivalent of “apply it,” or using a computer as a tool to automate the abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Therefore, this additional element is not considered significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Claims 11 and 14-15 are considered part of the abstract idea, as providing a plurality of maintenance intervals and cost per unit of distance associated with each interval or an events per vehicle value associated with each maintenance interval or a percentage of on road repairs avoided or a mean distance between component failures associated with each predictive maintenance interval can be done as part of a mental process. The “application” used to “display” is considered a generic recitation of a technical element as it is recited at a high level of generality. The application is used as a display means and a “tool to automate the abstract idea” (see MPEP 2106.05 (f)), and is not considered significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Claim 12 is considered part of the abstract idea, as the intervals being described as “predefined” does not change the analysis. Claim 13 is considered part of the abstract idea, and the use of the model is considered the equivalent of “apply it,” or using a computer as a tool to automate the abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Therefore, this additional element is not considered significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The other dependent claims mirror those already discussed above.
Therefore, claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter. See Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. Vs. CLS Bank International et al., 2014 (please reference link to updated publicly available Alice memo at http://www.uspto.gov/patents/announce/alice_pec_25jun2014.pdf as well as the USPTO January 2019 Updated Patent Eligibility Guidance.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 14, 16-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Senzer, et al. WIPO Publication WO 2020/112337 A1 in view of Abari, et al., Pre-Grant Publication No. 2019/0197798 A1 and in further view of Martin, et al., Pre-Grant Publication No. 2021/0118248 A1 and in further view of Dixit, Patent No. 10,964,130 B1.
Regarding claim 1, Senzer teaches:
An apparatus, comprising: one or more processing circuits comprising one or more memory devices coupled to
one or more processors, the one or more memory devices configured to store instructions thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to (see Figures 1 and 2)
receive vehicle information including operating conditions from each vehicle in a vehicle fleet and historical vehicle information associated with each vehicle (see Figure 2 #240, [0030], and [0059]; see also [0025], [0034] in which multiple vehicles 103a-103n in a fleet of vehicles is taught, [0037], [0059], [0062], and [0083]-[0084] all which make clear that the vehicle information and operating conditions can be for all of multiple vehicles in a vehicle fleet)
develop one or more vehicle models using a machine learning engine that receives the vehicle information (see at least [0066]-[0074] and [0079]-[0083], especially [0072 and [0075]-[0076] in which multiple ML algorithms/models are developed and used)
determine a fleet failure probability regarding a likelihood of component failure in the fleet, the fleet failure probability having a predefined threshold based on the vehicle model and fleet information including at least fleet usage, fleet vehicle types (see at least [0023]-[0027], [0079], and [0094]; see also [0081]-[0082] in which the operational-life predictor predicts operational life left before the failure of a component passes above a predefined threshold by which failure is likely to occur- the examiner notes that it has already been established above that these vehicles are optionally each vehicle in a fleet of vehicles; see also [0094]-[0096] in which a notification threshold is used in which when the vehicle failure probability is above a predefined threshold the fleet manager is notified)
determine a predictive maintenance schedule based on the fleet failure probability (see at least [0021]-[0025] and [0079]-[0082])
in response to an operational parameter exceeding the predefined threshold for at least one target component in the fleet, recommend scheduling maintenance for the at least one target component (see [0006] and [0023] in which a maintenance suggestion notification based on an estimated operational life helps the recipient schedule maintenance; see [0025] in which a remedy for imminent tire failure is to replace the tires; see [0043] in which maintenance monitoring for the fleet of vehicles leads to maintenance recommendations for the fleet manager; see [0078]-[0083] in which operational state fleet failure probability above a threshold leads to notification of the fleet manager with maintenance recommendation for scheduling; see [0085] in which maintenance scheduling recommendations are made based on the failure probability being above a certain level)
Senzer, however, does not appear to specify:
schedule maintenance for the at least one target component
Abari teaches:
schedule maintenance for the at least one target component (see at least Abstract, [0015], and [0018]-[0022] in which vehicles in the fleet are scheduled for maintenance based on various factors including usage, scheduling, time until risk of breakdown, etc.)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing of the application to combine Abari with Senzer because Senzer already teaches the system notifying a fleet manager of threshold failure probabilities for components and includes recommended maintenance schedules, but does not teach actually scheduling the maintenance, although it does mention the suggestions being so that the scheduling can be done and mentions replacing tires as a result of a determination, and actually scheduling the maintenance would ensure that it is done in a timely fashion, minimizing the possibility of fleet failure.
Senzer and Abari, however, does not appear to specify:
the vehicle model and fleet information including fleet engine types
The examiner, however, takes Official Notice that it is old and well known in the maintenance arts to make a determination of failure probability based on many different factors such as usage, similar vehicle types, maintenance history, and other factors already taught by Senzer, and using engine type. Companies such as Hitachi, Caterpillar, Toyota, Honda, and others have done so for at least one year prior to the effective filing date of the application. Therefore, using the fleet engine type as taught by Abari to modify Senzer would allow for yet another factor in the determination, potentially leading to an even better determination.
Senzer and Abari, however, does not appear to specify:
select one of the vehicle models based on an operational parameter that provides for a least prediction error, the least prediction error being based on a difference between an estimated remaining life and an expected remaining life of at least one target component in the fleet
Martin teaches:
select one of the vehicle models based on an operational parameter that provides for a least prediction error, the least prediction error being based on a highest precision value for an expected remaining life of at least one target component in the fleet (see Abstract, [0018], [0048]-[0051], and [0080]-[0085] in which multiple “Remaining Useful Life” ML models are developed for vehicle components, and a model is selected based on an operational parameter that provides for a highest precision value of expected remaining life, which is a measure of prediction error)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing of the application to combine Martin with Senzer and Abari because Senzer already teaches the system notifying a fleet manager of threshold failure probabilities for components and includes recommended maintenance schedules, but does not teach selecting a best model from among models to determine the expected remaining life and likelihood of failure, and doing so would allow for a “best fit” approach for the particular situation, resulting in the best estimations and better decisions for predictive maintenance.
Senzer, Abari, and Martin, however, does not appear to specify:
prediction error being based on a difference between an estimated remaining life and an expected remaining life
Martin does however teach selection from among multiple “Remaining Useful Life” ML models developed for vehicle component expected remaining useful life, the selection based on a highest precision value of expected remaining life, which is a measure of prediction error, and any determination of highest precision would inherently include some kind of comparison between what the model is predicting as an expectation and what the estimated actual resulting remaining life is going to be or is.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the application to combine prediction error being based on a difference between an estimated remaining life and an expected remaining life with Senzer, Abari, and Martin because Martin teaches selection from among multiple “Remaining Useful Life” ML models developed for vehicle component expected remaining useful life, the selection based on a highest precision value of expected remaining life, which is a measure of prediction error, and any determination of highest precision would inherently include some kind of comparison between what the model is predicting as an expectation and what the estimated actual resulting remaining life is going to be or is, and comparing between an estimated remaining life and an expected remaining life allows for the better and more accurate model to be used for the particular component.
Senzer, Abari, and Martin, however, does not appear to specify:
receive, via a user interface, one or more inputs including at least an indication of a target fleet, output, via the user interface, data associated with the predictive maintenance schedule compared to other predictive maintenance schedules for the target fleet
Dixit teaches:
receive, via a user interface, one or more inputs including at least an indication of a target fleet, output, via the user interface, data associated with the predictive maintenance schedule compared to other predictive maintenance schedules for the target fleet (see Figure 42, Column 4, lines 26-32 and Column 42, lines 44-66 in which a user inputs a target fleet for which predictive maintenance schedules will be generated and displayed on the interface for comparison; see also Figure 43, Column 4, lines 26-32, and Column 47, line 37-Column 48, line 5 in which the outputs of data associated with a predictive maintenance schedule for the selected fleet versus other maintenance schedules for that fleet are displayed on the interface)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing of the application to combine Dixit with Senzer, Abari, and Dixit because Senzer already teaches an interface for maintenance schedule management and Abari already teaches fleet management and selection from among maintenance schedules, and user inputs and resulting outputs for predictive maintenance schedules all using an interface would allow for a user-friendly ability to select and compare different fleet segments of vehicles and ease of visual comparison.
Regarding claim 2, Senzer, Abari, Martin, and Dixit teaches:
the apparatus of claim 1
Senzer further teaches:
wherein determining the fleet failure probability includes determining a remaining useful life of a target component (see at least [0022]-[0023] and [0081]-[0082] in which the operational life can be estimated for a vehicle at a given time based on the failure probability and timing of one or more components)
Regarding claim 3, Senzer, Abari, Martin, and Dixit teaches:
the apparatus of claim 2
Senzer further teaches:
wherein determining the fleet failure probability includes determining a total life prediction based on a current life of the target component and the remaining useful life (see [0022]-[0023] and [0025] and [0081]-[0082])
Regarding claim 4, Senzer, Abari, Martin, and Dixit teaches:
the apparatus of claim 3
Senzer further teaches:
determine a predicted failure mileage with an associated percentage of likelihood (see at least [0081]-[0082] including such as “for example the operational-life predictor 269 may indicate that a vehicle can be driven for 5,000 more miles before a timing chain has above a 90% likelihood of breaking”)
Regarding claim 5, Senzer, Abari, Martin, and Dixit teaches:
the apparatus of claim 4
Senzer further teaches:
receive a threshold failure rate (see [0081])
query the predicted failure mileage to determine when the failure rate is predicted to be achieved (see [0082] in which historical failure rate data from other vehicles is used by the model to determine when and at what mileage the failure in the current vehicle is likely to happen, and in which the operational-life predictor 269 can establish a correlation between captured vehicle data and a failure based on the prior historical vehicle data; the examiner notes that while the cited portion of the reference does not use the word “query,” the examiner is unsure how the “predicted failure mileage” itself could be “queried,” and further as known in the art, a model or other computer instructions accessing stored data to make some kind of determination, matching, or correlation can be considered a “query” as known in the art)
Regarding claim 6, Senzer, Abari, Martin, and Dixit teaches:
the apparatus of claim 5
Senzer further teaches:
wherein the predictive maintenance schedule provides a recommendation of maintenance for the target component based on a determination that the failure rate is predicted to be achieved (see Abstract, [0021]-[0023], [0025], [0080]-[0082], and [0085])
Regarding claim 7, Senzer, Abari, Martin, and Dixit teaches:
the apparatus of claim 1
Senzer further teaches:
generate a report indicating maintenance scheduled within a predetermined period of time in the future (see [0080]-[0085] in which notifications of suggested maintenance for various vehicles in the fleet are generated and sent, and Figure 3 and [0084]-[0086] in which the displayed vehicle profile includes suggested maintenance schedules; the examiner notes that the sending of a notification or displaying of a maintenance schedule for a vehicle is considered substantially similar to and a type of “report”)
Regarding claim 8, Senzer, Abari, Martin, and Dixit teaches:
the apparatus of claim 7
Senzer further teaches:
wherein the report identifies each component scheduled for maintenance within the period of time (see Figure 3, [0023]-[0025], and [0085] in which components such as tires or oil filter are included in the notifications and in the profile suggestions for maintenance as well as the period of time within which maintenance is being recommended)
Regarding claim 9, Senzer, Abari, Martin, and Dixit teaches:
the apparatus of claim 1
Senzer further teaches:
wherein the vehicle model receives data lake information including at least one of reliability information, warranty claims, manufacturer information, repair claim history, weather information, fleet vehicle diagnostic information, trip summaries, routing information, or traffic information (see [0019], [0026], and [0049] which teach traffic and weather information, [0027] which teaches repair history, [0043] which teaches manufacturer information, [0049] which teaches a large variety of vehicle information, and at least such as [0020]-[0025] and [0079]-[0083] which teach ML models using this vehicle information)
Regarding claim 10, Senzer, Abari, Martin, and Dixit teaches:
the apparatus of claim 1
Senzer further teaches:
wherein the vehicle information is specific to at least one of a vehicle, an engine, or an individual component (see [0019], [0026], [0027], [0043], and [0049] which teach vehicle, fleet, and component specific information) as well as [0020]-[0025] and [0079]-[0083])
includes at least one of: a serial number; a model year; a date put into service; an original equipment manufacturer; a vehicle length; a vehicle usage; a repair history including prior repairs, past fault codes, or replaced parts; ambient history including ambient temperature, ambient pressure, and relative humidity; duty cycle including sample rate or duty cycle, usage rate, engine hours, and odometer readings; or historical diagnostic information (see at least [0027] and [0049] which teaches repair history, [0027] and [0051] which teach odometer readings, see [0084] which teaches a VIN number, [0099] which teaches duty cycle and operation hours)
Regarding claim 14, Senzer, Abari, Martin, and Dixit teaches:
the apparatus of claim 1
Senzer further teaches:
an application communicably coupled to the one or more processing circuits and structured to provide a plurality of predictive maintenance intervals (see at least [0021]-[0025] and [0079]-[0085])
Senzer, Abari, Martin, and Dixit, however, does not appear to specify:
display an events per vehicle value associated with each predictive maintenance interval
The examiner takes Official Notice that it is old and well known to display various metrics associated with maintenance or other actions, such as cost savings pr vehicle value for particular actions or events when facilitating a report, GUI, API, or interface for management of vehicles, equipment, fleets, construction sites, and other such industrial and business settings. Companies such as Amazon.com, rental car companies, Uber, Caterpillar, and others have done so well prior to the effective filing date of this application.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing of the application to combine display an events per vehicle value associated with each predictive maintenance interval with Senzer, Abari, Martin, and Dixit because Senzer already teaches an application displaying predictive maintenance intervals, and displaying an events per vehicle value would allow the user to understand the cost savings and value of each action taken associated with the vehicle.
Regarding claim 16, Senzer teaches:
A system comprising:
one or more processing circuits comprising one or more memory devices coupled to one or more processors, the one or more memory devices configured to store instructions thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: (see Figures 1 and 2)
receive vehicle information and fleet information regarding a fleet including at least fleet usage, fleet vehicle types (see Figure 2 #240, [0023]-[0027], [0030], [0059], [0079], and [0094]; (see Figure 2 #240, [0030], and [0059]; see also [0025], [0034] in which multiple vehicles 103a-103n in a fleet of vehicles is taught, [0037], [0059], [0062], and [0083]-[0084] all which make clear that the vehicle information and operating conditions can be for all of multiple vehicles in a vehicle fleet)
develop one or more analytics models based on the received vehicle information and fleet information (see at least [0066]-[0074] and [0079]-[0083], especially [0072 and [0075]-[0076] in which multiple ML algorithms/models are developed and used)
determine a predicted component life of at least one target component using the analytics model (see at least [0020]-[0023] and [0078]-[0083] in which the operational life can be estimated for a vehicle at a given time based on the failure probability and timing of one or more components)
determine a predictive maintenance interval based on the predicted component life of the at least one target component in the fleet (see at least [0021]-[0025] and [0079]-[0082])
generate a report indicating maintenance scheduled within the predictive maintenance interval (see [0080]-[0085] in which notifications of suggested maintenance for various vehicles in the fleet are generated and sent, and Figure 3 and [0084]-[0086] in which the displayed vehicle profile includes suggested maintenance schedules; the examiner notes that the sending of a notification or displaying of a maintenance schedule for a vehicle is considered substantially similar to and a type of “report”)
in response to an operational parameter for the at least one target component in the fleet exceeding a predefined threshold, recommend to schedule maintenance for the at least one target component (see [0006] and [0023] in which a maintenance suggestion notification based on an estimated operational life helps the recipient schedule maintenance; see [0025] in which a remedy for imminent tire failure is to replace the tires; see [0043] in which maintenance monitoring for the fleet of vehicles leads to maintenance recommendations for the fleet manager; see [0078]-[0083] in which operational state fleet failure probability above a threshold leads to notification of the fleet manager with maintenance recommendation for scheduling; see [0085] in which maintenance scheduling recommendations are made based on the failure probability being above a certain level)
an application communicably coupled to the one or more processing circuits and structured to provide the predictive maintenance interval and display the report (see Figures 2-3, [0047], [0068], [0071], and [0080]-[0086] in which the displayed vehicle profile including suggested maintenance schedules is facilitated through an API or other software application)
Senzer, however, does not appear to specify:
schedule maintenance for the at least one target component
Abari teaches:
schedule maintenance for the at least one target component (see at least Abstract, [0015], and [0018]-[0022] in which vehicles in the fleet are scheduled for maintenance based on various factors including usage, scheduling, time until risk of breakdown, etc.)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing of the application to combine Abari with Senzer because Senzer already teaches the system notifying a fleet manager of threshold failure probabilities for components and includes recommended maintenance schedules, but does not teach actually scheduling the maintenance, although it does mention the suggestions being so that the scheduling can be done and mentions replacing tires as a result of a determination, and actually scheduling the maintenance would ensure that it is done in a timely fashion, minimizing the possibility of fleet failure.
Senzer and Abari, however, does not appear to specify:
the vehicle information and fleet information including fleet engine types
The examiner, however, takes Official Notice that it is old and well known in the maintenance arts to make a determination of failure probability based on many different factors such as usage, similar vehicle types, maintenance history, and other factors already taught by Senzer, and using engine type. Companies such as Hitachi, Caterpillar, Toyota, Honda, and others have done so for at least one year prior to the effective filing date of the application. Therefore, using the fleet engine type as taught by Abari to modify Senzer would allow for yet another factor in the determination, potentially leading to an even better determination.
Senzer and Abari, however, does not appear to specify:
select one of the vehicle models based on an operational parameter that provides for a least prediction error, the least prediction error being based on a difference between an estimated remaining life and an expected remaining life of at least one target component in the fleet
Martin teaches:
select one of the vehicle models based on an operational parameter that provides for a least prediction error, the least prediction error being based on a highest precision value for an expected remaining life of at least one target component in the fleet (see Abstract, [0018], [0048]-[0051], and [0080]-[0085] in which multiple “Remaining Useful Life” ML models are developed for vehicle components, and a model is selected based on an operational parameter that provides for a highest precision value of expected remaining life, which is a measure of prediction error)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing of the application to combine Martin with Senzer and Abari because Senzer already teaches the system notifying a fleet manager of threshold failure probabilities for components and includes recommended maintenance schedules, but does not teach selecting a best model from among models to determine the expected remaining life and likelihood of failure, and doing so would allow for a “best fit” approach for the particular situation, resulting in the best estimations and better decisions for predictive maintenance.
Senzer, Abari, and Martin, however, does not appear to specify:
prediction error being based on a difference between an estimated remaining life and an expected remaining life
Martin does however teach selection from among multiple “Remaining Useful Life” ML models developed for vehicle component expected remaining useful life, the selection based on a highest precision value of expected remaining life, which is a measure of prediction error, and any determination of highest precision would inherently include some kind of comparison between what the model is predicting as an expectation and what the estimated actual resulting remaining life is going to be or is.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the application to combine prediction error being based on a difference between an estimated remaining life and an expected remaining life with Senzer, Abari, and Martin because Martin teaches selection from among multiple “Remaining Useful Life” ML models developed for vehicle component expected remaining useful life, the selection based on a highest precision value of expected remaining life, which is a measure of prediction error, and any determination of highest precision would inherently include some kind of comparison between what the model is predicting as an expectation and what the estimated actual resulting remaining life is going to be or is, and comparing between an estimated remaining life and an expected remaining life allows for the better and more accurate model to be used for the particular component.
Senzer, Abari, and Martin, however, does not appear to specify:
receive, via a user interface, one or more inputs including at least an indication of a target fleet, output, via the user interface, data associated with the predictive maintenance schedule compared to other predictive maintenance schedules for the target fleet
Dixit teaches:
receive, via a user interface, one or more inputs including at least an indication of a target fleet, output, via the user interface, data associated with the predictive maintenance schedule compared to other predictive maintenance schedules for the target fleet (see Figure 42, Column 4, lines 26-32 and Column 42, lines 44-66 in which a user inputs a target fleet for which predictive maintenance schedules will be generated and displayed on the interface for comparison; see also Figure 43, Column 4, lines 26-32, and Column 47, line 37-Column 48, line 5 in which the outputs of data associated with a predictive maintenance schedule for the selected fleet versus other maintenance schedules for that fleet are displayed on the interface)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing of the application to combine Dixit with Senzer, Abari, and Dixit because Senzer already teaches an interface for maintenance schedule management and Abari already teaches fleet management and selection from among maintenance schedules, and user inputs and resulting outputs for predictive maintenance schedules all using an interface would allow for a user-friendly ability to select and compare different fleet segments of vehicles and ease of visual comparison.
Regarding claim 17, Senzer, Abari, Martin, and Dixit teaches:
the system of claim 16
Senzer further teaches:
determining a remaining useful life of the at least one target component using the analytics model (see at least [0020]-[0023] and [0081]-[0082] in which the operational life can be estimated for a vehicle at a given time based on the failure probability and timing of one or more components)
determining a total life prediction based on a current life of the at least one target component and the remaining useful life (see [0022]-[0023] and [0025] and [0081]-[0082])
receiving a threshold failure rate from the application and determining when the threshold failure rate is predicted to be achieved based on the remaining useful life (see at least [0081]-[0082] including such as “for example the operational-life predictor 269 may indicate that a vehicle can be driven for 5,000 more miles before a timing chain has above a 90% likelihood of breaking”; see also [0081] in which a threshold failure rate is received; see also [0082] in which historical failure rate data from other vehicles is used by the model to determine when and at what mileage the failure in the current vehicle is likely to happen, and in which the operational-life predictor 269 can establish a correlation between captured vehicle data and a failure based on the prior historical vehicle data)
Regarding claim 18, Senzer, Abari, Martin, and Dixit teaches:
the system of claim 17
Senzer further teaches:
wherein the indicated scheduled maintenance in the report is based on a determination that the predefined threshold is predicted to be achieved (see [0020]-[0023], [0078]-[0085], and [0094]-[0096] in which notifications of suggested maintenance for various vehicles in the fleet are generated and sent based on predicted failures of components or vehicles above a threshold, and Figure 3 and [0083]-[0086] and [0094]-[0096] in which the displayed vehicle profile includes suggested maintenance schedules based on predicted failure rates; the examiner notes that the sending of a notification or displaying of a maintenance schedule for a vehicle is considered substantially similar to and a type of “report”)
Regarding claim 20, Senzer teaches:
A method comprising:
receiving vehicle information and fleet information (see Figure 2 #240, [0030], and [0059])
develop one or more vehicle models based on the received vehicle information and fleet information (see at least [0066]-[0074] and [0079]-[0083], especially [0072 and [0075]-[0076] in which multiple ML algorithms/models are developed and used)
determining a total life prediction using the analytics model and based on a current life of at least one target component in a fleet and a remaining useful life of the at least one target component in the fleet (see at least [0020]-[0025] and [0079]-[0086]; see also see also [0025], [0034] in which multiple vehicles 103a-103n in a fleet of vehicles is taught, [0037], [0059], [0062], and [0083]-[0084] all which make clear that the vehicle information and operating conditions can be for all of multiple vehicles in a vehicle fleet)
receiving a fleet failure rate (see at least [0020]-[0023], [0078]-[0085], and [0094]-[0096]; the examiner notes that the “fleet failure rate” based on the claim language could be the failure rate of one component in two or more vehicles, as nothing more than that is required)
determining when the failure rate is predicted to be achieved based on the total life prediction (see at least [0081]-[0082] including such as “for example the operational-life predictor 269 may indicate that a vehicle can be driven for 5,000 more miles before a timing chain has above a 90% likelihood of breaking”; see also [0082] in which historical failure rate data from other vehicles is used by the model to determine when and at what mileage the failure in the current vehicle is likely to happen, and in which the operational-life predictor 269 can establish a correlation between captured vehicle data and a failure based on the prior historical vehicle data; see also (see at least [0023]-[0027], [0079], and [0094]; see also [0081]-[0082] in which the operational-life predictor predicts operational life left before the failure of a component passes above a predefined threshold by which failure is likely to occur- the examiner notes that it has already been established above that these vehicles are optionally each vehicle in a fleet of vehicles; see also [0094]-[0096] in which a notification threshold is used in which when the vehicle failure probability is above a predefined threshold the fleet manager is notified)
determining a predictive maintenance interval based on the total life prediction (see at least [0021]-[0025], [0079]-[0085], and [0094]-[0096]; see especially [0081]-[0082] including such as “for example the operational-life predictor 269 may indicate that a vehicle can be driven for 5,000 more miles before a timing chain has above a 90% likelihood of breaking”; see also [0082] in which historical failure rate data from other vehicles is used by the model to determine when and at what mileage the failure in the current vehicle is likely to happen, and in which the operational-life predictor 269 can establish a correlation between captured vehicle data and a failure based on the prior historical vehicle data)
in response to an operational parameter exceeding a predefined threshold for the at least one target component in the fleet, recommending scheduling maintenance for the at least one target component (see [0006] and [0023] in which a maintenance suggestion notification based on an estimated operational life helps the recipient schedule maintenance; see [0025] in which a remedy for imminent tire failure is to replace the tires; see [0043] in which maintenance monitoring for the fleet of vehicles leads to maintenance recommendations for the fleet manager; see [0078]-[0083] in which operational state fleet failure probability above a threshold leads to notification of the fleet manager with maintenance recommendation for scheduling; see [0085] in which maintenance scheduling recommendations are made based on the failure probability being above a certain level;
generating a report indicating maintenance scheduled within the predictive maintenance interval (see [0080]-[0085] in which notifications of suggested maintenance for various vehicles in the fleet are generated and sent, and Figure 3 and [0084]-[0086] in which the displayed vehicle profile includes suggested maintenance schedules; the examiner notes that the sending of a notification or displaying of a maintenance schedule for a vehicle is considered substantially similar to and a type of “report”)
displaying the report (see Figures 2-3, [0047], [0068], [0071], and [0080]-[0086]
Senzer, however, does not appear to specify:
generating a report indicating when the fleet failure rate is predicted to be achieved based on the total life prediction
Senzer does however teach generating and displaying a report (see Figures 2-3, [0047], [0068], [0071], and [0080]-[0086]) as well as determining when the threshold failure rate is predicted to be achieved based on the total life prediction (see at least [0081]-[0082] including such as “for example the operational-life predictor 269 may indicate that a vehicle can be driven for 5,000 more miles before a timing chain has above a 90% likelihood of breaking”; see also [0082] in which historical failure rate data from other vehicles is used by the model to determine when and at what mileage the failure in the current vehicle is likely to happen, and in which the operational-life predictor 269 can establish a correlation between captured vehicle data and a failure based on the prior historical vehicle data).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine generating a report indicating when the fleet failure rate is predicted to be achieved based on the total life prediction with Senzer because Senzer already generates reports on operational states of vehicles and vehicle components as well as maintenance suggestions and schedules as well as does use a total life prediction and determines threshold failure rate timing for components and vehicles, and displaying the results of these determinations would allow the viewer to understand the calculations and reasonings behind the determination of the maintenance recommendations.
Senzer, however, does not appear to specify:
schedule maintenance for the at least one target component
Abari teaches:
schedule maintenance for the at least one target component (see at least Abstract, [0015], and [0018]-[0022] in which vehicles in the fleet are scheduled for maintenance based on various factors including usage, scheduling, time until risk of breakdown, etc.)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing of the application to combine Abari with Senzer because Senzer already teaches the system notifying a fleet manager of threshold failure probabilities for components and includes recommended maintenance schedules, but does not teach actually scheduling the maintenance, although it does mention the suggestions being so that the scheduling can be done and mentions replacing tires as a result of a determination, and actually scheduling the maintenance would ensure that it is done in a timely fashion, minimizing the possibility of fleet failure.
Senzer and Abari, however, does not appear to specify:
select one of the vehicle models based on an operational parameter that provides for a least prediction error, the least prediction error being based on a difference between an estimated remaining life and an expected remaining life of at least one target component in the fleet
Martin teaches:
select one of the vehicle models based on an operational parameter that provides for a least prediction error, the least prediction error being based on a highest precision value for an expected remaining life of at least one target component in the fleet (see Abstract, [0018], [0048]-[0051], and [0080]-[0085] in which multiple “Remaining Useful Life” ML models are developed for vehicle components, and a model is selected based on an operational parameter that provides for a highest precision value of expected remaining life, which is a measure of prediction error)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing of the application to combine Martin with Senzer and Abari because Senzer already teaches the system notifying a fleet manager of threshold failure probabilities for components and includes recommended maintenance schedules, but does not teach selecting a best model from among models to determine the expected remaining life and likelihood of failure, and doing so would allow for a “best fit” approach for the particular situation, resulting in the best estimations and better decisions for predictive maintenance.
Senzer, Abari, and Martin, however, does not appear to specify:
prediction error being based on a difference between an estimated remaining life and an expected remaining life
Martin does however teach selection from among multiple “Remaining Useful Life” ML models developed for vehicle component expected remaining useful life, the selection based on a highest precision value of expected remaining life, which is a measure of prediction error, and any determination of highest precision would inherently include some kind of comparison between what the model is predicting as an expectation and what the estimated actual resulting remaining life is going to be or is.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the application to combine prediction error being based on a difference between an estimated remaining life and an expected remaining life with Senzer, Abari, and Martin because Martin teaches selection from among multiple “Remaining Useful Life” ML models developed for vehicle component expected remaining useful life, the selection based on a highest precision value of expected remaining life, which is a measure of prediction error, and any determination of highest precision would inherently include some kind of comparison between what the model is predicting as an expectation and what the estimated actual resulting remaining life is going to be or is, and comparing between an estimated remaining life and an expected remaining life allows for the better and more accurate model to be used for the particular component.
Senzer, Abari, and Martin, however, does not appear to specify:
receive, via a user interface, one or more inputs including at least an indication of a target fleet, output, via the user interface, data associated with the predictive maintenance schedule compared to other predictive maintenance schedules for the target fleet
Dixit teaches:
receive, via a user interface, one or more inputs including at least an indication of a target fleet, output, via the user interface, data associated with the predictive maintenance schedule compared to other predictive maintenance schedules for the target fleet (see Figure 42, Column 4, lines 26-32 and Column 42, lines 44-66 in which a user inputs a target fleet for which predictive maintenance schedules will be generated and displayed on the interface for comparison; see also Figure 43, Column 4, lines 26-32, and Column 47, line 37-Column 48, line 5 in which the outputs of data associated with a predictive maintenance schedule for the selected fleet versus other maintenance schedules for that fleet are displayed on the interface)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing of the application to combine Dixit with Senzer, Abari, and Dixit because Senzer already teaches an interface for maintenance schedule management and Abari already teaches fleet management and selection from among maintenance schedules, and user inputs and resulting outputs for predictive maintenance schedules all using an interface would allow for a user-friendly ability to select and compare different fleet segments of vehicles and ease of visual comparison.
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Senzer, et al. WIPO Publication WO 2020/112337 A1 in view of Abari, et al., Pre-Grant Publication No. 2019/0197798 A1 and in further view of Martin, et al., Pre-Grant Publication No. 2021/0118248 A1 and in further view of Dixit, Patent No. 10,964,130 B1 and in further view of Schaaf, Pre-Grant Publication No. 2017/0270718 A1.
Regarding claim 11, Senzer, Abari, Martin, and Dixit teaches:
the apparatus of claim 1
Senzer, Abari, Martin, and Dixit, however, does not appear to specify:
an application communicably coupled to the one or more processing circuits and structured to provide a plurality of predictive maintenance intervals and display a cost per unit of distance associated with each predictive maintenance interval
Schaaf teaches:
an application communicably coupled to the one or more processing circuits and structured to provide a plurality of predictive maintenance intervals and display a cost per unit of distance associated with each predictive maintenance interval (see Abstract, Figure 2, [0002], and [0014]-[0016] in which a cost per mile for a vehicle or fleet is calculated based on maintenance costs for a travel area for a specific period of time)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing of the application to combine Schaaf with Senzer, Abari, Martin, and Dixit because Senzer already teaches an application displaying predictive maintenance intervals, and a cost per mile would allow the user to understand the cost savings associated with the maintenance schedule.
**The Examiner notes that Senzer already teaches an application displaying maintenance intervals for a vehicle or vehicle component, and so Schaaf is being used to meet the other limitations of the claim.**
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Senzer, Abari, Martin, Dixit, and Schaaf teaches:
the apparatus of claim 11
Senzer further teaches:
wherein the plurality of predictive maintenance intervals are predefined (see at least [0021]-[0025] and [0079]-[0082] in which maintenance interval schedules are pre-defined prior to display and/or suggestion to the user)
**The examiner notes that as written, the claim gives no baseline time after which the intervals become predefined, therefore by broadest reasonable interpretation any moment after which the intervals are defined would then at that time make the intervals “predefined.”**
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Senzer, Abari, Martin, Dixit, and Schaaf teaches:
the apparatus of claim 11
Senzer further teaches:
receive the plurality of predictive maintenance intervals from the application…using the vehicle model (see at least [0021]-[0025] and [0079]-[0085])
Schaaf further teaches:
generate the cost per unit of distance (see Abstract, Figure 2, [0002], and [0014]-[0016] in which a cost per mile for a vehicle or fleet is calculated based on maintenance costs for a travel area for a specific period of time)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing of the application to combine Schaaf with Senzer, Abari, and Martin because Senzer already teaches an application displaying predictive maintenance intervals, and a cost per mile would allow the user to understand the cost savings associated with the maintenance schedule.
Claims 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Senzer, et al. WIPO Publication WO 2020/112337 A1 in view of Abari, et al., Pre-Grant Publication No. 2019/0197798 A1 and in further view of Martin, et al., Pre-Grant Publication No. 2021/0118248 A1 and in further view of Dixit, Patent No. 10,964,130 B1 and in further view of Albrecht, et al., Pre-Grant Publication No. 2007/0039501 A1.
Regarding claim 15, Senzer, Abari, Martin, and Dixit teaches:
the apparatus of claim 1
Senzer further teaches:
an application communicably coupled to the one or more processing circuits and structured to provide a plurality of predictive maintenance intervals (see at least [0021]-[0025] and [0079]-[0085])
Senzer, Abari, Martin, and Dixit, however, does not appear to specify:
an application…structured to… display at least one of a percentage of on road repairs avoided or a mean distance between component failures associated with each predictive maintenance interval
Albrecht teaches:
an application…structured to… display a mean distance between component failures associated with each predictive maintenance interval (see at least Abstract, Figure 1, [0019], [0045], and [0080]-[0089] in which the mean time between repairs for a vehicle is calculated and displayed via an application)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing of the application to combine Albrecht with Senzer, Abari, Martin, and Dixit because Senzer already teaches an application displaying predictive maintenance intervals, and displaying a mean time between repairs would allow the user to understand the cost savings of committing to a scheduled maintenance interval so as to avoid further or more costly repairs or more downtime for a vehicle.
Regarding claim 19, Senzer, Abari, Martin, and Dixit teaches:
the system of claim 16
Senzer further teaches:
wherein the report (see [0080]-[0085] in which notifications of suggested maintenance for various vehicles in the fleet are generated and sent, and Figure 3 and [0084]-[0086] in which the displayed vehicle profile includes suggested maintenance schedules; the examiner notes that the sending of a notification or displaying of a maintenance schedule for a vehicle is considered substantially similar to and a type of “report”)
Senzer, Abari, Martin, and Dixit, however, does not appear to specify:
generate a mean distance between component failures indicator using the analytics model
Albrecht teaches:
generate a mean distance between component failures indicator using the analytics model (see at least Abstract, Figure 1, [0019], [0045], and [0080]-[0089] in which the mean time between repairs for a vehicle is calculated and displayed via an application)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing of the application to combine Albrecht with Senzer, Abari, Martin, and Dixit because Senzer already teaches an application displaying predictive maintenance intervals, and displaying a mean time between repairs would allow the user to understand the cost savings of committing to a scheduled maintenance interval so as to avoid further or more costly repairs or more downtime for a vehicle.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the rejections based on 35 USC 101
Regarding the applicant’s argument on pages 9-10 of the response based on the recent Ex Parte Desjardins:
The decision pointed to decisions such as Enfish in which software can make non-abstract improvements to computer technology. In Enfish the Court explained that the self-referential table improves the computer itself by making it able to process all data faster and more efficiently. This is unlike the current claims in which the computer or another technology is not improved, but only the ability to better predict fleet failure and schedule maintenance accordingly is potentially improved by use of models that are implemented using a computer.
Regarding the applicant’s argument on page 10-11 of the response that the claims cannot be performed in the human mind:
The examiner disagrees. The examiner points out that the Step 2A, Prong 1 analysis identifies if the claims RECITE an abstract idea such as a mental process. This does not mean that each and every limitation in the claim can be performed in the human mind. Further, the developing and selection of a model and then use of the model is considered the use of a mathematical formula or algorithm, which is also an abstract idea. That is why the other limitations beyond the abstract idea itself are analyzed under the Step 2A, Prong 2 and Step 2B analyses. The examiner points the applicant to Court decisions such as buySAFE v Google and OIP Techs v Amazon.com among others in which there are clearly multiple interacting technical components in these e-commerce systems yet the Court still found the claims to recite and be directed to an abstract idea. The limitations added by amendment, namely user inputs and outputting of information via an interface, do not change the analysis as these were not a consideration in the determination that the claims recite an abstract idea, and these elements are addressed in the Step 2A, Prong 2 and Step 2B analyses.
Regarding the applicant’s argument on pages 11-12 that the claims integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the claims are directed to improvement to at least the technical problem of fleet management and the functioning of a fleet of vehicles by improving a maintenance schedule using a computer, this reducing component failures in a fleet and improving performance of vehicles in the fleet:
The examiner points out that any alleged improvement is to the predictive scheduling of maintenance FOR the vehicles, not an improvement to the FUNCTIONING of the vehicles. The actual functioning of the vehicles is not improved. Further, fleet MANAGEMENT is not a technical problem. Better scheduling of maintenance only prevents worst functioning due to breakdown, etc. Further, the performance of the vehicles is not improved, as there is no physical aspect of the engine or other component that is improved by any particular technique. Instead, scheduling of maintenance prevents worst performance. The scheduling of maintenance is not a technical improvement. The MPEP 2106.05 (f) lists the example of claims integrating an abstract idea into a practical application as including “an improvement to the computer itself, another technology, or the technical field.” An improved predictive scheduling of maintenance based on data analysis is not considered such an improvement.
Regarding the applicant’s argument on pages 12-13 of the response that the claims are directed to significantly more because the claims recite a specific combination of features that amounts to a technical solution to a technical problem which improves computer technology:
The examiner points out that any alleged improvement is to the predictive scheduling of maintenance FOR the vehicles, not an improvement to computer technology. Better scheduling of maintenance is not an improvement to the computer technology. The scheduling of maintenance is not a technical improvement. The MPEP 2106.05 (f) lists the example of claims integrating an abstract idea into a practical application as including “an improvement to the computer itself, another technology, or the technical field.” An improved predictive scheduling of maintenance based on data analysis is not considered such an improvement. Therefore, by this same reasoning the claims are not considered significantly more. The examiner points the applicant to the Enfish decision in which the claims were found to be patent eligible because the self-referential table caused the computer to be improved in its functionality in both speed and efficiency of data processing no matter what data it was processing because of the incorporation of the referential table into the computer itself. The examiner sees no such similar claim feature in the present application.
The addition of selection of a model is not a technical improvement and not considered significantly more. Selection of a model based on its prediction accuracy can definitely be accomplished as part of a mental process in which a human operator selects a specific algorithm based on its expected prediction accuracy.
The addition by amendment of receiving of an input via a user interface and outputting of a result on an interface is not considered a technical improvement and not considered significantly more. The interface is being used as any electronic interface would be, to allow the user to make an input and/or to display data, images, and other information to a viewer. There is no improved interface, the interface is doing what conventional interfaces do and these additional elements are therefore considered generic recitations of technical elements.
Therefore, the arguments are not persuasive and the rejection is sustained.
Regarding the rejections based on 35 USC 103
The applicant’s argument have been considered in light of the applicant’s amendments to the claims, but are MOOT in light of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by the applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant amendment(s) necessitated the new grounds of rejection set forth in this Office Action. Therefore, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or concerning this communication or earlier communications from the Examiner should be directed to Luis A. Brown whose telephone number is 571.270.1394. The Examiner can normally be reached on M-F 8:30am-4:30pm EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, JESSICA LEMIEUX can be reached at 571.270.3445.
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner of Patents and Trademarks
Washington, D.C. 20231
or faxed to 571-273-8300.
Hand delivered responses should be brought to the United States Patent and Trademark Office Customer Service Window:
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314.
/LUIS A BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3626